FLASHPOINT – RoveLight RL-600 – Hands on Review

RoveLight_300

 

UPDATE – June 2017 – The Adorama RoveLight RL-600, and RL-600B, have now been replaced by the ORLIT RoveLight RT 601 HSS, which are based on the Jinbei HD 601.

 

The new Adorama RoveLight RL-600, fully integrated Lithium-ion powered strobes are now available, and Adorama have very kindly expressed shipped a sample unit over while their great introductory promotion (was) running.

The RoveLight RL-600 are completely cordless 600WS units. With large 400+ shot capacity Lithium-ion battery module, and 2.4GHz radio receiver, all neatly built inside. Making the RoveLight very portable, powerful, and super fast to set up.

Flashpoint RoveLights are based on the Jinbei HD 600 flashes. Though as it turns out the Rovelights are actually based on the MK II model HD 600 II, which have a very impressive High Shutter Speed feature, which operates at any power level from Full power down to 1/16th.

(Please note – This High Shutter Speed mode uses a form of Long Duration Sync to provide the higher shutter speeds).

The RoveLights pack some serious power, and the High Shutter Speed mode is a very usable feature. These lights really are something new and a bit special with this new dual mode High Shutter Speed function. The Rovelights are going to be a serious weapon for wedding etc photographers who want to work fast without ND filters.

 

 

UPDATE – 14th October 2015 – Adorama have opened a transmitter exchange program for owners of the original RoveLights supplied with original version one transmitter units. 

The V2 version transmitters have added a power amplifier, increasing the transmitters power from 0-3 dBm, to around 14 dBm in the new units.

This has reportedly increased the transmitters range considerably, and Flashpoint are hoping this will improved overall consistency and reliability of the transmitters in general. 

 

 

FP RoveLight

 

The heart of the RL-600 is the large removable 14.8v 6600mAh Lithoum-ion battery, which simply slides into the rear of the flash. Providing 400+ full power shots with one charge. And all fitting neatly inside the flash body.

The battery modules are also available separately, and can be recharged outside the flash while another battery is in use.

 

FP RoveLight

 

The 600WS RoveLights features an LCD display, with full power level control from 1/1 to 1/128, in 1/3rd Stops.  

Power levels can be changed directly on the flash interface or through the 2.4GHz radio transmitter provided, and receiver built inside the flash.

The RL-600 are also IGBT flashes (in their regular mode), meaning they have very fast motion freezing flash durations at lower power levels, down to 1/15000th of a second.

S1 and S2 optic slave modes are provided, and recycle times are quite fast. There is a fast recycle mode option bringing full power recycle down from 4.5 seconds to 3.5 seconds (0.3 seconds at minimum power). At half power recycle is a very reasonable 1.5 seconds.

A Multi / Stroboscopic Mode is also provided.

 

FP RoveLight

 

Key Features –
  • 600 WS – Guide Number 61M @ 100 ISO
  • Built-in (Swappable) 14.8v 6600mAh Lithoum-ion Battery Modules
  • 400+ Full Power Shots Per Battery Charge
  • Built in 2.4GHz Radio Receiver with Remote Power Control
  • 22 Level Power Control – 1/1 to 1/128, in 1/3rd Stops
  • High Shutter Speed Mode – 1/1 to 1/16th Power (Requires HSS Trigger for Pre-sync Signal)
  • Selectable Recycle Speed with 0.3 – 3.5 Second (Fast) and 0.3 – 4.5 Second (Slow)
  • Audible and Ready LED Indicator
  • Trigger Single Frame, Stroboscopic or Flash Delay
  • s1 and s2 Optic Slave Modes
  • Built in 7W LED Modeling Lamp with Auto Off Timer Option
  • Flashpoint or Bowen’s Mount for Reflectors and Light Modifiers

 

From may initial testing the RoveLight appears to perform very well. Its very powerful, the recycle times are fast for a battery powered flash with this power, and power levels and consistency between shots is very accurate. Color consistency through the power levels appears quite good as well.

 

LED Modelling Light

 

The LED modeling light is 5 or 7 watts (specs differ), which appears to equates to around  a 75 watt incandescent globe. So its not particularly powerful, though still certainly useful at times. The LED can be set to auto-off in 60 seconds to save battery power, or stay on as long as the strobe is awake.

I don’t know if leaving the LED on for log periods would eventually burn it out, and I don’t really want to find out. The modelling light can also be turned on and off remotely from the supplied TRS remote / transmitter unit.

 

FP RoveLight

 

Accessory Mounts

 

RoveLights are available with 2 accessory mount options. The RL-600B shown here provides a standard Bowens S-type mount, while the standard RL-600 version have the Flashpoint accessory mount.

The Bowen’s mount is quite loose on the speedring inserts, so the supplied reflector and other smaller accessories can rattle around a bit. Though they definitely can’t fall out, and I actually found the loose mount to be an advantage for mounting softboxes etc quickly.

I also found the small reflector around the flash tube to be a big advantage when mounting and removing accessories quickly as well, as that acts as a bit of a shield, so you don’t have to be so careful around the fragile flash tube.

 

FP RoveLight

 

So softboxes etc mount up quickly and easily. The Phottix Luna 70cm shown below are a great combination with the RoveLight, as they snap oven quickly, and they are also nice and shallow so they doesn’t take up a lot of space.

Adorama also have a large range of their own well priced Glow and Flashpoint Softboxes available.

 

FP RoveLight

 

The RoveLight swivel mount is very sturdy and will easily support larger modifiers. The swivel handle is a little small, though it does the job ok. The aim here is to be small and portable.

Adorama have upped the spec on this swivel over the Jinbei version of this light. Which is a good advantage, as Jinbei are using the swivel really designed for a small speedlight. The downside is that there is no direct handle option available like the Jinbei units provide. It would be much more sturdy to place your own handle into the Rovelight swivel though.

The swivel is attached with two regular screws though, so it could easily be changed as well if you really wanted to. Though I think the RoveLight is solid and great as it is.

One thing to be aware of here though is the umbrella mounting hole appears to be designed for smaller 7mm, or a very neat fit on 8mm, diameter umbrella shafts only (where the original Jinbei mount allows for up to 10mm umbrella shafts).

 

FP RoveLight

 

Lithium-ion Battery

 

Th RoveLight has a large removable 14.8v 6600mAh Lithoum-ion battery, which simply slides into the rear of the flash. Providing 400+ full power shots with one charge.

As far as I understand this is Lithium Polymer, or LiPo, which are the long life Lithiun-ion batteries.

