SHANNY – SN-E3-RF & SN600C-RF Hands On Preview

Shanny SN-E3-RF

 

Chinese manufacturer Shanny have released a new SN-E3-RF transceiver, and SN600C-RF flash unit with 2,4GHz radio receiver built in. Providing full ETTL, HSS and Remote Manual functions.

And they are available now, from around $80 for a pair of SN-E3-RF transceivers, and $125 for the SN600C-RF flash unit.

 

Shanny SN-E3-RF & SN600C-RF

 

The new RF system is not compatible with Shanny’s existing RT flash system. This RF system is designed to compete with other popular and inexpensive ETTL and HSS enabled RF style radio flash systems like the YongNuo YN-622C and Pixel King Pro.

The advantage the Shanny RF system currently has though is a flash unit with radio receiver conveniently built inside.

And to launch this system quickly Shanny have used the existing YouPro Pro6 radio transceivers as the basis for their new RF system.

Shanny SN-E3-RF

 

The new SN600C-RF flash units then have corresponding 2.4GHz radio receivers built inside the flash.

The SN600C-RF are based on the same flash platform as the recent SN600SC and all of the other current Shanny flash models. One important addition though is a USB port for firmware updates, now mounted directly in the flashes battery compartment.

As the SN600C-RF have a radio receiver built inside, there are no Canon or Nikon Optic Wireless master or slave modes included (basic S1 and S2 optic slave modes are still included though).

 

Shanny SN-E3-RF & SN600C-RF

 

OVERVIEW

 

Shanny have pushed this new RF system out very quickly, obviously hoping to get the jump on YongNuo and Pixel etc who do not yet have a flash with radio receiver built in for their YN-622C and King Pro RF radio trigger systems.

And to do this quickly Shanny have used the existing 2.4GHz YouPro Pro6 radio transceivers as the basis for the system.

The YouPro Pro6 appear to be decent triggers, but they do not have any flash control interface. Which means all flash functions must be controlled through the cameras Flash Control Menu, and that is considerably more limited than the interface built into the YN-622C-TX and King Pro transmitter units.

And because of this as far as I understand Shanny are also in the process of rushing out another transmitter unit with interface built in for the new RF system as well.

And a flash with transmitter / master function will likely follow at some point as well.

 

As mentioned the SN-E3-RF are based on the YouPro Pro6 radio transceivers, which in turn are likely derived from the Pixel King Pro (though without the flash control interface).

And one of the biggest advantages of the YouPro Pro6 and Pixel King Pro (and now SN-E3-RF) is their range advantage over most other ETTL radio triggers like the YN-622C etc. The real working range can be around double that of other ETTL triggers, and close to that of many 2.4GHz fully manual radio triggers.

The lack of current flash control interface is quite a step backwards from the other current transmitter alternatives though. And another inconvenience is that flash settings are not remembered when the transmitter is turned off. There is no AF assist light provided either.

Otherwise the SN-E3-RF do function quite well. Either using the SN600C-RF as the slave flash, or other ETTL flashes mounted on SN-E3-RF receivers, the ETTL exposures all appear to be as they should. HSS, Second Curtain Sync, etc all work as they should, and the system appears simple, stable, and reliable, operating without misfires etc.

Having said that, its always going to be hard to compete with the well established YongNuo YN-622C at this level. Function wise the YN-622C for Canon are very well refined and supported. YongNuo literally can and do fix issues overnight. There are a lot of intricacies to this system that are likely to be better supported with the YN-622C.

So although the SN-E3-RF and SN600C-RF are a nice system if you’re happy to accept them for what they are, they may not be the best option to rush into just yet if you’re after a longer term expanding system.

 

 

SN-E3-RF TRANSCEIVERS

Shanny SN-E3-RF

 

The Shanny SN-E3-RF transceivers have similar function to the original YongNuo YN-622C.

They were originally designed by YouPro as a lower priced alternative to the YN-622C. While adding some physical upgrades to the unit, like better Channel and Group buttons, and even an attached battery door which can not be lost.

As well as adding an all important USB port for firmware updates, and more reliable mini-phone sync port instead of a PC sync port.

Like the Pixel King Pro the case even has a metal frame inside making the hotshoe on top more secure (though the foot is still a bit sloppy when mounted in a camera hotshoe).

The SN-E3-RF do have an LCD screen on the rear panel, though all control of the flashes functions still needs to be made through the Canon camera’s Flash Control Menu (which has it limitations).

 

SN-E3-RF FEATURES

  • Up to 200m range (safe working range generally around 60m)
  • ETTL Ratios set from the camera menu (ALL/ A:B/ A:B C)
  • FEC, FEL
  • Remote Manual Power Control – in 3 groups from the camera menu
  • HSS (High Speed Sync) up to 1/8000th (with compatible flashes)
  • Pass Through Hotshoe – Allows ETTL or Manual Flash On Camera
  • Test Fire Button on TX – Allows light meter use in remote manual
  • Second Curtain Sync
  • Remote Flash Zoom Setting from the camera menu
  • 15 Channels
  • USB Port for firmware updates
  • Mini-phone Sync Port
  • Attached Battery Door can not be lost
  • LCD Screen with Battery Level Indicator
  • Transceivers means there are back up transmitter units
  • Regular AA batteries

 

LIMITATIONS

  • No Flash Control Interface (Canon flash control menu is limited)
  • No Focus Assist light on the Tx
  • No Memory of flash settings (groups, channels etc are remembered)
  • ETTL Ratios limited to 1:1, 1:2, style ratios instead of FEC via groups (like YN-622C-TX etc)
  • Mixing ETTL and manual groups is not possible via the camera menu
  • Turning a group off remotely in Remote Manual is limited to choosing A:B or A:B:C
  • No Supersync Timing Adjustment
  • Locking rings are smaller than ideal
  • No shutter release feature (not uncommon with ETTL triggers)
  • Safe trigger voltage not specified (likely up to 60 volts as Pixel triggers generally specify)
  • No Sync cords provided

 

COMPATIBLE CAMERAS

  • Canon 1100D, 1200D,
  • 350D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 650D, 700D,
  • 60D*, 70D, 7D, 7DII, 6D, 5D II, 5DIII, 1D X/1D C
  • (NOT suitable for Canon 1D II, 1Ds II, 1D )
  • * Using the Canon 60D “Wireless Function” in the camera menu must be Enabled.
  • The applicable of other cameras has not yet been tested.

 

COMPATIBLE FLASHES

  • CANON – All Canon EX Flashes.
  • YONGNUO – YN-568EX
  • PIXEL – X650C
  • NISSIN – DI866 II
  • MEIKI – MK-600, MK-580, MK-300
  • VOKING – VK550, VK580

 

 

The SN-E3-RF provide a back lit LCD screen on the rear panel. Though all this mainly displays is the Group and Channel selection (something simple switches can otherwise do just as well). A battery level indicator is a handy feature though.

There is also a Lock button option to lock the interface. This is handy to stop the channels being changed accidentally (a common issue with the original YN-622C).

 

Shanny SN-E3-RF

 

RX mode is similar, though you can only select one Group for the receiver (which is normal).

 

Shanny SN-E3-RF

 

Otherwise the SN-E3-RF’s interface has no control of the flashes functions, and all of this needs to be adjusted through the cameras Flash Control Menu.

In fact the group selection buttons are basically redundant when used as a transmitter, as the cameras Flash Control Menu will override any group settings selected on the triggers interface anyway.

 

Even with the latest model cameras the Canon Flash Control Menu is limited in function, and considerably slower to adjust than transmitter units with their own interface like the YN-622C-TX or Pixel King Pro etc. And ETTL and Remote Manual groups can not be mixed, you can only select either all ETTL or all Manual groups.

