SHANNY – SN-E3-RT Speedlite Transmitter Review

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

The SN-E3-RT Speedlite Transmitter are the first radio flash trigger from new Chinese manufacturer Shanny, and available now from around $110.

The SN-Es-RT are the first of a range of new Shanny products which will be directly compatible with the 2.4GHz RT radio system built into Canon’s own 600EX-RT flash, and ST-E3-RT transmitter units.

Coming very soon from Shanny will also be an RT compatible radio slave flash in the SN600C-RT, and first quarter 2015 2016 should see a full master and slave RT flash in the SN600EX-RT.

 

UPDATE – May 2015 - As noted in the review below, the original SN-E3-RT sample reviewed included a number of considerable issues which Shanny had said they would rectify after the first small production run. Unfortunately that was not the case for a number of these issues including the very loose foot, and difficult sticky main dial.

And as late as September 2015 Shanny had still had no plans for rectifying these considerable issues with the SN-E3-RT transmitter in the near future.

In the updates Shanny did make, they may have improved stability further as they have stated, though the range and consistency of the first release SN-E3-RT already appeared to be very good anyway.

The SN-E3-RT’s AF assist light has also now improved. And although they are still not as bright as the Shanny flash units provide, though they do appear to work reasonably well now.

The largest issue though has been the SN-E3-RT’s sticky main control dial. And unfortunately at the time of writing this that has not improved. If anything the dial appears to be even slightly stiffer than before.

And changes on the SN-E3-RT’s LCD still do not always correspond with movements of the dial as they should.

Combined with a transmitter unit which rocks around considerably in the cameras hotshoe, this can make anything but very slow and precise adjustment of the main dial pretty difficult at times.

And a filter film which Shanny had intended to implement over the SN-E3-RT’s color LCD display to make them more visible in bright sunlight does not appear to have eventuated either.

The SN-E3-RT’s test fire button still does not function, and there is still no recycle ready indication from the slave flashes.

The SN-E3-RT are functional (provided you’re not in any hurry to make adjustments) and appear reliable, though they are currently certainly not up to the standard they should be, or of the (lower priced) YongNuo and original Canon alternatives.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

What really sets the Shanny SN-E3-RT Transmitter apart from the original Canon ST-E3-RT version (other than the lower price tag) is a larger and full color TFT high resolution LCD screen.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

This larger screen then allows the option of having all 5 remote flash groups conveniently displayed on the screen at once, instead of just the 3 groups the original Canon ST-E3-RT will display.

Shanny have also simplified the group navigation and adjustments, making the group interface even more obvious and intuitive.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

Another unique feature of the SN-E3-RT is the inclusion of a Canon Optic Wireless Master function, as well as the 2.4GHz RT radio communication (these can not be used at the same time though).

And below the Optic Wireless sensor can be seen a small LED AF assist light, which is an important feature the original Canon ST-E3-RT transmitter unfortunately lacks.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

SN-E3-RT FEATURES

 

  • 2.4G two-way Canon RT compatible radio communications
  • Directly compatible with original Canon ST-E3-RT / 600EX-RT wireless signals
  • Range up to 100 meters
  • Canon Optic Wireless Master Function (range up to 20 meters)

 

  • HSS to 1/8000th
  • Flash Modes: ETTL /M / Multi / Gr
  • 1st Curtain Sync / 2nd Curtain Sync
  • FEC / FEB – 1/3rd increments (±3 stops)
  • Manual Flash – 1/128 – 1/1 (in 1/3rd increments)
  • 5 Groups (in GR mode) ( A / B / C / D / E )
  • Up to 15 off camera flashes possible
  • 15 Physical Channels, 1 Automatic Channel
  • 10000 device IDs can be set (ID0000~ID9999)
  • Modelling Light
  • Custom Function settings
  • Auto-save function

 

  • High-resolution TFT color screen
  • Font and background color options
  • Brightness adjustment – 20% – 100%
  • Keypad Lock
  • Status Beep

 

  • AF Assist Light
  • USB Port for Firmware Updates
  • Wireless Shutter Release Port / Linked Shot
  • Quick Lever Locking foot
  • Power : 2 AA batteries

 

Canon RT Radio Compatibility :

  • CANON : ST-ES-RT, 600EX-RT
  • SHANNY : SN-E3-RT, SN600CRT, SN600EX-RT,
  • SHANNY : SN600SC / SN600SN (with SN-E3-MD receiver)

 

Canon Optic Wireless Compatibility :

  • CANON : EX flashes with Canon Optic Wireless compatibility
  • SHANNY : SN600SC, SN600S, SN600C (manual only)

 

Compatible Cameras:

  • CANON 650D, 700D, 70D, 7D ,7D II, 6D, 5D III, 1DX / 1D C
  • (NOT suitable for Canon 1D II, 1Ds II, 1D, 5D, 1000D )
  • Compatibility with other camera models still needs to be tested.

 

OVERVIEW

 

The SN-E3-RT are the first radio trigger product available from new flash and radio trigger manufacturer Shanny, and so far all indications are looking promising.

After a number of tests the functions available from the SN-E3-RT appear to be working very well. And the range is consistently matching the original Canon ST-E3-RT, which is the one main area the YongNuo version YN-E3-RT is unfortunately sometimes lacking.

 

I should point out though, the SN-E3-RT unit originally tested here was from the first trial production run of 100 units, and although the functions work very well, there were still a number of physical issues with this early unit.

Mainly the control dial is very sticky, making it hard to select accurate adjustments. The foot has movement in the camera hotshoe, and the AF assist light is also very dim compared to the Shanny flashes.

Shanny have assured the dial and foot modules will be changed and improved before the main production run though. As will the issue with the AF light brightness. Provided these components are upgraded the SN-E3-RT should be an impressive transmitter, and at less than half the price of the Canon alternative.

Also I have mainly been testing with the Canon 7D, so Gr group mode as discussed further below is still to be tested.

 

At this stage the Shanny SN-E3-RT also appear to be working fine with the recent YongNuo YN600EX-RT flash (which was a little unexpected).

