SHANNY – SN600SN Speedlite Preview

SHANNY SN600SN

 

The Shanny SN600SN Speedlite with Optic Wireless Master and Slave function for Nikon are now available from $136 with shipping.

The SN600SN are built on the same flash body and hardware as the Canon version SN600SC, which have previously been reviewed and described in a lot more detail here.

So I won’t repeat all of that again in this post. This is just a quick hands on preview, as a number of Nikon owners have been waiting on this flash and a report on its performance.

The SN600SN are about 0.2 stops less powerful than the earlier Canon version SN600SC though (which basically equal the Canon 600EX-RT, and I would assume quite similar to the Nikon SB-910 as well).

 

SHANNY SN600SN

 

The SN600SN are a full Nikon Optic Wireless Master and Slave flash, designed basically as a similarly featured (though more economical) alternative to Nikon’s flagship SB-910.

Shanny do also have an Optic Wireless Slave only flash in the SN600N version, which have already been available for a few months now from around $92 shipped.

Neither of these flash models currently have any radio transceiver units built inside.

 

SN600SN FEATURES

 

  • Full Power – GN 60m (ISO 100 / 200mm)
  • HSS to 1/8000th
  • Flash Mode – ITTL /M / Multi
  • 1st Curtain Sync / 2nd Curtain Sync
  • FEC / FEB – 1/3rd Increments (±3 stops)
  • Manual Flash – 1/128 – 1/1 output control (1/3rd increments)
  • 20-200mm Auto and Manual Flash Zoom

 

  • Master and Slave Modes for Nikon Optic Wireless system
  • S1 & S2 Basic Optic Slave Modes

 

  • Full power recycle – from 1.8 seconds
  • Supports Multiple Flash Groups
  • Optic Channels – 4
  • Custom Functions
  • Sound Prompt
  • Heat Protection
  • LCD Back Light Can be Kept On
  • Crop Sensor Auto Zoom Option

 

  • AF Assist Light
  • Full 360 Degree Swivel and Tilt Head (With Tilt Lock Button)
  • Large Clear Dot Matrix LCD Screen
  • Canon Like Interface
  • Fast Clamping Metal Foot with Locking Pin (And Clamps Well)
  • Good Build Quality

 

  • External Battery Port
  • PC Sync Port
  • 2.5mm Communication Port (For Possible Future Radio Receiver)

 

 

LIMITATIONS

  • No USB Port (Though Firmware Updates May be Possible Via a Future Radio Receiver Unit).
  • No Current Radio Compatibility
  • AF Assist Light is Good, Though Not Great
  • External HV Battery Port is Canon Style Socket (in a Nikon Flash)
  • No Canon Optic Wireless Slave Mode

 

PERFORMANCE OVERVIEW

 

In a nutshell all the functions of the SN600SN appear to be working quite well, even when used with the YongNuo YN-622N radio transceivers (see the notes on that further below though).

Though I did find the Nikon Optic wireless range when used as a slave flash appears to be around 60% of the genuine Nikon flash units.

Otherwise the SN600SN, like most Shanny flash models, are nice solid feeling flash units with very good power and recycle times, and a nice large clear LCD display. The SN600SN even fit a lot more snugly into the camera hotshoe than the Nikon flashes.

The one main feature the SN600SN currently lack is a USB port for firmware updates. Again you can read more detail on the physical design and features of the Shanny flashes in the SN600SC review here.

 

ITTL EXPOSURES

UPDATE – I originally reported seeing some difference in ITTL exposures between the SN600SN and a Nikon SB-700 flash.

Though this appears to be due to my own inexperience with the Nikon system, and changing the camera to spot metering mode removed the discrepancies, and the SN600SN is providing very similar exposures to the genuine Nikon flash.

FEC (Flash Exposure Compensation) also appears to be working correctly.

 

OPTIC WIRELESS RANGE

The Nikon optic wireless flash system is renowned for its exceptional range, even outdoors in bright light. With both the basic S-U4 optic slave mode, and the full AWL / CLS optic wireless ITTL system.