The battery itself is only about the size of a speedlite (folded), and weighs 640 grams. It slides in and out of the flash very quickly and easily. One small concern is that the clip on the battery looks like it could be broken easily, though this appears to be designed as replaceable part.

The RoveLight can not be used while connected to the charger, which is normal for most lights like this. Though a second battery could be charging outside the flash, while another is being used.

 

FP RoveLight

 

Also a small but very welcome detail is simply a manufacture date stamp on the battery.

Dramas with bad batches of the Godox Lithium-ion batteries have really highlighted how important some form of identification like this can be.

And of course you know exactly how old the battery actually is.

 

FP RoveLight

 

TRS Radio Transmitter

 

The RoveLights come with the simple TRS 2.4GHz radio transmitter unit, which provide pretty solid range, stated as around 80m. And a fairly basic power level adjustment.

The radio receiver is conveniently built inside the RoveLight, so there are no external receivers or cords needed (though they can also be used via the provided 3.5mm sync port).

I’ve had no issues with random fires or misfires, and the range appears quite good as most 2.4GHz triggers provide.

UPDATE / NOTE – The TRS transmitter actually has a small Reset Button inside the battery compartment (requires a pen tip etc to push). If you’re having any issues with the transmitter not turning on, or acting unusually etc, pressing this Reset Button may help to rectify those.

Over time the TRS transmitters have also proven to be less than reliable for many people, and other radio triggers are often used to fire the flash reliably, while the TRS is used separately just for remote power adjustments on the flash.

 

TRS Remote

 

Remote Power Control

Remote power control is still one area the Jinbei units could certainly do with an update. Though at least there is some remote power control ability already enabled.

Power levels are simply bumped up and down in 1/3rd stops from the transmitter. You are be relying on the sound beep from the flash, or actually seeing the flash display to be certain of the current power level set.

As you reach full or minimum power there are a number of beeps to let you know. So although basic, its really a fairly easy and very usable remote power adjustment.

There is also a modeling light switch and test fire button provided on the transmitter.

 

FP RoveLight

 

Adjusting Multiple Lights

The TRS transmitters at this stage are really only designed to adjust the remote power levels of one flash. Or possibly a number of flashes all at once (while retaining the power level ratios already set directly on the flashes). As there are no groups provided to adjust flashes independently.

Though lucky for those of us who like to squeeze out as much functionality as possible, there is actually a “catch all channel” (channel 15) provided, which fires all channels together. This means that the channels can actually be used as a work around in place of groups to adjust lights individually.

Though because the TRS transmitter unit uses small dip switches to change the channels, its simply not going to be practical to be changing channels with those tiny dip switches all the time.

So I think the practical way around this is to actually use one transmitter unit dedicated to each light, and set to a corresponding channel. And then an extra transmitter unit mounted on the camera hotshoe, and set to the “catch all channel” to fire all the flashes.

So there is a hand held remote unit, with a transmitter dedicated to each flash. They could be mounted together on a small cold shoe track or DIY base.

 

TRS Remote

 

This may look like a pretty elaborate work around, though it would only require one extra transmitter over those supplied with each flash unit.

And the functionality would actually be pretty convenient in some ways, as you could easily test fire each light separately for meter readings, because there is a dedicated test fire for button for each flash.

And the transmitter on the camera can then be used to test fire all lights together, and also very conveniently adjust all lights power levels at once (retaining ratios set) to compensate for ISO and aperture changes on the camera. This is a very convenient feature many other current radio triggers lack.

Unfortunately one small catch is that the transmitter units go into a sleep mode every 3.3 minutes of no use. Though you very quickly get used to the fact that you will need to hold the ON button for a few seconds before making power changes on the hand held remote.

So this is all a bit of a workaround, though still much better than running back and forth to flashes all the time to make small power adjustments.

Jinbei do also use the TRS remote for quite a number of their current flashes. So hopefully there is some possibility this transmitter may at the least be updated to one with a more convenient channel selection. Jinbei have asked about good transmitter interface options.

 

High Shutter Speed Mode

 

If a powerful fully cordless flash wasn’t enough, the RoveLights appear to have something pretty unusual and special with the new High Shutter Speed Mode feature.

The RoveLights as stated by Jinbie are Dual Mode flashes. And this appears to be switching from an IGBT flash to a regular voltage controlled flash in the High Shutter Speed Mode, which increases the flash durations at all power levels down to 1/16.

A long flash duration simply acts like a constant light source, at least for the short time the camera shutter is open. This in turn allows any shutter speed up to 1/8000th of a second to be used, just like using available light.

I have termed this method of achieving high shutter speeds Long Duration Sync, and commonly known manufactures terms for variations of this are HyperSync, SuperSync and Over Drive Sync.

And there is a graphic illustration and explanation of how regular HSS and Long Duration Sync function in the ODS (Over Drive Sync) post here.

A significant advantage of this method over the flash pulsing method which the recent Godox Witstro units use, is that there is no extra limit to the number of flashes allowed in HSS mode (the Witstro allow just 10 shots at full power).

And you don’t really need to worry about running to the flash and turning the High Shutter Speed mode on and off all the time either. As there is only a small loss in power (0.2 stops) in the High Shutter Speed mode. At full power there is no loss.

So this High Shutter Speed mode is significantly more practical (and powerful) than the Witstro units. The trade off though is slightly more light gradient across the image frame.

To set the High Shutter Speed mode on, hold the top right SET and EYEBALL button, and the High Shutter Speed symbol will appear at the top right of the LCD as shown (below the battery indicator).

 

FP RoveLight

 

Triggering High Shutter Speed Mode

For this High Shutter Speed mode to function though, an early fire signal, or “pre-sync” signal, is also needed. And that needs to be provided by a High Speed Sync enabled transmitter on the camera hotshoe.

Most TTL triggers should work reasonably well with this, though the popular YongNuo YN-622 offer one of the simplest and inexpensive options for Canon and Nikon cameras.

UPDATE – If the TRS transmitter is proving unreliable it may be best to just use other radio triggers like the YN-622C to actually trigger the flash, and the TRS can be hand held separately to provide remote manual power adjustments on the Rovelight.

A receiver is needed for every RoveLight used with this method though, and they are connected to the flash via PC sync cord (with a 3.5mm mini phone socket at the flash end).

 

FP RoveLight

 

Please Note – The TRS transmitter unit is the only unit which can remotely adjust the power levels of the RoveLights. No other radio triggers can do this.

So regardless of the method used to fire the flashes (with or without High Shutter Speed Mode) the TRS transmitter will always be needed (possibly in hand) if you want to remotely control the RoveLight power levels.

