Pixel King Pro – ETTL & HSS Trigger – Review

The impressive new Pixel King Pro and King X, ETTL, HSS, and Remote Manual, flash triggers are now available.

Pixel really have stepped it up with the new 3rd generation King Pro Transmitter and King X receiver. This is a major change in the physical build, as well as the functionality over the previous Kings. The new built in interface dramatically simplifies use, and this is one big solid unit now!

The price has remained around $142 for a set, so you get a lot more now in the new King Pro for a similar price to the previous King triggers. And even though close to double the price of the popular YongNuo YN-622C TTL trigger, the King Pro are still quite a breakthrough in price for the functionality on offer now.

 

UPDATE – May 2015 – From Firmware version V105 onward, the Pixe King Pro are now compatible as transmitter units to the Pixel X800C speedlites with radio transceivers built-in.

Also from Firmware version V105 onward, the King Pro’s interface has also had a major improvement, with the adjustment of groups now possible through the rear interface buttons alone, as many people had been asking for.

Pixel King Pro

 

Please Note – This review was based on the original V000 firmware which was working very well.

Firmware V001, and V100, added some compatibility with the previous King receivers, as well as the Canon 6D and 700D cameras.

Firmware V101 added Canon 1DX compatibility. And also V101 for all other cameras which adds full compatibility with previous King receivers.

 

Features –

 

New or updated features are marked with a + before them.

FEATURES –

  • – FSK 2.4GHz
  • + 300 Meter Range
  • + More Stable and Reliable Processing and Software
  • + Built in Interface allowing fast changes of flash settings in 3 Groups
  • + Interface allows Mixing ETTL and Manual Groups
  • + Interface allows FEC adjustments in + or – EV, as well as ratios A:B and A:B C
  • + Interface allow fast flash head Zoom Settings for each group
  • + Combined FEC from Camera and Trigger = up to 6 stops +/- FEC
  • + Interface means older cameras without a flash control menu still have full function
  • + ETTL Pass Through Hotshoe allows an ETTL or Manual flash mounted On-camera
  • – FP HSS to 1/8000th with compatible speedlites
  • – Second Curtain Sync Supported
  • – FEL (Flash Expousre Lock) supported
  • – Super Sync up to 1/8000th with compatible monolights
  • + USB Port for Firmware Updates – Now quicker and easier, and supports Windows and Mac
  • + King Pro is a Transceiver, so it can be Transmitter or Receiver (provides back up transmitters)
  • + Test Fire Button works with a light meter in manual use, even setting power levels off camera
  • + Manual power setting can be made directly on the flash, overriding the transmitter set to ETTL
  • + More Efficiency and Longer Battery Life
  • + Shutter Release Function
  • + Remote Camera Triggering
  • + 15 Fixed Channels and 1 Auto Channel

 

  • + Metal Frame Structure inside the King Pro for Greater Strength
  • + 1/4″ 20 Threaded Metal Bracket Mounting Point
  • + New Attached Battery Door
  • + More reliable Gold Plated Battery Contacts
  • + 2 color LED Backlite for Master and Slave
  • + Dedicated Test Fire Bottons
  • + Separate Group Selection Buttons
  • + USB and Sync Port Dust Covers

 

LIMITATIONS –

  • Requires MK II Canon Speedlites for full functions
  • Transmitter only fires on Canon cameras (Test fire & remote power works off the camera hotshoe)
  • No AF assist Light (though YN-622C confirmed working on top of TX as AF an assist light)
  • No FEB or Multi Flash Mode
  • No individual FEC adjustment for flash on Camera (camera set FEC works but adjusts all groups)
  • No A-B-C Group Buttons on rear interface, making adjustments more difficult than needed.
  • No other compatible manual triggers, like the Pixel Opas and Bishop

 

  • Pass Through Hotshoe is still not ideal as Hotshoe and Foot are not tight enough connections
  • Locking Rings are still too small and thin to access easily or lock down firm
  • PC sync port still used instead of more reliable 3.5mm miniphone jack

 

Pixel King Pro

Range –

 

The King Pro have a big increase in range, now stated as approximately 300 meters. This may not sound particularly relevant if you’re not using long distances anyway, but when it comes to TTL triggers this really is a significant development, and a very practical and usable leap forward most users will benefit from.

Triggers like the current Kings, and very popular YN-622C, have a range of up to 100 meters or more line of sight. Which is quite a long distance. But that is nothing like the real practical working distance. Shooting portraits (even with a fairly long lens) you may not experience this too quickly, but shooting something a little larger like a car for example, it can be easy to see the limitations of the current TTL triggers within relatively normal working distances. About 25 – 30 meters is around the most you get reliably once the line of sight is obstructed slightly, ie flashes slightly behind or inside the car etc.

The King Pro effectively doubles that reliable working distance to a good to 50 to 60 meters (much further line of sight). I did a number of side by side tests with the YN-622C using various obstructions and the Kings consistently doubled their range. This is the sort of solid working range you expect from fully manual radio triggers, and that’s often the reason people carry manual triggers as a back up alternative as well.

Now the King Pro really have solid range and transmission power. Even at short working distances that helps to ensure they are going to get all that complex TTL information back and forth with less chance of any hiccups. In remote manual use the Kings are very much like manual triggers too, in that there is no pre-flash or delay on the camera shutter. You have the convenience of remote manual power setting, with the fast manual trigger feel, and now the solid range of manual triggers as well. But then also with the option of HSS or TTL if needed.

Pixel King Pro & King X

 

Processing –

 

The original Pixel Knights and Kings where an impressive start to inexpensive TTL triggers. But they are aging now, and even the inexpensive YongNuo YN-622C recently showed the difference in how well it can actually be done now. I don’t know if there is any way of quantifying this, but its clear the new Kings have lifted the processing and communication up a level again. They function fast and smooth without any hiccups I could see so far.

Combined with the extra range, this is a solid improvement for the King Pro. More time and users will always tell the full story, but initial signs are very good. Pixel have stated this as “more stable and reliable hardware and software for the new upgrade”.

Pixel King Pro

Functions –

 

The major advantage over the current King and the YN-622C is the new built in interface with LCD screen, which provides the ability to instantly see and access all the remote flash settings and controls, and change settings quickly without digging through the camera menu.

This interface also provides the major advantage of the ability to mix ETTL and Manual flash groups at the same time.

Also a full ETTL Pass Through Hotshoe now allows a flash to be mounted on the camera and used in ETTL or Manual. (The previous King’s pass through hotshoe was not enabled).

Pixel King Pro

ETTL or Manual power setting for each of the 3 groups are clearly displayed as well as the flash head zoom setting for each. Traditional Canon ETTL ratios A:B and A:B C can also be selected. Adjustments are in 1/3rd stops in Manual power settings and ETTL FEC.

Earlier cameras without an inbuilt external flash control menu, like the much loved original Canon 5D, will still have full functions as well. I don’t have the 5D to test, but I tried with an early 20D and that works fine with full control.

Note – Mark II Canon flashes, or similarly compatible flashes like those from YongNuo, are still required for control with the King Pro. Mark one flashes may have limited TTL function, but definitely no remote manual control.


Interface –

 

Pixel really had the opportunity here to make the King Pro the quickest and easiest LCD style interface to adjust so far. I think they have made a bit of a mistake here though, making adjustments harder than they could be. (Update – Issue Now Rectified).

To adjust a groups power level (or FEC in TTL), you first have to press the SET button at the lower left of the LCD screen , then go to the side A, B, and C group buttons to select a group (which take some time to feel around for the right button) then go back to the rear buttons again to adjust the level up and down. Then press the set button again to finish.

UPDATE – MAY 2015 – From Firmware version V105 onward, the King Pro’s interface has also had a major improvement, with the adjustment of A / B / C groups now possible through the rear interface buttons alone.

Pixel King Pro

 

And simple A/B/C group selection has always been available with the units set to slave mode.

Pixel King Pro Slave

 

Display –

 

The screen is quite small, and you do have to look closely to see the 1/3rd stop increments etc, but it does do the job ok. Again if the designers realized just seeing the groups settings are the main priority they could possibly have made those larger. They could have even removed “master” and “channel” etc off the main screen altogether. The LCD is green whenever the unit is set as a master, so there is no need to waste any screen telling you that master mode is set for example.

This is a nice dot matrix LCD screen though, so any display can be updated later with new firmware.

Using indoors the back light is needed to see the screen. There is no light button, but pressing the set button does the job. The light does turn off again too quickly though which can be a little annoying. Outside the screen is quite visible with or without the back light.