In SU-4 mode, with straight line of sight to the flashes slave sensor, and in open shade, I found the SN600SN was also very good, and actually reach around 90% of the distance of the SB-700.

In the same conditions when using the Advance Wireless Lighting / CLS mode, the SN600SN only reached around 50% to 60% of the distance of the SB-700, even if only using remote manual power settings (no ITTL).

So it appears the SN600SN perform more in the 20 meter range of the Canon flashes they were originally designed after. Which is not particularly bad, its just that the Nikon flashes are very good with this.

Used as a master unit there was no difference in range between the Shanny and Nikon flashes (as the pre-flash pulses they both output would likely be of similar intensity).

 

USB PORT / FIRMWARE UPDATES

Unfortunately there is no USB port currently available in the SN600SN speedlite. Which is a pity, and a little bit of a strange decision, as a number of other Shanny flash models already have USB ports included now.

The SN600SN are a variation of the SN600SC for Canon though, which were one of Shanny’s earlier flash models.

And both of these flash models were originally intended to, and may possibly have, an SN-E3-MD radio receiver module available in the future, which would plug into the side of the flash, and include their own USB port. That port can then be used to update both the receiver and the flash units firmware as needed.

Shanny have postponed the release of the SN-E3-MD receiver a number of times though. And they have also changed their product plans numerous times. So I don’t think anything can be guaranteed at this point.

At this stage though, the SN600SN do not have any method of firmware updates available. So if any early bugs are found or confirmed, then the flash units would currently need to be exchanged to resolve those.

 

YONGNUO YN-622N COMPATIBILITY

SHANNY_SC600SC_1c450

Quite a number of Nikon owners  have been waiting on the SN600SN flash to be released, so that they could be used as with the popular YongNuo YN-622N radio triggers.

As the previously available SN600N flashes where not completely compatible with the YN-622N. ITTL worked ok, though remote manual power setting would not change.

 

The good news is that as far as I can tell the SN600SN are working quite well with the YN-622N, in both manual and TTL use. Either as a slave flash, or master unit mounted on top of a YN-622N on camera.

Again I’m not that familiar with the Nikon system, though I didn’t run into any discrepancies comparing with the Nikon SB-700 flash. Nikon users with more experience could possibly discover more subtle issues though.

 

The not so good news is that Shanny have had a change of strategy, and have decided not to pursue ongoing compatibility support with YongNuo or other third party products.

This does not mean the flashes will necessarily (or intentionally) have any less compatibility, just that Shanny will not be responsible for, or necessarily provide solutions to any compatibility issues.

So at this stage its really buyer beware if you intend to mix these products. Which is generally the same situation with mixing most other third party gear anyway.

At this stage original Nikon flashes, or the YongNuo YN-568EX or YN-565EX are still the main safest options with the YN-622N triggers (though at the time of writing this the Nikon version YN-568EX do not have a master function available, as the SN600SN has).

 

Unfortunately I don’t have Nikon compatible Phottix Odin, or Pixel King Pro triggers to test at this stage. Though if the SN600SC are any indication, compatibility with either of those TTL radio trigger systems is fairly unlikely.

 

 

INTERFACE

 

The SN600SN like all current Shanny flash model use the Canon 600EX-RT style interface. No doubt this will be a little foreign to Nikon Speedlight users, though it is fairly straight forward and intuitive.

A sticky main control dial has been an issue with Shanny flashes, though the SN600SN are likely as good as they have been so far. The original Nikon dials are silky smooth though, compared to even the original Canon 600EX-RT, so again Nikon speedlight users are likely to really notice the difference here.

The Shanny LCD displays are not very high resolution compared to most other dot matrix displays. Though if anything this has turned out to be an advantage, with the characters easy to read from a distance.