In Remote Manual Mode three separate groups can be adjusted individually. Though tweaking power levels for a number of groups can really get tedious this way. And its also not easy to turn a particular group ON or OFF. The only options are groups A:B, and A:B:C switched on.

 

Shanny SN-E3-RF


In ETTL the only option to set individual groups to different output levels are the old ratio options. An A:B group ratio, and group C set separately as a background light (group C must not be directed at the subject).

FEC adjustments from the camera will effect all groups globally.

 

Shanny SN-E3-RF

 

Other than the rather large step backwards using the camera’s Flash Control Menu feels like after using transmitter units like the YN-622C-TX, the other main inconvenience I find with the SN-E3-RF transmitter is that it does not memorise the flash settings or power levels etc previously set after the transmitter is switched off.

I’m not sure if there is another way to do this, though I generally just switch the transmitter off quickly to set an ambient exposure level without the flashes in the image. Then when the transmitter is switched back on the flash control menu goes back to default ETTL settings and any power levels previously set are lost.

So this becomes a tedious process of resetting the camera menu back to Manual flash, wireless function on, A:B:C ratio on, and  then resetting the power levels again.

 

On the SN-E3-RF case Group buttons are easy to access, and a USB port and standard mini-phone sync port are provided.

Shanny SN-E3-RF

 

The other side of the case provides a lanyard strap loop, and simple ON – OFF and TX – RX switches, which are recessed nicely and difficult to bump off position accidentally.

Shanny SN-E3-RF

 

The SN-E3-RF’s battery door is fixed to the trigger case so that it can not be lost. And a 1/4″ 20 threaded mounting hole is supplied on the base of the case as well.

Shanny SN-E3-RFThe SN-E3-RF mounts nicely on the camera with a low profile. Though there is no AF assist light available without another flash unit mounted on top.

 

Shanny SN-E3-RF

 

A flash can be mounted on the SN-E3-RT’s pass through hotshoe, and used in full ETTL or Manual.

This would be best for casual use only though, as the transmitter foot does still have some movement in the camera hotshoe. And recent flashes with a transmitter and master function built in are really a much better long term option for flash on camera flash use anyway.

 

Shanny SN-E3-RF

 

SN600C-RF FLASH

 

Shanny SN600C-RF

 

Shanny SN600C-RF flashes are built on the same flash platform as the recent SN600SC (full review here) and all of the other current Shanny flash models, though now with a 2.4GHz SN-E3-RF compatible radio receiver unit conveniently built inside.

Another important addition is a USB port for firmware updates now mounted directly in the flashes battery compartment.

As the SN600C-RF have a radio receiver built inside, there are no Canon or Nikon Optic Wireless master of slave modes included (basic S1 and S2 optic slave modes are still included though).

Otherwise the SN600C-RF provide the same impressive full power speedlite, with ETTL, HSS, Manual, fast recycle times, and external HV Battery Port. Please see the SN600SC review for a full run down of the flash features and functions.

 

SN600C-RF FEATURES

  • Full Power – GN 62m (ISO 100 / 200mm)
  • HSS to 1/8000th
  • Flash Mode – ETTL /M / Multi
  • 1st Curtain Sync / 2nd Curtain Sync
  • FEC / FEB – 1/3rd Increments (±3 stops)
  • Manual Flash – 1/128 – 1/1 output control (1/3rd increments)
  • 20-200mm Auto and Manual Flash Zoom

 

  • 2.4GHz Radio Receiver – Compatible with SN-E3-RF Transceiver
  • S1 & S2 Basic Optic Slave Modes

 

  • Full power recycle – from 1.8 seconds
  • Supports Multiple Flash Groups
  • Radio Channels – 1 to 15
  • Supports Canon Flash Control Menus
  • Custom Functions
  • Sound Prompt
  • Heat Protection
  • LCD Back Light Can be Kept On
  • Crop Sensor Auto Zoom Option

 

  • AF Assist Light
  • Full 360 Degree Swivel and Tilt Head (With Tilt Lock Button)
  • Large Clear Dot Matrix LCD Screen
  • Canon Like Interface
  • Fast Clamping Metal Foot with Locking Pin (And Clamps Well)
  • Good Build Quality

 

  • External Battery Port
  • USB Port for Firmware Updates
  • PC Sync Port

 

LIMITATIONS

  • No RT System Compatibility
  • No Canon or Nikon Optic Wireless Slave Modes
  • No Flash Distance Scale
  • AF Assist Light is Good, But Not Great

 

COMPATIBLE CAMERAS

  • Canon 1100D, 1200D,
  • 350D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 650D, 700D,
  • 60D, 70D, 7D, 7DII, 6D, 5D II, 5DIII, 1D X/1D C
  • (NOT suitable for Canon 1D II, 1Ds II, 1D )
  • The applicable of other cameras has not yet been tested.

 

COMPATIBLE TRANSMITTERS

  • Shanny SN-E3-RF

 

 

INTERFACE

The SN600C-RF use the same interface and dot matrix LCD screen as previous Shanny flash models.

Simply press the Wireless button on the very left of the flash to enter the RF radio slave mode.

And once the SN-E3-RF transmitter is switched ON (and set to the same channel as the flash) the LINK light will turn from red to green and the flash is ready to go in RF radio slave mode. Its really as simple as that.

 

Shanny SN600C-RF

 

The cameras Flash Control Menu then remotely takes control of the flash functions.

 

Shanny SN-E3-RF & SN600C-RF

 

In Remote Manual mode the flash screen becomes a little clearer to read by losing the 2.4GHz RF and SLAVE symbols. The remote manual power level set is shown on the flash screen.

 

Shanny SN-E3-RF & SN600C-RF

 

ZOOM SETTINGS

Note that the Zoom setting on the flash above does not match the cameras flash Zoom setting. This is because the SN600C-RF flash have a Zoom Lock custom function allowing the flashes to either retain their own manual setting, or follow what is set on the camera. Be that an auto (to follow the camera lens) or manual Zoom setting.

The camera menu has no option for setting each groups flash Zoom differently though, just one global setting for all remote flashes.

This custom function gives the SN600C-RF flash an advantage over other ETTL flashes mounted on SN-E3-RF receivers, because they will always follow the zoom setting set on the camera.

(The only other option when using Canon flashes is to straighten the flash head, and set the zoom to auto, in which case it will go straight to 50mm while the flash head is positioned straight up.)

So remote Zoom can be tricky with a number of slave flashes, though there are some options to work with.

 

USB PORT

The other major update to the SN600C-RF flashes is a Micro USB port for firmware updates now provided inside the flashes battery compartment.

 

Shanny SN600C-RF

 

MIXING FLASHES

The main point of an RF system (as opposed to the Canon RT system Shanny started out with) is that you can use your existing Canon ETTL flashes (and some other third party ETTL flashes) in the system together.

Shanny are testing more third party flashes for compatibility, please see the SN-E3-RT flash compatibility list near the top of this post.

Apart from the note on remote Zoom settings above, flashes mounted on SN-E3-RT receivers function much the same way as the SN600C-RF, and they all appear to work fine together.

Range also appears pretty similar for the SN600C-RF and for flashes mounted on SN-E3-RT receivers.

 

Shanny SN-E3-RF & SN600C-RF

 

SUMMARY

 

Viewed in isolation the new Shanny RF system appear to be pretty decent for what they are so far.

Though I personally think Shanny have unfortunately gotten themselves sidetracked with this RF system, when they were doing so well with the Canon RT system they started with (and is in high demand at this point).