Pixel King Pro Display

The Phottix Odin has quite a big visibility advantage here with the much larger screen, and even larger easy to access buttons. But the King Pro display is low profile to allow for the pass through hotshoe for flash on camera, which the Odin does not support.

 

FEC –

 

FEC, or Flash Exposure Compensation, in ETTL, is set via the King Pro interface individually for each slave group, or globally from the camera itself. These add or subtract from each other, so you have up to 6 stops of + or – FEC adjustment either way.

FEC set directly on slave flashes is ignored, as is FEC set on a flash mounted on-camera, on the Pass Through Hotshoe (as discussed further just below).

 

Flash on Camera –

 

The flash mounted on the King Pro’s Pass Through Hotshoe is adjusted directly through the flashes own interface.

So unlike with the Canon system and most other TTL triggers, the flash on-camera is not automatically considered to be in Group A, and it can’t be controlled through any of the groups on the King Pro interface. In a sense it has its own individual group, allowing 4 groups altogether if a flash on camera is used as well. Bonus group yay!

One unusual thing to note here though, is that the FEC (flash exposure compensation) set directly on the flash does not have any effect. You can adjust that FEC via the camera, but that adjusts the FEC for all groups set to TTL globally. So there is basically no individual FEC adjustment for the flash on-camera. I don’t see that as a huge issue, as you would just need to re-adjust the other TTL groups each time to suite if needed. But it would be better to have an individual FEC adjustment for the flash on-camera if possible (the YN-622C does allow this for example).

Otherwise the flash on camera operates correctly as you would expect, and interacts with the off camera flashes as expected in ETTL, Manual,or a mixture of both.

 

Pixel King Pro Flash On Top

One thing I haven’t tested in detail are the A:B and A:B C ratios. Without individual FEC adjustment, I don’t see how it would be possible to control the flash on-camera brightness compared to the brighter side of the slaves ratio.

But the big advantage of triggers like these are that you don’t have to use those restrictive ratios anyway, just set FEC for each group, or add manual in any group (for background light etc) as needed.

 

Mixed Mode –

 

Mixed mode is term YongNuo have made fairly common, to describe making settings directly on the slave flash units themselves.

With the King Pro there is no need to set a mode for this, but any flash set to ETTL on the transmitter, and then set to a manual power level directly on the flash unit itself, will retain that manual power level, overriding the transmitter ETTL setting.

This only works with ETTL set on the transmitter, and Manual set directly on the flashes as above. If the transmitter is set to Manual for that group as well, that setting will keep being updating on the flash, no matter if you try to set a different power level, or ETTL, directly on the flash.

 

Remote Flash Zoom Setting –

 

Flash zoom setting can be quickly set individually for each slave group, to a manual zoom setting, or to Auto to follow the Camera lense zoom setting.

One catch here, is that a zoom setting already set directly on a flash will not be automatically updated to match the transmitter setting, unless you actually go into the transmitter zoom setting and make a change for that flash group. Like the Mixed Mode for manual power setting above, this allows you to set a zoom setting directly on the flash without it being overridden by the transmitter (unless you actually want it to).

For Flash on-camera, mounted on the King Pro Pass Through Hotshoe, zoom settings, or Auto, are again set directly on the flash itself

 

Transceiver –

 

The King Pro unit is a transceiver, meaning it can actually be used as a transmitter or receiver. Set to transmitter (Master) the LCD is green, and white (or light grey) when set to receiver (Slave) mode. Being a transceiver allows for back up transmitter units as well. The King X is a receiver unit only, and about $20 cheaper than the King Pro when purchased individually.

Pixel King Pro

Reinforced Case –

 

Pixel products generally tend to have fairly light duty build design. And the previous King case has had some issues with coming apart, generally when the flash was layed over on its side putting a lot of stress on the trigger case and hotshoe. That was mainly with the receiver case as the transmitter hotshoe was disabled anyway.

The new King Pro now has an elaborate metal frame inside the plastic case, providing a solid metal connection from the foot underneath, right through to the hotshoe on top. So all screws for the foot and hotshoe are threaded securely into metal, instead of the softer plastic case as most other triggers generally are.

This is most likely designed to reinforce the pass through hotshoe, and for a flash mounted on top of the camera where the case can receive the most stress. Though this appears to be intended as a more solid receiver option as well.

Pixel King Pro Metal Frame

 

1/4″ 20 Threaded Bracket Mounting –

 

Pixel have even put a 1/4″ 20 threaded mounting hole on the side of the case, which is also connected directly to the metal frame shown above. This offers another solid mounting point which will bypass the foot altogether (as that is still connected by some plastic otherwise). So there is a solid metal connection between this mount and the hotshoe where the flash is attached.

Pixel have an optional L bracket accessory shown in the manual, which attaches to this mount. But even with that bracket I can’t really see how they envisage this to be mounted. Nevertheless Pixel have gone to a surprising large effort to produce a solid case and mounting point option. The King Pro is now one big solid unit!

Pixel King Pro Mount

Pass Though Hotshoe –

 

Unfortunately this is where some of that hard work seen above reinforcing the case goes to waste a little. Having a case strong enough to not come apart is only part of the issue when it comes to pass through hotshoes. The main issue is generally side to side movement in the foot and hotshoe connections, which ends up in unreliable TTL connections and eventually possibly even loose of broken shoes and feet.

The Problem with the King Pro is that the foot is still too sloppy in the the Canon hotshoe, and the same locking rings used again, are no better at tightening the trigger down without any movement. The foot and even the hotshoe are separate screw on parts though, and Pixel could easily update these with revised components, with tighter tolerances, if they had the will to do so. Whether they will ever actually do that is another question.

Its a little bit of a pity to have come this far though and not complete the job, with what could be a very solid pass through hotshoe for fairly serious use. But on-camera flash units with built in radio transmitter have always been the real alternative to pass through hotshoes anyway, and with those being not far away now, the more promising development is how far Pixel have come with the electronics and range etc of these triggers.

Pixel could finish the job refining the pass through hotshoe, but I think flashes with built in transmitter will likely beat them to the punch now anyway. At this stage this is a pretty solid pass through for what it is, just go easy on swiveling the flash head around as usual.

Pixel King Pro Pass Through Hotshoe

 

King X Receiver –

 

Along with the King Pro release, is the new King X receiver. This is just a simplified receiver only unit, offering a more cost effective receiver option, $67.50 vs $93.50.

The King X is slightly smaller than the previous Kings receiver and has a similar plastic foot with threaded mounting hole in the base (which is the only good way to mount them). There is no mention of any metal frame inside the King X but they feel pretty solid too.

Groups have fast individual selection buttons to match the King Pro. Test fire button is on the top, also like the King Pro which is also a big improvement over the current Kings.

 Pixel King X

The King X has a plastic foot with locking pin, and a threaded mounting hole in the base. Using the threaded hole is always the most secure way to mount them, as it avoids possibly breaking the plastic foot.

Pixel King X Base

Battery Door & Contacts –

 

Along with the upgrades to the cases are a new battery door design, which is more solid, and now holds the door in place so that it can not get lost.

Battery contacts are also now gold plated spring clips for better reliability, replacing the old coil springs. Again this shows Pixel have really made an effort to improve the physical design of the King Pro and X.

Pixel King Pro Battery Door

 

Group Buttons –

 

The King Pro and King X now have separate Group buttons, instead of having to used one button and scroll though combinations. Pixel have really listened when it comes to the dislike of scrolling with single button. The buttons are rubber coated, similar to the new dust covers below.

Pixel King Pro Group Buttons

Dust Covers –

 

Another nice update are the new dust covers over the PC sync Port, and particularly the USB Port. I don’t know if they would be completely water proof, but they would certainly help against surface water getting onto the ports, as well as dust and dirt. These type of rubber covers have been fairly common even on inexpensive flash units so its great they have made their way to radio triggers now too. I think the Kings are first radio triggers with these covers.

Pixel King Pro Dust Covers

Channels –

The King Pro has 15 standard channels to select from, and one Auto channel.

The King X receiver has 3 standard channels, and one Auto channel.

The Auto channel matching is an interesting concept we have already seen in other Pixel triggers. This selects a coded channel at random and you pair that together with the receivers. There could be an infinite amount of random coded channels, so its virtually impossible to clash with the Auto channel another photographers trigger set has selected.

We have already heard of these Auto channels, also automatically changing channels, and needing to be paired together again. So in general, using one of the standard channels is the simple hassle free option.

