PHOTTIX MITROS+ for NIKON – Review By DAVE CHEUNG

Professional wedding photographer, Flash Havoc reader, and all round great guy, Dave Cheung has jumped right into the deep end – moving to a full kit of the new Nikon Phottix Mitro+ Flashes, Odin transmitters, and Atlas II receivers, for his nicely integrated new lighting kit.

Phottix have the first built-in radio TTL flash system available now for Nikon, with the Mitros+. And the Phottix Odin system have already proven themselves to be one of the few TTL radio systems really up to the quality, reliability, and stability, wedding photographers require.

So many Nikon wedding photographers in particular, are now in the same position as Dave, trying to weigh up whether the new Phottix radio flash system is going to suit them completely, before making a fairly substantial investment in a full system.

 

Phottix Mitros+ Nikon Flash Review by Dave Cheung

 

Dave teams up with his wife covering weddings in a multi shooter combination, actually sharing the same lights. So this is about as demanding as it gets for a radio flash system.

And Dave has kindly shared his experience, with a great review and a number of videos explaining the Mitros+ system on his blog – Not So Ancient Chinese Secrets.

If you’re a Nikon shooter looking to move into the Mitros+ system, Dave will pretty soon know all the ins and outs, and he’s also very helpful. So feel free to drop him a question on the blog.

 

Phottix Mitros+ Nikon Flash Review by Dave Cheung

 .

12 Comments
  1. mark 4 years ago

    Great review!

  2. george pahountis 4 years ago

    at least you are waaaay better in making product shots 🙂
    I prefer your reviews too!

  3. Todd 4 years ago

    Glad to see more in depth reviews of the Mitros+ system. I own it and it works flawlessly and very intuitive system. It would be nice if Dave included some of the Odin TCU in his review as well, seems he will mostly use a Local flash as the controller. Good stuff!!!

  4. Stephen 3 years ago

    Just sold off my Pocketwizard Flex, mini and the ac-3. Have not had a misfire. I did a comparison of the Nikon SB-910 and the Phottix Mitros+ flashes for Nikon. I could not detect any differences at all from the shots when alternating between the two using the Nikon D4. TTL exposure was the same, so was colour (without the diffuser).

  5. mark 3 years ago

    He updated his recommendation on 5/26/14. I totally agree with what writes on 5/26, I have found the same issues and others such as recycle times.

  6. vince 3 years ago

    I’ve been seeing amazon reviews (i know they are crap most of the times) about the Mitros+ having bad recycle time due to the anti-overheat kicking in early and as well as inaccurate ETTL and FEC.

    Does anybody here currently using the Mitros+ that have experienced the same issue?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi Vince,

      The Early version (or firmware) Mitros and Mitros+ were very erratic and unpredictable with the overheat protection, which slowed recycle times pretty quickly if you pushed the flash hard. It just depended how hard you need to use the flash though, as many people had not experienced this even when they were quite rough at the beginning.

      The Canon version at least is greatly improved now, the slow down is pretty consistent. Though compared to the Canon 600EX-RT I found they can not match the same number of consecutive shots, please see my comments here.

      So if you’re running into issues with the Canon flashes at all, the Mitros+ is not going to be an advantage there. If you don’t need to the push the flash as hard though, they are nice flashes now. And the radio master (Odin) interface is far better and quicker than the Canon flash in my opinion. The ETTL exposures are all fine and consistent now as far as I am aware. Thanks.

  7. Keano 3 years ago

    So are they ok now Or still having flash issues? Thx

  8. keano 3 years ago

    I just read his updated blog. That’s too bad. Hopefully with Odin II their will be a Mitros II that is revamped and does what it claims reliably.

  9. Sam 2 years ago

    Hi!

    Does anyone know a way to use Phottix Mitros Plus-speedlite with Godox Propac 960 with a LONGER power cable than the one Godox & Phottix produces?

    I tried the Godox power cable for Witstro but it was no fit.

    It would be so nice to connect second speedlite to the battery pack AND at the same time be possible for the speedlite to be much further away than just half a meter.

    Thanks!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Sam,

      I’m not really sure about longer cables, though you would likely need to look for Quantum, or Quantum compatible, cords as an alternative.

      The inexpensive option though would likely be to use the long Godox Witstro cable and cut the flash plug end off, and solder a Canon plug on from your original or another Canon cord.

      Paramount likely still make custom cord as well, though they would not be particularly cheap.

  10. Tim 1 year ago

    Have I run Pocket wizards with Canon brand flashes and want to add a spare flash to my kit. Will the Phottix Mitro + work (TTL) using my Pocket wizard triggers?

    I know they have a trigger built in but I want a spare flash in case one of my regulars goes down.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2016 FlashHavoc.com - PRIVACY POLICY

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?