 

The Alternative triggering methods below allow the Rovelights internal radio receiver to be uses, so that no extra receiver units need to be attached to each strobe.

The disadvantage may be reduced reliability due to the TRS transmitter being relied upon to fire the flashes (with many users reporting their TRS are less than reliable for this).

 

The first trick here is to simply attach the regular FlashPoint TRS transmitter to the TTL transmitter on the camera. That way there are no extra TTL receivers required on the RoveLights themselves, so they can remain clean and wireless.

 

FP RoveLight

 

For Canon, the YN-622C unfortunately require an extra hotshoe to PC sync cord, as the PC sync port on the side of the YN-622C transmitter is where the pre-sync signal is provided.

The hotshoe and TRS transmitter are actually just sitting on top of the YN-622C hotshoe here, just as somewhere convenient to mount them. The only electrical connection is through the PC sync cord, not actually the YN-622C hotshoe.

This may not look particularly attractive, though the High Shutter Speed functionality is pretty amazing, and well worthwhile looking a little strange on the camera.

 

FP RoveLight

 

Nikon owners have it bit easier though, as the TRS transmitter can mount straight on top of the YN-622N hotshoe. No PC sync cord is needed with the YN-622N.

UPDATE – There appears to be some issues between the Nikon YN-622N and TRS transmitter when mounting as shown below. For some reason the TRS transmitter may not consistently fire in this configuration.

So with Nikon it may be necessary to also attach a YN-622N as receiver to the RoveLight itself. And only mount the YN-622N or YN-622N-TX on the camera hotshoe. The TRS transmitter then held in hand then to control the RoveLight power levels.

 

FP RoveLight

 

The recent YongNuo YN-622C-TX and YN-622N-TX are also very popular TTL transmitter units now. Though unfortunately they do not have any hotshoe on top, and they do not provide a PC sync out signal. So there is no way to access the pre-sync signal directly from the transmitter unit itself.

Another way to access the Pre-Sync signal then, is to attach the TRS transmitter to a YN-622C receiver instead. The TRS then relays the fire signal on to the RoveLights, and still not extra receivers are needed attached to the flash units.

The YN-622C receiver and TRS transmitter do not need to be mounted near the camera, they could be anywhere between the camera and lights. Though if you only have one TRS unit it would need to be close by to use the remote power level adjustment for the RoveLights.

This is also a method that could be used with most other TTL triggers which do not have a hotshoe or PC Sync out port on the transmitter.

 

FP RoveLight

 

 

High Shutter Speed Mode Results

Below is a direct comparison, in and out of High Shutter Speed mode, with the RoveLight and the Godox RS600P, and Witsro AD360. Which are 2 of the other very popular portable flash units at the moment. The AD360 also having a purpose designed High Speed Sync mode.

Surprisingly outside of High Shutter Speed mode the RoveLight is around one full stop more powerful than the RS600P when using the standard reflectors, and about 0.8 stops in a softbox as shown below (Phottix Luna 70cm used).

The RoveLight loses a couple of tenths at 1/250th shutter speed due to the longer flash duration at full power, though full frame cameras with 1/200th x-sync would not be affected by that small loss anyway.

The AD360 being a 300WS flash (as opposed to 600WS for the other two units) is another stop lower than the RS600P. So a quite significant 1.8 stops below the RoveLight compared in the softbox.

 

HSS Comparison

 

So as the image above shows, the RoveLight provides significantly more light, in and out of the High Shutter Speed mode. And that’s a major bonus considering they are also much more convenient to use the High Shutter Speed mode compared to the AD360.

The Godox RS600P is a little disappointing at full power using the Long Duration Sync method, though it doesn’t technically have any HSS mode, so that is no fault of the flash. We are just relying on the existing long flash durations already available. Being a voltage controlled flash the gradient does get more even at lower power levels. The RS600P can’t anywhere near match the RoveLight at any power level, though at least they are usable for Long Duration Sync (which is very handy when mixing with the AD360 etc)

The AD360, using a flash pulsing method to produce a longer flash duration, provides a more even frame (or less gradient), than the RoveLight. Though the big trade off for that is a 10 shot limit, and needing to turn the HSS mode on and off directly on the flash. So at full power its often better to leave the HSS mode off with AD360 and just use the regular long flash duration instead (which has more gradient).

The Gradient in the RoveLight High Shutter Speed frame above may look significant, though this is generally hardly noticeable in a regular image mixing ambient light and flash in the frame. I have to use a plain white wall here to see what is actually happening.

If it helps to understand the loss or gain with High Shutter Speed mode here, if using an ND filter instead of High Shutter Speed mode to open the camera aperture, the left frames above would look exactly the same as the right. So all flashes are losing a little light over an ND filter.

The advantage is the speed and convenience of not having to use the ND filter. Or not having to close the aperture as far if trying to underexpose the ambient light.

So with the power the RoveLight provides, this is really a very significant and usable High Shutter Speed feature, if you’re interested in the High Shutter Speed method.

TIP – HSS is commonly used to achieve wider apertures for narrow depth of field in bright ambient light. ND filters on the camera lens are the other common method of achieving this. Though they do not provide any advantage for freezing motion as higher shutter speeds can do.

For more information on how HSS and Long Duration Sync methods work please see this post.

 

Form Factor

 

This was always going to be swings and roundabouts. The RoveLight are an all in one completely cordless unit. The big advantage of that is the speed of having everything in one unit always ready to go. And a nice reduction in size, and more significantly a reduction in gear clutter.

At around 2.8kg the RoveLights are about 200 grams lighter than the ($2000) Profoto B1 for example. Though they are still a significant chunk of weight to either be hand holding over your head for any length of time, or to prop up high on anything but a decent solid light stand, let alone a boom arm.

It is still impressive the amount of light output and battery power the RoveLight provide in the reasonably compact package they are though. As an interesting comparison, the soon to be released YongNuo YN300W lights are larger, considerably heavier, without any internal battery, and still only half the power of the smaller RoveLight.

(That’s not to say the YN300W ar not impressive studio lights).

 

FP RoveLight

 

Compared with the popular Godox RS600P, the RS600P battery pack is over 3kg alone. The whole package with case, flash head, and cord, is closer to 4.8kg. Compared to just 2.8kg for the RoveLight (which is surprisingly putting out significantly more light as well).

The RS600P, and lights like the Elinchrom Quadra, definitely still have their advantages though too. The RS600P head weighs next to nothing (as there’s nothing inside it), so its much easier to hand hold up high for any period of time (the battery pack is no stress slung over your shoulder).

