YongNuo YN-622C ETTL Trigger Review

Time to toss the Manual triggers? Maybe not quite, but the new YongNuo YN-622C are certainly going to shake things up, at least for Canon speedlite users.

The original YN RF-602 triggers were a breakthrough for budget reliable triggers, and the YN-622C looking set to do the same for Remote Manual, TTL and HSS triggers. We are already seeing listings as low as $75 a pair shipped. Which is less than a mid range set of manual-only triggers.

If you use speedlites at all, the convenience of remote control from the camera is really hard to overlook at this price, even if it’s just for the remote Manual control. TTL and HSS may be just a bonus.


UPDATE – June 2014 - The YN-622C-TX transmitter units are now also available to control YN-622C as receiver units. The YN-622C-TX provides a faster built in LCD interface, and also provides significant added features like the ability to mix Remote Manual and TTL groups at the same time.

UPDATE – January 2015 - YN-622C units produced after December 15th 2014 now provide direct compatibility with the remote manual YN560-TX transmitter units.

UPDATE – August 2015 - YN622C II are now available, adding a quick release lever locking hotshoe, USB port for firmware updates, and easily selectable YN560-RX mode.

UPDATE – August 2015 - YN685 Speedlites are now available, with YN-622C and RF-603 / YN-560 radio receivers built inside.




The YN-622C allow full Remote Manual Power Control, as well as HSS, and ETTL from the Canon camera flash control menu (requires camera with flash control menu and compatible flashes).

The YN-622C allow ETTL Ratios, and they have a pass through style hotshoe on top which allows flash on camera use in ETTL or Manual. As well as a basic focus assist light which works reasonably well.

Being transceiver units (both transmitter and receiver in the same unit) allows for back up transmitter units. And build quality is generally very good for the low price (though there have been some minor quality control issues at times).

YongNuo also have the advantage of having a bunch of their own inexpensive compatible flash units, even a HSS version in the YN-568EX II already selling at $105 and lower.

The one ever important omission though is the lack of USB port for firmware updates. UPDATE – USB ports are now included withe YN622C II models.




UPDATE 2015 – The YN-622C have been available for a number of years now and have set the standard for inexpensive ETTL triggers. They are now easily the most popular TTL triggers currently sold.

The YN-622C where reasonably stable and reliable when first released in 2012, and with numerous software and hardware updates over the years they have improved further to be generally quite hassle free.

Providing quite complex processing (compared to simple manual radio triggers) it is still possible for the YN-622C to lose communication on occasions. And this usually just requires turning the transmitter unit on and off to quickly reboot the system before they return to normal use again.

If issues still remain then a quick Factory Reset of all the units usually resolves these. If you’re experiencing any unusual behavior a Factory Reset will often resolve those.

For the price there is no question the YN-622C are generally exceptional value. Though like anything built to a price the YN-622C production can suffer from quality control issue from time to time, so it pays to take note of the sellers return / exchange policy.

YongNuo themselves will provide 12 months warranty from date of manufacture, though you will be required to pay return shipping costs to China.


Back to 2012 -

So far all indications are very good, everything seems to be working as advertised. No misfires or random fires and range is around 50-60 meters (and sometimes more line of sight), which is generally enough.

I had one small issue from the start where the camera would not go over x-sync without a HSS flash attached, though a quick factory reset of the triggers resolved that, and no problems since. Note – If you ever do have an issue, or suspect lack of compatibility with a camera or flash etc try the Factory Reset.

The convenience of remote Manual control capability alone is really great for the price, then the ETTL and HSS are very handy too. The AF assist light is also something I have been campaigning for for a long time, and it does a reasonable decent job.

The only issues I noticed otherwise were the test fire button is not so easy to feel for on the side of the case, and you can easily bump the channel button instead putting the Tx off channel accidentally. I’m going to stick something onto the test button just so its raised a little and I can feel where it is easily.

The other thing is the locking rings are far too small and it can be hard to tighten and loosen on the camera sometimes. The 622C case is also flat on top which is not friendly to locking ring access on the pass through shoe either. That seems ok with most flash units, but placing another trigger on top for example, also with a small locking ring, is almost impossible to access.