Pixel King X Channels

AF Assist Light –

 

One step backwards from the previous Kings is the lack of an AF assist light in the King Pro.

This could have been a deal breaker for some people, but I have already found a YN-622C transmitter mounted on top appears to be working fine just for the AF assist light. I don’t have one to test but I would think a Canon ST-E2 unit should work ok as well. Its silly to have to use a work around like this at all, but its lucky that it does at least appear to work ok.

King Pro and YN-622C AF Assist

 

Shutter Release –

 

Another upgrade is the inclusion of a shutter release function. So far apart from the PocketWizard TT1/TT5 its been rare to see a shutter release function on many TTL triggers at all.

Unfortunately I don’t have the optional USB shutter cord to try this yet, so I’m not sure if this will actually fire the flashes, as well as act as a shutter release at the same time, with just the one King Pro transceiver unit on camera.

EDIT – Pixel’s own promotional video shows you can indeed fire camera and shutter with just one unit on the camera (and that can even be just the King Pro receiver on camera!).

You can also trigger one camera from another, and Pixel’s video appears to show the flash firing in sync with the remote camera, which is quite surprising. I will update this once I can test these properly myself.

Pixel Pro Shutter Release

Test Fire – Light Meter Use –

 

Another major feature for many people is the ability to use a light meter in Remote Manual power setting use with the flashes.

In manual there is no pre-flash so that will not effect a light meter, and the test fire shots fire at the correct power level set on the transmitter.

You can also easily turn groups on and off quickly from the transmitter, so metering each light individually is quite simple.

But the even better still, the King Pro can be held in hand (a little like the image above) while still adjusting remote manual power levels, and test firing for meter readings, away from the camera.

 

High Sync Speeds with Studio Lights –

 

Like the previous Kings and YN-622C, the King Pro have the standard Pre-Sync signal which can be used to attain higher shutter speeds up to 1/8000th with some studio light and monolights.

This uses the long slow burning tail of the light pulse produced by lights with a long flash duration, to act as a continuous light source.  The camera used will also effect the results, full frame cameras with a big slow shutter like the 5D series are the hardest to get good results with. Inexpensive Chinese monolights often have long enough flash duration to get decent results though.

The timing is similar to the previous Kings and YN-622C so the results will be similar to those triggers as well. Unlike PocketWizard’s Hypersync, and Phottix Odin ODS, which have timing adjustments to help dial in the best results, you just have to accept the results you get with the Kings, as there is no adjustment with them.

 

Backwards Compatibility –

 

UPDATE – As of firmware version V101 there is full compatibility and control with the current King for Canon receivers. (King for Canon requires upgrade to V1040)

(previous to V101 there was only TTL compatibility at most with the previous King receivers, no control through the King Pro interface. You could adjust FEC through the camera though).

The current King receivers will not provide the full range advantage though. I have not tested or compared this range side by side as yet.

The Pixel Opas and Bishop manual triggers are not compatible with the King Pro (as they are with the previous Kings).

 

Pixel King

 

Camera Compatibility –

 

All current Canon DSLR bodies should be compatible. 1DX now have their own compatible firmware version.

Older cameras without a flash control menu at all should still be compatible and have full functions as well now. I have tested a 20D and that works fine with full control.

The King Pro Transmitter will NOT fire on other non-Canon cameras, either mounted on their hotshoe, or connected via PC sync cord.

This is unfortunate, as the test fire button and remote power control will work with the transmitter off the cameras hotshoe (which does allow light meter use).

 

Flash Compatibility –

 

For full function with the King Pro, Mark II Canon EX, or 600EX-RT, flashes are required.

 

UPDATE – May 2015 – From Firmware version V105 onward, the Pixe King Pro are now compatible as transmitter units to the Pixel X800C speedlites with radio transceivers built-in.

Pixel also have their own Mago Flash which is compatible when using King Pro or King X receivers with them.

 

Some third party flashes may be compatible as well, I have tested the YongNuo YN-568EX and YN-500EX and they appear to be working ok (UPDATE – please see the comments below).

Pixel have put together a guide to compatible third party flashes here – or here.

UPDATE – Pixels have now noted in the compatibility guide linked above – “Abnormal Phenomenon may occur when using YongNuo flashes”. So even though they list most functions as working, people have experience some intermittent issues etc. They may not be a major issue, though the combination is not always 100% compatible and stable.

 

There is at least one report the Nissin Di866 II apears to be working ok. The Phottix Mitros is currently not compatible.

Mark one Canon flashes may work in ETTL only, but definitely not remote power control or zoom settings. There is some reports that the 430EX I is not working in ETTL either, which is no surprise as that had issues with the previous Kings as well (this may have been rectified by now though with later firmware updates).

 

Pixel King & YN-568EX

 

Firmware Updates –

 

The King Pro and King X have a USB port for Firmware updates. And the process of updating the firmware is now much simplified and a lot faster. Also available for Mac OSX now as well as Windows.

I’ve updated the firmware a number of times now and its a very simple process of plugging the unit into the computer via USB cord. Holding down the test fire button and switching the unit on. The deleting the current firmware file and pasting in the new file. Its as quick as copying and pasting any small file on your computer from one folder to another.

(I have asked Pixel to use regular ZIP files now too, instead of the RAR files which can be a hassle to decompress).

 

Pixel King Pro USB & PC Sync

 

Firmware Versions –

 

  • V101 – Full compatibility and Control with previous King for Canon receivers (King requires upgrade to V1040)
  • V100 – Latest firmware most units should be shipping with.
  • V001 – Attempted to add previous King compatibility, 6D and 700D support.
  • V000 – The first firmware which came with pre-production units.

The latest firmware versions are available for download here.

 

Specs –

 

Model King Pro – King X
Wireless System Digital FSK 2.4GHz
Range Up to 300m
Channels 15 fixed channels and 1 auto channel
Receiver Output TTL hot shoe, cable sync port
Power Transmitter: 2 AA batteries (100 hrs) (continuous work)
Receiver: 2 AA batteries (120 hrs) (continuous work)
Flash Mode E-TTL, TTL, M (for Canon)
Mixed Mode Support Mixed Mode (Such as, TTL in Group A, Manual in Group B)
EV Support different EV addition/subtraction of each TTL group setting
Ratios Supports output light ratios
Sync Mode 1st curtain, 2nd curtain, High Speed Sync, Red-eye reduction
Group Control 3 groups (7 different combinations)
Function Supports flash zooming, focal length, Iso, shutter speed, FV lock and FP
Sync Speed 1/8000 second
Compatible Flash Flashgun, Studio light and outdoor light
Firmware Support Upgrade the device by downloading new firmware online

 

Resources –

 

Pixels own promotional description video –

 

Instruction Manual PDF

 

Summary –

 

The Pixel King are back in the game with the King Pro and X, and once again a breakthrough in price for the functionality on offer.

If Pixel can update the interface with rear A/B/C group buttons enabled. (UPDATE – Now done!, and providing a good quick and simple interface.).

A standout feature of the King Pro and King X are their range, often providing double that of other popular TTL triggers.

 

PRICE AND AVAILABILITY

 

The King Pro and King X set are available now from around $140

Canon – Amazon, UK, Ebay
Nikon – Amazon, UK, Ebay

Pixel – Website

 

.

146 Comments
  1. The Flasher 4 years ago

    oh dear….. no AF assist light!

    I think i will stick with my Yongnuo 622s….. and maybe Yongnuo will release some kind of pro transmitter in the near future?????

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Richard,

      Yes you can be sure YongNuo will release a Pro style transmitter at some point as well. But it may not have USB firmware updates as YN have tried to keep the price point low. Thanks.

      • The Flasher 4 years ago

        Seeing as you have some communication with these manufacturers……. perhaps you could ask Yongnuo nicely to add a dial on their future flash trigger which could be used to adjust the timing of the Pre-Sync signal, so that we can adjust it on each particular camera for best results…..

        thanks for you great blog by the way….always look forward to reading each of your articles 🙂

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 4 years ago

          Hi Richard,

          Thanks, don’t worry I was trying to get this across years ago. One manufacturer has actually implemented it quite nicely already, but still seems reluctant to release it due to the amount of extra customer service and confusion it causes.

          Commlite did actually release the H-550 with timing adjustment dial, but that was never resolved properly to work with Canon, and I don’t know if they still intending to develop an new version now.

          I will pass this on again though thanks. It will happen sooner or later.

