PIXEL – MAGO TTL FLASH Coming Soon – Test Reviewers WANTED!

Pixel HK’s first flash unit is coming soon, and Pixel have 20 free sample units available for Canon and Nikon owners prepared to test the new flash, provide feedback and a written review.

The new Pixel Mago TTL and HSS enabled flash has a high GN 60M (ISO 100, 105mm), and 20 – 200mm zoom head. Other features include a large dot matrix LCD screen, LED modelling / video light, and USB port for firmware updates.

If you’re interesting in testing the new Pixel Flash there are application details further below.

PIXEL FLASH

Specs available so far -

  • Flash Index: 60@ISO 100/105mm
  • Flash Mode: TTL/M/Multi
  • HSS to 1/8000th
  • Auto Zoom
  • Manual Zoom: 20 – 200 mm
  • 1st Curtain Sync and 2nd Curtain Sync
  • EV Adjustable
  • AF Light
  • 2W LED Light
  • 2inch LCD Display (192×96)
  • Deep Sound Button
  • Battery or Flash Head Over Heat Warning
  • Firmware Upgradable
  • Support Power Pack Input
  • 4 x AA Battery
  • Max. Flash Time: 150 times @ power 1/1 (with Sanyo Eneloop Battery)

PIXEL FLASH

A distinctive feature of the new Pixel flash unit is the 2Watt LED video / modelling light, with what looks to be a removable orange tungsten filter.

 

PIXEL FLASH

 

A USB port for firmware updates, cleverly located in the battery compartment –

 

PIXEL FLASH

 

And PC sync port, and external HV battery port –

 

PIXEL FLASH

 

Although the new Pixel Flash resembles the Canon 600EX-RT in some ways, it does not currently have any radio transmitter or receiver built in as previously expected.

Radio may still come later though as this is just Pixel’s first flash unit. And with large clean user interface controls, and full dot matrix LCD screen, this is certainly an interesting starting point for Pixel flash units.

 

PIXEL FLASH

 

If you’re interested in testing and reviewing the new Pixel TTL Flash, Pixel will have 20 free sample units available. And you can apply by emailing Pixel with your details as listed below –

 

Requirements:

1. Please tell us the model of your camera? (Only Canon/ Nikon)

2. Which flash model you own?

3. Do you have your own webpage or blog to post the product news?

4. Where are you from?

5. What languages you can write?

6. Have you ever posted any product reviews before?

7. Personal information (including Name/Age/email address etc.)

8. We require you to write a report after using our new product.

 

Please email us to the following email address if you are interested to test the flash.

Email address is support@pixelhk.com

Email Subject is “Request Pixel Mago Flash Sample”

 

 

There has been some confusion over the naming of the Pixel Flash models, so pixel have provided this description. The Mago will not have any numbers in the name.

 

Pixel Flash Models

 

 

Price and Availability -

 

The Pixel Mago ETTL flashes for Canon are available now from around $90 –

Amazon, Ebay.

The Nikon version Mago will eventually follow.

Pixel – Website

.

24 Comments
  1. the Flasher 3 years ago

    I knew it…..Just after I bought two Godox 860 flashes this gets announced!

    • the Flasher 3 years ago

      Ahh just read the review properly… no built in radio trigger!!! So not what I expected…..

      Still looks like a good flash, hopefully at a good price as well!

    • CathyZ 3 years ago

      Pixel Mago is a high speed flash for Canon ,it with 1/8000 speed,with a excellent price!

  2. Brian Hursey 3 years ago

    It will be interesting to see the tests against other flashes. The Godox 860 comparison would be good. However the new Pixel flash sounds like currently it won’t be radio so the only valid tests would be without those features. Do you mean over heat 150 pops at full power, or is that in general how long the batteries last. I bet its the later because 150 pops at full power one after another might melt the head, and but major wear on the flash tube.

  3. Brian Hursey 3 years ago

    One of the things that is interesting is that the radio link led light is still there on the upper left of the back. So I guess either A: The beta units just don’t have the radio in it , B: The molds are changing, Or or C: There is going to be radio.

  4. Alex 3 years ago

    Now seeing radio integration is a big letdown – I shoot with the King Pros and absolutely love them, but I was counting on Pixel to keep pace with Phottix when it came to flash + radio. One of the main motivations for getting the King’s was the pass-through hotshoe on the transceiver, but having a big speedlight on top of that is pretty unwieldy. I’m hoping the radio comes soon to Pixel flashes.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi Alex,

      Yes, I think Pixel are just starting out slowly as this is their first flash unit. It would be enough of a challenge just making sure the TTL functions correctly with all camera models etc to start with.

