GODOX – V860C VING ETTL Flash – Hands On Overview

Godox have kindly sent over a couple of early Ving V860C ETTL flashes for testing and feedback.

If you’re not familiar with the V860C already, they are a soon to be available TTL version of the popular V850 remote manual speedlite, also released not so long ago.

UPDATE  – The full V860C review is now posted here.

To understand the V860C, its really best to familiarize yourself with the V850 here first. As the V860C are basically like a Canon 580EX II (or Nikon SB-910) TTL flash, combined with the existing V850 remote manual flash.

The V860C are already in high demand, because like the V850 they have a brilliant Lithium-Ion battery built in, providing a huge 650 full power pops and 1.5 second recycle time, without an external battery pack required.

They are also a fairly high quality TTL flash for under $200, which is a combination that’s currently unmatched.

 

Godox Ving V860C

Testing –

 

Having tested the early sample V860C pretty thoroughly I have discovered a few issues and limitations.

Owners of the current V850 would know that these are well made flashes, and the V860C are going to be a killer flashes. There are few issues still to be resolved though, at least with the early units I received. And some limitations also to be aware of for current V850 owners (and also some good signs regarding TTL radio triggers as well).

UPDATE 14/3/2014 – Godox have confirmed they are still working on the flash, the samples I received where still beta models in development. And Stock has not gone out yet to sellers. That’s likely not far off though.

 

ETTL Underexposure & FEC doubled

The early V860C samples I have are consistently underexposing by one stop (compared to the Canon 600EX-RT and most ETTL flashes). FEC (Flash Exposure Compensation) adjustments are also at least double what they should be. So adding one stop of FEC increases the exposure by around two stops.

UPDATE 17/3/2014 – Godox are reporting these issues have now been rectified (and first customer reports also now verify this).

Light Pattern

Its noticeable when the flash is used on-camera and direct, that the light patterns are not as even as the Canon flashes, or even YongNuo YN-568EX for example. This is more noticeable at longer zoom lengths, but even at 24mm there is room for a little improvement .

UPDATE – Godox are reporting they have a now have a new lense with more even light pattern.

Further Update – In the final production units Godox have actually updated the 14mm side angle flip down diffuser lense, which now provides a more even light pattern at wide angles. And not the actual flash lense.

Having looked more closely at the light patterns with the flash zoom length set to match the camera lense zoom lenght, the V860C light patterns are quite even within the frame. So I agree with Godox that this is really a non-issue.

 

Limitations –

 

Firstly I should point out that if you’re just after a simple ETTL flash for on camera use, the items below should not really effect you at all.

 

HSS, But No H-Mode

UPDATE 14/3/2014 – Godox have now added H-Mode to the V860C (like the V850 has).

H-Mode is the function that allows HSS off camera with the V850 (and now V860C) triggered through the small FT-16 receiver which clips onto the side of the flash.

This update is significant because it means the V860C can also now act as complete replacement for the V850 (with added TTL features).

 

No TTL Ratios In Optic Wireless Master Mode –

Like the Canon 580EX II, the V860C has an Optic Wireless Master Mode. Though strangely ETTL ratios can not be selected.

In Manual (or Multi) Modes you can select A, B, and C separately, and adjust separate power levels in each group from the V860C’s master interface, or the camera flash control menu.

Though for ETTL this option has not been enabled. So you effectively have a constant A:B:C ratio.

You can still however set different FEC directly on each slave flash, which then still allows a ratio of sorts. Its just that you can not adjust that ratio quickly from the camera.

This is only for the Optic Wireless Master mode though. It has no effect when using TTL radio triggers. And I get the impression Godox are aware that radio triggers like the YN-622C, and Optic Master function already built into cameras, have left the Master function on the flash as less of a priority now anyway.

Having said all that, the V860C Optic Master interface is clear and simple to use (unlike many other TTL flashes).

 

No Way To Fire the V850 or Witstro Off Camera –

With the V860C mounted on the camera hotshoe, Godox have not provided any method of firing the current V850 or Witstro units via radio off camera.

This is inconvenient, though as discussed under ETTL Radio Trigger Compatibility below, Godox’s strategy appears to be that other third party triggers provide better options for this currently anyway. And they will focus on their own TTL systems to be available around the end of the year.