Where the RoveLight almost definitely needs a support pole for holding up high for anything more than a short time. So depending on what your regular use would be things like that may need to be factored in.

 

FP RoveLight

 

Mounting the Rovelight on a light stand you would be wasting your time with anything but a decent solid medium stand. (That’s not to say you can’t get relatively inexpensive and solid stands as shown).

The RS600P are heavier to move around (4.8kg vs 2.8kg), though all the weight is at the bottom if the stand, so you can lift the stand with one hand and there is no chance of it overbalancing. Where the RoveLight is easy to lift, though you do need to be conscious of the weight up top when moving it around.

And then there is the fact that the RS600P has built in ballast with the battery back at the base of the stand. Even outdoors this is often enough to weigh the stand down fairly securely, where the RoveLight is definitely going to need extra sandbags at times.

 

FP RoveLight

 

So there are advantages and disadvantages to either system, and they are both likely to suit some people better than others.

Ideally even wireless lights like the RoveLight would eventually be designed with the option of a remote corded head when needed, so you have both options then, and the best of both worlds.

And another great option would simply be a 300WS version of the RoveLight. With the power this light has, half of that would still be fantastic, and at around 60% of the size and weight.

 

Carry Case

 

Like many portable strobe units, the RoveLights come with a nice padded case and shoulder strap. This is not just a soft fabric case, as there is still a rigid frame inside.

The RoveLight fits in fully assembled and ready to go. And there is room for extra battery modules and charger etc.

 

FlashPoint RoveLight

 

As nice as the case is, one small catch is that the strap holds the case on the wider side. That way the zipper opening flap remains at the top where there is no weight on it.

For the same reason there is no regular handle on either side of the case. So the only handle option is the shoulder strap , supporting the case on its its wider side.

Its still nice to have decent case provided though.

FlashPoint RoveLight

 

UPDATE – Flashpoint Mount –

 

A number of people who have purchased the Flashpoint mount version of the RoveLight have pointed out a few anomalies over the original Bowen’s mount version.

Adorama’s current Flashpoint mount appears to be very similar to a mount used by the German strobe manufacturer Multitblitz, in particular the Multiblitz V-Type mount.

UPDATE – We have one report of a person trying a Multiblitz V-Type speedring on the Flashpoint mount RoveLight and it did not fit. So its still unclear if Multiblitz are actually compatible or not.

When adapting this mount to the RoveLight though, for some reason the small concave reflector around the flash tube was not retained from the original Bowens mount version, and a flat reflector plate used instead. This can be a little bit of a negative, as the concave reflector helps to protect the flash tube when mounting modifiers etc.

Rovelight RL600

 

Another issue at the time of writing this though, is that the Flashpoint mount light does not come with the smaller 5″ (actually 5 1/8″) compact reflector and diffuser cap, which the original Bowen’s mount light comes with standard.

Adorama have been providing a free 8″ Flashpoint reflector instead. The advantage of which is that there are 8″ grid sets available to fit this reflector.

The disadvantage though is that umbrella mounting hole cut into the 8″ reflector does not actually line up with the umbrella mount on the RoveLights base.

EDIT / UPDATE – Some buyers have reported the umbrella shaft is now lining up correctly with the hole in recent 8″ reflectors provided with the RL600.

And also the larger 8″ reflector is not as compact, and will not fit in the RoveLight case, all set up and ready to go like the compact reflector allows. The compact reflector also comes standard with a nice diffuser cover, which the 8″ reflector does not come with.

UPDATE – Flashpoint mount Rovelight owners have been reporting a couple more issues –

The Flashpoint mount has no locking pin or mechanism like the Bowens mount does, and the spring clips are not very strong, so heavier modifiers can twist and actually fall right out of the mount.

Also the Flashpoint Speedring which can be used to fit into other standard softboxes so that they can be mounted on the FlashPoint mount Rovelight, are reportedly a slightly larger diameter than other regular speedrings. This effectively makes the softbox rods longer, putting stress and extra tension on the softbox fabric.

 

Technical Specs –

 

FP RoveLight Specs

 

 

FP RoveLight

 

Overall the FlashPoint RoveLights are very impressive and well priced all in one portable flashes.

And with the support from Adorama, they should really provide a lot of bang for buck.

 

UPDATE – 14th July 2015 – PLEASE NOTE – Jinbei have released an updated version of the HD 600 II, now called the HD 600 V.

And the HD 600 V have more sophisticated radio transceiver modules built inside, which are unfortunately no longer compatible with the original HD 600 II and Flashpoint RoveLight radio system and transmitter units.

At this time the HD 600V are just supplied with a similar version of the original TRS transmitter unit labelled the TRS-V. Though the radio modules built inside the HD 600 V flash units are designed to accommodate more sophisticated transmitter units which should eventually come from Jinbei.

Flashpoint are still waiting on details of what new transmitter options may be possible with the RoveLights (nothing is guaranteed though).

 

 

PRICE AND AVAILABILITY –

 

The original FlashPoint RoveLights RL-600B are now discontinued.

The replacement ORLIT RoveLight RT 601 HSS strobes are now available from $449.

 

RL-600B Replacement Battery Modules are still available here – $150.00

RoveLight – Original User Manual PDF

RoveLight – Overview

.

265 Comments
  1. Robert Hall 2 years ago

    I’m wondering what experience you had with the color temperature of this light?
    From this report, i’m seeing 6500-7200, with a tint of -8 being pretty common.
    http://www.imafoto.net/blog/featured-articles/adorama-rovelight-rl-600-vs-pcb-einstein-e640/

    Did you experience those type of color corrections as well?

  2. keano 2 years ago

    Has this been resolved? I don’t like the idea of something else plugging into the rovelights. Any other options? cleaner?
    UPDATE – There appears to be some issues between the Nikon YN-622N and TRS transmitter when mounting as shown below. For some reason the TRS transmitter may not consistently fire in this configuration. So with Nikon it may be necessary to also attach a YN-622N as receiver to the RoveLight itself. And only mount the YN-622N or YN-622N-TX on the camera hotshoe. The TRS transmitter then held in hand then to control the RoveLight power levels. – See more at: http://flashhavoc.com/flashpoint-rovelight-rl-600-review/#sthash.tcVLconj.dpuf

  3. richard 2 years ago

    I have 2 of these for sale with all original packaging. I used one to test against Dynalite, Speedotron and some Einstein’s I have the other one is unused.
    They are listed on ebay here if interested.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/271733052496?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

    • richard 2 years ago

      Sold these.. thanks

  4. christopher 2 years ago

    LITTLE UPDATE :
    Concerning the remote control…
    I ordered a JINBEI remote to work with the rovelight, and it works great.
    I paid $20 for it and directly from China
    So, if you need an extra remote, buy the $20 one instead of the more expensive one from Adorama ( exactly the same remote!!!!!)