Any TTL radio flash system takes a lot of resources to maintain and develop properly. And Shanny now have 2 incompatible radio systems for Canon competing for resources and attention, not to mention competing against themselves for sales (while its Nikon that really needs RF flash systems badly).

I think Shanny have realised a flash with receiver built in alone is not enough to compete with well established systems like the YN-622C, without a comparable transmitter unit to the YN-622C-TX etc. So as far as I understand they are now rushing to release another transmitter for the system (though I wouldn’t bank on anything until they are actually available).

The YN-622C are already well established now though, and function wise they are very well refined and supported (for Canon at least). YongNuo have literally fixed issues overnight when needed. And there are a lot of intricacies to this system that are still likely to be better supported with the YN-622C.

So if you’re after a more serious system to expand on into the future, it may be worth considering carefully before moving into this too quickly, even when Shanny have an enticing radio flash available already.

As they stand now though, the SN-E3-RF and SN600C-RF would really be ideal for people who just want to get a simple flash off camera, and mainly in TTL mode. For that (and apart from the lack of AF Assist Light) this is certainly a very simple and convenient system, and you have a nice fully featured and relatively inexpensive ETTL flash to use on camera when needed as well.

Shanny SN-E3-RF & SN600C-RF

 

PRICE AND AVIALABILITY

 

The SN-E3-RF and SN600C-RF are available now, from around $80 for a pair of SN-E3-RF transceivers, and $125 for the SN600C-RF flash unit.

SN-E3-RF – Ebay, Amazon

SN600C-RF – Ebay, Amazon

 

Shanny – WebsiteSN-E3-RFSN600C-RT

Shanny – Flash Models

.

94 Comments
  1. Yuppa 2 years ago

    I honestly don’t get the trigger at all. Why not reverse engineer the Yongnuo (YN) 622 system and release a FLASH with built-in radio that’s compatible with that VERY popular and proven system? Shanny (SN) reverse engineered the Canon RT system, so why not? The flash has a USB port for firmware updates.

    If you prefer your triggers and flashes to be separate–so you can pursue different upgrade paths in the future (like me)–I see very little reason to invest in the SN RF system over YN. I believe the VERY best Chinese combo going right now is a YN622C transceiver paired with a SN600SC/C flash ($45.00 + $120.00/$90.00 = $165.00/$135.00). If you go with the SN600SC, you have optical master/slave and you can add an RT module–we hope, still–later.

    The downside is the YN 622 system transceivers don’t have a USB port, something I value a lot more than an A/F assist light (especially the YN assist, which is just bad for center point focus types).

    I see that the SN RF system has greater range over YN (133m vs. 58m), but I’m not sure if YN622.ru has the latest YN models (they updated the circuit board on the TX to improve reliability and range), so that could change. But range is just that, RANGE, not FEATURES, which the YN clearly has over SN.

    Sorry, you will have to use Google translate on your own:

    http://club.foto.ru/forum/view_topic.php?topic_id=712755&page=8

    I would stick with RT anything. If you want to support SN, they have an RT transmitter (SN-E3-RT) and an RT slave flash (SN600C-RT)–not to mention the eventual release of their SN600EX-RT. Know that RT is THE standard. And while compatibility between and among 3rd party RT systems can never be guaranteed (SN->YN, YN->SN), you can rest assured that 3rd party RT products will ALWAYS be compatible with Canon–that’s their aim.

    I’ve written to SN to get them to push the RT side of things. If you’re a fan of their products, you can–and should–too. I’ve also push Amazon vendors to bring more SN products into the “Fulfillment by Amazon” warehouse system so we don’t have to buy direct from Hong Kong/China. EACHSHOT has the SN600SC available with Prime but NOTHING else. SN must work on their Worldwide distribution if they ever expect to compete with YN (and the others).

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      And yigo@shanny has informed me the 60D is compatible (despite assurances to the opposite): they will correct the list (another sign they rushed this out)

      • Author
        Flash Havoc 2 years ago

        Ok thanks I’ll have to check on the 60D.

        The reason they did not go with YN-622C compatibility is because they didn’t want to take the time to reverse engineer the YN protocol.

        I’d be a little concerned they would be constantly chasing compatibility then though anyway if YongNuo decided to keep changing things.

        • Yuppa 2 years ago

          That’s Shanny’s (SN) advantage IMO since the Yongnuo (YN) 622 transceiver’s firmware is “baked” in and can’t be upgraded any place other than the factory (no USB port). Whatever is out there is, “out there.”

          It would be much easier for SN to chase YN and offer a firmware update via USB and I think YN would just give up because every time they change the firmware, they run the risk of legacy creep (rendering older 622’s incompatible).

          That’s my thinking at least. I would have MUCH rather they went after Canon RT–for sure–and then YN compatibility than teaming up with YouPro on this RF stuff.

          This is all kinda moot at the moment because YN is just killing SN when it comes to product distribution/availability. I can buy many more YN products and have them delivered in 1-2 days that Shanny can shake a stick at.

          Regarding the 60: Amanda is emphatic: NO. Yigo says YES and he sent me a picture of the 60D working with the SN-E3-RF. I think we need somebody else to break the tie ;)

          • Author
            Flash Havoc 2 years ago

            Ok Amanda is saying the 60D will work if “Wireless Function” is set to “Enable” in the cameras flash control menu.

            I haven’t checked yet but I would assume this means Second Curtain Sync would not be available, as they usually requires the Wireless Function to be turned OFF (Disable).

    • Alexander Loff 2 years ago

      Actually 133 m is not the whole range :)
      I had not enough space and time for the first evening.
      The next day I checked the full range for SHANNY RF and it was close to 200 meters.

      • Yuppa 2 years ago

        I wonder how the **updated** 622 triggers will fair? You have the “old” TX, right (the weakest link in the chain)?

        P.S. I refer to you as “YN622.ru” (since that’s your site). Hope you don’t mind ;)

        • Alexander Loff 2 years ago

          I am an independent person :)
          I do not sell the equipment and do not work for the manufacturers of photographic equipment :)
          I’m a hobby photographer :) Even I’m a bit familiar with radio electonical and a little know with the Canon system :)

          I can’t make predictions without possession of the necessary information.
          I don’t know yet how serious updates were made to the hardware of YN622 line. In recent times, communication with developer resembles a one-way traffic. GL responds in rare cases only.

          My 622TX from the first production series. He does not have too much range, but I usually sufficiently small distances, because in most cases I shoot indoors :)
          Most likely, I won’t order the updated TX.

          Let’s wait for confirmation from the users.
          Primarily from Clive.

          I’m sorry if my English text is not very good.
          I can’t write in English.:)
          I use a translator from yandex (.https://translate.yandex.ru/)
          I passed on him because he makes the translation from Russian is much better than google

          • Author
            Flash Havoc 2 years ago

            I would like to try the revised YN-622C-TX, but we need to know if or when they are actually on sale.

    • Robert T. Johnson 1 year ago

      I agree 100%

  2. vcbneo 2 years ago

    Why would anyone buy this? For another $29 more, you can buy the SN-E3-RT and SN600C-RT combo which is a much better, future proof, compatible with Canon RT system. I don’t understand the reason of releasing RF system. Focus on RT Shanny. Release the SN600EXRT flash.. Work on the RT receiver to work with non RT flash and maybe strobe too like Yongnuo.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      They’ve released these because they thought they would be getting a big jump on YongNuo etc by having the flash with receiver built in available ahead of them.

      But now I think they realise they will at least need a decent transmitter with interface, so they are rushing deeper into the system with another transmitter.

      In the mean time all YongNuo would need to do is announce a flash with YN-622 receiver built in and the Shanny RF system will be as good as dead in the water (regardless of how long YongNuo actually take to release the flash).