We did suggest a number of options which could have at least provided some solution without adding extra third party radio triggers, but Godox are clearly now focused on a more well refined systems to come in the future.

Many of Godox’s current flashes have clip on external receivers, so they can all be updated. And their intention at least is not to leave current flashes behind in new systems.

 

ETTL Radio Trigger Compatibility –

 

The question most people have been asking is about compatibility with other third party TTL triggers like the YongNuo YN-622C.

I have spent a solid day just running through all the functions, and from my initial testing found all functions working with the –

 

Please Note Though – This is just my initial testing. Its a lot of time just trying to confirm all these functions a working correctly with all these triggers, as well as the Canon Optic Wireless system. So its possible I could have missed some things, and that other issues may still be discovered once a number of people start using these flash / trigger / camera combinations in more depth.

Also I have spent a lot of time over the last few years warning people that most of the issues people run across with TTL triggers are due to mixing third party gear. So I’d be a bit of a hypocrite to not point that out now as well.

Its pretty obvious though that the V860C are going to be one of the more popular TTL flashes available. And that is due to the unique Lithium-Ion battery, not just the low price (for what you get). So there should over time be enough user feedback to allow any compatibility issues to be well know and documented.

How fast, or if Godox will address any issues found with third party gear is unknown as yet.

 

Other Observations –

 

LCD Screen Not as Bright –

The current V850 has a nice clear bright backlight which I really like. The V860C have a more subdued tone and brightness.

This may have been implemented intentionally though, possibly so that you don’t have the brighter light in your face when working with the flash on-camera in dark environments.

Though annoyingly the backlight still goes off all the time after just 10 seconds. And it still doesn’t come on with the press of any button when making adjustments either. You need to remember to press they Light button first every time. A custom function to leave the back light on all the time would be highly desirable (especially considering the flashes very large battery capacity).

 

Micro USB port –

I’m not sure of the correct terms for the various USB port types, but Godox have used what appears to be the Micro B USB port in the V860C, instead of the Mini B commonly found in most DSLR cameras, flash units and triggers etc.

I’m not sure if the USB cord is supplied in the kit.

 

 4 Custom Functions Implemented –

Of the 13 External Flash Custom Functions accessible through the Canon Flash Control Menu, only 4 have been enabled on the V860C.

  • 01 – Auto Power Off
  • 03 – FEB Auto Off
  • 04 – FEB Sequence
  • 10- Slave Auto Power Off Timer

Though I’m not sure the lack of any of the others are anything really going to be missed by most users.

 

More Shots Before Overheat Protection Cuts In –

The V860C now allows 30 full power shots consecutively before entering overheat protection, compared to 20 shots for the V850.

In HSS mode its now 15 shots at full power, 20 shots at 1/2(+0.3,+0.7), and 30 shots at 1/4(+0.3,+0.7).

 

Auto AF Assist Light –

The V860C AF assist light now comes on automatically as you would expect with a TTL flash.

The AF light itself is the same laser style light pattern as the V850 uses, which is also much like the YongNuo YN-568EX. These work quite well with the center focus point at least, provided you are at least about 0.8M from the subject.

 

Recycle Time –

Another thing that probably should be noted, is that although the V850’s 1.5 second recycle time is very fast compared to a Canon 600EX-RT for example without an external battery pack, its also slow compared to a 600EX-RT connected to Godox’s own PB960 battery pack, which is almost instant at full power (using a 2 into 1 cord).

So although the V860C’s Lithium-Ion battery is good, it still can’t produce the super fast frame per second bursts some wedding photographers etc need at times. As mentioned in the V850 review though, its pretty obvious Godox have additional intentions yet, as there are extra unused electrical contacts in the V850/860 battery compartment. So a faster high voltage option of some form may be yet to come.

 

Overall the V860C should be another stand out flash. A great quality ETTL flash for the low price, with a nice clear user interface, and a killer Lithium-Ion battery like the V850. (Images to come).

 

Godox V850

 

Price and Availability –

 

The V860C for Canon should be available soon from around $185 (Nikon V860N scheduled for April) –

V860C – Ebay, Amazon.

 

V850 –
Amazon – TT850FT-16sCells II
Ebay – V850FT-16sCells II
T-One.co – Australia – V850, Europe – V850

Godox V850 – Full Review

V860C – Brochure

Godox – Website

.