Note – the YN622C II now resolve the locking ring issues by providing a quick release lever locking foot.



  • ETTL Ratios and FEC set from the camera menu (ALL/ A:B/ A:B C)
  • HSS (High Speed Sync) up to 1/8000th (with compatible flash units)
  • Remote Manual Power Control in 3 groups from the camera menu
  • Flash On Camera in ETTL or Manual via Pass Through Hotshoe
  • Mix ETTL on camera flash with manual off camera (must be set directly on flash)
  • Good Focus Assist light on the Tx for low light focusing
  • FEL (flash exposure lock)
  • Test Fire Button on TX – Allows light meter use in remote manual
  • Up to 6 stops of FEC Flash Exposure Compensation in TTL (3 stops set direct on the flash)
  • Remote Flash Zoom Setting from camera (can override).
  • Second Curtain Sync
  • Supersync – up to 1/8000th shutter speed with studio lights (results depends on camera & lights used)
  • LCD Live view triggering
  • Settings saved automatically
  • Transceivers means there are back up transmitter units
  • Supports single contact pin camera & flash triggering, and non Canon camera use like Nikon etc
  • A number of inexpensive compatible flash options
  • Regular AA batteries
  • 300v safe trigger voltage via PC sync cord
    (NOTE – The hotshoe for speedlites is ony 6 – 12 volt safe trigger voltage)



  • No USB Port for firmware updates – Resolved with YN622C II
  • Canon flash control menu is not ideal (but much better than no remote control)
  • ETTL Ratios set remotely are limited to 1:1, 1:2 style ratios instead of FEC via groups (like ST-E3 etc).
  • Turning a group off remotely in manual power control is limited to choosing A:B or A:B:C
  • Mixing ETTL and manual groups is not possible via the remote menu (can be set directly on the flash)

UPDATE - June 2014 – The YN-622C-TX transmitter units have now Resolved most of the limitations above.

  • Locking rings are smaller than ideal  – Resolved with YN622C II
  • Channel Button is easy to bump off channel – Resolved with YN622C II
  • No shutter release feature – Resolved with YN622C-TX
  • Test Fire Button is Difficult to Feel.
  • Low 6 to 12 volt safe trigger voltage for speedlight mounting.
    (300v safe trigger voltage is also available through the PC sync port )







The functions available with the 662C do depend on camera and flash models used, and they are basically split into Type A & B Cameras (and Mark I & II style flashes).

TYPE A Cameras – with Camera Flash Control Menu

Manual – Full Remote Manual Power Control in 3 groups from the camera menu
ETTL – Full ETTL Ratio Control and FEC in 3 groups from the camera menu

1Dx, 1Ds III,  1D IV,  1D III,
6D, 5D III,  5D II,
7D,  70D, 60D,  50D,  40D,
650D T4i,  600D T3i,  550D T2i,  500D T1i,  450D XSi,
1100D T3,  1000D XS.

Powershot G12 – So far we have user confirmation the G12 will work in both ETTL (with FEC from the camera) and Manual Power Level controlled via the camera Flash Control Menu. (ETTL ratios or multiple Manual groups are yet to be confirmed).

If you can confirm functions working with any of the G series cameras please let us know in the comments. Thanks!


TYPE B Cameras – without external flash control menu

Manual – You must set the manual power level directly on the flash
ETTL – Global FEC control is available from the camera, but not ratios. Individual FEC can be set directly on each flash to achieve a ratio though.

1D II,  1D
5D Original,
30D,  20D,  10D,
350D XT,  400D XTi,  300D D-Rebel,





Full Remote Control

Flashes that will support remote flash control through the camera menu.
Manual – Full Remote Manual Power Control in 3 groups from the camera menu.
ETTL – Full ETT Ratio Control and FEC in 3 groups from the camera menu.