  5. Neelen 2 years ago

    I suppose the charger works with voltage that is found in the US which is something like 120 volts. HOw can I make it work in a place with 240 volts?

  6. Mikezite 2 years ago

    Hi!
    I take it the PocketWizards TT1 and TT5 will be fine to trigger this Rovelight Head in HSS?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Mike,

      Yes in general they should. Feedback from PW users always varies though, you may need to tweak the HyperSync timing depending on the camera and set up used.

  7. Sean 2 years ago

    Is it possible to shoot these using TTL with Nikon?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Sean,

      No, there is no TTL function with the Rovelight, just HSS.

      At this point the Phottix Indra and Profoto B1 are the main ITTL strobe options.

  8. Maxim Dupliy 2 years ago

    Hello
    Thanks for the
    article.
    I want to ask why HSS mode to work, it needs an early fire signal, or “pre-sync” signal ?
    Thanks in advance 🙂

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Maxim,

      The early fire signal is needed because at shutter speeds over your cameras X-sync, the sensor is never completely exposed all at once. The first and second shutter curtain move across the sensor at the same time with a small gap between them.

      But to light all of the sensor like this, the flash must start before the first shutter even starts moving. While the regular flash firing signal waits until the first shutter is completely open, and by then its too late to light the complete sensor as the gap between the shutter curtain moves across.

      You can see a graphic illustration which explains this better in the Phottix Odin post here.

      • Maxim 2 years ago

        Thanks for the answer
        To understand it finally , can i ask
        1. Does the pre signal (in HSS mode) used in order to synchronize the main (next) pulse of light OR to illuminate the bottom of the sensor ?
        2. Did somebody checked what is a flash duration time t.1 of RL-600 at half power and 1/4 power ?
        3. Do the Rl-600 act in HSS mode like a speedlite, firing 50hz low power pulses of light ?

        Thank you very much

  9. Paul 2 years ago

    I just picked up the Jinbei HD-600 II (the Rovelight isn’t available in the UK), so I’m stuck with the rather flimsy swivel bracket, rather than the beefier version on the Rovelight. Has anyone had any success with swapping it for something sturdier (something more similar to the swivel on the Rovelight)? Any tips/suggestions, either for a DIY option or something off the shelf? Thanks.

  10. Attila 2 years ago

    Hi,
    I just received my hd600. I have phottix odin system for sony cameras. I would like to ask you about the hss sync. Have chanche “save” one ttl receiver with odin system? Because no hotshoe on the trigger just an usb port. Sorry for my English 🙂 many thanks!

    Attila

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Attila,

      Unfortunately I’m not really sure what you are asking there.

      You would need to attach the Odin receiver to the HD600 II via a PC sync cord. The sync cord comes with the Odin receiver set.

      Otherwise you could place the Jinbei transmitter on top of the hotshoe of the Odin receiver. That should also work if you don’t want to attach the Odin receiver to the light.

      Only the HD600 II light has the HSS mode though, not the HD600.

      • gregorylent 2 years ago

        i have the hd 600 .. phottix odin will fire hss, phottix strato won’t .. transmitter speed is the drawback

  11. shafnutz05 2 years ago

    I received my light last week but the trigger isn’t working at all. I’ve heard the trigger is pretty much junk so rather than deal with getting a replacement from Adorama, I’d like to pick up some Yongnuo’s. What YN units would you recommend and what cables to I need to attach them to the RL? Thanks in advance!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi shafnutz05,

      The Flashpoint / Jinbei FTR transmitter is the only unit currently available which can remotely control the Rovelights power levels. So you really want to get that exchanged, it works fine as a hand held remote at least.

      Also try removing the battery a couple of times and turning the transmitter back on. There is also a reset button inside the battery compartment worth trying.

      Regarding other triggers, if you want the HSS function with the Rovelight then look at the YN-622C for Canon or YN-622N for Nikon.

      You just need a simple screwlock PC sync to miniphone cord to attach the receiver to the Rovelight – Ebay, Amazon.

    • Mike 2 years ago

      Adorama will exchange out the bad transmitter, I had one that was bad on mine and they replaces it right away.

  12. Josh 2 years ago

    Has anyone experienced the flash randomly firing in between shots?

    • manny 2 years ago

      If using it in non-IGBT mode, or HSS mode if you will, the flash will dump it power (flash) when dropping power. If this is happening in IGBT mode then I would contact Adorama and see about having it replaced or serviced.

      • Josh 2 years ago

        What is igbt and how do I know if I am in it or not

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 2 years ago

          Hi Josh,

          When the flash is in HSS mode it will appear to be firing randomly, but this is actually an auto dump of the capacitor, and only actually happens after you have reduced the flash power. It doesn’t happen straight away after changing the flash level, so its not obvious to connect the 2 things together as the cause.

          In regular mode (not HSS mode) the flash is acting as an IGBT flash, like a big speedlite, and it doesn’t need to do the auto dump after you reduce flash power.

          So as Manny mentions, if you are getting random firing in the regular mode as well, than something must be wrong. Or if the flash is actually randomly firing in HSS mode as well, and not just a short while after reducing the power levels.

          • Josh 2 years ago

            Awesome! You guys rock! I will monitor it very closely. Learned something new! I really appreciate the timely responses. This is by far the best review/resource site for flash!

  13. Sam 2 years ago

    Anyone know what the power setting would be in HSS to reach a 1 second recycle time? Or have a link to the different modes? I’d like to know, I’m tempted to buy this but not at the ridiculous recycle times it has right now. That makes for a boring shoot 😉

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Sam,

      It only goes down to 1/16th in HSS mode. Shooting off a lot of frames as soon as the recycle beep was ready, most of them were under a second at 1/16th.

      At 1/4 power HSS mode I was averaging around 1.8 seconds.

      Testing this I just realized what the snail and hare modes are for now though, as the light automatically switches to snail mode once you overheat it, slowing the recycle a little.

      Its definitely slower in HSS mode, but for a compact battery powered flash its still an impressive flash.

      • Sam 2 years ago

        Thanks for the info, not bad for the price at all. Rarely use full power on flashes but I guess I would pay 1200$ for the Phottix Indra or 2000$ for the profoto if I wanted under 2 seconds at full power. 1 second is pretty fast on alienbees but again, very rare to be at full power, 1.8s at 1/4th power isn’t terrible considering you could be at a really high shutter speed for that… depending on the actual power of the flash.