71 Comments
  1. Donald 4 years ago

    Great work as ever Elv.

    That was quick too. Great to read about Odin compatibility – but I hear your reservations about quality/niggles overall.

    Tx!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Thanks Donald,

      Actually the Odin work very well so far. And they don’t even have the underexposure and FEC issue I’m seeing with these early sample flashes when used directly on the camera hotshoe.

  2. Óran D 4 years ago

    Great to have some information on the flash, hoping to get mine this week.

  3. Jacques 4 years ago

    Sure would like to see a smaller version for Micro Four Thirds. With radio transmitter built-in to control V850/Witstro/Xenergizer/monolight off-camera.

    • Markz 4 years ago

      A BIG +1 on this! I already have one V850 and transmitter which is excellent, and am looking to get another and two Witstro 360s and would love a small but fully featured version for my m43 set-up.

  4. Peter A 4 years ago

    Excellent detailed review! I’m hoping there are as few problems with the Nikon version next month!

    Nice to see a fully nit-picked review finding no major flaws. A full day spent on checking one flash?!? Looks like time well spent! Thanks!

  5. Tomo 4 years ago

    Does it operate in PocketWizardTT5?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Tomo,

      Sorry I don’t have the TT5 at the moment to test.

      • Tomo 4 years ago

        Thank you.

  6. Óran 4 years ago

    So with the V860c and the YN-622c i can do HSS off camera or do i need another trigger?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      You can do HSS off camera with the V860C and YN-622C, as long as you have a YN-622C receiver attached to the V860C foot (and YN-622C transmitter on the camera hotshoe).

      So if you’re not trying to combine V850 or Witstro as well, you won’t really need the FT-16 transmitter or FT-16s receiver at all. As you can do the remote manual power levels through the YN-622C as well.

  7. Author
    Flash Havoc 4 years ago

    V860C now available from EachShot.com for $186 – 6% discount here.
    .

  8. Brian Hursey 4 years ago

    I doubt my wife would let me get one, however I was asked if the v860 would be comparable with the V860 by petepixxx at the strobist forum. Looks like it will be allowing you to add it to you existing nikon, pentax and canon setups and remote control power. 🙂 Not really 100% official, however I was toledo they definitely will probably be adding it to the list. 🙂

  9. Ben 4 years ago

    The USB port is a micro USB which is the standard for Android/Windows phones and most new point and shoot cameras. If you have either of those you’ll probably have a cord that will fit it.

    Have you tested it with any of the new-ish cameras such as the 5d Mark III? I’ve found that they don’t play as nice with third party flashes such as these resulting in lack of HSS, odd exposures, etc.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Ben,

      Ok great thanks for that. I looked it up and it appears to be Micro B. I’m sure most people will have one for something already, just keeping it that same as the other flash gear would have helped a little.

      The latest camera I have is the 650D, I generally still use the 50D and 40D most of the time. So yes the 60D and 6D etc are often ones that have different issues, and there may possibly be some quirks found yet with different cameras.

      The main thing is the flash has the USB port for firmware updates. How fast Godox will deal with any issue found remains to me seen.
      .

  10. The flasher 4 years ago

    Hmmmmm……I’m in need of some new flashes for the upcoming wedding season my dilema is this… buy these 860’s and use them with my YN622 triggers and accept 1.5 sec recycletimes ….or wait for youngnuo to release a new flash, perhaps with built in Rx, and use the godox pb960 to power the flash and get faster recycle times….. decisions, decisions….

  11. Brian Hursey 4 years ago

    The Flasher,

    You could if it does not work sandwich a YN622C in between because it sorta modifiers the protocol and it sounds compatible if you have issues with the cameras. I would like to know if it is 60D compatible. I doubt I can justify getting one of theses however a Lithium Ion flash for weddings would be nice. Sounds like it needs a few firmware upgrades though. Thanks for the good overview Elvis.

  12. Alex 4 years ago

    Due to the underexposure and the FEC issues, I think I’ll stay with my Phottix Mitros (non-radio model) for now. But I am very interested in getting the V850s for off camera flash… No more AAs!! 😛

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Alex,

      I would hope the underexposure and FEC issues will already be fixed in the models going on sale but I’m not absolutely sure as yet. Will update this if I can get confirmation.