Canon - 600EX(RT), 580EX II, 430EX II, 320EX, 270EX II
Phottix – Mitros
YongNuo (with HSS) – YN568EX II, YN568EX, YN500EX
YongNuo (without HSS) YN565EX C, YN565 II C, YN468 II C, YN467 II C, YN465 C
Nissin (with HSS) – Di866 II – may require a factory settings reset to function correctly (and in manual etc) with the 622c
Metz – 58 AF-2, 48 AF-1 (possibly AF-56 and AF-50 yet to be confirmed)

Partial Control

Flashes that do not support remote manual flash control through the camera menu.
Manual – You must set the manual power level directly on the flash.
ETTL – Global FEC control is available from the camera. Ratios may be available, though individual FEC can also be set directly on each flash to achieve a ratio if needed.

Canon – 580EX, 550EX, 430EX
Metz – 54mz4, 54mz3 (requires M5 firmware in the SCA foot)
Nissin (without HSS) – Di622 II
Nissin (with HSS) – Di866
Sigma – 500 DG Super, 530 DG Super
Sunpak – PZ42X – Confirmed ETTL and FEC from the camera – No HSS

YN-568EX and YN-622C



The YN-622C also have a feature called Mixed Mode. This has basically 2 main functions –

Type A Cameras - this allows mixing of ETTL and Manual by allowing you to set ETTL, Manual (or Multi) on any flash, including the on camera flash, by making settings directly on the flashes themselves.

FEC from the camera will still be applied globally to any flashes set to ETTL, and you can also set FEC individually directly on each flash unit.

There is no remote Manual power control for the off camera flashes in this mode, but this is still well designed for wedding / event photographers etc who may require an ETTL flash on camera, as well as some remote manual flashes to help lift the background light in the room or create rim lights etc. The Canon menu system would not normally allow mixed ETTL and manual otherwise.

Type B Cameras – Because Type B cameras do not have a flash control menu for remote control of the flash units, they should always be set to mixed mode so that Manual power levels or FEC can then be set directly on the flashes units themselves. This also sets the camera to HSS by default so that will start as soon as you go over the cameras x-sync shutter speed.

Setting Mixed Mode - Mixed Mode only needs to be set on the 622C mounted on the camera (by holding the Channel button for a few seconds).

Setting a receiver to mixed mode allows the zoom on the flash attached to it to be set manually, separate from the camera menu zoom setting.




Its easy to see where YongNuo got their inspiration for the 662C. The case is almost identical in size to the Pixel King, except for the bulge on the one side of the King which holds that all important USB port which the 622C misses out on.

The other addition as seen below is the extra button on the side which is a dedicated test fire button, something the Kings desperately lacked. Both units have screw lock PC sync ports which are not ideal, but do the job.

Locking rings on both units are smaller than ideal, I already had to use pliers to unlock the ring to remove the trigger from the camera once. And this is more important with the YN-622C as it needs to secure a flash on top of the pass through hotshoe when mounted on camera as well.

YN-622C & Pixel King



Batteries used are standard AA and appear to be lasting well.

Note – due to their higher voltage its often best to use good Alkaline Energizer of Duracell batteries rather than rechargeable NiMH batteries.

The case is well finished and feels quite solid.

YN-622C Base



Because the YN-622C are transceivers they are exactly the same unit for both transmitter and receiver. So they have the same metal foot with TTL contacts on all units, and therefore no threaded mounting hole on the base. This means that if your umbrella swivel etc does not have a cold shoe already, you will need some form of coldshoe with threaded mounting hole in the base to attach a 5/8 stud etc.

The Frio plastic type shoes appear to be gaining popularity, I haven’t tried those but I’ve been very happy with the metal clamping coldshoes shown from flashzebra.com, or the original Stroboframe. There are some dodgy versions out there otherwise unfortunately.

YN-622C - Foot & Shoe

Flash On Camera / Pass Through Hotshoe


The 622C have an ETTL Pass Through style Hotshoe on top which allows a full ETTL flash to be used on top mounted on the camera.

A Flash mounted on top of the 622C on camera is definitely a little more firm fitting than the Pixel Kings, but still not as neat as the Phottix Strato II for example which have pretty much set the standard for a neat fit so far.