    • Al 4 years ago

      If the 3rd Gen is backward compatible, I think you can use the IR AF assist from the previous generation receivers..

    • paulrph1 3 years ago

      Maybe a flash meter would work with a little ingenuity.

  2. Wolf 4 years ago

    Thank’s for the great review!

    @ flash compatibility
    You mentioned that both the YN-568EX and the YN-500EX work fine.
    I guess that it is very likely that the YN-568EX II is a compatible flash too.

    @ focus assist light
    Is there any best practice example to work with the King Pro + using an additional device with a focus assist light?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Wolf,

      The YN-568EX II should be very similar to the YN-568EX. Pixel have confirmed the YN-565EX is compatible as well.

      Regarding the AF assist, that works just like the flash was mounted on the camera hotshoe. If you don’t want to use a flash, the YN-622C appears to work fine as well. I don’t have one to try, but Canon ST-E2 would likely be the best option there. Thanks.

  3. zubpho 4 years ago

    Will there be a Nikon version soon?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi zubpho,

      Pixel haven’t really done a previous Nikon version with manual power control, or TTL ratios etc yet, so I personally wouldn’t count on it being too soon. I don’t think they could really say when either until its pretty close to ready. Thanks.

      • zubpho 4 years ago

        Thank you so much for your quick reply.

  4. Damian 4 years ago

    I have two YN622Cs and four Cactus V5s. I have a question about all TTL triggers. They fire A and B in TTL and C in manual, so that’s Key and Fill light adjustable, but Hair you have to set power on flash? And what about a D, background light? How do you fire a 4th flash with this or the 622C?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Damian,

      As explained in more detail in the post below, you can add as many extra flashes as you like, with different individual power levels, but you need to set the power directly on the flash.

      You can use the built in optic slaves to fire the extra flashes (even with second curtain sync) but HSS would require extra YN-622C (or Pixel King Pro, if using those) receivers on each extra flash. Thanks.

  5. Damian 4 years ago

    Ok so to follow my prev question, I’ve read AB:C will fire 3 flashes output controlled, and some triggers (PocketWizard, Phottix Odin) have a D or dumb group to fire a 4th flash, no output control from camera.
    I find it odd that in photography we might use 4 lights but they made triggers and cameras control output for only 3.

    Also many photogs say to use manual not ETTL, so why do the triggers that control output require ETTL flashes?

    Finally will this Pixel King Pro let me set output for 3 flashes and fire a 4th background flash, set locally?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Damian,

      The Canon A:B C, etc group and ratio system is really quite ancient, and originates from the early ST-E2 transmitter and early Master units like the 550EX flash.

      Its only very recently with latest ST-E3, 600EX-RT and 2012 onward camera bodies, that Canon has finally moved to a simple system of controlling groups individually (as Nikon has had for many years). With that latest Canon gear you actually have 5 groups available now.

      Yes PocketWizard and Phottix odin, Pixel King Pro etc only have 3 groups as well. I’m sure the trend will more towards 4 or 5 groups with those eventually too, its simply just that up to 3 groups (particularly in ETTL) is all that gets used most often. With a lot more people looking to remote manual now, the extra groups would be quite desirable.
      .
      .

      With the Pixel King Pro, and most systems, you can still have as many extra lights as you want set locally directly on the flash units themselves. Its just the 3 groups that have the remote control though. So you would use that remote control on the 3 most inaccessible flashes.

      If you start using more than 3 separate groups in ETTL you’re likely better off to be working in manual anyway.

      The great thing about the Pixel King Pro, Phottix Odin, PW AC3, and Canon ST-E3/600EX-RT/2012 cameras, is that you can actually mix ETTL and Remote Manual groups. So the background lights can actually be set to consistent manual power levels, and the subjects automatically exposed correctly in ETTL. Canon’s old A:B C, is not really a fully manual group C. This old system is problematic, and 5D II owners still have to battle with it even if they fork out for ST-E3 and 600EX-RT.
      .
      .
      Why do the triggers that control manual output require ETTL flashes? – Well most of the triggers are using the TTL system to control the manual output as well.

      There is another remote manual system called the quench pin system, this is what Radiopopper JrX use to control manual power levels, and it can be used with old Nikon SB-24, 26, 28, etc flashes, as well as the SB-600 and 800, and Canon EX flashes. But its a dying system as the Nikon SB-900 onward do not support quench pin anymore.

      The new breed of inexpensive remote manual flashes will be like the YN-560 III with radio receivers built in. That will be a great option, and long overdue, but it won’t replace the TTL and Remote Manual systems that offer things like HSS and Second Curtain Sync as well.
      .
      .

      The Pixel King Pro sort of has a 4th Group by the way, if you include the on camera flash that is basically in its own group. You could run a long TTL cord to the nearest flash basically taking that on camera flash off camera.

      Hope that helps. Thanks.

      • Max 4 years ago

        Hi,

        I’ve read this article over and over and these, hopefully, seem perfect for what I need but it would be great if someone could confirm something for me.

        I am soon to be buying four strobes for portraits, most likely bowens 750 + 500 pro’s. I feel stupid for asking this as I am sure it’s an obvious answer but can these triggers also remotely control a strobes power in the same way as they do a speedlight?

        Thanks

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 4 years ago

          Hi Max,

          Unfortunately no, I don’t think there are any third party triggers to remotely control Bowen’s monolights. You will have to see what Bowen’s offer in the way of their own units with remote control there. Thanks.

          • Max 4 years ago

            Hi,

            Thanks for the reply. I’ve seen the bowens pulsar triggers but have not heard good things in terms of reliability and range. If you don’t mind, can you recommend any? I was hoping to stay away from the monumental expense of the pocket wizards.

            Thanks

            —————————————————————————————

            FlashHavoc says –

            Hi Max,

            As mentioned I don’t know of any that will control the Bowen’s lights, but for a basic fire signal, the Phottix Atlas II are half the price of PocketWizards still with very long range –

            http://flashhavoc.com/flash-trigger-guide-manual/#Phottix_Atlas_II

            But if 100m or so range is enough (generally more than enough for regular use) the Phottix Strato are less the $50 each and just as reliable (also have a nice group feature for turning lights on and off remotely) –

            http://flashhavoc.com/flash-trigger-guide-manual/#Phottix_Strato_II

            The Strato II and Atals II are also compatible with each other, and the Odin TTL trigger will fire them (if you want the remote power control for your speedlights)

            (I think you need to start a new comment to reply now by the way as the reply button is not showing) Thanks again.

  6. Max 4 years ago

    Hello,

    Thought I would let you know that I went with the Strato ii’s in the end and will eventually add an odin so I can have remote manual control of my compatible speedlights.

    Thanks a lot for all the help

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Thanks Max,

      The Strato II are great triggers, and as you mention ideal to have with the Odin as well later.Thanks,

  7. Michael Muetstege 4 years ago

    Hello Flash Havoc,

    Did you have a chance to test the latest firmware V101? there is no list in this rar packedge telling what is new.

    Greetings Michael

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Michael,

      Thanks for that, no I haven’t tried the latest V101 firmware, but I will give it a try and update this. The description is saying it is adding full control and compatibility with the previous King for Canon receivers (King for Canon requires upgrade to V1040).

      Also there is a V101 specifically for the Canon 1Dx, as that was not previously compatible. Thanks.

      • Michael Muetstege 4 years ago

        I hope they solved the bugs you and me find in the firmware V100, which is not stable in my opinion.
        Please mail me if you have updated your test with the new results of the V101 firmware. I can finish my Dutch review on this trigger.

  8. Mat Smith 4 years ago

    Someone needs to invent a flash controller with 3 dials dedicated to controlling power output for remote flashes (/groups).

    I really couldn’t care less about any other function on a flash controller except flash power.

    How is this so difficult for manufacturers to grasp?

    Multi-function buttons are my nemesis!

    • photomy 4 years ago

      You mean like Radiopopper Jrx dials?

  9. photomy 4 years ago

    Responding to complexity of changing flash power or compensation on the master transmitter.

    I believe this will not be as much of a problem for Nikon users of the system. With Nikon in manual exposure mode, usually the group ratios are set once based on a known desired contrast ratio, and then total scene flash compensation is done via the body Exposure Compensation control dial on the right top side of the camera body. This is of course much faster and easier than any flash control adjustment.

    Hopefully, this will work with Nikon. I may have to get a set to test and verify.