 

The SN-E3-RT have some good additional features over the original Canon ST-E3-RT, though they they do miss some features as well –

 

Advantage SHANNY SN-E3-RT:

  • Canon Optic Wireless Slave Mode
  • AF Assist Light
  • USB Port for Firmware Updates
  • Large TFT Color LCD Screen
  • LCD Screen Color options
  • Displays 5 Groups at once
  • Simplified Interface Navigation
  • Lower Price

 

Advantage CANON ST-E3-RT:

  • Weather Sealing
  • Smoother Dial, Buttons, On-Off Switch Operation
  • Back-lit Buttons
  • Clearer LCD Font
  • More Custom and Personal Functions
  • External Auto Metering Mode
  • 100% Canon Compatibility

 

The recent YongNuo version YN-E3-RT also provide some very desirable additional features over the original Canon ST-E3-RT though as well, which the Shanny SN-E3-RT unfortunately do not provide at this stage –

 

Advantage YONGNUO YN-E3-RT:

  • Gr Group Mode for Pre-2012 Cameras
  • Second Curtain Sync (Manual Power Only)
  • Remote Manual Power Control when using NON Canon Cameras

 

Disadvantage YONGNUO YN-E3-RT:

  • Range can be more limited at times
  • Loose foot in camera hotshoe (provided Shanny rectifies theirs)

 

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

RECYCLE FEEDBACK -

 

Another feature the SN-E3-RT unit tested is missing is the recycle ready indicator for the remote flashes. Though again Shanny have indicated this should be added to future units or firmware updates.

Canon RT radio has an impressive system of two way communication between the remote flashes and the master unit on the camera. This can normally provide feedback of when all remote flashes have recycled and are ready to fire again. The test fire button will light up red when all flashes are ready.

With the current SN-E3-RT though the ready light is always on while the transmitter has created a radio link with any remote flash. The “LINK” light also then displays green as with the Canon ST-E3-RT.

The SN-E3-RT will allow some flashes to fire though if not all are ready, which can be an advantage over the Canon transmitter which will not fire any flash until all are ready (as some light may be better than none if you really need to get the shot).

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

GR GROUP MODE & DISPLAY -

 

Gr group mode is the real business end and main advantage of the Canon RT radio system over the previous Canon flash interface. The Gr mode allows 5 individual groups to be used instead of just 3, as well as allowing ETTL and Manual groups to be mixed. Groups can also be turned ON and OFF individually as needed.

And Shanny have enhanced the Gr mode further by allowing the option of all 5 groups to be displayed on the LCD screen at once. Navigation and adjustment of the groups have also been simplified.

One unfortunate limitation still here though is that Gr mode is not available when using pre 2012 Cameras (including the 5D II and 7D etc). This is the same with the original Canon ST-E3-RT and 600EX-RT as master unit. While though the YongNuo YN-E3-RT does actually provide Gr mode with pre 2012 cameras.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

LCD DISPLAY IN FULL SUNLIGHT -

 

Another point worth noting, is that as nice as the SN-E3-RT’s TFT color LCD screen looks when used indoors or in low light, its very hard to see anything on the screen in bright full sunlight. Where the traditional liquid crystal LCD only becomes easier to see the more light there is.

This is mainly only an issue in full direct sunlight, in open shade etc the screen is still reasonably visible. You can off course try and shade the screen with a hand as well, though I still found it difficult to see in full sunlight.

The LCD back-light also goes out quite quickly, and there is no option to keep it on (as Canon provides). Though Shanny may be updating this as well.

So if you do work in direct bright sunlight often this may be something to consider. The cameras flash control menu can always be used as an alternative interface as well if needed though.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

INTERFACE

 

The SN-E3-RT have adopted an interface very similar to the original Canon ST-E3-RT transmitter.

(Though as mentioned previously the SN-E3-RT’s main dial is very sticky in the early unit tested here. Shanny should be updating this dial module before full production though).

The SN-E3-RT’s buttons are also not back-lit like the Canon unit as seen below.

The 4 menu buttons (running along the base of the LCD screen) are also not raised slightly as they are on the Canon (or YongNuo) transmitter. So for people with big fingers this means using a thumbnail is actually needed to press these buttons.

 

LCD SCREEN

 

The SN-E3-RT’s large TFT Color LCD Screen looks very impressive, particularly with the multiple colors.

Though, even though the SN-E3-RT’s resolution and text size is very similar to the Canon unit, the Canon text is still arguably easier to read than the Shanny text because of the more simple square style font used on the Canon transmitter.

This may not be an issue for most people, though if you have trouble with the Canon display already, the SN-E3-RT display is not going to be any easier. It would be nice if Shanny would at least provide an option of choosing the original square style font.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

A comparison between the Shanny, Canon, and YongNuo transmitter can be seen below.

Note the YongNuo transmitter display is very similar to the Canon unit, though considerably brighter (than even Canon’s brightest setting).

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

YN-E3-RT

 

If you open each image above in a separate browser tab, its possible then to compare the size etc of the units by switching through the tabs.

All three units can also be seen side by side here if that may help to compare them.

 

SCREEN COLORS

 

If you like something different the SN-E3-RT provide a number of color options to choose from –

  • FONT: White / Blue / Green
  • BACKGROUND: Black / Grey / Yellow

 

In practice the legible color combinations (other than the standard white on black) are –

  • Blue on Yellow, or Blue on Grey
  • Green on Black, or Blue on Black

I found Blue on Yellow is actually the easiest to see outdoors in bright light.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

Screen brightness can be adjusted from 100% down to 20%, which could possibly be handy if working in a very dark studio etc.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

 

MODES

 

Pressing the MODE button simply scrolls through the main modes – ETTL / Manual / Multi / Group

This is the same as the Canon ST-E3-RT.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT MODES

 

GROUP MODE (Gr)

 

As mentioned previously, Gr group mode is the real business end and main advantage of the Canon RT radio system over the previous Canon flash interface. The Gr mode allows 5 individual groups to be used instead of just 3, as well as allowing ETTL and Manual groups to be mixed. Groups can also be turned ON and OFF individually as needed.

And Shanny have enhanced the Gr mode further by allowing the option of all 5 groups to be displayed on the LCD screen at once (as opposed to the 3 groups shown in most of the images above).

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

Navigating groups has also been simplified compared to the Canon transmitter. You simply keep pressing the GR menu button to continually scroll through the 5 groups.

And this will start scrolling from the last group previously adjusted, so its often not necessary to scroll through a number of groups to reach the group needed.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT Group Mode

 

Once a group is selected it can then be quickly adjusted using the main dial, or the group can be quickly changed to ETTL, Manual, or OFF, by pressing the large MODE button.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

For anyone that is not already familiar with Canon’s flash or transmitter interface, this navigation and adjustment of groups is definitely much more obvious and intuitive than Canon’s methods. Particularly the fact that the groups do not jump around the screen as you try to navigate through them to start with.