        Are you able to use f1.4-f2.8 in the day with shutter at 1/4000-1/8000? I think that’s my main concern. It’s the outdoor shoots I want this type of flash for. 🙂

        • Sam 2 years ago

          I meant… I want to shoot at f1.8-f2.8 in HSS at 1/4000-1/8000 under 2 seconds, that wouldn’t be so bad if the flash can provide good light at those settings. 🙂

  14. Paulie_pt 2 years ago

    Has anyone tried using the TRS remote directly on the Nikon D800? Will scramble the electronics?

  15. keano 2 years ago

    Just returned it. No problems other then the HSS is a pain with another trigger and remote could be better. I got a Indra360 on backorder.

    • Sam 2 years ago

      How is it a pain with another trigger?

      • keano 2 years ago

        The trigger when you change the settings is very low audibly. I can barely hear it I have bad ears too. I see no visual reference.

  16. kyle 2 years ago

    I currently have a B800 with an aging VML. I want to upgrade to something with faster recycle times because I find I usually get inconsistent results with this set up. Would the Steakflash or Rovelight be an upgrade?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi kyle,

      I don’t have the Alien Bee gear to compare, though I would be surprised if there would be much advantage over the VML.

      The PCB specs state 2 second recycle for 320Ws. And the RoveLight at half power (aprox 300Ws) are around 1.5 seconds. So I don’t know if there would be much advantage in it regarding recycle times.

      You probably want to look at the VLX if you really want to speed things up.

  17. Alaa 2 years ago

    Is the below scenario correct?
    If i installed yn622 on my camera and the Flashpoint transmitter above it, then connect another yn622 to the strobe, then i will trigger the flash in hss but i control the power from the strobe small transmitter!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Alaa,

      Yes that should be fine if you don’t mind connecting a YN-622 as receiver to the strobe.

  18. nixland 2 years ago

    I wonder which one has the faster recycle time between long tail HSS (rovelight, jinbei) vs multi pulse HSS (speedlight, B1 & Indra ??). In case we need more frame per seconds shot (at least 5 fps).
    But I imagine that the multi pulse HSS will make the strobe work harder.

  19. Syl 2 years ago

    Hello, I have this exact setup but when I fire at around 1/2000th of a second I begin to see the black on the bottom of the image. It’s as if the triggers and the RL FP 600 aren’t communicating at the right time. Please help me with this issue. I’m shooting with a Nikon D610.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Syl,

      Which set up was that, FT-16 transmitter mounted on top of a YN-622N transmitter?

      If so the YN-622N have a SuperSync mode (SS) where you can adjust the pre-sync timing. If you experiment with that you should be able to improve the results.

      You may need to adjust the timing for different shutter speeds though.

  20. John 2 years ago

    I have been using a nikon D90 and a RF 602 trigger to fire my YN 560 III flash units.

    I want to have this unit as well. What do I need to buy to have the HSS capability with the Rovelight and still fire my other flash units as well?

    I see people are buying the Cells II trigger and the YN 622n but I am unsure which one to buy for the most functionality. Will I be able to trigger all my YN 560 III units with the YN 622n while still getting HSS? Thanks!!

  21. pavan 2 years ago

    Thank you for the detailed review. I bought the Jeinbei version ,like you mentioned , the head for the light stand which attaches to the Strobe is not that strong its mostly like a Umbrella holder rather then a Strobe attachment. Mine has a lot of play both vertically and horizontally, Can you recommend a Swivel handle for the jeinbei please?

  22. Rovelight600b-HSS 2 years ago

    Hello,

    After few days of looking HSS setup, someone who have this has informed me that for HSS, there No need for the Hot shoe adapter. he has the below setup:

    YN-622TX on the Camera hot shoe and YN-622C on Rovelight strobe.
    TRS not needed to be mounted on the YN-622C which is on the camera hot shoe. Just have it in your hand/pocket.

    Can you confirm this?

  23. Keano 2 years ago

    Elvis you recommend shooting HSS in the regular voltage not the IGBT? In full power or 1/2 power is that right? Why was that again?

  24. Mark Kitaoka 2 years ago

    I’ve written my recent experience with the Rovelight while on location:
    http://www.markkitaoka.com/latest-news/rovelight-hss-and-the-godoxflashpoint-360s

  25. JFloFoto 2 years ago

    Bad link.

  26. Steve 2 years ago

    Link woks fine for me

  27. Mark Kitaoka 2 years ago

    I’ve become very disappointed with the transmission (or lack of) of the Rovelight’s transmitter. I have written about my experiences here:
    http://www.markkitaoka.com/latest-news/rovelight-adoramas-russian-roulette-transmitter

    • Donald 2 years ago

      Good to know. By the way Mark, about using these in a professional setting; how to figure out flash settings on the fly? Like between shots, since there’s no ETTL.

      • Mark Kitaoka 2 years ago

        Hey Donald,
        I always meter a starting point before the sessions begin. Once they’re underway I OFTEN change the look/mood to suit my taste. I never use TTL so after lots of experience I know that my lights at a certain power level will produce a look I’m after at various apertures. I tend to shoot pretty shallow in terms of DOF and try to never go over f8 if I can help it. Sorry as I know this may not be the answer you’re looking for, it’s really just a matter of experience.

  28. Neil 2 years ago

    hi FH – members should be aware that there are now two versions of the Jinbei remote, the std or older model and a newer version the TRS-V. This is supplied with the HD 600 II V models – it appears that these strobes have a different channel for the 2.4GHz and so cannot be controlled by the earlier remote triggers. These V versions apart from the screen printing look the same and probably just as flimsy.

    However as I also use Godox AD360 / V850 units – the Cells IIc work very – the HD 600 II can be triggered for HSS by a Cells IIc connected using a 3.5mm sync cable, much in the same way as using a YN622c, however with the Godox you only need the one trigger for all strobes in use – Godox/Jinbie.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Neil,

      Thanks for the feedback. I’ve followed this up with Jinbei and it appears you are correct.

      The TRS-V are not compatible with the previous non V mode lights like the HD 600 II and RoveLight RL-600 / B.

      And the original TRS transmitters are not compatible with the new HD 600 V strobes.

      The only detail Flashpoint provided on this is that they are not aware of changes to the RoveLights.

      I have added a note on this in bold at the top of the post.

  29. Mark 2 years ago

    I had an electrical engineer friend of mine look at the transmitter. The ‘antenna’ is the small squiggly line of holes and it is tuned to a specific frequency. His estimate is attaching a wire to lengthen the range may make it worse..if that is even possible! I plan to play around with it just to see.