      UPDATE – Godox have confirmed that no sales stock has gone out to distributor and sellers yet (a the time of writing this 14/3/2014).

      So no customers should receive the early sample units, and any issues should hopefully be resolved with flashes that go out to customers.

  13. Meddin Studios 4 years ago

    Thanks for the detailed review! Still on the fence with 580 w/ PB960 vs V860. Considering anything below 1/1 power is near instant it’s tempting to ditch the battery brick.

    Any chance there was testing done with a TTL pass through cable? I tried to use a 580EX on top of a TTL cord (which then had a CL-Tx on the other end) and no luck. It caused all the CL360’s and 850’s to strobe repeatedly when I would half-press the shutter. It tried Mixing TTL w/ Manual and Pure Manual but no dice. It would be great if we can at least use a pass-through to still trigger AND control our CL-Rx’s

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Ok I tried the Phottix Duo TTL cord, but unfortunately had the same result. On half press of the camera shutter the FT-16 / CL-TX starts firing madly, and the flash strobes with it.

      The best option would be to use a set of YN-622C in place of the cord.

      You can have HSS then as well. Though with Canon the FT-16 must be connected to the YN-622C receiver via sync cord to allow HSS to work.

      The good thing about that set up, is that its not attached to the camera, and you can mount it anywhere away from the camera (most likely to your light stand). A second FT-16 can then be used in hand / pocket to control the flashes power levels.

  14. Meddin Studios 4 years ago

    Also, how do we get the 6% discount on Eachshot.com? It shows $186 currently or is that 6% off retail? Thanks.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Sorry no it should be $174.83 with discount. If you just reload the page a second time it should come up.

      Otherwise you can use the code – FlashHavoc!22960
      .

  15. LeefromTennessee 4 years ago

    This is terribly disappointing. I was hoping to use this with my Cheetah transmitters plus have it on camera for events then off cam for portraiture. Oh well, a step backwards in my opinion, as godox’s remote system is what I love about the v850. I really don’t think it would have been hard to do, either.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Lee,

      I’m not sure if you’re referring to the CL-TX, but you can still use that to fire and control the remote power levels of the V860C off camera. And at the same time as the V850 and CL180 / CL360.

      Its only HSS that you can’t do through the FT-16s attached to the side of the V860C. You can still do HSS off camera with the V860C as well though if using TTL triggers.

      UPDATE EDIT – Godox have now implemented H-mode in the V860C as well. So HSS in now possible triggering through the FT-16s receiver on the side of the flash.

  16. Author
    Flash Havoc 4 years ago

    UPDATE – There is some good news from Godox.

    H-mode has now been implemented in the V860C. So the V860C can now act as a complete replacement for the V850 (with added TTL features).

    Also Godox have confirmed (as of the time of writing this) that no V860C stock has gone out to distributors or sellers as yet, only a few samples. So no one should receive a flash with the exposure and FEC issues I experienced with the test samples.

    • Maurice 4 years ago

      Thanks for the good work.
      After reading your reviews, I bought one YongNuo yn-560 III and later one Godox V-850.
      I really do like these flashes, chiefly the Godox with power remote control and this fabulous battery.
      I was going to order a second V-850, when they announced the V-860.
      I hesitated and decided to try the V-860, a V850 with E-ttl as a bonus at an affordable price.
      The good news is that Godox has implemented H-mode and (hopefully) fixed the issues you reported in your review.
      The bad news is that I ordered my V-860 before to learn that sellers have no models in stock.
      I just hope i do not have to wait a too long time.

  17. LeefromTennessee 4 years ago

    Ok. I gladly stand corrected. I LOVE this system! I wonder if one could hot shoe the 860, then use a screw lock PC for the manual flash? I know that’s more cords, but wouldn’t that solve the twin cord interference? Also, why is everyone wanting godox to adopt a different frequency for the wireless system? The current setting seems to work well.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Lee,

      Its certainly looking up. A small change like adding the H-mode makes a huge difference in practicality for anyone mixing V850 and Witstro etc.

      I assume your meaning the PC syc port on the side of the camera? – to a hotshoe on the FT-16 transmitter foot?. If so yes you can do that no problems, provided your camera has the PC sync port. Though that does not support HSS for the off camera flashes.