This is important because a flash on camera with the head constantly tilted and swiveled puts a lot of stress on the trigger shoe and foot, and any movement there can quickly compound, eventually causing the TTL contacts to loose communication and become unreliable.

My personal thoughts on pass through hotshoes are (unless exceptionally well made) that they are never going to be an ideal solution for constant serious flash on camera use. But this is a really important feature for many wedding and event photographers, and given the current lack of other options (other than the high priced 600EX-RT) I think a lot of people will be giving the 622C a try.


Flash On Camera Function


There are basically 2 options here –

One option is the Mixed Mode mentioned above, where the flash on camera can be set to ETTL or Manual independently of the off camera flashes.

So for example the flash on camera could be set to ETTL, and the off camera flashes could then be used in manual to help lift the ambient light in a room. You loose remote power control of the Manual set flashes, but at least this allows mixed ETTL and Manual.

The other option is the flash on camera is simply treated as group A from the camera’s Flash Control Menu. So all flashes on and off camera can either be in ETTL or Manual, and all remotely controlled from the camera menu.

The flash on camera zoom setting is intentionally NOT controlled by the camera flash control menu so that it can be set separately to the off camera units, or set to auto to follow the lense like a regular flash on camera. Again this is well thought out for on and off camera flash use (unlike the Kings zoom function which can be hard to tame).


Flash Remote Control


The flash remote control capability of the YN-622C is determined, and to some degree limited, by the Canon flash control menu. Having been spoiled with the Phottix Odin and PocketWizard AC3 I can’t say I’m a fan of the Canon menu, but it is often better than the flash interface itself, and certainly much better than no remote control of flashes at all.

YN-568EX YN-622C Flash Control Menu


To start controlling more than one group (on or off camera) you first go to the Wireless Function and select Enable (the flash on camera will always be treated as group A) –

YN-622C Wireless Function


Manual - You can select up to 3 groups and simply adjust the manual power level of each separately in 1/3rd stops (or the graduations as set in your camera options). Three groups on would be set to A:B:C. The other options are A:B for 2 groups, or ALL to fire all groups at the same setting. One small catch here is that you can’t simply turn off say group B for example from the camera. You would need to switch the flash off itself, or possibly just wind the power right down on the camera.

YN-622C Manual Firing Group


ETTL Ratio – With the Canon system you really only have a ratio available between 2 groups at most (A & B). The third group C can only be a background light, if you aim C at the subject it can blow out the exposure. The group C is therefore adjusted with separate FEC.

The A & B ratio is adjusted in the old system of 1:1, 1:2, 1:4 etc. That’s pretty outdated and a bit counter intuitive compared to the ST-E3, Phottix Odins, and PocketWizard AC3 which allow you to simply adjust FEC up and down on each flash. But its certainly better than no controllable ratio like the Kings. You can actually set FEC for each flash directly on the flash itself though.

YN-622C ETTL Firing Group


In Mixed Mode you could also create a 3 way ratio in ETTL, by setting FEC individually on the flash units themselves to first create the ratio, and then adjusting global FEC up and down from the camera as needed.


FEC – Flash Exposure Compensation


Flash Exposure Compensation is adjustable from the camera with Type A or B cameras. But FEC can also be set on the individual flash units themselves, and that will add or subtract from the camera setting. So you can get up to 6 stops of exposure compensation which can be a big help.


High Speed Sync (HSS)


FP HSS works when a compatible HSS enabled flash is attached to the 622C hotshoe on or off camera.

Most Canon EX flashes allow HSS, and YongNuo have also just released their first, and cheapest HSS enabled flash available so far, in the YN-568EX. Edit now also the YN-568EX II, and the YN-500EX.

HSS looses a couple of stops of power, but its main purpose is for fill flash while allowing higher shutter speeds in bright ambient light, so that larger apertures can be used to blur out the background and create a nice bokeh.

ND filters can acheive a similar result with a stop or so more power, but HSS is much faster and easier to change  in a fast paced environment than messing with ND filters. Good convenient variable ND filters like the Singh Ray are also not that cheap either.

Ganging 2 speedlights together often helps to retain some usable power in HSS and reduce stress on the speedlights.