  30. Craig 2 years ago

    I really hope they make a new transmitter that is not only more reliable, but also has added functions. At the minimum it should have an on/off switch and LCD with the power setting. Also it’s extremely annoying how the transmitter turns on when the contact on the bottom is shorted. Every time I put it on or take it off my cameras it turns on.

  31. Jesse Patterson 2 years ago

    What’s up with Adorama? The bowens mount version of this flash has been back-ordered for a month and they keep pushing the availability date back. It’s getting frustrating!!! I might have to give in and get the Jinbei HD600v from eBay however, I was hoping to get the RoveLight for the US support and warranty.

  32. Jesse Patterson 2 years ago

    Ok, so I finally have a unit being shipped! One question, for anyone who uses the Rovelights / Jinbeis, I keep hearing bad news about the trigger that comes with them. Is there anyone out there that isn’t having any issues? I plan on using the trigger to change the power settings and have a YNE3-RX trigger the flash in HSS. Is there anyone out there who has been able to do this consistently? Just wanted to take a poll.

    • Neil 2 years ago

      The stock triggers are functional but a tad fragile. If the strobes are to be used in a mixed environment then a separate trigger system will be required anyway. I use the Godox Cells IIc and also the YN-622 depending on the strobe mix and camera bodies in use and required for any HSS operations. The Jinbei controller is just for power and LED management, these strobes are good value for their price point and power output.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Jesse,

      You should be ok if using the YNE3-RX to fire the flash.

      Its far less critical if just using the transmitter for remote power control, though even for that they can be temperamental at times.

      Hopefully Flashpoint come through with a new transmitter soon though anyway.

  33. Mark 2 years ago

    I have done my best to love the Rovelights. I used Phottix Odin remotes with them for bullet proof triggering, but because I cannot adjust the lights with the OEM trigger it has become too frustrating to keep the units. I am in the process of trying to get Adorama to accept the returns. The trigger is a complete and utter joke.

  34. Mark 2 years ago

    I’ve certainly made no secret of my frustration with the Rovelight’s lousy transmitter. I was just able to release the images where I ran into my initial trouble with the transmitters. Although this article is NOT about my trouble with the Roves you can see how I was using them.

    http://www.markkitaoka.com/latest-news/on-location-with-avant-chamber-ballet/

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Mark,

      Flashpoint have been working on a new transmitter unit for the current RoveLights.

      Nothing is guaranteed yet as they need to be tested first. If all goes ok though they should be releasing details within the next couple of weeks. I haven’t seen what they have come up with yet.

  35. Mark 2 years ago

    Thank you. I have been in contact with Adorama’s Rovelight project manager and have heard nothing about a new transmitter. Until it appears and is tested to me it’s vaporware. IF they do come out with one that has a digital read out and consistently fires and controls the light then they will have a remarkable system at that price point. I am replacing my Roves with Priolite HotSync units. Yes five times the cost of the Roves but in my world it’s worth the price.

  36. Niels Gram 2 years ago

    just curious: Why not Phottix Indra500 ?

    • Mark 2 years ago

      I didn’t know about them at the time. I’ve read some very good things about them, but have decided to go with Priolites.

  37. Mark 2 years ago

    This is the first commercial shoot where I used the Roves for their HSS capabilities and began to experience the trigger issues.
    http://www.markkitaoka.com/latest-news/on-location-with-avant-chamber-ballet/

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      The current TRS transmitters are really hopeless for firing the strobes reliably.

      If I had have know that would be the case I wouldn’t have bothered with documenting methods of combining them with the YN-622 etc for high shutter speeds.

      Whether using high shutter speeds or not, using a separate set of radio triggers to fire the RoveLight, and the TRS transmitter in hand just for the remote power control saves a lot of potential hassle and headaches.

      Though I’ve had the TRS transmitter just stop working many times for remote power control as well. They power off every few minutes, and then often won’t turn on again, when they were firing fine a short time ago.

      FlashPoint are working on another transmitter though. And until that eventuates I think you have to basically consider these lights as not really having remote power control. The triggering side should be reliable with other radio triggers used.

  38. Mark 2 years ago

    I agree, but I don’t feel that one should have to purchase a third party trigger just to make a product work that is supplied with a trigger. I’d never buy a cell phone that is advertised to make calls, but I need to buy a different cell phone because cell phone 1’s keypad does not function reliably! I can answer calls with cell phone 1, but if I want to place a call or text I have to use cell phone 2.

    Cell phone 1 is great because it’s less expensive, built well and answers calls with clarity. But I had to buy a second cell phone for some of the important features I thought I was getting in cell phone 1.

    Would anyone accept that logic with cell phones? Hell no. It’s one of the very reasons I NEVER purchase LPA products anymore. (PocketWizard) When they came out with their FlexTTL devices for Canon speedlights they discovered that the distance was hampered by radio transmissions from EX580II flash units. Their solution was to supply early adopters with silly socks and hot shoes that needed to be place over and onto the speedlights. Then they produced a hard shell unit which WE HAD TO PURCHASE to make their FlexTTL systems work at any reasonable distance. And then they measured the external power port wrong on the hard shell unit and asked users to purchase a right angle plug that would fit the poorly measured and manufactured hard shell cases! WTF!

    I’m not a casual user of gear. Some may ask “Then why buy a 400.00 600ws battery powered strobe and not a Profoto B1?” Easy, because I try to save some money on gear if I believe it is a great value/product. And while I’m on my rant I will simply say this, the more strobes I use the more I fully appreciate the PCB Einsteins. I laugh when some say clients want to see only Profoto gear on their shoots. Seriously? My clients and the clients of other pros I work with only care about imagination, execution and a pro shooter’s ability to deliver extremely high quality imagery on time and who are a pleasure to work with.

    Rant over

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Flashpoint are definitely working on a new transmitter, if all goes well with the current version that shouldn’t be far away.

      If not I think they will have to keep working on it if they are going to continue selling the current version Rovelights.

      As mentioned in the note at the top of the post, Jinbei have moved to a new radio module in the “V” model lights they are selling now. They have new transmitters likely with HSS sync pre sync signal built in due soon as well. So they are another option as well.

  39. Mark 2 years ago

    Today I returned both of my Rovelights to Adorama.

  40. Daniel 2 years ago

    Flashpoint is working on a new transmitter unit for the current RoveLights! Really???

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Daniel,

      They better be 🙂

      Yes, nothing is guaranteed yet as they need to test them to make sure they are up to scratch (otherwise I guess its back to the drawing board for a while again), though otherwise hopefully they should release more details soon.