SHANNY SN600SN

 

The SN600SN’s optic wireless master interface is a good improvement over the Canon version, having all three remote flash groups, and the on-camera flash group, all displayed on the screen at once.

Each group can be set to ITTL, Manual, or Off. So ITTL and Manual groups can be mixed and used at the same time (which the Nikon SB-700 does not allow, though the SB-910 does).

Adjusting the flash groups takes a little practice, though its quite fast once your’re familiar with the buttons used.

The optic master function otherwise appears to operate as it should, in ITTL and Manual.

 

SHANNY SN600SN

 

Apart from a slightly lower power, the SN600SN are otherwise the same flash body as the Canon version SN600SC, and more detail on recycle times, flash patterns, AF light, ports etc can be seen in the SN600SC review here.

One feature the SN600SN do actually lack over the SN600SC is an optic wireless slave mode for both Canon and Nikon (having Nikon slave mode only, like the SB-910 has).

 

SN600SN SPECS

 

Click to Expand

Guide number: GN60(ISO100,200mm)

Wireless Flash: Optical pulse transmission Master/Slave

Flash mode: ITTL, M, MULTI

Zoom range: Auto, 20~200mm (When using wide angle dispersion plate is 14 mm)

High speed sync: 1/8000s

Master flash: Master optical pulse signal transmission

Slave flash:  Optical pulse SLAVE Nikon, light trigger S1/S2

Shutter synchronization: High Speed Sync, Front-curtain Sync and Rear Sync

Flash exposure compensation: Support (with an increment of 1/3 gear in +/-3 gear)

Bracket exposure: Support

Flash exposure lock: Support

Modeling flash: Support

AF assist-focus: Support

Manual flash:  1/128~1/1Hz (with an increment of 1/3 gear)

Frequency flash: 1~199Hz

Recycle time: Quick flash less than 2s, ordinary flash less than 3s

Wireless transmission distance: optical pulse: about 20m

Radio transmission channels: optical pulse: 4

Flash groups: Support for multiple flash grouping

Power supply: 4×AAsize batteries (Alkaline or Ni-MH is usable)

External interface: Hot-shoe, PC Sync Port, External Battery Port, Expansion Interface

Software upgrade: –

Battery life: Flash 100~700 times

Measurement: 79.7(L)×142.9(W)×125.4(H)mm

Net weight: About 420g (not including batteries)

 

COMPATIBLE CAMERAS

 

NIKON – D3, D810, D800, D800E, D700, D750, D610, D600, D300s, D300, D200, D7100, D7000, D90, D80, D5300, D5200, D5100, D5000, D3000, D3100, D3200 ,D3300

Compatibility with other camera models still needs to be tested.

 

SUMMARY

 

The Shanny SN600SN look to be a nice alternative to the Nikon SB-910, offering similar functions at a fraction of the price. And around 0.5 stops more power than the SB-700, and more functionality.

The optic wireless range is not quite as good as the original Nikon speedlights, though still quite decent, and radio triggers are likely the best solution for better range with off camera use anyway.

The lack of USB port is really a pity at this stage of the game, and would have provided more buyer confidence. Though YongNuo’s YN-568EX do not currently provide a USB port either.

A Canon style HV battery port may be a little inconvenient for Nikon owners though it is much better than not port at all (like the YN-568EX).

Function with the YN-622N appears to be quite good now, though keep in mind Shanny will no longer be responsible for any current or future compatibility issues there.

 

PRICE AND AVAILABILITY

 

The Shanny SN600SN for Nikon are available now from $136 with shipping –

Ebay, Amazon, UK.

 

The SN600N (With Optic Slave Mode only) from $92 with shipping –

Ebay, Amazon, UK.

 

Shanny – Website, Aliexpress.

Shanny – Flash Models Detailed

 

 

.

30 Comments
  1. Yuppa 2 years ago

    It’s NOT unfortunate that Shanny omitted a USB port on this–or anything they make–as I’ve been told repeatedly that ONLY the factory can use the USB port, anyway.