  10. Dimitris 4 years ago

    Hi Flash Havoc

    thanks for the thorough review. I have Nikon gear and flashes but love my Olympus E-PL5 for travelling and as a camera I carry with me all the time, and of course I want to use my Nikon fashes with it, mostly in manual mode. I am not sure why such an independent from camera system could not be used to control and fire the flashes (although clearly it will be strange to have a flash control the size of the camera). Any ideas?

    Thanks !

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Dimitris,

      I’ll have to get back to you on this one. I have sent the Nikon King Pro’s out to another photographer to review, so I can’t be sure on this at this stage. I would tend to think its currently unlikely, but the Phottix Odin which controls the flashes via TTL even in remote manual, can now change power level off the camera hotshoe (so a light meter can be used), so its possible Pixel could also refine this later with new firmware. Thanks.

      • Dimitris 4 years ago

        Thanks.

        It is just silly I can control my Elinchromes through Skyport from my Pen but not the nikons…

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 4 years ago

          Just to follow up on this, I still haven’t gotten the results from the Nikon version, but i tested the Canon version King Pro, and Phottix Odin, and neither will fire via a single firing pin, they both need the Canon TTL pins to fire.

          That’s unfortunate as both can control the flash with the transmitter held in hand, and fire them a the correct power level vial the test fire button. So its seems like an oversight that they will not fire via a single firing pin shoe, or even a PC sync cord to the camera.

          So I doubt the Nikon version would have any more luck there at this stage. Maybe this is something they could update later with firmware. Thanks.

  11. Michael Muetstege 4 years ago

    Hello Flash Hovoc,

    I know you are busy with all the hot news about Yongnuo new products, but did you have a chance to test the V101 for Canon. Are the bugs solved in this firmware?

    Greetings Michael

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Michael,

      Sorry for the slow reply, I’ve updated to V101 on the King PRO, and V1040 on the original King receivers, and everything appears to be working great. The original King receivers have full compatibility now.

      One small catch is the I couldn’t update the original King receivers with Windows 8. I borrowed a PC with windows 7 and the update went straight through very fast.

      (And Pixel didn’t update group selection to the rear buttons, which still drives me mental).

      • Michael Muetstege 4 years ago

        Thanks for your replay, and good to hear Pixel has solved the problems with the V101 firmware.
        I tried to update the Pixel King Pro with Ubuntu 12.4 but with no succes, I did my update also with a (virtual) Windows 7 PC.

  12. Tim Henrion 4 years ago

    Read it and weep. From Pixel HK support:

    —–
    Hi. Sir

    We’re currently have no intention to develop the firmware for PHOTTIX
    flash.

    Sorry again for the inconvenience.

    Thanks for your enquiry and support.

    If you have any question, please feel free to contact us!

    Thanks and best regards!
    Pixel Enterprise Limited.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Thanks Tim, at least we know. Thanks.

  13. photosok 4 years ago

    Will the system operate: the camera with E-TTL (Canon EOS 1Ds) and flash with E-TTL II (Canon Speedlite 580 EX II) ???
    Interested in THESE models (Pocket Wizard, it does not help…).

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hello there,

      Sorry I do not know about compatibility with the original 1Ds. You would be best to check on that with Pixel to be sure. Thanks.

  14. Dan 4 years ago

    @ Flash Havoc.

    Can I operate with Pixel King Pro and Canon 580EX mark I and Canon 430 EX mark II ? What precisely does not work fine with 580 EX I ?

    Thanks alot.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Dan,

      There is no remote manual power control with mark one flashes and the Pixel King, King Pro, or YN-622C. They all use the Canon system which normally controls the flash through the camera menu. And mark one flashes did not have this ability to be controlled through the camera menu.

      The Phottix Odin will allow full control of mark one flashes because they take over the flash in ETTL mode, even when using manual power settings. The downside to that system is that there is always pre-flashes, even in manual.

  15. Dan 4 years ago

    Thanks a lot from Romania, Flash Havoc, for your work and help! 🙂

  16. Dan 4 years ago

    So, I understand that Mark one flashes from Canon works with King Pro only in ETTL or TTL…or the other way…I can set my 580EX I manually with some power…say 1/1 or 1/4…or other power, let it on the flash stand and it works every flash in that way. If I want to modify the power…it must to that do only directly on the flash commands. It is shat correct? Thanks again!

  17. Niels Gram 4 years ago

    Regarding remote firing: The Pixel video does hint that it is possible to have more cameras firing and sync with the flash. But if you look closer, I think that this isn’t what’s going on in the video. Technically, the trigger of the flash is a switch on the shutter curtain (1st or 2nd). There are no fixed well defined delay from the time that you hit the shutter button to the flash needs to fire. So having two cameras firing away and sync’ing with the same flashes will probably not be possible. Maybe with Canon’s own radio flash system because Canon can add features they need to make this work in the cameras but not with 3rd party flash triggers that works with the normal flash sync of the cameras.
    Otherwise thank’s for the review. I have purchased a King Pro and two King X. Thus far I’m happy and I’m going to order a 3rd King X shortly. It seems a lot better than Canon’s system.

  18. Niels Gram 4 years ago

    Firmware upgrade is possible on Linux platforms. Ho.wever you can not follow the procedure described for Windows and Mac. Pixel support has send me a bash-script that perform the firmware update on Ubuntu. The important part of the script is that delete old firmware and copy new is replaced by: dd bs=1024 conv=nocreat,notrunc if=”$1″ of=”$volpath”. This works. Don’t know if Pixel will put the script on their support site but they sure do have great support 🙂

  19. Ramon 4 years ago

    Hello.
    I´m wondering if this triggers will fire my old flash Canon 540EZ
    Regards !!!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Ramon,

      They should fire them like any basic manual flash, but that’s all. No TTL or remote power control of anything like that, just a basic fire signal.

      If your’e just after triggers just for the 540EZ you may be better off with some simple manual ones instead. Thanks.

      • Ramon 4 years ago

        Thanks for the quick answer !!!
        If they are fired it would be ok for me to use them in manual…. I moved from 40D with pixel Knight to 5D Mark III and the Knights don´t work with the new camera.
        I don´t have the money to buy new flashes now but I hope I will soon, so King Pro would be a good options for “present / future”
        Thanks again !!!

    • Tit Bonač 4 years ago

      @Ramon
      The triggers work just fine with the old 540EZ (tested on a 20D and 1Ds. On the 20D it even syncs at 1/320s), but like it was said it works like a “stupid” manual only trigger (but I never had simple triggers sync over the max sync speed. The YN 622c also trigger over the sync speed – 1/320s tested on 20D, 1D mark II and 1Ds).

      Got the Pixel kings becouse my YN-622c didn’t want to work with my old 1Ds classic (they froze the body). To bad that they don’t have a AF assist lamp, but the good news is that if you use a 622 on top of the pixel king you a) have AF assist b) it doesn’t freez the body.
      The quallity is a bit of a concern. Mine developed lines across the screen on the first day of use.

      • Ramon 4 years ago

        Thanks for the info Tit Bonač !!!

  20. PierreW 4 years ago

    hello,

    Just tried my new PixelKing Pro with fmw v101 on a 5DMKIII
    Camera on M 1 second exposure
    Pixel King set at Manual Power , 2nd curtain

    When firing I have a first (pre) flash and a second flash at the end of the exposure .
    Does this mean that the King Pro emits a preflash no matter what and cannot be used with supplemental flashes running on optical slaves ?
    best and many thanks for all the info on your site .

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Pierre,

      I’ll have to check on this and get back to you. There shouldn’t be a pre-flash in manual so I’m not sure what is happening there. Thanks.

      • PierreW 4 years ago

        Hi ,

        Look forward your feedback ; and again thanks for the great info you share with the community.

        Best,

        Pierre

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 4 years ago

          Hi Pierre,

          Thanks for that. I test this and couldn’t get any pre-flash in manual. I’m actually having another problem though in that I can only go to 1/2 second exposure in SCS, any longer and the flash doesn’t fire. This is using V101 with the King Pro, and tested on the 50D. All the other triggers are working in SCS at any longer shutter speeds.

          I’m really not sure how your’e getting the pre-flash though, unless it is somehow due to the 5DIII. Do you have any other camera models that you can try by any chance? Thanks.