Though I dare say people already very familiar with the original Canon interface may still find that a little faster to navigate. As with that you can move up and down groups without having to scroll through all 5 groups to reach a group above.

Nevertheless the option of having all groups displayed on the screen is a great advantage, and scrolling through these 5 groups is still very quick and easy.

This is also not so much of a change that current Canon ST-E3-RT and 600EX-RT users should find the different interfaces confusing, even if using both. (Though people who start out with Shanny, and use the Canon unit later may well wonder what on earth Canon were thinking in their design).

 

NON GROUP MODES

 

One unfortunate limitation with Gr mode though is that it is not available when using pre 2012 Cameras (including the recent 7D and 5D II etc). This is the same with the original Canon ST-E3-RT and 600EX-RT as master unit. While though the YongNuo YN-E3-RT does actually provide Gr mode with pre 2012 cameras.

Not having the Gr mode is not necessarily the end of the world though either as seen below.

 

MANUAL MODE

When using remote manual power settings there are still 3 groups available in a similar format (and with HSS still available).

The difference here is that individual groups can not be simply turned OFF if needed, the options are only A, A:B, or A:B:C groups switched ON (you can also set their power down to minimum though).

NOTE – Manual power settings on the SN-E3-RT also continually scroll around instead of stopping at the minimum or 1/1 power levels (which may not always ideal when making fast adjustments).

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

ETTL MODE

In ETTL mode only the previous ratio style interface is available.

This is either ALL flashes in ETTL without a ratio, or two groups with an A:B ratio, and the option of group C as a background light only.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

Gr mode provides the additional ability of having up to 5 groups in ETTL or Manual, mix ETTL and Manual groups, and select ETTL or Manual for any group.

And any group can be simply turned OFF as needed as well.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

So Group Mode provides the most control and flexibility, though there is still a reasonable amount of functionality available without Gr mode as well.

 

CUSTOM FUNCTIONS

 

Shanny have customised their own Custom Functions menu to a completely different format from the Canon Custom and Personal Function menus.

The SN-E3-RT Custom Functions are not currently adjustable through the Canon cameras flash control menu either (as most recent ETTL flashes and transmitters usually are).

 

The SN-E3-RT Custom Functions currently available are –

  • Modelling Light: ON /OFF
  • Pencil Color: White / Blue / Green
  • Background Color: Black / Grey / Yellow
  • Sound: ON / OFF
  • AF Light: ON / OFF
  • Back Light: 100% / 80% / 60% / 40% / 20%
  • Standby: OFF / 10min / 20min /30min / 40min / 50min / 60min
  • Auto Save: ON / OFF
  • Firmware Version Displayed.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

Where the original Canon ST-E3-RT have the same Custom and Personal Functions menu format as the 600EX-RT flash units, and many of the same options.

One important one here is that the back light can be kept on (unlike the SN-E3-RT currently).

 

ST-E3-RT

 

The Canon ST-E3-RT Custom and Personal Functions are listed below. Options missing from the Shanny SN-E3-RT are marked in red text

 

  • C.Fn-01: Auto Power OFF: ON / OFF
  • C.Fn-02: Modelling Light: DOF Button / TEST Button / BOTH Buttons / OFF
  • C.Fn-03: FEB Auto Cancel: ON / OFF
  • C.Fn-04: FEB Sequence: 0 > – > +  /  – > 0 > +
  • C.Fn-07: Test Flash in ETTL: 1/132  /  1/1
  • C.Fn-13: FEC Adjustment: Transmitter Menu Button & Dial / Dial Only
  • C.Fn-20: Beep: ON / OFF
  • C.Fn-22: LCD Panel Illumination: 12sec / OFF / ON

 

  • P.Fn-01: LCD Panel Display Contrast: Level 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5
  • P.Fn-03: LCD Panel Illumination Color – MASTER: Green / Orange
  • P.Fn-04: LCD Panel Illumination Color – SLAVE: Orange / Green

 

So the only major options really missing from the Shanny SN-E3-RT are the option of keeping the LCD Panel Illumination ON, FEB (Flash Exposure Bracketing) Auto Cancel: OFF, and FEB exposure order.

 

 CHANNEL SCAN

 

Like the original Canon ST-E3-RT, the Shanny transmitters have a nice channel scanning function which provides a good indication of which channels are providing the best reception (or are least affected by radio interference in the area).

This is very easy to use, just select the scan option and the scan runs automatically. If the transmitter is already set to Auto Channel, then the channel with best reception will automatically be selected and used after the scan.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

Also like the original Canon ST-E3-RT, the Shanny transmitter provides a selection of user ID’s.

This can be used when there are a number of photographers in the same area so that they will not interfere with each others lights (without having to use different channels to achieve this).

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

RANGE

 

Maximum range with radio flash triggers is never really a black and white thing, particularly with TTL radio triggers which send a receive more information than simple manual triggers.

Over a variety of test though, the SN-E3-RT appear to be consistently matching the original Canon ST-E3-RT for maximum range.

Provided other people do have the same experience with the SN-E3-RT, this is fairly significant, because the one main down sides to the YongNuo version YN-E3-RT has been the limited range experienced at times.

 

Canon state the range of the ST-E3-RT and 600EX-RT flash to be around 30 meters. This may sound low compared to the 100+ meter range often stated for 2.4GHz radio triggers, but it is actually a fairly good estimate of the reliable working range without much risk of loosing communication and having some misfires etc.

I have found this range is generally very similar with the original YN-622C transceivers, and simlilar 2.4GHz TTL transceivers. These triggers can generally all often reach 100 meters (or sometimes even further) with straight line of sight and no interference, or even around 60 meters of working range at times. Though around 30 meters is generally around the safe distance where a number of flashes will not start having misfires or dropping out of communication.

(This working range is generally around double that with manual triggers, even triggers like the inexpensive YongNuo RF-603 II etc).

The YongNuo version YN-E3-RT though can drop down to around half the range of the Canon ST-E3-RT, 15 meters or less before communication can be regained with the remote flashes. And this is unfortunately the same situation with the current YN-622C-TX, which is the other popular transmitter interface option for the YN-622C system.

I did however notice the in the same tests that the YongNuo YN600EX-RT flashes appear to be providing greater range than the original Canon 6000EX-RT for a considerable amount of the time. And that was regardless of the transmitter unit used.