    Why put a USB port on an electronic device that the end-user can’t use? As a lint trap, maybe?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Yuppa,

      I think that must be a misunderstanding (within Shanny).

      There is discussion of the first user firmware update coming to add features for the SN600C-RF at the moment.

  2. Nikolay 2 years ago

    I can see in the manufacturer website that the GN of the flash is 62, not 60 as you pointed in the review.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Nikolay,

      Yes they appear to get these numbers mixed up in various places, though the printed manual that comes with the SN600SN states GN 60.

      If its any help these are the results I tested between the models –

      YN-568EX – F8
      YN-600EX-RT – F8

      SN600C-RF – F8
      SN600C-RT – F8

      SN600C – F8 + 0.1
      SN600N – F8 + 0.1
      SN600SN – F8 + 0.1

      SN600S – F8 + 0.3
      SN600SC – F8 + 0.3

      600EX-RT – F8 +0.3

      So I would think the SN600SN are meant to be more of the GN 60.

      I’m not sure what has happened along the way there, though I assumed Shanny have likely changed the capacitors or something along those lines, and all the flashes would likely be dialed down a little now. Though I’m not really sure. There’s not a huge amount in it anyway.

  3. Robert T. Johnson 2 years ago

    I own the following: Shanny SN600N and Yongnuo YN-622N-TX. The SN600N does work with the YN622N in TTL mode, in manual power mode the SN600N only fires without the ability to adjust the manual power up or down from the YN622N. I also own Nikon SB600 which works in both modes with the YN622N in TTL and manual power adjustment mode.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Robert,

      Thanks for that, I did mention somewhere there that the SN600N did not work with manual power adjustments on the YN-622N.

      How are the ITTL exposures on your SN600N compared to the SB-600? Because the SN600N and SN600SN should be the same.

      • Robert T. Johnson 2 years ago

        Exposures are the same as found on the SB600, I am able to adjust the manual power levels of both flashes on the SB600 and SN600N using the YN-622N’s with no problems with either the exposure or functions, just remember in order to have control over either flash the flash must be set to TTL mode and using the YN-622N in either TTL or Manual functions as expected. In my opinion the YN-622N’s have set the standards in functions and price, it’s very hard to beat in my opinion and for my setup.

    • Robert T. Johnson 2 years ago

      Rechecked the functions of the YN-622N and SN600N and it does indeed work in the manual modes also, as long as the flash is in TTL mode and setting the YN-622N in manual mode you are able to adjust the manual power levels with no problems.

      • Robert T. Johnson 2 years ago

        I read somewhere that the SN600N fires a pre-flash which is true and the reason why exposures are not correct when using a light meter, what I have found is the following when using the SN600N, YN622N and Sekonic L358 light meter with Raidopopper module installed and Radiopopper JRX connected to the syn port of the SN600N to fire the flash. 1. First you must set the flash to TTL mode with YN622N connected to flash, with YN-622N-TX installed on the camera and set to manual mode, set the power level desired and take a picture at that power level. 2. Next take your meter reading to obtain the correct exposure.
        The reason for taking a picture after setting the power level, the power levels are transmitted to the YN622N and relayed to the SN600N and that power level remains in the flash until the power level is changed from the TX unit on the camera and transmitted by way of taking a picture, just pressing the button half way does not transmit the information.

  4. Craig 2 years ago

    Are they planning to have an optional clip-on radio unit to add radio capability to these similar to the Canon version?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Craig,

      It doesn’t look like there will be a clip-on radio receiver coming for the SN600SN.

  5. Rich 2 years ago

    So if I understand correctly, when used optically off camera the SN600SN has a tendency to underexpose but when used with the 622N the exposures were in line with the SB700 and exposing correctly? Or did the Shanny still slightly underexpose?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Rich,

      Sorry I posted an update a few comments below. It appears my issue was the cameras metering mode. And when set to Spot metering all exposures are equal.

      I’ll do some fill flash tests tomorrow to check all is ok there.