          • PierreW 4 years ago

            Hello,

            Some good news from the front

            First, just tried this on a 5DMKII and on a 5D, and had the same pattern, when using M and second curtain sync on the King Pro I see distinctly 2 flashes .
            Then noticed the flash output was not varying much when changing output, thus changed internal flash batteries.

            problem solved, all 5D models sent only one flash at end of exposure when in second curtain sync ; looks like the problem was related to the flash batteries being exhausted

            Again many thks for the help and suggestions

            Best Pierre

  21. fajar 4 years ago

    Will pixel king pro work with the old pixel king????
    thanks for the knowledge

    fajar

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi fajar,

      Yes the Pixel King receivers will work with the new King Pro transmitter. You will need the latest firmware in both triggers though. Thanks

  22. Felipe 4 years ago

    I have Cactus V5’s that I’m using with a Nikon D300s but I hate that I need to walk over to them to change power settings, especially because I have one inside an octobox that I use all the time. I’m pretty much sold on the Pixel King Pro with Pixel King X’s but am wondering if there is another easy to use LCD screen trigger that I should consider to replace Nikon CLS in some shooting situations where radio trigger is needed. Also, there’s no way to use this system through the Nikon CLS menu, is there? Thanks!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Felipe,

      The Phottix Odin currently have an easier LCD interface. The Odin have a long track record of being very stable and reliable too. I haven’t heard much feedback on the Nikon version of King Pro yet.

      The Only triggers that will use the Nikon CLS menu are optic to radio converters like the Radiopopper PX, or the inexpensive Aokatec AK-TTL.

      They are a little more fiddly though to attach receivers etc. Where as option like the Odin are getting even more refined, with triggers built directly into the flash units now with the Mitros+. THe Nikon version should be coming soon. Thanks.

  23. Michele Caminati 4 years ago

    Hi all, I own a Canon 6D and a 580Ex II flash. Now I’m buying a Sony A7 as a second body. Will I be able to control the 580Ex II with Pixel King pro on the A7 camera, setting everything from the king pro itself? I just need remote manual control and hss not really ttl…

    Will radiopopper jrx do the job (obviously without hss)?

    Thanks!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Michele,

      Sorry no the Pixel King Pro unfortunately will not fire on other cameras without the full TTL contacts on the hotshoe.

      The Radiopopper JrX will work without HSS as you mention. You need the RadioPopper Cube hostshoe for Canon flashes though, and one small downside to the JrX is that the dials do not have graduations, where most LCD controllers now are easy to adjust in 1/3rd stops.

      If you only need remote manual though and HSS, you can get one of the new Godox V850 flashes. They do both, and also basically have an external battery pack built in. All for less than the cost of the radio triggers above. No HSS on the Sony though, but for remote manual they are universal for most cameras. Thanks.

      • Michele Caminati 4 years ago

        Thank you very much, I expected to work with sony or Nikon cameras as well since they do have ttl contacts on hotshoe , but I guess it will be different from Canon ttl… I will try to get king pro for my canon 6D anyway and I will test. I’ll check the Godovox for the Sony as well!

  24. Marco 4 years ago

    Hi flash havoc.
    I’m nikon user (D800). I like very much this trigger system, but to be honest, i’m afraid to buy it becouse, looking on the web, i saw that it have a lot of bug and compatibility problem with flash.
    You maybe know if there is a board where pixel write the full work flash?
    i think it’s not correct by Pixel to don’t say to buyers which flashes doesn’t work with his system… (!)
    is it correct that i have to be the tester of kig pro compatibility???
    To be honest i don’t know which flash i can buy becouse maybe they don’t work in something with King Pro.
    I was ready to buy meike mk900 and at the end i saw this video…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lanEl-ldUjk
    and i stop my buy…

    what about nikon D800E – king pro – Nissin Speedlite Di866 Mark II Nikon ???
    what about nikon D800E – king pro – metz 58 af-2 ???

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Marco,

      Pixel are actually one of the few companies to do a compatibility list of the third party flashes. Click on the “Compatible” tab here – http://www.pixelhk.com/Proshow.aspx?id=325 and you will see the chart.

      Probably 8 times out of 10 when people email they are having problems with a radio trigger, it is using another third party flash. So personally I would avoid mixing 3rd party flash and triggers whenever possible. They likely work fine most of the time, but you’re still increasing your chance of issues at some point. Thanks.

      • Marco 4 years ago

        thank you for your advice, i saw the tab and it seems that they perfect works only with oloong 551EX.
        it’s incredible that there isn’t any test result about nikon official flash sb910 or sb700… the first flash that they have to try (in my opinion).
        i think it’s better to buy them later hoping they will rise the tab flash number.

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 4 years ago

          Hi Marco,

          The list is only for third party flashes, because all current genuine Nikon flashes should be fully compatible.

          If there was any compatibility issue with any current genuine Nikon flash then they would be trying to resolve that with a firmware fix. But I have not heard of any issue like this.

  25. Mihai 4 years ago

    Hi,
    I have a D610, the Pixel King Pro kit and the Yongnuo YN-565EX.
    The problem is that, when the trigger synchronizes with the receiver (blue led blinks), the flash fires without any action taken.
    Has anyone heard / had this problem?

    Also, the led on the receiver does not blink, even when the TEST button is pressed.
    Made the firmware upgrade and no change.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Mihai,

      Have you been able to try the King Pro with any Nikon flashes to see if they are working properly with those?

      Pixel’s compatibility charts show the YN-565EX as mostly not compatible with any functions unforntunatley. If you click the “compatible” tab here you can see the chart – http://www.pixelhk.com/Proshow.aspx?id=325

      Thanks.

  26. Dear Flash Havoc,
    I have used the Pixel Knights w/o any problems, until I purchased my latest camera body, the Canon 6D. With the Pixel Knights I could use my 430ex II’s in remote ETTL, or, from the transmitter, manually adjust their power. The 430ex I, was only able to work in remote ETTL.

    If you have a min, I’d like to ask your advice. What’s my best option to do this same thing with the 6D? If the ability to have remote manual adjustment, and ETTL capability with a YN flash, that would be an added bonus, as I need 2 more flashes with these capabilities.

    Thanks so much! Great review, and resource!
    –Rick

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Rick,

      If you want to go with the YN flashes, its definitely best to stick with the YN triggers as well.

      The YN-622C and coming YN-622-TX would do the trick with your current gear and new YN flashes.

      But you may also want to consider the new YN RT system as well, as the flash probably won’t be that much longer away than the YN-622-TX. That would likely mean selling up the 430EX’s, but the built in radio flash system would be worth it.

      Another good option would be the Phottix Mitros+ with built in Odin transceiver. You can then combine the existing 430EX’s with Odin receivers, and try to expand with Mitros+ flashes. In that case your YN flash would go to ebay :-). Thanks.

      • Thanks Flash Havoc. I considered the YN-622c, but the Canon 6D does not have a multi-flash controller menu. Does the YN-622C have an LCD (it does not look like it)? If it does not, how do you control the flash powers, and/or ETTL ratios?….reading the info from that page, they need a camera with advanced controls in the menu system.. Canon left that out in the 6D. So I think they’d just act like regular simple/dumb triggers?

        It looks like the YN-RT system will only do manial control, and ETTL to a Canon 600RT at this point.

        Will the Pixel Knight Pro, and X completely function, reliably with the 430ex II, and YN-568ex II?

        Thanks for all your help,
        –Rick

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 4 years ago

          Hi Rick,

          I’m not quite sure what you are referring to there, the 6D has the same external flash control menu as the 5D III. If you place the 430EXII (turned on) on the camera hotshoe you should be able to see it displayed.

          No the YN-622C does not have an LCD, but the coming YN-622C-TX does. With the YN-622C you need to control the flash power through the cameras external flash control menu as mentioned above (until the YN-622C-TX arrives).

          Yes the YN-RT system only works with the Canon 600EX-RT at this point, but the YN-600EX-RT flash is coming soon, and that probably won’t be that far off the YN-622C-TX arrival.

          No, the Pixel King Pro has issues with YongNuo TTL flashes. The 430EX II are fine. Thanks.

          • I see. The menu does not appear until you attach a master. I will probably get 5 of them, and 2 YN-568ex IIs

            Thanks for all your help!
            –Rick

  27. Dana Chapman 4 years ago

    This latest generation looks awesome. I’m curious. Will the PK Pro be able to control studio light (Alien Bees) output or just fire them?

    Thanks-
    Dana

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Dana,

      Sorry no, the King Pro do not have any control of studio lights as yet, only fire them. Thanks.

  28. Michal Schabowski 4 years ago

    hi FH!
    i have quick question – is there possibility to choose not a specific group, but all groups at once? just like in skyports, where you can select one from four groups, and then just pushing one buttom, select all groups.
    i hope you knows what i mean.
    thanks .