 

So range so far is looking promising for the SN-E3-RT Transmitter. Which is also a promising start to Shanny’s RT flash system.

 

PORTS

 

The SN-E3-RT provides a 3.5mm remote shutter release port like the original Canon transmitter.

Like the Canon unit the SN-E3-RT also supports the Linked Shot function. This allows one transmitter or master flash to be used as a wireless shutter release for the camera. Or one camera can fire a number of other remote cameras.

An optional N3 type shutter release cord is required for this. Though cameras after 2012 do not need to use any external shutter release cord for Linked Shot to work, as communication goes through the cameras hot shoe connections.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

A USB port for firmware updates is mounted in the other side of the SN-E3-RT.

The original Canon ST-E3-RT transmitter does not have a USB port.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

AF ASSIST LIGHT

 

An AF assist light for focusing in low light is a welcome addition to the SN-E3-RT transmitter, as the original Canon unit is sadly lacking this feature.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

The SN-E3-RT AF assist light appears to be the same as used in the SN600SC flash units and others.

This AF light (although not the most ideal) possibly has a slight advantage over the current YongNuo light, in that the space between lines is not quite as large, so a single focus point may not fall between any lines as easily.

(The SN-E3-RT unit tested though has a very dim AF light, possibly half as bright if not less than the SN600SC comparison shown below. Shanny have said they will be addressing this with the main production SN-E3-RT transmitters though. Otherwise the AF light as tested is really too dim to be of much use at all).

The original Canon ST-E3-RT does not have any AF assist light provided, so the 600EX-RT flash is shown below as a comparison.

 

SN-E3-RT AF ASSIST

 

 

 

BATTERY COMPARTMENT

 

The SN-E3-RT battery compartment and sliding door arrangement are similar to the original Canon unit, though there is no rubber weather seal around the case. This design still appears to provide a decent seal from dust etc getting into the battery compartment though.

Two standard AA batteries are used.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

CASE

The SN-E3-RT case and controls (although not exactly the same) are quite similar to the original Canon unit. The SN-E3-RT’s larger screen just takes up more area at the top of the case.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

The SN-E3-RT foot does not currently have a rubber weather seal like the Canon unit.

Though I am not sure if this will be changed in the main production, as Shanny have said this foot module would be revised to provide a more firm fitting in the camera hotshoe. As the early unit tested here has considerable movement in the camera hotshoe (the Shanny flashes are quite good with this fit otherwise).

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

A comparison between the Canon, Shanny, and YongNuo transmitters can be seen below –

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

The image below can also be viewed the other way around here, if that may be easier to compare the controls etc.

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

COMPATIBLITY

 

FLASHES

 

Canon RT Radio Compatibility :

  • CANON : ST-ES-RT, 600EX-RT
  • SHANNY : SN-E3-RT, SN600CRT, SN600EX-RT,
  • SHANNY : SN600SC / SN600SN (with SN-E3-MD receiver)

 

Canon Optic Wireless Compatibility :

  • CANON : EX flashes with Canon Optic Wireless compatibility
  • SHANNY : SN600SC, SN600S, SN600C (manual only)

 

CAMERAS

 

  • CANON 650D, 700D, 70D, 7D ,7D II, 6D, 5D III, 1DX / 1D C
  • (NOT suitable for Canon 1D II, 1Ds II, 1D, 5D, 1000D )
  • Compatibility with other camera models still needs to be tested.

 

SPECS

 

  • 2.4G two-way Canon RT compatible radio communications
  • Directly compatible with original Canon ST-E3-RT / 600EX-RT wireless signals
  • Range up to 100 meters
  • Canon Optic Wireless Master Function (range up to 20 meters)
  • HSS to 1/8000th
  • Flash Modes: ETTL /M / Multi / Gr
  • 1st Curtain Sync / 2nd Curtain Sync
  • FEC / FEB – 1/3rd increments (±3 stops)
  • Manual Flash – 1/128 – 1/1 (in 1/3rd increments)
  • 5 Groups (in GR mode) ( A / B / C / D / E )
  • Up to 15 off camera flashes possible
  • 15 Physical Channels, 1 Automatic Channel
  • 10000 device IDs can be set (ID0000~ID9999)
  • Modelling Light
  • Custom Function settings
  • Auto-save function
  • High-resolution TFT color screen
  • Font and background color options
  • Brightness adjustment – 20% – 100%
  • Keypad Lock
  • Status Beep
  • AF Assist Light
  • USB Port for Firmware Updates
  • Wireless Shutter Release Port / Linked Shot
  • Quick Lever Locking foot
  • Power: 2 AA / LR6 batteries (Alkaline or Ni-MH)
  • Measurement: Aprox. 67mm(L) x 66mm(H) x 81mm (D)
  • Weight: Aprox. 121g (not including batteries)

 

  • Comes With: Transmitter, Soft Pouch, User Manual Leaflet

 

SUMMARY

 

The Shanny SN-E3-RT are looking to be a very promising start to Shanny’s range of flash triggers, and their fast expanding Canon RT compatible range of products.

The SN-E3-RT appear to function very well, and provide most of the main features of the original Canon ST-E3-RT as well as few nice additions.

Provided Shanny do upgrade the control dial in particular as they have indicated, as well as refining the the foot module and AF assist light brightness, the  SN-E3-RT at around $110 are looking to be a great economical alternative to the original Canon transmitter, also providing a great Gr mode interface and Canon Optic Wireless mode.

UPDATE – Unfortunately Shanny did not make refinements to the SN-E3-RT’s control dial or lose foot. Please see the note in red at the top of the review.

Off course the SN-E3-RT are currently a new product, and full reliability over time is yet to be seen.

 

 

SHANNY SN-E3-RT

 

PRICE AND AVAILABILITY

 

The SN-E3-RT for Canon are available now for around $110 with shipping –

Ebay, Amazon, UK.

 

Shanny – Website, Aliexpress.

Shanny – Flash Models Detailed

Shanny – SN600SC Review

Contact – christina@szshanny.com

 

.

86 Comments
  1. robert 2 years ago

    BRavo to Shanny! going a step above others. Im keeping a close eye on them. I might throw all my yongnuo slaves and flashes and move completely to them. waiting for more reviews.

    is it true that the Shanny owners were those who worked for yongnuo and left? like Tokina who were working for nikon..

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Robert,

      The lead engineer for Shanny was previously the engineer from YongNuo in charge of the flash development (YN-568EX etc).

      The YongNuo engineer in charge of the radio trigger development (YN-622 etc) is still with YongNuo.