      What we suggested was just to make the sync port on the V860C and “out” port as well, so that would provide the sync signal, and with HSS. (as seen here). A Nikon SB-800 / 900 can already do that. Godox said no before, but they have changed their mind on the H-mode, so there could be some hope yet.

      Why 2.4GHz ? – Because in general that provide much greater range without the need for large external antennas, and issues with orientation, of aligning antennas.

      This will be a lot more critical when Godox inevitably start putting master transmitters (or transmitter modules) in the flash units.

      PocketWizard also had significant issues with the RF noise coming from Canon flashes, using 433MHz. And the 2.4GHz band is free to use worldwide.

      I’m not a radio engineer, and its likely very possible to get as good if not better results with 433MHz, though it certainly appears to be a lot easier with 2.4GHz. And I would be surprised if Godox would not use that for any new system.

  18. Sabawa 4 years ago

    Will this flash shoot in manual mode with HSS?

    Thanks

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Sabawa,

      Yes it sure will! Thanks.

  19. Jay 4 years ago

    Will there be a Olympus or Panasonic version for M43 shooters? Sure would love to have this flash for M43 shooters in addition to the two for the CaNikon crowd.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Jay,

      I’m not sure about Olympus or Panasonic at this stage, the Nikon version is coming next, and that will be their first Nikon ITTL flash.

      If I can get any indication on their intentions with M43 I’ll update this. Thanks.

      • Jay 4 years ago

        Thanks! Still haven’t bought the V850 yet so it would great to just get the V860 if M43 support for TTL will be offered.

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 4 years ago

          Hi Jay,

          In that case I personally wouldn’t be expecting anything particularly soon. I think they will be flat out just getting the Canon and Nikon systems going this year.

          The problem with these things is that its a constantly ongoing development task. PocketWizard for example have not been able to offer support for the Canon 1DX for a long time now. And a few other cameras have added to that list now as well.

          So its quite a commitment, and they really should be supporting existing systems first. It wouldn’t be helpful to anyone if they only half committed to a number of different systems unfortunately.

  20. Author
    Flash Havoc 4 years ago

    UPDATE – More good news from Godox.

    They have reportedly rectified the underexposure and FEC issues I experienced with the V860C samples.

    And the flashes front lense has been changed to an improved version with a more even light pattern.
    .

  21. LeefromTennessee 4 years ago

    I wonder if anyone out there might look at a bare bulb conversion, like some used to do the Vibitar 283’s.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      I don’t know about DIY, but hopefully Godox might look at a bare bulb version 🙂

      I don’t think they will be for while, but it will probably come eventually.

  22. Brandon 4 years ago

    So I just wanted to go ahead and say, I just acquired my shipment from my Ebay retailer of the new V860’s.

    I wanted theses to start working with flash photography and It was suggested to learn with a full small lighting kit, that being said I order two kits which include 2 flashes and 1 FT-16 transceiver and 2 receivers. These were placed on march 4th coming straight from Hong Kong.

    Crazy enough I also received my Cells II the day before because I put them all on pre order before this review which had me stressing on the no H-Mode (Which I resolved in my mind by purchasing some YN-622c).

    So shortly after I contacted the seller as the shipment was said to have left already the day after. As I wanted to make sure that the shipped flashes were the correct flashes and if not or if they haven’t shipped then I wanted to refund because I wanted to acquire the flash for a small event.

    So I received all 4 flashes today, and I am by no means knowledgable about flash aside from on camera manual mode and ETTL… I am extremely skeptical right now but the crazy thing is I’m consistently looking it up online and testing it with my cells II and it seems to be working properly and I’m able to turn on H-Mode (If by H-mode you mean the button with the H and Lightning bolt next to it with an icon signal that remains on, then yes).

    I keep checking to make sure I’m working everything properly and the FEC Seems to work fine, no doubling and everything is exposed correctly. I did contact the seller about this before the flashes came and he only responded to one of my questions with telling me my tracking information as I couldn’t track it before.