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Michal,

      Sorry, no you have to select and adjust groups individually.

      Its frustrating that you need to use the side buttons to adjust the groups, but the side buttons are actually pretty quick when used to turn groups on and off.

      It would help to have a separate option of one group or all groups on, for light meter use though.

  29. JIm 4 years ago

    I’m really struggling to get the original Pixel King TX and RX units upgraded. I’ve downloaded the Pixel King for Nikon RAR file from their website but there’s no instructions or and executable for the Updater Tool. I have the PIxel King Pro units too and have no problem updating those. Any advice and clear instructions would be GREATLY appreciated. I’m about to go back to PW’s but really want to give these a fair shot.

    I’m running both WIndows 7 64bit and Windows 7 Home Premium.

    Thanks,
    Jim

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Jim,

      Thanks for the heads up on the 7Zip program.

      Using 7Zip I managed to extract the Nikon RAR file, and the firmware file and executable Upgrade Tool are there. I downloaded the file from here V1030 –

      http://www.pixelhk.com/Down/DownPage.aspx?Title=KingNikon

      All downloads are here – http://www.pixelhk.com/Down/

      There was a page with step by step instructions with full images for each step. But that appears to have gone from the website. If you don’t make any progress with the files above, we can try and chase Pixel with more details. Thanks.

  30. JIm 4 years ago

    Additionally, I have no problem extracting the RAR file. For those having trouble extracting RAR files I recommend 7Zip as it’s quick and easy.

  31. lun 4 years ago

    hi FH,

    Did any test had been done on using 2 cameras?Any problem appear likes “YongNuo YN-622C” ?

    many thanks

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi lun,

      Sorry no I haven’t tested this with 2 cameras, I’ll have to add that to the “to do” list. I haven’t heard of any issues with this though, that generally would have come up by now if there was a reasonably obvious problem.

      But I’m pretty sure they won’t have the same issue as the YN-622C, because the flash on the transmitters pass through hotshoe is in its own group, and not really controlled via radio at all. So another transmitter should not be able to effect it like the YN-622C issue. Thanks.

  32. Kasper 4 years ago

    Thank you for the thorough and informative review.

    Am I correct in thinking that I would be able to control manual power remotely from the King Pros interface using this setup:

    Canon 6D
    Canon 580EX II’s
    Pixel King Pro

    I like relying on manual power output very much, but I don’t like the time taken or the interruptions of having to walk between the speedlites to change the output on each flash one by one.

    PS: Would YN568 EX II be just as good for this?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Kasper,

      Yes that will work with the 580EX II’s.

      The YN-568EX II or other YongNuo flashes have some quirks with the Kings. They work in the most part, but you would likely really be better off sticking with YongNuo YN-622C if you want to go with YongNuo flashes.

      Otherwise if you’re after lower priced flashes, and you only need remote manual (and possibly HSS) it may be worth looking at the Godox V850. A TTL version is coming soon, though its not clear if or how they will integrate for an on-camera TTL option as well. Thanks.

      • Kasper 4 years ago

        Thanks for the prompt reply and additional info.

        I will be sticking with the 580EX II’s then. Wondering if I can use my old 540EZ’s in complete manual mode at the same time.

        Do you know if it is possible to trigger the Canon 540EZ (not control power output) in a setup including the 580EX II’s using the PK Pro and receivers as mentioned before? I take it, that I will have to hook the 540EZ up on a hot shoe adapter connected to the receivers, since there is no PC connector or wireless capability with the 540EZ?

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 4 years ago

          Hi Kasper,

          You should be able to fire the 540EZ’s if using the hotshoe to PC sync cord.

          I’m not sure how they would react on the King hotshoe directly, that may actually work as well. Or you may need place a single pin hotshoe adapter between them, to block the TTL contacts.

          • Kasper 4 years ago

            Thanks FH.

            I am still not sure if the Pixel King Pro has the option to do Manual and ETTL for different flash units combined together at the same time, the way it is advertised with te Phottix Odin unit?

          • Author
            Flash Havoc 4 years ago

            Hi Kaser,

            Yes the King Pro transmitter will allow TTL and Manual groups to be mixed together at the same time.

  33. arcus 4 years ago

    hi, FH
    is compatible whit Godox flash, whit canon 1Ds MkII ?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi arcus,

      The King Pro should be compatible with the 1Ds MKII as far as I know. I haven’t heard of any compatibility issues there.

      The Godox flash, I assume you mean the coming V860C ? If so that is not available just yet to test. The safest option would definitely be using Canon flashes though. Thanks.

  34. arcus 4 years ago

    thanks FH for you information ,

    I wanted to know if these transmitters can be set with the power in M (manual) directly on the remote control with flash canon or other brand. thanks

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi arcus,

      Yes, with MK II style Canon EX flashes you can control the manual power level directly from the King Pro transmitter.

      Some other brand (MK II style) flashes may work as well, but some compatibility issues are possible. Pixel have put together a guide table here.

      Though Canon flashes are really the safest option if you want to minimize any hassles.

  35. Lion 4 years ago

    Hi,
    is there a way that I could set this to trigger all A/B/C groups..just like the phottix strato…and then i could change to only trigger the A group if i dont need the B group to be trigger? do u know what i mean?
    Many Thanks

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Lion,

      Yes you can to that with the King Pro, just set the groups you don’t want to fire to OFF.

      Pressing the white group buttons on the side of the king Pro quickly cycles each group through the option of TTL, Manual, or OFF. Thanks.

  36. Wilbur Nelson 4 years ago

    One feature little discussed feature that Pixel King Pro provides is Hypersync (PocketWizard copyright) with studio strobes. I’ve had great success using Pixel King Pro and Pro X with Fotodiox L600 studio strobes. Hypersync works at all flash power level settings with this strobe. I have shot as open as F/1.4 with no problems. The flash duration of the moonlight is 800 to 1200 which is perfect for the PK since you can’t adjust the timing with PK like you can with PocketWizards. To use Hypersync, set the PK Pro to TTL and turn on HSS.

    I’ve tested the Hypersync with my Profoto D1 Air’s without much luck. The flash duration is too fast with the Profoto’s. The good thing about using Fotodiox strobes is they are very ecomomical at less than $260; almost throw-a-way for a decent photo shoot. There are many Chinese strobes that have flash duration times around 800-1200.

  37. scarbantia 4 years ago

    I have a problem with my old EOS 5D and Pixel King Pro trigger. The communication between the camera and the trigger is not enough satisfying. The camera does not fire the flash, with the King Pro Trigger. The exposure values in P mode is setting automatically 1/200s and the smallest aperture. It don’t work either in other exposure modes(Tv, Av, M). I use the latest version of the firmware (V103) on the trigger and the receiver, too. I tried it also with Canon EOS 20D camera, it worked fine.

    Have already anyone experienced like this?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi scarbantia,

      Sorry I have not heard other reports of this with the 5D, or other cameras at this stage.

      I was going to say the only camera I have without a Flash Control Menu is the 20D, and the King Pro appear to work fine with that as well.

      Hopefully another person with a 5D can help confirm if theirs is working with the King Pro or not. Thanks.

  38. Didier 3 years ago

    Hello,

    I just bought a Nikon King Pro / X and after a few tests, it seems that the TTL power is strongly correlated with the focus distance reported by the lens. It is a bit stupid for an off camera radio solution.
    I understand that the camera thinks that the flash is on its hot shoe but there should be a solution because, for instance, a SB800 in master mode on the hot shoe allows correct TTL exposures when varying camera distance to subject as Nikon CLS does not take that distance into account, only the preflash measurement by the RGB sensor.
    This bug explains the erratic behaviour that some people are reporting with the Pixel, when moving around their subject, varying the distance.

    Does someone know if this problem has been reported and if a solution is coming?
    Do the other radio systems (Phottix, Yongnuo, Pocket Wizard,…) have the same problem?

    Firmware is V104.

    Thanks in advance

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi Didier,

      Thanks for the feedback. This is the first time I have heard this comment, and I’m not sure if Pixel would be aware or not. So it would be a good idea to let Pixel know.

      I don’t see this issue with the Canon version, but they may be quite different in TTL.

      The King Pro Canon version (as with a number of TTL triggers) simplify the TTL system (as far as I understand) by taking one meter reading through the camera sensor, and then dividing that up into the ratio as set. Unlike the original Canon system which meters each group separately. So in short, changing flash distance to the subject can effect the ratio. This is not generally noticed though as the key light exposure should still be correct regardless of distance changes (from light to subject). If you’re just talking about one light though off camera, this would not really be relevant. Thanks.