      Pixel have the King Pro TTL triggers pretty well sorted already (for Canon at least), and they have around double the range of most of most other TTL triggers, so I think its inevitable they will go into the flash eventually. If they can retain the extra range they would be quite impressive.

  5. Marcelo 3 years ago

    “Multi Flash Frequency: 1 – 500 MHz”

    500 Mhz?????

    • Brian Hursey 3 years ago

      Yah interesting because most of the time its measured in Hz. Like the Godox v860 Goes from 1-199hz. Cactus RF60 is 1-199hz, Also the Canon 580EXII is the same.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Yes, my guess is that would likely should have been 200 Hz.

  6. Alex 3 years ago

    Is it just me or does this seem a bit behind the game? No built-in radio, no lithium battery? It’s only major feature worth talking about is the video light…

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      As mentioned above, I really think Pixel will have intentions of integrating the King Pro transceivers eventually.

      The flash has been in development for at least a year that we have seen publicly, so there wouldn’t have been a chance to integrate a Lithium battery now that quickly.

      Once they get the initial flash well refined then it will be a much faster process to make new variations down the track. YongNuo, Phottix, and now Godox are a step ahead already, though Pixel will likely catch up pretty fast once they get over the first hurdle.

      The Dot matrix screen is also more advanced than the Godox flashes so far, and will allow for a lot more changes and feature updates etc.

      • Brian Hursey 3 years ago

        Only issue I see with the dot matrix screen is it will raise the price because they are more expensive. Although flexibility of updates may be worth it. That’s one of the reasons most manufacturers have not used them up till now.

  7. Brian Hursey 3 years ago

    Also one problem I see I bet there is no way they will be able to keep the costs down low enough to compeat directly with YongNuo or Godox. Not sure people are going to understand that and it will be hard to break into the ttl market. We will see how they do.

  8. Loveboy 3 years ago

    What’s the point of a modelling light that doesn’t move with the flash head? :-/

    Seems an odd place to put it, though presumably one can use it as a (weak) secondary reflector for on-camera fill?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi Loveboy,

      I think its intended more as a small video light than anything. It would need to be direct to be bright enough, when the flash head could be upright bouncing for flash.

      In a bounce umbrella the LEDs could be direct as a small modelling / focus light, while the flash head is reversed and bounced into the umbrella.

      2 watts would be fairly limited, but its much better than nothing at all. Especially for a little bit of light on camera for video.

  9. Peter A 3 years ago

    Late to the market but there’s room for more. It’s got the basic features and a lot of light output. I was disappointed in the Mitros recycle time for several shots with their diffuser. Missed more shots than any one flash I’ve ever used. :-( Looking at the reviews it seems it was designed to be a two flash with PB960 as a unit, rather than a single flash.

    The Pixel looks like it will fit well with the casual video person who occasionally needs fill. As FH said the remaining bells & whistles could add on quickly once they have the first version, and firmware, in a solid design.

    put in my request for being a tester. Probably late to the party… :-(

  10. Dave T 3 years ago

    I just receive the pixel mago flash to test I will do a review and let you know but reading now it has a wireless flash mode

  11. Ahmed Agbabiaka 3 years ago

    I have also received a test unit. If anyone has any questions please let me know.

    I don’t have a blog to review this thing (well i do have blogs, just not photo related). so i may have to stand a new one asap.

  12. Marco 3 years ago

    Hey guys,
    did a short Review of that “beast”. In german language. Perhaps there are some germans around:
    http://youtu.be/CCERu1i5Exc

  13. Marco 3 years ago

    You can find my english written review here:
    http://www.frankenfotograf.com/news/2014/7/28/pixel-mago-x-600-review

  14. Wil Nelson 2 years ago

    I have two Mago flash units. I’ve had them for two weeks and they have performed very well. I’ve used them with Pixel Kings, Pixel King Pro. and PocketWizard Plus X. One of the few problems I’ve found is the TTL mode puts out about a 1/2 stop too much light when using Pixel King Pro. Not a big problem, but also not that acurrate I’ve used these flashes on my Canon 5D Mk III and my 7D. As far as I’m concerned, these are throw-a-way flashes if they fail. They have a great price point (5 times less than Canon) and have all the essentials for professional work.

  15. Wolf 5 months ago

    Hi, the flash tube of my Pixel Mago broke. It made an ugly “pop” sound. I did some testing with a light meter and suddenly the flash tube broke.
    Since Pixel is in Hong Kong and they are not the best in support I want to fix it myself. Does anybody know if there are replacement tubes especially for the mago? Any suggestions on replacing a hotshoe flash tube?

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2016 FlashHavoc.com - PRIVACY POLICY

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?