      I think Shanny would have been far better off finishing what they were doing originally with the RT system for now with Canon. Nikon needs the RF system, but there’s still no point rushing out something poorly planned.

      I think Shanny are also very much looking to peoples reactions for guidance though, so its good to let them know what you think and would really prefer.

      • Amanda 2 years ago

        Hello Everyone,

        For the RF system ,there has many controversy on it .Any suggestion from users for this RF system and RF triggers,Please let us know.we are open minded to listen advises .
        Shanny is committed to provide photography enthusiasts fine and affordable photographic equipment.We never change our original intention.

        Thanks,

        Amanda

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 2 years ago

          Hi Amanda,

          Thanks, but you specifically said Shanny where not interested in a YN-622C RF style system, leading myself and others to believe Shanny would continue to develop and hopefully expand the RT system Shanny started with.

          So there is no way that rushing out an RF system now can not be considered as a change of direction or intention.

          The market is already saturated with very average variations of the same products, and people don’t want to buy into yet another isolated system. Shanny may have beat YongNuo and Pixel to this, but this is really a product best suited for YongNuo or Pixel who have the well established RF system in the market for many years now already (just needing the radio flash units now to complement them).

          You know I have explained many times, my biggest disappointment is that we have seen the same mistakes of creating many incompatible systems many times before, and Shanny still have the chance to avoid this.

          Forever more Shanny’s resources are going to be split and halved between 2 incompatible systems for Canon already. And that’s even before there are Nikon and Sony systems competing for attention as well.

          Its not just about this RF system though, people don’t want to buy into a repeat of YongNuo’s previous mistakes of poorly planned systems with lack of integration.

          Shanny may think they have nothing to lose by rushing out as many products as they can now, but its the customers that buy into these systems that will pay the price down the track. Affordable is not so good if comes at a cost of poorly planned systems.

          • Amanda 2 years ago

            Hello Elvis,

            I listened your advise,talked with my engineer Lau about the RT receiver and RT flashes,We will continue to do SN600EX-RT.Customers demand and requirements we also care about that.
            Shanny never wanna to be repeat Yongnuo,Pixel. we are difference products line.

            For the YN622-RF system,we admit it was in a rush.Yongnuo and Pixel exist in the market for a long time.But our aim is to do it with a Nikon version.Canon ,we have already very familiar with it,so it came out firstly.The SN600C-RF and SN-E3-RF.

            By the way,for reliabities,RT and RF flashes can record the flash times.
            Shanny products,Defective products rules as below:
            Our flashes can flash 3,000times for full power output every 15 seconds continuosly.
            warranty is one year.From the date you buy it .
            With in this data,3,000times.warranty in,you send the defective goods to your seller,sellers will give to factory,we fix it or give you a new one.Shipping cost will be shared by half-half.
            Warranty out,you send us the video or pics.we also will check what’s happend to your flash.give you a results.

            For all of our on-line shop dealers on Amazon,Ebay,Aliexpress,Dhgate,all follow up this rules.
            For the local dealers,same.

            If anyone get the defective goods,can’t get a postive feedback from the seller.Please contact me.

            Welcome customer send me emails inquiry the products information.

  3. Craig 2 years ago

    No AF Assist is a deal breaker for me. Am I the only wedding photographer that likes to shoot receptions with a single light off camera? Don’t understand why AF assist beams aren’t more common on transmitters…

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      Me either. I used to shoot Minolta film cameras and all the BODIES I owned had OUTSTANDING assist beams–better than anything available today (no flash or trigger required). Nikon uses a white light on their bodies and Canon, nada.

      I still don’t get this.

      I wish the assist light on Yongnuo’s triggers were better, but one is always better than none. The next version of Shanny’s SN-E3-RT is due out in about 10 days and the A/F assist is supposed to be improved (brighter). We’ll see.

      • Author
        Flash Havoc 2 years ago

        I have the production SN600C-RT flash here, and doing a a quick comparison I can see that Shanny have changed the AF light slightly compared to the SN600C-RF and previous flashes.

        The circle of lines now covers a considerably larger area, but the spacing between the lines is still similar. So this is likely designed to cover more focus points, though the chance of the center focus point falling between any of the lines is still around the same (and fairly reasonable).

        I don’t know what the updated SN-E3-RT transmitter AF light is like now though.

        • vcbneo 2 years ago

          Can you please do review/preview of SN600C-RT triggered by SN-E3-RT? My friend told me he has inconsistent range with this combo when using indoor. Thanks.

          • Author
            Flash Havoc 2 years ago

            Hi vcbneo,

            I just started looking at the SN600C-RT this afternoon, and it appears to work very well with the SN-E3-RT. The longest distance I have indoors is about 15 meters and they have not missed a shot or dropped out from being linked. Going into other rooms etc from where I can still see the flash also works fine.

            Do you know if your friend did a channel scan? Also is the flash losing link with the transmitter?

            The Canon ST-E3-RT appears to work fine as well, but I can’t get the YongNuo YN-E3-RT to link at all so far.

            • vcbneo 2 years ago

              Thanks for the testing. They tested inside the church with more than 15 meters range. They think they might have a bad copy of the trigger. They tried to compare with Canon trigger and the Canon one is very consistent. Anyway my SN600C-RT and trigger order is on the way. I’m excited to test them out.

              • Author
                Flash Havoc 2 years ago

                Ok, I will be testing the range further over the next few days.

                Did you check to make sure you’re getting the revised SN-E3-RT ?

  4. badphoto 2 years ago

    Hi Elv
    Speaking about spreading themselves thin, the newly introduced 600sc which I have just bought still have problems with Canon optical wireless (when 600sc as Master, group C does not work). I left more details at your 600sc review post. Is this something you can check with them or Amanda? I’ll have to return the flash to Amazon and try another one to see what happens.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Badphoto,

      Thanks, I’ll try and check on this with my copy tomorrow and let you know if I have the same issue first.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Badphoto,

      Ok I ran through this and replied to your post here.

      I don’t have the 550EX here unfortunately, but I can’t replicate your issues with any of the other Canon optic wireless slave flashes I have. So have you only seen these issues with the 550EX so far, and if so would you have access to other slave flashes to try?

      I understand if you need to use the 550EX’s, the SN600SC may have to go back anyway. Just trying to narrow down if they may be the cause of the issue, or if your flash has some irregular faults.

  5. Author
    Flash Havoc 2 years ago

    Alexander has pointed out there are some differences in the Shanny flash models maximum power, and I have just checked this to see he is right –

    YN-568EX – F8
    YN-600EX-RT – F8

    SN600C-RF – F8
    SN600C-RT – F8

    SN600C – F8 + 0.1
    SN600N – F8 + 0.1

    SN600S – F8 + 0.3
    SN600SC – F8 + 0.3

    600EX-RT – F8 +0.3

    So the latest SN600C-RF and SN600C-RT now appear to be down a few tenths, and pretty close to the YN-600EX-RT and YongNuo flashes.

    They all fluctuate a few tenths but on average it seems the latest Shanny flashes are down a little to around the YN levels.