      • Didier 3 years ago

        Yes I am just talking about one light off camera 🙂
        I thought that these triggers would be able to mimic the original system, at least for one light.

        What is the most efficient channel to inform Pixel about this bug wih Nikon system???
        Thanks in advance

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 3 years ago

          Ok thanks Didier. Yes they should provide a workable solution for one light without any issues. It sounds like the Nikon version still require a number of refinements at this stage though.

          You can send Pixel an email at – support@pixelhk.com

          Thanks again.

  39. Didier 3 years ago

    Email sent, I will take you inform 🙂

  40. Luc Charron 3 years ago

    I have a canon 6d with speedlite 430ex ii , just bought pixel king pro transmitter and 1 pixel X.
    My goal is to buy 2 other pixel X and 3 more flashes to work with. After reading what’s above, it seems that i’ m better to stay with canon speedlite to make shure everything work fine,and pay more instead of using a less expensive light like the yongnuo yn-568EXII or travor 575C.

    Is there any other less expensive flashes that can be use with those Kings?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi Luc,

      Pixel have a chart of compatible flashes here.

      So the Metz and Oloong appear to work ok from their testing. I’d still be a little wary of of buying more 3rd party flashes for that purpose though.

      From my initial testing the new Godox V860C appear to work fine with the King Pro, but I haven’t used them extensively together. That is a great flash for the price and with the Lithium-Ion battery, so I must admit that would be worth considering. Maybe just try one first to see how you go. Thanks.

      • Luc Charron 3 years ago

        Thanks,will follow your advice

  41. Jan 3 years ago

    I just bought a set of Pixel King Pro and an extra King X receiver for my Canon 7D (2.0.3) and 2 x 580 EX II.

    But what a big dissapointment.

    The King X receiver that came with the King Pro set, seems to “kind of work” … Sometimes.
    But ONLY IF i change the settings in my camera menu :

    Menu/Flash control/Ext. flash func. setting/E-TTL II :
    From “Evalutive” to “Average”… Then I can have som well-exposed pics.

    But I also see some under and overexposed pics even if i shoot at a static scene like my greycard with the camera mounted on a tripod.

    The loose King X receiver I also bought is even worse.
    I doesnt recieve and display the changes made on the King Pro transmitter (Power/Zoom/f-stop).
    It mostly fires the second flash at full power everytime.
    And if i switch the King X recievers on the 580 EX II flashes I just move the problem.

    My set came with firmware version 100, and I have tried to update the transmitter and recievers to both ver. 101, 103 and even back to ver. 100 without any changes.
    So now its set at ver. 103.

    It just doesnt seem to be a very good product.
    Or perhaps my combination of a 7D and the 580 EX II is not as compatible as the chart states.

    Are there any of you who have had the same experience, and have experimented with the E-TTL II settings in the camera menu ?.

    Even though I plan to return the obvious faulty King X Receiver, Im not sure the a future firmware update can solve my problems.

  42. Andras 3 years ago

    Does anybody here have experience about using this unit with Nikon DSLR and Metz-52 AF-1 combination? Does it work well in iTTL, HSS and, manual mode? The compatibility chart says it works, but I am wondering about real life experience. Thank you.

  43. Buczinho 3 years ago

    Hi Flash Havoc ,
    Its great Blog! Thanks for sharing
    Is it any chance that you could quickly anser(list) or maybe make quick new post and list main advantages in operate beetween of transmitters Pixel King Pro and YN-622C-TX for Canon sys according with their new HSS version the YN-568EX II? Is the Pixel KIng Pro fully compatibile and operate with YN622C (receivers) like YN-622C-TX himself?
    If u can do it quick, thats many appreciation!
    Many Thanks
    B.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi Buczinho,

      Thanks for that. My YN-622C-TX has not arrived yet, so I haven’t had a chance to get familiar with that. A lot of the advantageous of the YN-622C-TX will likely be more subtle, things like the Supersync timing.

      Some major differences though –

      Firstly the King Pro has a very frustrating interface where you have to use the side and end buttons. Pixel could easily fix this with a firmware update but they don’t. So they are loosing a lot of sales, and its the main issue that personally turns me off the Kings in comparison.

      Otherwise just off the top of my head –

      King Pro Advantages –

      – Double the range of the YN-622C!
      – TTL Pass through hotshoe for TTL flash on camera with interface on TX

      YN-622C-TX / YN-622C Advantages –

      – Fully compatible with YongNuo TTL Flashes
      – AF Assist Light
      – Supersync timing
      – Compatible with coming YN300W TTL studio lights
      – Mode to allow remote manual power control with MK one EX flashes as well as MK II.
      – Camera Menu control (if you like that)
      – Remote Manual Power Control on Non Canon cameras.

      Otherwise they both have 3 groups where you can mix TTL or remote manual groups.

      The main advantage to the Kings is the range, and the ability run a flash on top of the transmitter.

      The YN-622C otherwise are constantly evolving and they are really getting on top of the engineering. Though if you want to use YongNuo flashes, the the YongNuo triggers are definitely the way to go (as Kings etc have some erratic behavior at times with the YN flashes). Thanks.

  44. Buczinho 3 years ago

    Thats a brilliant answer and help!
    Thanks a lot.
    Cheers

  45. vasaki 3 years ago

    If setting the FEC directly on the flash on camera does not have any effect, can I overcome this by using a sync cord? I was thinking to connect the flash on the camera to the flash on the tranceiver. I need it to change the flash power all the time when shooting weddings. I use Canon 5D mk II and 580EX mk II.

  46. vasaki 3 years ago

    Correction: I was thinking to connect the flash on the camera (on the tranceiver) to the camera via sync cord.

  47. Joseph Farrugia 3 years ago

    WARNING to Nikon SB-800 users: I just upgraded to firmware v1.05 thinking it would solve TTL problems (have to set PKP to +2.0 to +3 EV to get a decent exposure) & manual flash anomalies (eg: 1/8 power setting at ISO 100 & ISO 800 gives identical exposures!); but now my SB-800 flashes are firing 1.5-2 seconds AFTER the shutter closes.

    Thank goodness it is still possible to install the older v1.04 firmware back via the USB cable; returning to the quirky behaviour….but at least the flash now fires in sync with the camera!

    Shame on Pixel King pro for messing up.

    • Rick Vavra 3 years ago

      I saw exactly the same sync issue with my D800 & SB-800 with the v1.05 firmware. I installed it hoping to solve the issue I have that when setting the SB-800 in manual on the PKP it fires at ~ 1/2 the output of when it’s set manually on the flash. I went back to v1.03.

      Really discouraging that PK would publish firmware with such a basic flaw. I had high hopes for this equipment but am beginning to lose confidence quickly.

  48. Jan Chochole 3 years ago

    Hello,
    is possible to use this trigger with Jinbei HD-600? Jinbei HD-600 have 2.4 GHz receiver.

    Thanks.

  49. Hank Miner 3 years ago

    I have a King Pro running V102 and a King for Canon receiver running v1050 but the King Pro will not fire a Canon 580EXII attached to the older receiver. It was my understanding that the King Pro was backward comparable or am I missing something?

    • Hank Miner 3 years ago

      The “am I missing something” answer is you must set the King Pro on channel 7 as that is the channel King for Canon works on. In all my reading don’t recall seeing that fact. Trial and error on by part figured that out.

  50. Ray Uherek 2 years ago

    I have the King Pro set and recently purchased a Canon 600EX-RT flash for my 5D Mark III camera. I haven’t been able to get the flash to fire with the King Pro setup. There must be a way because they both use the same frequency. Anyone have that experience? I know that Canon has their own transmitter but it is much more pricey than King Pro.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Ray,

      The King Pro transmitter can not fire a Canon 600EX-RT on its own. You will need to attach a King Pro or King X receiver to the 600EX-RT’s foot.

      They are both 2.4GHz, though completely different systems.

      If you just want a transmitter for the 600EX-RT, the YongNuo YN-E3-RT and Shanny SN-E3-RT are inexpensive options. The YN-E3-RT even adds a number of features, though range is limited. The SN-E3-RT has good range, though build issues to the degree that I wouldn’t personally buy them at this stage. I mentioned the updated SN-E3-RT issues in this post.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2016 FlashHavoc.com - PRIVACY POLICY

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?