  6. Nevil 2 years ago

    Thats the reason im weary to get a 3rd party flash to use on the camera. Ttl accuracy. I had the 568/565 and they just arent as accurate

    Im certain theres some proprietary software/hardware between the oem camera/flash that lets them communicate better than a 3rd party flash.

    I wanted to get the sn600sn to use as off camera but also as a backup to my 700/800/900 flashes to use on camera if the need arises jic.

    I think ill just get another 560III and an sb910

    Thank you for ur tine and effort with the review

    One think I will note is the display scale of power levels vs the 560III instead of the 560III which is in big numbers abd very legible vs the dot which runs on the line of the scale and very hard to see under stress in a wedding. Its just a small dot and this is a big problem. That was not thought out well imo. I can have 560III on a light stand and 10ft from me and wake it and I can clearly see the 1/32 +2/3 setting and the shanny just shows a small dot where its sitting on a libe between 1/32 and 1/16 power.
    I will pass

  7. Author
    Flash Havoc 2 years ago

    UPDATE – Guys I did some more research on the Nikon system today, and the underexposure issues I was seeing was definitely at least partly due do my own inexperience with the Nikon system.

    If I set the camera (D7000) to spot metering, then the SN600SN and SB-700 ITTL exposures are almost identical.

    From what I’m reading in the Nikon manual, using spot metering changes the cameras Flash Control Mode from I-TTL balanced fill flash, to Standard I-TTL flash.

    So although the SN600SN is not increasing in exposure like the SB-700 etc does with the Camera set to Centre-weighted or Matrix metering, it may not need to be doing that in images with no ambient light as I was testing.

    I’ll do some fill flash comparisons in daylight tomorrow to try and confirm this. Though it does appear in Standard I-TTL flash mode the SN600SN exposures are very good in comparison to the genuine Nikon flashes.

    • Nevil 2 years ago

      Yes spot metering will screw it up. Matrix Balanced fill is crap with the slightest hint of anythibg bright or backlit with the subject in shade so i use center.

      What i will saybis this. With all the tech amazments and features added to cameras nothibg has changed in terms of accuracy since the f5 i was using weddings which was supposed to be a milestone with the 1005 pixel 3d COLOR matrix metetring “supposedly” havibg 50000 actual photographic scenes in it. But flash accuracy is still a hit miss event. Nothibg has advanced with accuracy. Same shit

  8. Rich 2 years ago

    Promising findings are good. Thank you for all your hard work on the reviews for us to pick apart. I’m going to order one this week and run it thru the paces with a SB910 and see how it fares. I’ll report back what I find, although getting my hands on it will take a few weeks.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      That would be great, thanks Rich.

      I did more testing with ambient light in the image today, and I can confirm the SN600SN is not responding to the cameras metering modes as the Nikon flashes do. Without much experience with the Nikon flash system though I don’t know if that is really an issue or not.

      I posted some comparison images here (just shooting the front of a softbox as a simple white subject).

      The first set shows how much the Nikon flash can vary with metering modes, and the second set shows how the variation is not always so obvious. Filling the frame with the subject is not the only reason for the smaller variation though, lots of thing can effect this.

      The SN600SN does not change with metering modes though so the exposures are always consistent.

  9. John 2 years ago

    I remember you started with Yongnuo sometime back. And today, there is SHANNY, PIXEL, TRIOPO. Man my head is exploding seeing all these options.

    So, I’ll keep it simple. I want to start learning flash photography and also use flash for 2 primary purpose, product and event photography.
    I want to know which is the best sub US $ 80 flash with TTL. I know I’m asking too much but if possible with Wirelesss – Radio transmission like X800C.

    Thanks

    • John 2 years ago

      Please, reply Flash Havoc.

      • Craig 2 years ago

        Flash Havoc

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi John,

      The best bang for buck TTL and HSS enabled flashes at the moment would be the Shanny SN600C, and Pixel Mago, both around $92 shipped.