  2. Ricardo 2 years ago

    Super! Great review!

    I agree that the unit looks very promising and the price is quite fantastic. I love the LCD even though it might be an issue for me as I photograph outside a lot. I think changing the colors as you suggested should largely resolve that issue. I am a little disappointed with no backlit buttons. Definitely helps. But not a major issue. The lack of Gr mode on pre-2012 cameras is not good either. But I seriously think they will resolve that issue with a firmware fix. If not, simply turn off the flash. Not a big deal. The loose foot… I think within 3 – 6 months they’ll have these little issues resolved. I hope :-P

    I like how Shanny is differentiating themselves from other manufacturers and looking forward to seeing more from them.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Ricardo,

      Thanks for that, Shanny have said they would be revising the foot and main dial module before the main production run starts. There were only 100 units produced in the initial run.

      There will be more interesting products to be announced from Shanny soon.

      • Ricardo 2 years ago

        They already offer more than the Canon units just the way they are… I’m quite confident about them. Glad they got some evaluation units for us to see.

  3. Yuppa 2 years ago

    I wonder if the production models will have the wireless flash and mode text on the BUTTONS like the YN version, Canon’s ENTIRE RT line, and Shanny’s SN600 series flashes.

    Like here:

    http://flashhavoc.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/SN-E3-RT_c2301.jpg

    And the YN600EX-RT flash is like the Shanny transmitter above–the text is on the body, not the buttons.

    Kinda strange, the mixing of labeling; I wonder if they’re having issues with it rubbing off the buttons.

  4. Todd 2 years ago

    FH,

    Good Stuff. I’m waiting for the new Odin II from Phottix. With Shanny coming out with all these new models faster, does it make sense to go with Shanny? I only worry about the product reliability long term and plastic “quality” of Shanny’s flashes.

    Any Idea when we’ll see the new Odin II TCU?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Todd,

      I think the Odin II will have a considerably better interface, and Phottix are not trying to make budget gear so you can expect a higher built quality. And they will have the Indra as well, which no one else can match at this stage combined with the Odins.

      The Mitros+ are falling behind now though, so hopefully Phottix will be on to those next. I’m not sure when the Odin II are due at this stage.

      Shanny are squeezing a lot out of very little, using the same flash and trigger for many models, and making the most of existing knowledge. Its very clever, but we are yet to see it they will expand the system into other areas that will take some real product development.

  5. Tony M 2 years ago

    What a fantastically detailed review. Well done and thank you!

    I’ll have to go through this again for it to seep in, but Shanny really appears to be doing what they should. I also like the fact it’s not an exact clone of the Canon, and they’ve even improved upon some of the functionality in the interface. The optical support is HUGE! This alone almost makes me want to jettison my YN-E3-RT, as I’ve got loads of lights that aren’t RT based. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wished for this.

    They appear to have bested Canon and Yongnuo on this one. I’m quite excited to see their future products and what surprises those may have in store for us.

    BTW, I don’t really see how an RT based system could eliminate one brand and work with another. If Yongnuo or Shanny are tuned to the particular RT frequency/channel for Canon, it would take an awful lot of work to figure out a way to reject sending to another device. Just as the receiving device would have to have some way of discerning the transmitting signal that is in theory exactly the same as Canon. I think they just don’t want to acknowledge each other, or take any responsibility for the potential issues of incompatibility.

    Regardless, I’ll probably not be mixing and matching when I pick up more of these – and like I said, this has impressed me enough to consider purchasing this unit and moving to Shanny. My YN-E3-RT can always act as a backup. I’m really looking forward to your equally detailed review of the Shanny RT units when you get your hands on one!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Tony,

      Thanks for that, regarding the YongNuo compatibility though, I have received an update from Shanny and it seems YongNuo compatibility is already in question.

      YongNuo have changed the second production of YN600EX-RT flashes. The first units were compatible with the coming Shanny SN600C-RT, but the latest YN600EX-RT are no longer compatible. And Shanny are not going to try and rectify this now.

      The SN-E3-RT should still currently be compatible with the latest YN600EX-RT.

      This is all subject to change though, and I don’t think we can rely on there being future compatibility between the systems unfortunately.

      Your’re right if all manufacturers followed the Canon protocols exactly then they would all be compatible. But they don’t have to do that unfortunately, some manufactures have used whatever methods they can just to get their products functioning with the original Canon gear.

      And its a constant battle to keep up as Canon constantly change the new camera models etc.

  6. Niels 2 years ago

    I bought two EX600RT + a ST-E3-RT when the system was new on the market. I wanted to use these shooting action at the full framerate of my 7D (8fps). With external power the EX600RT can easily keep up with the 8fps target at 1/8 power. However every now and then they will recycle briefly. A fraction of a second. Unfortunately Canon report recycling instantly over the radio but recycling completetion is reported with a delay of up to 1 second. So this fantastic radio flash system would give me 2-3 frames with flashes firing and then 4-5 black frames. If I mount a EX600RT directly in the camera hotshoe the issue has gone away – the flashes keep up with 8 fps easily. I’ve reported the issue to Canon (not easy to do – Canon seem to believe that all issues with their products are caused by user error) and Canon eventually acknowled that they have an issue but they will not fix it. So for me the missing recycle feedback on the SN-E3-RT would have been a huge plus. As the Shanny wasn’t available and I ended up using manual flash power anyway I bought some Phottix Stratos II multi triggers and was happy whith them.

  7. Ahmed 2 years ago

    Excellent review. I love with Shanny and Yongnuo are doing with the 600 series. The problem i have is that i want to be able to control and trigger other devices (other flashes, strobes, etc). Is it that hard for someone to develop a receiver for the 600 series? This would put them at the king of the hill.

  8. Branislav 2 years ago

    Is this compatible with 60D?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Branislav,

      Shanny haven’t listed the 60D as tested, so we can’t be sure until there is feedback from users. Its fairly likely to be compatible though.

  9. Cameron Akin 2 years ago

    I currently have 2 – Canon ST-E3-rt’s. I just ordered 3 of the YN600 ex rt’s (second run) so I won’t be able to trigger any Shanny 600c rt’s with my YN600’s?

    I would however be able to trigger both YN600’s and Shanny 600c rt’s with my Canon ST E3 rt’s?

    Thanks for the help.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Cameron,

      That appears to be the current situation. You can use the original Canon 600EX-RT, Shanny SN-E3-RT, or YongNuo YN-E3-RT to trigger the coming SN600C-RT flashes.