  6. Apostolos 2 years ago

    I have Yongnuo 560 III and IV flashes and a 560-TX and I also bought a pair of RF-605c as backup to the TX and in order to maybe trigger a camera with them. I haven’t used them on a gig yet (I do weddings) and I don’t know how they will perform long term, but in the past couple of years, from what I’m reading, Chinese flashes seems to have improved much in what they were missing: reliability. Now I’m in the market for a TTL/HSS system, to use it in conjunction with the Yongnuos 560 III and IV. In other words I would use the 560s as background flashes and the TTL/HSS system as the main flashes. I’ve been reading up on the available Chinese flashes, Yongnuo, Godox, Pixel Mago and I learned about Shanny from your site. Since Shanny is being sold by Amazon (they offer one year warranty and they cover shipping in case of failure) I thought of giving Shanny a try. I’m trying to decide between the RT and the RF models. Amanda from Shanny explained the difference to me, as in the RT system can also control the original Canon 600 EX flashes. I don’t have any Canon 600 EX presently (only 580 EX II which I’m thinking of selling) but I’d like to keep my options open. The Shanny RT are also using the SN-E3-RT unit, which seems to have a better screen than the RF controllers. I’m leaning towards the Shanny 600 RT model. Any reason why I should choose the RF model over the RT? (Sorry if this post was too long).

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      Be careful buying from Amazon: if it’s not marked a “Prime,” then it’s NOT in Amazon’s warehousing system (“Fulfillment by Amazon”) and will come from China. You do NOT benefit from Amazon’s easy, 30 day return policy (since they’re not warehousing it) or free 2nd day air shipping (if you are a Prime member).

      The only flash with “Prime” on Amazon that I’ve seen is the the Shanny (SN) SN600SC (offered by EACHSHOT). I’ve been requesting they bring more SN (RF/RT) to their Amazon warehouse (“Fulfillment by Amazon”), but they tell me the “stocks” (of the new stuff) are insufficient at the is time.

      IMO, the Canon RT system is the defacto “standard” as Yongnuo (YN) and SN offer products for that system. It is the safest and most flexible choice despite the fact the 3rd party RT products may not work with each other (they will always work with Canon).

      For non-RT choices, the SN RF system has range–apparently–and a built-in radio slave flash as it’s primary benefits. Other than that, the YN 622 system–at this moment–appears superior. Keeping the trigger separate from the flash is generally more expensive (unless you already own many flashes and batteries), but it allows you to upgrade the flash and trigger independently from one another.

  7. Apostolos 2 years ago

    Yuppa, thanks much for the reply. I buy often from Amazon, and I have to say so far they’ve always stood by anything sold on their site, even when it’s from third party resellers. I always look for the “Fulfilled by Amazon” label, which is not the same as Prime. For electronic equipment it usually means one-year warranty and they cover shipping back to them if need be. I’ve only bought Yongnuo manual flashes so far from Amazon, 560 III and IV and TX and I’m basically researching my next move, which is a TTL/HSS system to replace my Canon 580 EX IIs. So, I was confused why there are so many different wireless standards.

    I learned about Shanny flashes on this forum. Essentially they are making the same flash, the SC600 in several different TTL/HSS versions, if I got it right. The SC600-RT (built-in Canon wireless system), and SC-600RF (built-in Shanny wireless system), the SC600C (no built-in wireless?) and the SC600SC(no built-in wireless, but wireless-capable with the SN-E3-MD module?).

    So, I was trying to figure out which way to go for a wireless TTL/HSS flash/transmitter combo and at least on this forum the consensus seems to be the RT system, which is directly compatible with Canon.

    I was ready to pull the trigger on Yongnuo TTL flashes but for a while there, I could not understand the existence of two different TTL systems with Yongnuo, the 622c /622-TX and the YN-E3-RT. And by reading this forum, and after Amanda (from Shanny) replied I think I finally got it. The 622 is Yongnuo’ proprietary TTL/HSS trigger system which people use to trigger all sorts of third-party TTL flashes, like Godox etc. I might end up buying one of those to do HSS on the Godox/Neewer AD60 as their own FT-16 triggers trigger and change output but don’t do HSS. Phew, I got a headache just writing all this stuff.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Apostolos,

      For wedding photography the major advantage of the RT system is that you can have an original Canon 600EX-RT mounted directly on the camera hotshoe where it is most reliable (ie no pass through hotshoes used), and then use the less expensive third party RT slave flashes for off camera use.

      The big question then will be whether to go with Shanny or YongNuo, because as I have just discovered the 2 systems are not going to be compatible. The Shanny RT flashes will no longer link with the YongNuo RT gear at all. (A Shanny SN-E3-RT transmitter will currently work with the YN600EX-RT though).

      A big advantage to the YongNuo RT system will be if YongNuo follow through on their latest announcement and provide an RT receiver which can even fire and control legacy flashes like your 580EX II. Or fire simple manual flashes like the AD360 or other monolights in the same system, all without another transmitter attached to the camera.

      .

      The SN-E3-RF is very limited at the moment until Shanny provide a new transmitter, and I’d be wary the system may not cater for more serious users like yourself who may have multiple cameras or shooters etc. There are still many quirks to the YN-622C system for serious users but at least there is a huge user base and knowledge bank of how to often work around issues etc.

      Its a pity in some ways because the range of SN-E3-RF is an advantage, but that my be lost to some degree with coming transmitters and master flashes etc.

      .

      To add more confusion, at some point this year I would expect Godox will release their own nicely integrated TTL radio system, with radio built into their speedlites and AD360 etc. And then many people will be asking how to integrate that with their RT system.

      The real answer there is YongNuo and Shanny need to get moving on a AD360 style light themselves for the RT system.

  8. Yuppa 2 years ago

    “Fulfillment by Amazon” (FBA) includes Prime. You may NOT be a Prime member, but Prime support is an included perk of FBA. Sellers from China who don’t use the FBA system typically offer a 15 day exchange/return policy, which is barely enough time to see if your product is functioning (being that it’s shipped from China). I don’t mess with non-FBA items.

    The reason for the two Yongnuo (YN) systems (622 and “RT”) is the 622, being proprietary, is easier to produce (the same reason Shanny (SN) is producing their “RF” system). The “RT” protocol is the most future proof, since it’s Canon.

    I do own the YN622C/TX (system) I like it. I do own a SN600SC and like it (I use the optical wireless often, still). Together, they are a very good combination. Since I own SN, I may bite on the “RF” triggers just to try them out (despite their short comings): but I will wait for FBA on those ;)

  9. Blaus 2 years ago

    This new Flash compatible with the SN-E3-RT transmitter?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Blaus,

      No, but there is an SN600C-RT flash that is compatible with the SN-E3-RT available very soon.

      • Blaus 2 years ago

        Thanks the information!

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      There are TWO new flashes with radio built-in:

      SN600C-RF (Shanny’s protocol)
      SN600C-RT (Canon’s protocol)

      You want the “RT” version.

  10. Eric 2 years ago

    As a pre-2012 canon body owner, the choice of which RT boils down to:

    Shanny: No Gr mode. Future functionality may materialize with either future SN600EX-RT or firmware upgraded RT transmitter. Build quality (foot) seems good, and SN600C-RT offers an economical solution for off camera slaves.

    YongNuo: Great comparability (Gr. mode, etc.) with pre-2012 bodies. Build quality is suspect (foot), and price isn’t as sweet for slaves only, since YongNuo doesn’t have an equivalent receiver only option for ~$130, only the $180 YN600EX-RT. The future might hold a cheaper option to compete though.

    I’m just torn because I want to pull the trigger, but I’m not sure which one to pull, and I’m getting tired of waiting.

  11. Apostolos 2 years ago

    FH and Yuppa, again, thanks for your insight in the wonderful world of Chinese flashes. If I’m not becoming too tedious, here are my purchasing parameters.

    Up until a few months ago I would do weddings with my Canon 580 EX II and I would use Elinchrom monolights for outdoor group shots. One of my 580 EX fried a year ago, and I paid Canon $200 to fix it, because it was out of warranty. About a year and one month after it was serviced it fried again, and I just could not bring myself to blow another $200 on a legacy flash. Plus my Elinchrom monolights, even a 300 watt one I had (I have mostly 1200 watt ones) is too powerful for indoors, so I need another solution for indoor lighting.