    Should I be extremely skeptical about these V860’s I just received or am I missing something? Was there no button configuration at all for the H-mode Symbol on the earlier models before or did I luck out? My Fed Ex Tracking information did tell me these flashes actually shipped from HK March 14th right near the update of this article. So what do you guys think is going on?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Brandon,

      Sorry somehow this post was not showing up in my comment moderation list. I just realised you have posted here as well.

      For anyone else reading this, Brandon and myself have been discussing this through email.

      The received flashes do appear to be the final version though, with corrected exposure and FEC, as well as H-mode implemented. The front lense appears to be the same as the V850 though, so I’m not sure where Godox are up to with any change to that.

      • Nate 4 years ago

        Gentlemen, excellent info.

        I too am looking to get into flash photography after a multi-year hiatus from the photography hobby. Picked up a used 7D and am enjoying it thus far.

        Was set on the v850 after your excellent review, but have now jumped ship to the v860. The cost differential is not much in the long run. My two learning materials have been Strobist and `Hot Shoe Diaries` by Joe McNally. A benefit of going with the 860 is that both methods of using off-camera flash are opened up.

        Your website has been instrumental in deciding which hardware to go with. All that remains is picking a wireless trigger.

        It seems that the current Godox offerings are a dead end with this flash as you lose the eTTL capability off-camera. So, I am left looking at other options.

        Do any of the three options you listed offer power level control and HSS etc when the flashes are in manual mode?

        Do I need to Godox products to control the v860 in manual mode?

        Brandon seems to indicate that he is using the CELLs ii transmitter and the YN-622C. Are both necessary to achieve HSS?

        I realize it is early days yet and look forward to a full review of the v860 when final product arrives.

        Thanks,
        -Nate

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 4 years ago

          Hi Nate,

          Thanks, yes the current Godox triggers are a bit of a dead end, but at the same time they are really handy to have. As the receivers just clip on and require no batteries. And its a super fast and simple system with greater range than most TTL triggers.

          If you look around Amazon etc you can pick them up really cheaply as well. So its kind of a shame that you wouldn’t get to experience using them, even if you know they will not be suitable for everything.

          The option is always there for later though I guess.

          Yes all three of the TTL triggers I mentioned allow remote manual power control and HSS. The Phottix Odin use the flash in TTL mode though even when using manual power setting, so there is always a pre-flash (they are still one of the best / most reliable TTL triggers though).

          No you don’t need Godox products to control the V860 in manual mode (as above). But again the Godox triggers are pretty good in remote manual.

          No the Cells II and YN-622C are not both necessary. But the Cells II can communicate directly with the FT-16s receivers (to fire the flashes and provide HSS). You can use the YN-622C for this a well in a number of combinations to still fire the FT-16s receivers with HSS.

          Though its likely you would just attach the YN-622C to the flashes as TTL receivers so that you have full TTL/MANUAL/HSS etc. You probably wouldn’t buy the Cells II I guess if you are intending to get YN-622C anyway (although that can be handy as well).

          One thing to note between the 2 HSS modes (regular TTL HSS and H-mode) –

          H-mode puts out around a stop more light than the TTL HSS mode. But H-mode is much less convenient, in that you need to turn it on and off at the flash. And it doesn’t turn itself on and off when the camera shutter speed goes below X-sync. So you have to use H-mode carefully, but the extra light can be helpful.

          Putting a TTL trigger on the flash foot will engage the regular TTL HSS mode though, so you would need to use a sync cord to a TTL receiver to go with H-mode. Or use a set up that uses the FT-16s receivers.

          So in short, I would weigh up which TTL triggers you prefer. But don’t rule out the FT-16 / FT-16s altogether as an additional option either. Thanks.
          .

          • Nate 4 years ago

            Thank you for the very thorough reply. Somehow, I had overlooked that h-mode power difference stuff.

            After narrowing it down to the Pixel King Pros and the Phottix Odin, I am back to the Godox FT-16s and Cells ii after your post. I think they are the most convenient and, better yet, the price is right.

            Here is a little bit of my price breakdowns.

            Locally, a canon 600EX-RT would cost me $480 CAD all in. Works out to about $430 USD. Everything else in USD for comparison purposes. Prices include shipping to my door.

            Pixel King Pro with 2 receivers: $209.

            Phottix Odin with 2 receivers: $410.