      The only guaranteed compatibility is with original Canon or Shanny gear though.

  10. Yuppa 2 years ago

    Oh, no. I certainly hope Shanny don’t screw up the foot on THIS ^. The foot on the SN600SC is MUCH better than the YN600EX-RT–it’s not even close.

  11. Brian Hursey 2 years ago

    I really wish some one would make a transceiver that you could integrate with the canon RT system and use existing Canon TTL flashes.. If that was the case I might be better inclined to buy into this type of system. However I understand that the new RT system has a two way communication system so it may not be possible..

  12. Yuppa 2 years ago

    @Brian Hursey

    Though not a totally slicked off solution (to your request), Yonguo could–conceivably–add another proxy mode option to their YN622-TX to allow for a gobo for their YN-E3-RT to control 622 equipped flashes, too.

    They did this with 560-TX so how much of stretch could it be?

  13. Nick 2 years ago

    So any info on when the SN600EX-RT will be available?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Nick,

      As Yuppa mentions below, the SN600EX-RT are now scheduled for early 2015. The Chinese Spring Festival is late February though, and this causes major disruptions for what can be many weeks either side of that. So Shanny may or may not manage to get them out before the holiday.

      The SN600C-RT should be available around the end of December though. These have RT radio slave function built in only. Though they will be more economical at around $130.

  14. Yuppa 2 years ago

    @Nick

    Last I heard was around the Chinese, “Spring Festival” (Chinese New Year):

    “The holiday in China starts from February 19 to 25, 2015.”

    http://www.travelchinaguide.com/essential/holidays/spring-festival.htm

  15. fotojack 2 years ago

    Will there be a Nikon version from Shanny?

  16. Julius Lagula 2 years ago

    Still trying to decide if I should get the YN-600EX-RT and YN-E3-RT now or wait for the Shanny version.

    I wonder if the Shanny fixes all of the Yongnuo’s shortfalls – the 600SC already has the push to turn, the tighter foot and I wonder if the SN600EX will put the Gel holder too?

    Either way, it’ll cost about the same price as one Canon 600EX-RT’s for 2x flashes and a trigger of either brand it’s just a matter of waiting or not…

  17. brian 2 years ago

    Im hearing from flashavok that it would be better to get the Canon 600 ex rt and out it in the hot shoe and then buy the yn 600 ex rt or the shinny version for off camera? is this correct?
    Why can’t anyone make a trigger that sits in my hot shoe that works correctly?
    confused….

  18. Yuppa 2 years ago

    Basic review by Path-Tech:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uui40ynsc6A

  19. Yuppa 2 years ago

    This transmitter is no longer available on Shanny’s aliexpress store which suggests–to me–that the second run has commenced.

    Both the SN600C-RT and RF flashes (along with the SN-E3-RF transmitter, a copy of the YouPro Pro 6) are said to be in full production.

  20. Felipe 2 years ago

    so whats the difference between the yn600c-rt and the yn600ex-rt?

    • Felipe 2 years ago

      sorry i meant to say SN (Shanny)

    • Julius Lagula 2 years ago

      Yeah I’d like to know this as well.

      It appears the SN600C-RT is the equivalent of the YN600EX-RT, but I thought Shanny were going to get a SN600EX-RT.

      All these model numbers are so confusing :)

      • Yuppa 2 years ago

        1. YN600EX-RT is NOT equal to SN600C-RT.

        2. Compare the specs of the YN600EX-RT with the specs of the SN600C-RT.

        3. Post answer here.

        • Felipe 2 years ago

          thanks

          • Yuppa 2 years ago

            What’s the answer?

  21. Felipe 2 years ago

    Its hard to find information on shanny products, even on their website. The only specs I have of the sn600c-rt is on thephotogadget.

    It looks to me the only difference is the master/slave. Is there anything else I’m missing? If I don’t plan on using on camera flash would I be missing something for not getting the EX?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Felipe,

      The SN600C-RT only has an RT slave mode or receiver built inside.

      The SN600EX-RT will have an RT master and slave function built in (like the YongNuo YN600EX-RT, and Canon 600EX-RT).

      The SN600C-RT are only $130 though, so if you’re just after slave flashes for the RT system this flash may save some money over the full EX-RT master/slave flashes.

      The SN600C-RT just arrived here yesterday so I haven’t had a chance to test is yet. But for $10 more than the SN600SC you get the addition of the RT radio slave mode if you may need that later.

      The SN600C-RT does not appear to have the Canon or Nikon optic wireless master or slave modes though.

      .

      How did you intend to trigger the flashes off camera? Because there is also a $90 SN600C which works fine with the YN-622C.

      • vcbneo 2 years ago

        http://www.szshanny.com/en/products-30.html
        SN600C-RT specs: S1 & S2 Basic Optic Slave Modes
        My flash is on the way. Can’t wait to test out this RT slave and trigger.

      • Felipe 2 years ago

        I intend to get the sn-e3-rt and go full rt. Now that I have cleared the difference Im thinking about getting two 600c-rt and one 600ex just in case if I need to use on camera flash.

        Let us know how your version stands out.

        Another question I have is will the 600c-rt tell the the master/trigger that it has finished recycled and its ready to fire again? I know the sn-e3-rt doesn’t have that feature yet but hopefully it will soon.

        thanks

  22. Yuppa 2 years ago

    It’s just a SN600C with RT radio slave built-in. You won’t need an EX per your usage.

    As for universal RT transmitter compatibility between Canon, Yongnuo, and Shanny, who knows? Might be best to stay “in-house,” though Shanny seems to be going backward of late.

  23. Yuppa 2 years ago

    Amanda has informed me that the foot module is NOT going to be changed (fixed) after all. This could be an English issue, but I wouldn’t get my hopes up. It appears they will brighten the assist light and free up the dial.

    She has also informed me that the **NEW** RF system is NOT compatible with the very popular Canon 60D. The 600D and 7D are listed as compatible, however.

    YouPro “says” their system IS compatible with the 60D and it turns out that Shanny is using YouPro’s case and their own internals. This is almost impossible for me to swallow but I’ve asked several times and got the same answer so I’m not asking anymore.

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      So…

      If you own a 60D, you want RT not RF.

  24. christopher 2 years ago

    what about zoom the reflector of the flash? will this automatically?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Christopher,

      No the Canon RT system does not provide for remote flash zoom.

      And Shanny or YongNuo have not added this feature as yet.