    That’s when I started reading up on Yongnuos and Chinese flashes. Small parenthesis, a few years ago, I had bought some Chinese-made Amvona strobes –if anyone remembers that glorious brand– which were absolute crap.

    In other words I wanted to get a few manual units for indoor photography to use mostly for background and static group shots and TTL units to use as my main flashes, shooting action, as TTL would save me time figuring out the correct exposure on a wedding, in action shots.

    I bought some Yongnuo 560 III and IV and a TX unit, and so far I have very positive experiences with them, even though admittedly I haven’t used them on a gig. But the convenience of having the receivers built in is huge. I remember trying to use the Canon 580 II with Pocketwizards, the sync cables would keep falling off, it was a huge pain. So, so far, 560 III and IV with built-in receiver are great. Long term reliability under the heavy use on a gig, remains to be seen.

    So, the plan was to dump the Canon 580 II altogether, keep the Yongnuo 560 for background and indoor group shots, and get another TTL system mostly for indoor action shots, as well as a Godox 360 for outdoor shots with HSS. If you ever had to lug a couple of Elinchrom 1200, along with Vagabonds (even the mini lithium ones) to a beach, you’d understand why I hope the Godox 360 in HSS might be a much more comfortable solution to overwhelm the sun in Southern California.

    So far I was leaning towards the following solution. Spread some YN-560 IV as background around a venue. Control them with the 560-TX but trigger them with a YN 605 RF atop the camera’s hotshoe (as the 560-TX does not have a pass through shoe). Then get a TTL system (so far I’m leaning towards the Shanny RT) and put it on top of the RF-605. If I need the flash on camera, I’ll do the adjustments with the SN-E3-RT, put that in my pocked and slap the SN-600-RT on top of the RF-605, which would control the 560 units. If I have the SN-600-RT off camera, I can put the SN-E3-RT, on top of the YN-RF-605 to control both the manual and TTL units.

    How does that sound for a crazy plan?

    Oh, yeah, and I was going to buy a set of YN-622/622-TX to do HSS with the Godox AD360 outdoors (along with their FT 16).

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Unfortunately the RF-605 do not have a TTL pass through hotshoe, they are a basic manual shoe on top only.

      Even if they did though I think you’d be setting yourself up for hassles. People do use the Phottix Strato II for TTL pass through, and they are better quality. You would then need to place the RF-605 or YN560-TX on a Strato II receiver then.

      This is all a hassle that shouldn’t be necessary, which is why RT receivers will be so important.

      Unfortunately mixing your YN560 system with a new TTL system may just not be worth the hassle when you’re trying to mix other systems as well.

  12. Ricardo 2 years ago

    Good review. I couldn’t agree more with your summarization and following comments.

    I think the first wave of gear released by Shanny, the photographers in the company had major input. All that gear looked super and reflected what photographers really wanted. The attachable radio was brilliant! With the RF decision, I think it was the suits. I simply hope the first group gets put back in charge. We all make mistakes.

    But for someone who really depends on speedlite gear and good support for them, there are only two companies: Canon and Phottix. I think YongNuo is getting there. Another year or two and hopefully they’ll be in that group. I hope so. Competition is a good thing!

  13. Brett 2 years ago

    Any thoughts on the durability of the Shanny flashes? I bought a couple of Oloong flashes and they were both dead within 2 months. I don’t expect OEM quality at these prices, but they need to last for a year or more to be worth any money.

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      I first heard of these around 10/2014. I’ve had my SN600SC since early 12/2014.

      I don’t think there’s been enough time to discuss durability. I use mine daily (not like a pro would) and I’ve had no issues.

      I hope they prove themselves: I really like it.

  14. Apostolos 2 years ago

    Or, I can use the RF-605 on the side, velcroed to my camera strap, as I’ve done with my Elinchrom transmitters, connected to the PC port to fire the manual flashes, ie the YN-560s I have and use the SN-600-RT on top as master to other SN-600-RT slaves or use the SN-E3-RT to control the SN-600-RTs off camera.

    At any rate I have to say one thing about the Chinese flash makers. They seem to take customer input very seriously and react to customer suggestions very fast. I’ll wait as long as I can until this season’s first gig to settle on a TTL system but so far I’m leaning towards the SN-600-RT. It’s trippy that Shanny’s RT is not compatible with Yongnuo’s RT flashes/transmitters. I mean how is this possible if they are both supposed to adhere to the Canon standard?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Apostolos,

      Yes the PC sync port on the camera is often a better method than using a pass through hotshoe. But both can be less convenient than they should be.

      Hopefully at the very least Shanny will make a basic manual RT receiver to fire extra studio lights etc with the RT system. If the don’t they may be at a big disadvantage to YongNuo.

      The current SN600C-RT do not have a master function though, they are only RT slave flashes. Shanny intend to have a full RT master and slave flash available around mid year now, in the SN600EX-RT.

      Regarding the incompatibility between RT systems, yes you would think that, but its really the same situation as we have seen with the RF system as well. Third party manufacturers have to reverse engineer the Canon protocols, so it really just depends on how closely they all get the to the original protocol as to how compatible they will be with other third parties. And more often than not its harder to achieve compatibility between the third parties than not.

      Shanny could make their RT system compatible with YongNuo’s, but they don’t want to spend the time reverse engineering YongNuo’s protocols as well. And its probably not worth continually chasing anyway if YongNuo may be intentionally changing things along the way.

  15. Author
    Flash Havoc 2 years ago

    I have been testing the SN600C-RT much of the day today outside, and unfortunately I’m having the same range or inconsistency issues vcbneo reported above, even at around 15 meters to 20 meters. The flash does fire over 90% or the time at this distance, but the misfires are still quite noticeable.

    I’ve had the Canon 600EX-RT and YN600EX-RT always in the same position as the SN600C-RT at the same time, and they both had many less periods of misfires, and much longer range possible most of the time.

    I did get the SN600C-RT to fire at distances over 100 meters at times, but this was not very often. Where the Canon and YongNuo flash can go that far quite often (line of sight), and have much less issues around 20 to 30 meters or so.

    I was constantly scanning channels etc to get the best radio reception as well.

    I’ve had no misfires at all using the flash inside within 15 meters, but even at 10 meters or so outside I would get some misfires at times (where the Canon and YongNuo flashes fired most of time).

    Overall the Canon flash and transmitter have the best results at longer distances. The YN600EX-RT did certainly beat the 600EX-RT at times, but the majority of the time the Canon gear have the advantage for maximum range.

    The Canon ST-E3-RT appears to possibly have a slight advantage in range and consistency over the SN-E3-RT when using the SN600C-RT as slave, but the main limiting factory is the SN600C-RT flash.

    .

    UPDATE – Shanny have said they are aware of the SN600C-RT range issues and are working on this now.
    .

    • vcbneo 2 years ago

      Not a good news for SN600C-RT range issues. Thanks for the testing and confirming the range issue and notifying SN about the issue. I hope this issue can be addressed by a firmware update. I don’t like the hassle sending back as I ordered from China. I still haven’t received my flash and trigger order yet. I was excited but now losing my faith in SN RT system :-(

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      UPDATE – Shanny have confirmed the SN600C-RT are having some issues.

      Customers who have purchased the flash already can either wait for the second version, or receive a full refund. Shanny will pay the shipping cost.

      .

      [ NOTE – This is the RT model flash having issues, the SN600C-RF are fine.]
      .