  41. Mark 2 years ago

    This is a BTS video of my on location session with Avant Chamber Ballet when I began to run into my initial transmission issues with the Rovelight transmitter. It will give you a more clear view of how I used these lights. I have returned both simply because they did not consistently work for me.
    https://vimeo.com/135003233

    • nem 2 years ago

      Sneaky self-promotion, well done sir 😀

  42. Dan 2 years ago

    Has anyone had experience with the new version to report?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Dan,

      Are you referring to the lights themselves?

      As far as I know there have not been any changes to latest batch of RoveLights available now. Though we are waiting for Flashpoint to hopefully release some details of a new transmitter unit the have been working on for the current lights.

      Nothing is guaranteed yet though until they have been tested.

      • Dan 2 years ago

        Well, the remote and light update that is supposed to work better. I am planning on ordering one in a few weeks and was wondering if the new remote works better?

  43. Mike 2 years ago

    OK so I am VERY excited about possibly adding this to my strobes. I currently have the 622c and TX setup. I have a dumb question, does the 3.5mm to PC come with it? I would love to find another battery for it that doesnt cost half the price of the strobe if possible.

    Am I gaining anything using the TX on the camera VS another 622c? I mean because you said you cannot change the power through the TX.

    My MAIN question is I have a buff beauty dish, I am guessing there would be no way to adapt that to work on the bowens mount would there?

    Thanks!
    Mike

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Mike,

      ThePhotoGadget have the Jinbei battery a little cheaper at $129.

      Though for $20 more you would have to be better off with Adorama’s 12 month warranty if you live in the US. Even though these batteries do appear to be pretty solid.

      Regarding the YN-622C-TX V’s the YN-622C transmitter, the YN-622C-TX has a SuperSync timing adjustment available. Which may help if you’re using a full frame camera in particular and want to either tune as much light in the frame as possible at a certain shutter speed, or adjust the timing to remove shutter bands showing in the frame.

      Otherwise the YN-622C provide the pre-sync signal as well, you just have no option to tune it. Most people likely aren’t going to mess around with tuning anyway unless there is an issue with shutter in the frame.

      Sorry also see Rob’s comments below (posted before my reply) for the other answers.

  44. Rob 2 years ago

    @MIKE, the Rovelight does not come with the cable. You will have to purchase this separately.
    The battery will serve you very well, I can shoot 2 or 3 events before charging, although I am not using full power.
    Most folks use an RX/TX to gain a longer working distance and to gain HSS. The included trigger will not give you HSS but works great for short distances.

    If you have a BD that will allow you to change out speedings then you can simply purchase a Bowens adapter from amazon, attach it and you will be in business. Most BD will allow you to remove the 4 screws and insert another adapter..

  45. Mike 2 years ago

    Thanks everyone. Yeah I just got off the phone with Adorama, the guy admitted that the remote does not work with HSS but was like they should just take that off the description. I am like that isn’t the answer ha. I am just worried they come out with a new remote and we have to pay for it later. OK so battery life seems like it will be good.

    Sorry I know I sound dumb about my 622 devices, I bought them with the intention of getting higher end YN speedlights that would take advantage of it. So I am not too sure about tuning. Since I shoot canon I would have to get the Female Hotshoe to Screwlock PC Connector, do they sell something like this on amazon? I searched that and got a few with bad ratings back.

    OK so just 3.5mm sync cable got it.

    I am just happy this thread is still alive!

    Yeah with the buff beauty dish it is just a hold that the buff lights just grab onto. This is not my setup but you can see there is no holes on the BD.

    http://www.thephotowebb.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Buff1.jpg

    Hmmmmmm…….

    Thanks so much guys for answering.

  46. Rob 2 years ago

    Yes, that BD looks like it is specifically made for Buff lights so you will not be able to place an Bowens adapter on that unless you modify it!
    You can always purchase one of the foldable beautydish that is Bowens mount.

  47. Saro Campione 2 years ago

    I purchased RoveLight RL – 600 from Adorama few days ago , arrived in just three days in Italy and I’m really happy with the purchase , it was so long since I tried a flash with these characteristics can be used in exterior without having to carry heavy and expensive alternators . Only negative transmitter TRS really poor construction and commands with really tiny . Hoping it will be out a new TRS , hoo used my Meike MK – GT600 ttl flash trigger to use the HSS and everything seems to work well , tomorrow , finally , I will do a field test with one of my model friends and see the results. Congratulations on an excellent and detailed review . I apologize for my bad English .

  48. Mark 2 years ago

    I would like to commend Adorama for accepting my two Rovelights for a refund even though they were both past the 30 days. I keep all of my packing/etc. in the event something doesn’t work out, but even then I appreciate their customer service honoring my dissatisfaction with the Rove’s transmitter.

  49. Nathaniel 2 years ago

    Long time listener, first time caller…

    Funny little store Adorama is. The Bowens mounts had been out of stock for the longest time. Price was $479 (but unavailable). I signed up to receive an email so I could order them as soon as they were available again and never got an email. They probably changed the SKU# so it is officially still “out of stock”. Now they are available but for $30 more per… Whatever. Now I guess I can wait for the NicePhoto RQ 600’s…

    ……

    Here is an actual question though…

    I have been shooting just speedlights and want to move to portable strobes. I have been trying to decide between the Rovelight RL 600B or the Godox RS600P.

    I suppose the main question is the pack vs. monolight form factor. Also, the Rovelight has HSS. But I am not sure for $100 more per light I wouldn’t rather invest in a nice set of Lee filters.

    Can either of these systems be triggered AND controlled from the Phottix Odin trigger system (Canon version – if that matters). Or can they just be triggered and power control via the unit itself? If power control can be managed at the camera, that would be a huge bonus.

    • Dan 2 years ago

      Nathaniel,

      The form factor is a personal choice. I personally would rather have HSS than use ND filters. As for the triggering, the Odin can fire each of these lights but only the manufacturer triggers can adjust the power settings ect…

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Nathaniel,

      Hopefully we may do another promotion with the Rovelight eventually. Though I would really like to know the situation with the new transmitter units first.

      As Dan mentions, the Phottix Odin can trigger the Rovelights and the RS600P (with Odin / Strato II receivers attached), though only their respective transmitter units can be used for remote manual power control.

      Regarding the form factor and high shutter speeds, they are both personal choice / preference. The ideally they would provide the option of both. You can still use an ND filter with the Rovelight if preferred at times, though you can’t change the form factor of either flash.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2016 FlashHavoc.com - PRIVACY POLICY

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?