      The YongNuo YN-500EX are around $86, and have TTL and HSS, though around 1/2 a stop less powerful than the flashes above.

      If you don’t need HSS, then the YongNuo YN-565EX II are around $84.

      To go any cheaper you’re generally making big compromises (generally half the power to start with) to save a smaller amount of money.

      I don’t think there are any TTL enabled radio flashes available under $80. If you want radio built in for that price it would be best to look at the remote manual YongNuo YN560 IV flashes and YN560-TX transmitter.

      That’s one of the best bang for buck budget systems available, though remote manual only.

      For budget TTL radio triggers you would be best to go with the YN-622C / YN-622C-TX.

      And in that case you may have to consider your flash choice more carefully, as the Pixel Mago are not compatible, and the Shanny SN600C currently are, though may not be with future YongNuo firware updates etc.

      So that leaves you with the YN-565EX II, YN-500EX, or more expensive ($105) YN-568EX II (with HSS).

      And to make things interesting, you can now buy the YN600EX-RT for around the same price (or less) than those flashes + YN-622C.

      The one handy thing about the YN-622C now though, is that they can operate as a remote manual receiver to the YN560-TX.

      So you could get one TTL flash (YN-565EX II, YN-568EX II etc) for on camera TTL use. And then still use that off camera in a cheaper remote manual YN560 IV / YN560-TX system, just by adding a YN-622C receiver to your TTL flash.

      If you’re not intending to get a lot of flashes though, you may just want to get more YN-565EX II and YN-622C etc later.

      So you’re going to have to compromise, or extend your budget. It’s really not worth trying to get anything cheaper, as you’ll very likely just pay twice.

  10. Tards57 2 years ago

    Does the SN600SN work in Master mode with the yn-622n trigger, passing the group settings on the flash through the 622n trigger to remote flashes equipped with 622’s and slave flashes.
    In this mode does the SN600SN master on-camera allow the on-camera flash to still work as a fill flash along with the remote off-camera flashes.
    Can all flashes be controlled from the on-camera flash settings?

    • jack 2 years ago

      You meams wireless radio master control by 622n’s ?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Tards57,

      Yes as far as I can see the SN600SN currently have full function and control as a master when mounted on the YN-622N transmitter’s pass through hotshoe.

      I only tested this with one off camera flash though, and as mentioned I’m not that familiar with the Nikon system, so its possible you may discover some quirks somewhere that I didn’t notice.

      And Shanny will not be rectifying any compatibility issues if found. YongNuo could very well update new YN-622N introducing compatibility issues. That could easily happen with new YN-622N-TX firmware updates as well.

  11. vince 2 years ago

    Are the Aputure plus 2.4 triggers compatible with the Shanny sn600-sn for off camera flash

  12. Edward 2 years ago

    I have recently purchased an SN600SN for my Nikon dslr and cannot fault it. It appears to be very well designed and made and would say it’s pretty well the equal of the Nikon Speedlight. If I have a grouse it is the dreadful instruction sheet that comes with it. It also comes with an equally well made pouch and stand, all contained in a quality box.

  13. Patrik 2 years ago

    Hi
    I have problem to select the FX mode in FX/DF can’t get to FX
    I do like this long pres on Sm/c.fn no4 but can’t get it to FX can anyone help me oute here.

  14. Jim Bauer 2 years ago

    I am having the same problem as Patric. I have problem to select the FX mode in FX/DF can’t get to FX

  15. Terry 1 year ago

    I recently purchased a Shanny SN600sn, I’ve been trying it out with the Pocket wizard Flex system, although it fires the flash it won’t seem to work with the AC3 unit properly, so I can’t adjust the exposure up or down from the camera using the AC3, it seems to adjust in manual mode on the AC3 but only either very high or very low with nothing in between, and it won’t adjust at all on automatic on the AC3, is this normal as it seems quite odd to me

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2016 FlashHavoc.com - PRIVACY POLICY

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?