      • vcbneo 2 years ago

        Thanks for the update. I still haven’t received my order which is still on its way. I’ll probably test it out when I receive it until the second version is ready then I’ll ship back the first defect version. It’s nice that Shanny is willing to pay the shipping cost and full refund if needed. As long as they get it right I’ll build my whole RT system out of Shanny.

  16. Julian 2 years ago

    is there any way of controlling the power with an sn-e3-rf?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Julian,

      There is no way to control the flashes power levels directly from the transmitter unit, you will need to use the cameras flash control menu to do this. So its still remote control, its just that the cameras flash control menu is slower and more limited than some transmitters which have built in interfaces.

      Shanny intend to release another transmitter unit at some stage which will have their own built in flash control interface (as the YN-622C-TX or Pixel King Pro etc provide).

  17. Ricardo 2 years ago

    Thank you for your work on testing the RT system! I know that takes a significant amount of time. Much appreciated!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Ricardo,

      Thanks for that. It certainly takes a lot less time when things are working properly :-)

      In that regard I have to say Shanny have done very well so far, they have released most of the gear so far with very few software tweaks needed afterwards.

  18. Frank 2 years ago

    I received my SN600C-RT today. It works fine with the YN622TX and 622C. But the AF Light is weak compared to the Mago. Does the SN600C-RT communicate with the YN-E3 RT or onyl with the SN-E3 or the Canon transmitter ?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Frank,

      I could not get the SN600C-RT to link with either the YN600EX-RT or the YN-E3-RT, and Shanny confirmed this was the case.

      But Alexander from YN622.RU has reported the latest firmware for the YN-E3-RT will provide compatibility with the SN600C-RT. I’ve yet to update the YN-E3-RT to confirm this (will hopefully do this today).

      • Author
        Flash Havoc 2 years ago

        UPDATE – Alexander has discovered (and I have confirmed) that the YN-E3-RT is working as a second transmitter to the SN600C-RT.

        As soon as you turn the first SN-E3-RT or Canon ST-E3-RT off though, the YN-E3-RT looses link with the flash!

        This is the same using the YN600EX-RT as the second transmitter.

        I’m still yet to update the firmware of the YN units though.

  19. Frank 2 years ago

    Hmmm did some tests, with the SN600C-RT the images in ETTL HSS are overall much brighter compared with the 430EX II.

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      1. The 600 is more powerful (60 vs 43):

      My SN600SC is brighter and more uniform (at distance) than either my Yongnuo (YN) 500EX or Canon (CN) 430EX.

      2. The 600 has a wider range zoom head (20-200 vs 24-105).

      3. Make sure they have the same settings. These flashes allow the output to vary based on sensor size (see, “custom functions”).

      4. For the most accurate results, you need to compare it to the flash it’s intended to copy, the Canon 600EX.

      5. If you subscribe to the ETTR principle, brighter is always better provided the highlights are not clipped.

      http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/expose-right.shtml

    • Alexander Loff 2 years ago

      Confirm
      During the test with my equipment (70D+24-105mmF4L IS USM), I found the following:
      I found that SN600C-RT tends to overexposure in HSS in the range of shutter speeds of 1/320-1/1000s from F/4 to F/8. The exposition is more consistent with an aperture of less than F8 (i.e. F9-F22, etc.)

  20. Frank 2 years ago

    Thanks yuppa. The settings are both complete identical like sensor size, zoom etc. But i saw in another forum, that older 5D Mark3 Firmware are buggy with speedlites. I will check it later but i know that it’s not the actual firmware on my 5D3

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Frank,

      Are you possibly at the maximum power limit of the 430EX II, and therefore the SN600C-RT can provide more light?

      Or are you saying the the ETTL exposures are just getting much brighter when you move to HSS on the SN600C-RT. If so how many stops do you mean?

  21. Frank 2 years ago

    Hi,
    yes the overall ettl exposure is getting brighter when hss must be enabled – compared to the 430 II. I will check how many f stops. But i will check a newer firmware for the 5D3.

    • Alexander Loff 2 years ago

      Confirm
      During the test with my equipment, I found that SN600C-RT tends to overexposure in HSS in the range of shutter speeds of 1/320-1/1000s from F/4 to F/8. The exposition is more consistent with an aperture of less than F8 (i.e. F9-F22, etc.) – See more at: http://flashhavoc.com/shanny-sn-e3-rf-and-sn600c-rf-review/comment-page-1/#comment-23191

      EOS 70D
      EF 24-105mmF4L IS USM

      YN600EX-RT (left) – SN600C-RT (right)
      Zoom 24 mm

      E-TTLII
      F/4
      ISO 400
      1/250s
      https://www.dropbox.com/s/ctvinimjrvd85rm/IMG_2770.JPG?dl=0

      E-TTLII
      F/4
      ISO 400
      1/320s
      https://www.dropbox.com/s/m4hjstfjqnehjur/IMG_2771.JPG?dl=0

      E-TTLII
      F/4
      ISO 400
      1/1000s
      https://www.dropbox.com/s/7ea219972gqhryj/IMG_2773.JPG?dl=0

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      With the same camera settings, same scene, the Shanny (I have a 600SC) is noticeably “hotter” than either my Yongnuo 500EX or my Canon 430 EX in HSS.

      To my eye, comparing images “in camera,” the Shanny looks blown out. However, I have Magic Lantern installed on my 60D and see very little if any highlight clipping (I have “RAW Zebras” turned on, which is more accurate than the built-in, “Highlight alert”).

      I guess the Shanny is more ETTR friendly than the other flashes I own.

      I don’t use HSS much, so this revelation is new to me: but based on my limited testing, I’d say there is definitely a issue with over exposure in HSS.

      • Yuppa 2 years ago

        Before and after HSS with the 430 EX, 500EX, and 600SC:

        https://www.flickr.com/photos/halocastle/16203304450/

        • Yuppa 2 years ago

          The Canon result (a darker background) is just what I’d expect since HSS reduces flash output ~2.5 stops. I can only guess that Yongnuo (YN) and Shanny (SN) are trying to compensate for it. I don’t know. At my 60D’s max sync speed of 1/250, they all look about the same, but “just” clicking into HSS throws YN and SN off.

  22. Frank 2 years ago

    Only a quick test :

    https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0BxtiVLSgkFISYUJKUkNGb292dGM&usp=sharing

    The brighter Images are done with SN600. Both flashes same Settings

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      Shanny has informed me there isn’t any issue with their 600 series flashes and that the increase in exposure in HSS is due to the higher flash power compared to other flashes.

      If you find this as silly as I do, write to them to express your dissatisfaction and don’t buy their flashes until they fix it.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Yuppa and Frank,

      I was testing this today and thought I had the same overexposure issues, but testing again actually it seems Amanda is correct. I was at the minimum power the flash can go, (even in ETTL which is lower than 1/128th manual).

      Can you check with the same setting that are showing overexposure in HSS, switch to 1/128th manual and see if that is brighter still?

      My SN600SC I have does actually have some real issues in this area, but it was an early engineering sample. The other Shanny flashes appear to be ok.

      • Yuppa 2 years ago

        Elvis,

        Yep, it’s at the power floor in HSS (minimum manual).

        And I got this from Yigo and a Shanny engineer (who actually took the time to do tests and attach images–wow), which I’ve condensed below:

        “The minimal flash power in HSS is equal to the minimum flash power in manual (in the case of the 600’s, it’s 1/128).”

        So, if you experience overexposure at 1/128 manual power, you’ll get exactly the same results with ETTL in HSS. I have no idea if this is true with all flashes or just Shanny, but that explains it all: great news.