  25. Yuppa 2 years ago

    Yigo @ Shanny has corrected the record: the new RF triggers ARE compatible with the 60D. YN622.ru reports the range to be almost twice that of the Yongnuo:

    YN622: 58 meters.
    SN-E3-RF: 133 meters.

  26. Miller 2 years ago

    Hi
    Can I add a yn receiver to a Meike mk-14xt ring flash and trigger with shanny sn rt transmitter second question can I trigger camera cannon 70d with transmitter shanny in my hand and Meike ringflash plugged in camera shoe tnx

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Miller,

      I don’t have a Meike ring flash so I won’t be able to confirm anything there. Though from what I have read the Meiki flashes do appear to work ok with the YongNuo TTL triggers in general.

      I don’t know if the Shanny SN-E3-RT will work with the new YongNuo YNE3-RX receiver yet (as my receiver has not arrived yet) though. Its quite likely that they won’t actually work together though, so you may need to use the YongNuo or Canon transmitter units instead. EDIT – First feedback is saying the SN-E3-RT and YNE3-RX receiver are working together!

      No I don’t think its possible to use the RT transmitter units as a wireless remote unless you have another RT unit attached to the camera hotshoe. I haven’t used the wireless remote feature much though so I’m not 100% sure, though its unlikely. In any case you need a second RT unit as receiver attached to the camera. So a separate simple wireless shutter release may be more practical and cost effective.

      • Author
        Flash Havoc 2 years ago

        UPDATE – First feedback is saying the SN-E3-RT and YNE3-RX receiver are actually working together!

  27. Aron 2 years ago

    Hi,

    I am looking for a budget solution for a remote triggered flash setup. I have been reading through the reviews here and it seems to be a rapidly moving space. Would anyone like to make a suggestion of what would be the best buy and when (I don’t mind waiting a while for the right product)?

    I have a Canon D70 and a Canon 430 EX II (optical slave) flash. I want to buy two more speedlites so I can have one on the shoe and two in softboxes or three in softboxes. I am not happy with the reliability of Canon’s optical slave mode but would like to keep using ETTL.

    Some ideas … would they work?
    – 1x Shanny SN-E3-RT and 2x SN600C (430 EX II in the shoe or optical slave)
    – 2x Shanny SN-E3-RT and 2x SN600C (430 EX II in the shoe or RF slave)
    – 1x Yangnuo YN-622C and 2x YN-568 EX II

    Any other ideas?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Aron,

      The SN-E3-RT are not directly compatible with the SN600C. You would need the SN600C-RT flashes which should be available in a couple of weeks (for around $130).

      If you’re not in a hurry, and you need the master flash on camera, then you may be better off holding off as you mention and waiting to see how this plays out.

      As there are not many master flash options available just yet, unless you want to pay $180 for the YN600EX-RT flashes, and a YNE3-RX receiver for your 430EX II.

      Shanny will have a SN600EX-RF very soon, which is a master flash for their RF system. Though a good transmitter unit is still missing until around mid year.

  28. Aron 2 years ago

    Thanks for such a quick response. The complexity in these mixes and matches is a bit much for my head. The good news is I don’t HAVE to have a master flash – it just seemed like a sensible thing to do if it was easy. What is more important is to use all three flashes at once.

    Without that requirement, what would the configuration (i.e. 1 x RF TX, 1 x RF receiver for the 430EXII and 2 x RF flashes) ideally look like, now or in the foreseeable future? Would Shanny or Yongnuo be my first choice?

  29. Felipe 2 years ago

    Anybody got the new batch of this sn-e3-rt? I asked to have the new batch when I purchased it last week but the dial still sucks, can anybody tell witch one is the new batch and witch is not?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Felipe,

      I just received a sample of the current SN-E3-RT, and yes unfortunately the dial appears if anything stiffer than the first version.

      I don’t know why they haven’t been able to improve the transmitter dial, because the flash units are much better.

      The AF light has improved though. Still not as bright as the flash units, but much more functional now.

      There is still movement in the camera hotshoe if you push the transmitter forward.

      I’ll have to wait for some sunshine to see if there is a new coating on the LCD screen or how much better it is.

      • Frank 2 years ago

        My new SN-E3-RT V2.1 lost twice connection with both Canon 600ex-rt outdoor in 6 meter distance. The main dial ……forget it. The dispay in bright sunlight is ok. The revisted SN600C-RT V1.03 still overexposures in HSS ETTL, sot so much as V1.02 but it it as it is. and Shanny does not publish firmware updates.

  30. badphoto 2 years ago

    Hi Elv
    The Shanny 600sc I had briefly can recycle full power under 2 seconds with Sanyo Eneloops. Can this Yongnuo flash do that?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi badphoto,

      I’m getting around 1.7 seconds for the SN600SC, and around 2 to 2.1 seconds for the YN-600EX-RT.

  31. Tony M 2 years ago

    I recently got a Sekonic L-358. I’ve seen that you can hook up transmitters like the Paul C Buff CyberSync transmitter to the Sekonic to fire your lights.

    Do you know if the shutter release port could function the same way?

    I’d toss my YN-E3-RT if I got that sort of functionality out of the Shanny!

  32. Manu 2 years ago

    When is the SN600EX-RT coming. Chinese holidays have passed so long ago now.
    I am planning to invest in a 3rd party flash system for my 70D and holding on to my purchase of YN600EX-RT + YN-E3-RT.
    Should I stop waiting and go with Yongnuo?
    Do you think Shanny’s will be better than Yongnuo since they have invested so much time into releasing this?

  33. Frank 2 years ago

    Hi Manu,
    i received three faulty Shanny items. The SN600C-RT V1.02 SN600C-RT V1.03 and the SN-E3-RT V2.1
    Shanny never releases firmware updates and as you can see the YN600EX-RT is still getting better with the latest 1.8.3 firmware.

  34. Frank 2 years ago

    http://flashhavoc.com/yongnuo-yn600ex-rt-speedlite-price-reduction/

    but there are a lot of faulty Yongnuo items too

  35. Jesse Patterson 2 years ago

    Hey everyone! Has anyone experienced any issues with the SN-E3-RT on the 7D Mark II and/or EOS M3? In ETTL, my SN-E3-RT is firing my Canon 600s at full power however, my flashes work well in manual mode on the 7D2. My SN-E3-RT works perfectly on my 70D and also, it doesn’t fire my 600s at all with my EOS M3.