            Godox FT-16s Transmitter, 2 receivers, and CELLs II: $119

            It does seem that the Godox solution lets me get my foot into the door of this wireless flash business at a price doesn’t make me too upset if\when Godox releases their own TTL trigger system. And I admit, the clip on receiver idea is bloody fantastic.

            Now, here is the part I am really having trouble getting my head around:

            For $15 more than the cost of a Canon 600EX-RT, I can get TWO v860 eTTL flashes and the full Godox wireless kit for HSS.

            I suppose the eTTL is a little wasted with these triggers, but at least I will have it for the future.

            Thanks again,
            -Nate

  23. Brian Hursey 4 years ago

    Looks like gadget infinity now has it for 153.95$ Not sure how long that is going to last. http://www.gadgetinfinity.com/godox-lithium-ion-e-ttl-flash-ving-v860c-for-canon.html

  24. sam 4 years ago

    I have a question. The V860N is slated to come out in April.
    I know it will be TTL when on camera, but what would be needed to make it work TTL off camera?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi sam,

      Like the Canon version, the V860N would require TTL enabled radio triggers like the YongNuo YN-622N, Phottix Odin, Pixel King Pro, PocketWizard TT1 / TT5 etc.

      We will have to wait and see which or how compatible the triggers will be though.

      • sam 4 years ago

        thank you for making this website so great!!

  25. Mangal 4 years ago

    So has anyone had a chance to try this with the TT5? Does it pass TTL info?

  26. chintu 4 years ago

    i want to know whether this is compatible with canon 5D mark ii?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Chintu,

      I haven’t tested with the 5D MKII myself, though Godox are listing the 5D MKII as tested and compatible with the V860C. Thanks.

  27. Peter 4 years ago

    Has anyone else had TTL exposure problems when bouncing off ceiling. With mine it is typically 1 stop underexposed compared to direct. Direct exposure is spot on. Bounce distance is within power capability as I can correct the bounce exposure with +1 FEC. I’m in Shanghai so I intend to take it back to the dealer tomorrow.

    • Pabst Photo 4 years ago

      Yes, shooting at longer lens (like 100mm) bouncing off wall or ceiling was underexposed by 2-3 stops. Like you said, I can get it right shooting at +2 or +3 FEC

  28. DeVon 4 years ago

    Hi, Mangal,

    I received my V 860C today and have done some intial testing myself. From what I have found it does work with the Mini and Flex system. However please be advise, be careful not to overtighten the foot into the hotshoe of the Flex it will cause your flash to misfire. Other than that it works perfectly even with the AC3

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi DeVon,

      Ok great, thanks for confirming the PocketWizards are working.

  29. Pabst Photo 4 years ago

    I just got mine and was very excited about it. I took it out of the box and loved the feel, professional build of it all. Then I used it. Straight on, that is on camera, and pointing forward, the TTL was fine. However, I never shoot like that – when using e-ttl bounced off the ceiling or wall, it was underexposing by 2-4 stops – dark, very dark. Terrible. Only by using FEC at +2 or ever +3 could I get the flash to behave the way it should in the first place. Do you know anything about a firmware update or anything like that? We shall see. Disappointed but still optimistic. I want to love this flash.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Pabst,

      I’m not really seeing this issue, even with the first beta flashes.

      Have you tried setting Average metering in the flash control menu instead of Evaluative? I get a small underexposure of about 1/3 stops in Evaluative, but results appear similar to the 600EX-RT. Average metering is about the same for bounce or direct.

      I’m not aware of any firmware updates at this stage. So far its only these two reports of the issue, but what we really need to confirm though is whether others are definitely not seeing the same issue.

      I’ve ordered another V860C from EachShot, so I should have the same flash others are receiving now.

      This may be down to camera model as well, which camera / s are you using? Thanks.

      • Pabst Photo 4 years ago

        My initial findings are all over the place,
        on the Canon 6D with the 24-105mm the flash E-TTL does great at 24mm but is horribly off at 105mm – I mean, up to 3 stops under exposed…
        http://www.pabstphoto.com/godox-ving-860c-review-and-first-impressions/

        • Pabst Photo 4 years ago

          To add to that, I am using evaluative, and I know there is enough power because +2 or even +3 FEC gets the shot right. I did notice that on the 5D Mark II the flash is only about 1 stop too dim on the long end (105mm) but correct at 24mm as with the 6D. So, there is a lot of inconsistency – especially on the long end of the lens.