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 2 years ago

          Thanks Yuppa, yes it appears the Shanny flashes and other third party flashes often produce more light in HSS mode, which is generally not a bad thing.

          Its easy to reduce the power using a Stofen style cap, or even the flip down wide angle diffuser, but it much harder to gain power that is not their. Thanks.

          • Yuppa 2 years ago

            +1

            Yeah, if you shoot a blank wall in your house 10 feet away at 1/320 @ ISO 3200, then WHOOSH!

            Using it as intended, to darken ambient light with the shutter (which doesn’t affect the flash)–like outdoors on a Sunny day–then having more power is a VERY good thing.

            I was VERY impressed with the response from Yigo. Seeing an engineer take the time to make test images–and send them to me–is very responsive to a customer’s concern.

  23. Andy 2 years ago

    I still don’t get that all chinese flash manufactures don’t produce something like PW miniTT1/FlexTT5 (but must be more reliable than PW) or something like Cactus V6 but with wireless TTL. In saying that, i like the YN-560TX / YN-560 IV manual flash system. I wish that TTL system could have been more unique, instead of many different models which are very confused.

  24. Glenn 2 years ago

    I wrote Shanny an email about the external RT module for the more expensive SN600SC model. They not gave me a clear answer on wether the are launching the RT module for this version. Amanda wrote me that the will launch (which is launched) the C-RT version with build in RT.

    Question is why did i bought the SN600SC instead of the cheaper SN600C model? What are the advantages?

    Don’t understand Shanny and their products at this moment, I am a bit confused.

    Please some help?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Glenn,

      Amanda has said the RT Module (SN-E3-RT) is scheduled roughly for around the middle of the year.

      She has assured a number of times this module will eventually be produced, because Shanny have already invested in the components etc.

      It personally still makes me nervous that the longer this is put off the more chance they could change their mind on this module.

      The main differences otherwise between the SN600C and SN600SC are in the Canon Optic Wireless master and slave modes.

      The SN600SC has both full master and slave modes for Canon Optic Wireless, as well as a slave mode for Nikon.

      The SN600C only has a limited manual slave mode for the Canon Optic Wireless, so no TTL off camera.

      They both have full function as slave flashes mounted on YN-622C receivers though, so if you are mainly using those for radio triggers then the SN600C are just as good, and $30 less.

      You can see the Shanny flash models explained here. (Yes they have way too many models, with more to come!)

  25. Yuppa 2 years ago

    I guess, with the holiday over, we’ll be seeing fixes to the RT side of the system and the release of a SN600EX-RF master flash (in a few weeks).

    We won’t know if “master” means optical or RF or both. We’ll see.

    Shanny’s main weakness is their supply chain–i.e. ease of purchase–and will remain so for some time (they have no desire to do retail). Yongnuo is killing them in that regard.

  26. Frank 2 years ago

    My Shanny 600C-RT is not compatible with the Yn-E3-RT and the YN600EX ? The YN-E3-RT is not available or out of stock, the SN600EX-RT not released. Please shanny we need the SN-600EX-RT

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      “My Shanny 600C-RT is not compatible with the Yn-E3-RT and the YN600EX ?”

      Is that a declaration? Why the question mark at the end? Are you asking if it’s compatible?

      There are YN-E3-RT’s available on Yongnuo’s official Amazon store.

      Shanny is fixing RT issues in their current products and pushing their RF system for now.

  27. Frank 2 years ago

    Sorry – the SN-E3RT ist not available via Shanny, the YN-E3 is available.

  28. Nick 2 years ago

    So any information about the Shanny SN600EX-RT ?
    When will it be released? It still seems to be the best choice for me I think.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Nick,

      The SN600EX-RT are scheduled for around mid year at this stage.

      The SN600C-RT (with RT radio slave mode only) should be available from retailers around the end of the month. Though they should be available directly from Shanny within a week. As with the revised SN-E3-RT transmitter unit as well.

  29. Nick 2 years ago

    I see. So then maybe I should go for one SN600C-RT now and add one SN600EX-RT later. What is being changed with a “revised” SN-E3-RT transmitter?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      As far as I know the main dial module was being replaced, as the first one was very sticky and could be difficult to adjust settings.

      Also some type of filter or coating is meant to be on the LCD screen now to make it more visible in direct sunlight.

      The other issue with the SN-E3-RT was that the foot allowed the unit to rock forward in the cameras hot shoe. And as far as Shanny have said previously this was not going to be updated at this stage. I don’t know if they have changed plans there or not though. They should send a sample soon.

      The SN600C-RT flash was also being revised, as we had issues with the range, or consistency and certain distances. I think Shanny have made some other refinements as well. Again I don’t have the sample just yet.

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      On the SN-E3-RT v2, the A/F assist light is supposed to be improved. A “bright” A/F assist light is not the most important thing as the A/F sensor doesn’t require it to be as bright as our eyes do (my old 430 EX is quite dim yet works great). The pattern is the most critical element: I’m not sure if that’s changed or just the brightness.

      • Author
        Flash Havoc 2 years ago

        Ah! yes, thanks Yuppa, I forgot about the AF assist light.

        That is very weak in the first version and did very little to help lock focus at all. The Shanny flashes AF lights are ok though, so hopefully they have improved this now with the new SN-E3-RT.

  30. josh 2 years ago

    Any word on the progress of the transmitter with an interface for the shanny rf system?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Josh,

      These were estimated for around mid year, so I wouldn’t be expecting anything quite yet.

      Shanny have been very busy beavering away at new products again so theres no doubt they are working on something for this.

  31. Scott Rogers 2 years ago

    I received my SN E3 RT today and the dial is pretty stiff. Is there a way to tell the difference between v1 and v2 for sure?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Scott,

      I checked with Shanny and Amanda said all stock now available should be the new models as she has already asked for the previous stock to be returned.

      She is going to try and get the serial number for the start of the second version though.

      The other obvious tell would be the if the AF assist light is at all visible in daylight (indoors), as the first version was extremely weak.

  32. Frank 2 years ago

    Ordered directly at Shannys aliexpress store ? The V2 has a modified dial, should no longer be stiff.

    • Scott 2 years ago

      Opps, I now realize I am on a “SN-E3-RF” review, but I did just receive the SN E3 RT and it looks very nice, but the focus assist is not visible in indoor daylight. Should it be? The serial # is 585030xx. Purchased online from GodoxStudio. I am very eager to purchase the matching SN600EX-RT when they become available. Thank you.

  33. Robert T. Johnson 2 years ago

    The YongNuo YN-622’s have set the bar very high and should serve as the standard to beat. You can find many options if you are just looking for triggers to fire a flash, but when it comes to TTL, groups and manual power adjustment the YongNuo YN-622’s are very hard to beat and surpass.

  34. Wilson 2 years ago

    Any idea If I have a SN-600SC and attach the SN-E3-MD if I’m able to use the Yongnuo YN-E3-RT? or I’m stuck using the Shanny’s transmitter (SN-E3-RT)?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Wilson,

      Unfortunately Shanny have recently cancelled the SN-E3-MD receiver. I suspected that would likely happen, though Amanda assured me many times over the SN-E3-MD would still be produced.

      The other option is possibly using the YongNuo YNE3-RX receiver. I’d have to check how well that’s working, though I only have an early version of the SN600SC (the one that works with the current YN-622C). So if you have a later flash the results could possibly be different.

      If you don’t have the flash yet I would personally avoid trying to mix the systems, as there could always be issues added between them with later YongNuo firmware updates.

  35. Bilal 12 months ago

    do not affect the RF. Shanny 600ex RF – how can I do a software update. :(

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2016 FlashHavoc.com - PRIVACY POLICY

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?