    • Patrik 2 years ago

      Having the same problem with my recently bought SN-E3-RT on my 7D mk2 :-(
      Amanda at Shanny says they are working on it and has been very responding on my mails but several weeks have gone now and no results…
      Today I noticed that their homepage and facebook account seems to be closed. Hopefully this is temporary and that it doesn’t mean what I’m afraid of…

      • Author
        Flash Havoc 2 years ago

        Hi Patrik,

        Amanda has left Shanny unfortunately. You would need to contact Christina now instead – christina@szshanny.com

        I’m not sure about the Facebook page, though their website and Aliexpress store appear to be running as usual.

        • Patrik 2 years ago

          Ok, thanks!

          • Patrik 2 years ago

            I’ve tested SN-E3-RT together with a borrowed 70D yesterday and as for you Jessica, it works perfect, so it’s not any issues with hardware as I see it. The trouble is more or less to get a software update from Shanny. I’ve just got a response from Christina at Shanny and she says that “they will provide an update in the future”. Hmm that’s just great! Bying stuff which are more or less useless and wait for an update that probably will take forever to get (or worse: never get it) :-(

  36. Janaka Peiris 2 years ago

    Will this be compatible with Yongnuo YN-622C used as as receivers ?

    I had been using a YN-622C-TX as master and YN-622C as receivers, but it seems to be losing signals time to time, even within close range and the display of YN-622C-TX seems to be acting weird. So I’m trying to see if I can replace YN-622C-TX with this.

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      Nope. RT and non-RT (RF) do not mix.

      Shanny and Yougnuo are to be considered–from here on out–as being incompatible as well.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Janaka,

      No, as Yuppa mentions the RT and RF systems are not compatible.

      The recent YN-622C-TX (from January build) should now have around 75% of the range of the standard YN-622C (up from around 50% with the earlier YN-622C-TX).

      It sounds like your current transmitter is just faulty though anyway.

  37. Scott 2 years ago

    My Canon 6d and SN600C-RT are working great together, but when I add my SN-E3-RT to the mix I get more than one full stop of underexposure from the flash. All compensations are set to zero. It appears I have a faulty SN-E3-RT :-(

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Scott,

      I just checked with the 6D and I get around a stop of underexposure as well (using the SN-E3-RT as transmitter). So your particular transmitter is not at fault.

      This doesn’t happen with my 7D, exposures are pretty equal on and off camera.

      • vcbneo 2 years ago

        Wow Shanny is very consistent heh :-) joking aside. I recently upgraded to 6D. SN600C-RT is at least 1 stop overexposure, now pair with this SN-E3-RT it’s perfect. I just have to remember, when mount on camera flash, use FEC to reduce 1 stop, when off camera flash no FEC required.

  38. Frank 2 years ago

    Hello,
    I bought this based on your review and the dial on mine is still sticky and not as smooth as I had hoped for. I’m wondering if I got an old stock. As you mentioned in your review the first 100 batches had this problem along with the wobbly hotshoe. Have there been actually improvements with subsequent batches? I was hoping I wouldve gotten the ‘improved’ batches already.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Frank,

      Unfortunately I’m sorry, I posted the update on the SN-E3-RT transmitter in the SN600C-RT review (as I received the updated SN-E3-RT transmitter with the SN600C-RT flash) and I had meant to add that update to this review as well.

      I have added that now in red at the top of the review. I didn’t make a large warning of it in the SN600C-RT review as at the time I expected Shanny would still intend to rectify the issues in the near future. As far as I understand that is still not the case though as Shanny appear to have put the RT system aside for now to concentrate on the RF system which their engineer has more experience with.

      So no, there have not been updates to the dial or foot module unfortunatley. And unless your AF light is almost not visible then you would have the later version transmitter.

      And with that being the case, there are currently no better alternative to exchange the transmitter with. If you’re unhappy with the transmitter though you can contact christina at szshanny dot com. If you don’t receive a response or are not happy with their response please let me know.

      • Frank 2 years ago

        Thanks for the clarification. How does the Yongnuo transmitter compare in terms of the dial smoothness? It’s a shame really since the Shanny works well and has a bigger colored screen except i have to use two fingers to precisely make adjustments.

        I’m hoping the yongnuo is much better.

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 2 years ago

          I find the YongNuo dials are looser than the Canon dial, so in general quite easy to use. I have heard other people saying some others have had some issues with them as well though, and I can see that they may not always be perfect either.

          In general though, yes far better than the SN-E3-RT dials.

          Yongnuo appear to have fixed the range with the YN-E3-RT as well, which was previously the only main downside to those.

  39. Alterick Wilson 2 years ago

    Can the YN-ES-RT control the SN600C-RT?

  40. imagonman 2 years ago

    I tried 1 of these it did kinda work but I sent it back!! Why anyone would put their faith in this company getting a working RT system out is beyond foolish wishing. I’m sorry this Shanny is more like a Scammy/Shammy at this point! Later ……………………………………oink!

  41. Quandovu 1 year ago

    What is the different between SN-E3-RT and SN-E3-RTs as I found it being offered on Aliexpress ?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 1 year ago

      Hi Quandovu,

      Sorry I’m not sure on that, you would be best to check with Shanny.

    • luis3m 2 months ago

      SN-E3-RTs do not support Optic Wireless Master function !!

  42. patrik 1 year ago

    Hi!

    Just for your information. I’ve got tired waiting for an update on this to make it work on my 7Dmk2 so I bought a st-ex-rt (canon original) instead and after my first tests it seems to work perfect combined with the shanny SN600C-RT. It is slightly underexposing the pictures (1/3-2/3 stops). But when knowing that it is easy to compensate…

    BR
    Patrik

  43. Frank 11 months ago

    Hi Patrick,
    could you tell me if your C-RT is withFirmware 1.03 ? I own two C-RT, FW 1.02 does not sync with original canon, FW 1.03 is ok.

  44. Nermin 3 months ago

    Thanks for review.
    I have same unit. I buy it to upgrade my previous system with YN622C set of triggers. One thing disappointed me on SN-E3-RTs. I have backup MFT body Panasonic Lumix DMC G5 and I was able to use YN622C-TX in manual mode with it. I was hoping it should not be problem with SN-E3-RTs to use in manual mode with Lumix system but unfortunately id doesn’t work :( Middle pin at hot shoe just can’t be triggered by Panasonic camera as it can be with YN622C-TX …

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2016 FlashHavoc.com - PRIVACY POLICY

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?