      • Alex 3 years ago

        I just received my v860c today and I’m having the same issue. Bounced with manual exposure burns out to white. Switch to ETTL and it’s barely registering in the exposure. Direct flash is fine.

        Firing with 2nd curtain sync confirms two distinct flashes. Changing to Average metering on the camera seems to rectify the exposure issue. And this is on a flash purchased in October.

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 3 years ago

          Hi Alex,

          You may have an old flash with the original firmware then, as the TTL exposures should be fine now.

          Hold the FN / Light button while switching the flash on to see the firmware version.

          You can download firmware V2.1 at the bottom right of the page here – http://www.godox.com/CN/Downloads.html

  30. the Flasher 3 years ago

    Hi All, I just got my 860C flashes today and i have done some testing:

    HSS: this really pushes the Flash to its limit. In normal flash mode the flash keeps up with the continuous shooting rate of my Canon 5DmkII e.g: the flash keeps flashing.

    In HSS mode the flash fires once every 5 frames so it need at least a second to recharge fully.

    The worst problem is with Yongnuo 622c triggers & HSS … If you try to take more than 2 frames a sec the 622 will freeze up and you will need to turn off and on the trigger before you can take another photo. If you shoot slowly e.g. 1 frame a sec then the 622’s don’t freeze up and you can carry on shooting for as long as you like.

    Also there is a lot of talk about a firmware update? Where can you find details about this? Theres nothing on the Godox website indicating anything?

  31. Frank Maier 3 years ago

    Hi All, i just got my 2 x Godox 860C flashes yesterday and love the build and recycle time.
    On my Canon 5DmkII i have ETTL Problems while bouncing as well.
    Has anyone news for this issue?

    • John 3 years ago

      Hi!
      I also recieved my V860C for my Canon 6D today.
      Somehow it wont work properly. At the beginning I shot a few times ETTL and the light was bright. But in the picture it was still dark. Sometimes after that it wont flash altough the Pilot button is ready.

      Please any advice?

  32. RanD-MC 3 years ago

    I just got this flash, but I am not getting near 650 flashes per charge. Any suggestions on how to address this issue? I’ve tried topping off the battery, leaving it in longer, etc., but nothing gets me close to 600, more like 150-200 flashes per charge. The Li-Ion battery was a big selling point, so I will be pretty disappointed if this does not improve.

    Randy

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi Randy,

      It sounds like you have a faulty battery unfortunately. You will have to arrange a replacement with the seller.

  33. Riaz 3 years ago

    Hi
    I have been reading the reviews on the Godox king v860c on your web site and am really impressed. I clicked on a link to purchase it via Eachshot.com. I also contacted Godox to make sure that Eachshot would be a recommended supplier. My concern is that I paid the extra shipping cost for a faster 3-5 business day delivery and its been almost 10 business days now and I don’t have any delivery nor do I have a tracking number that works. At first it was DHL, then they emailed me to say that DHL has a problem shipping batteries and have now shipped with ARAMEX. The tracking number shows up as invalid number / data not currently available. Can you assist or advise. Thanks!

  34. james 3 years ago

    I too was having the bounce problem. I checked my flash and I was running the latest firmware but figured I might as well run the update anyway. After re-updating to 2.1 I found the solution in the PDF documentation that came with the firmware:

    “V2.0
    If you run into this problem: Underexposure occurs when you use the long-focus lens and bounce flash in TTL mode.
    Solution: Press “MODE” button for two seconds until icon [picture of flash icon] blinks, thus entering “Bounce Flash Mode”. Then you can shoot with correct exposure. Pressing “MODE” button will exit.”

  35. Petros 3 years ago

    James: Thank you, this was the case with my 6D. The flash works ok on the 5dmkii though…

  36. Ferd 2 years ago

    I was wondering if I got the v860c with the ft-16s and cells would I still be able to change the power from the trigger if using an Olympus OMD EM-1?

  37. eugen 10 months ago

    where can i find the original repair part for the built in flash diffuser ? I bought a used one with the missing diffuser and it is stuck at 14mm and would like to repair it myself.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2016 FlashHavoc.com - PRIVACY POLICY

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?