HSS is not for everyone but many wedding, event, and portrait photographers would hate to be without it now, on or off camera. The freedom of selecting any shutter speed is fantastic, and the 622C certainly helps makes it more affordable off camera now too.


Second Curtain Sync


Second Curtain Sync works with the off camera flashes, but not with the wireless menu function enabled. So you no longer have remote control of more than one group. But that is still much better than no second curtain sync at all off camera (like Canons RF system).




The FEL button works when using ETTL. I find this really important for off camera ETTL as it acts like a spot meter and really lets you make the ETTL exposure decision yourself by choosing a tone in the image to meter. For people I normally  just meter on the face / skin while focusing on the eyes, and its very rare for the ETTL exposure to go amiss this way even in difficult conditions.


Test Fire Button  / Light Meter Use


The Test Fire Button on the 622C, like on the Pixel Kings, has a small delay, but that’s not really any practical issue. The important thing is the test button fires the flash at the correct power setting so a light meter can be used to take readings.

Another separate 622C unit held in hand (and away from the camera) can also be used to test fire all the flashes at the correct power level, even when using remote manual power settings from the camera.

Also when using remote manual power levels there is no pre flash, so you can fire the camera shutter as well to take a reading (possibly with a remote shutter release as well).

You can actually select which groups you would like to test fire at once, by scrolling through the groups while holding the test fire button. I don’t know how practical that would really be for quick light meter use though. If a light is really difficult to reach to turn off etc then it could possibly be easier switching it off like that from the Tx to take a reading .


Focus Assist Light


This is a really welcome feature, something I’m amazed the industry standard setting PocketWizard, and now even Canon has overlooked with the new ST-E3.

The AF light itself is the same as used in the YN-565EX flash unit. Its reasonably basic for centre focus point use only, but it is a pretty bright and sharp laser which projects a grid contrast pattern within a small circle, which is easily big enough to cover the centre focus point. I found it locks on focus just fine even with a 50mm F1.8 lense which has a lot of hunting for focus in low light otherwise.

You can see an example image here from the YN565ex from Speedlightes.net –

YN-622C for Focus Assist

I’ve been harassing manufacturers for a long time now to make a stand alone AF light to mount radio triggers on top. Ironically a single 622C unit can also be used just for this purpose. I tried a number of manual triggers on top and they all appear to work fine. There may be a very small amount of delay added but I think this is hardly enough to see a change in sync speed (or more shutter curtain in an image).

Even without using flash the 622C can be handy sometimes on the camera hot shoe just for the AF assist alone, just shooting high iso in low light.


Forward /Backward Compatibility


The YN-622C are not currently directly compatible with any other YongNuo trigger, and no other YN triggers have been cross compatible in the past either, but YongNuo have a new engineer in charge of trigger development who has indicated that will soon change.

In the mean time though the 662C will actually work with most other manual triggers at the same time by simply mounting the other transmitter on top of the 622C hotshoe. So you can still combine your current YN triggers or most other manual ones like the Strato II shown above, or RF-602 below. So don’t be tossing those old triggers just yet!

YN-622C & RF-602



Supersync (often know as Hypersync, which is PocketWizard’s trademark term) is a method of achieving higher sync speeds than your cameras x-sync speed with manual studio lights and speedlights. Sync speeds over the cameras x-sync are working well with manual speedlights, the timing is correct for a clean frame at any shutter speed up to 1/8000th (flash must be set at full power, and this was tested using a 1.6 crop frame camera). This is basically the standard timing so results should be similar to that of the Pixel Kings and Phottix Odin etc which also allow this feature.

Supersync with the 622C only works for lights attached to the receiver via a PC sync cord, which is a little bit of a hassle because YN do not supply a sync cord. But also triggers like the Kings and Odins conveniently allow this straight from the hotshoe with manual-only speedlights.

Note – Regular FP HSS with speedlites still works with flash directly mounted to the 622C hotshoe.

There is no adjustment for Supersync timing though (like PocketWizards) so different monolights and camera bodies will achieve different results. You will have to try with your gear and accept what you get there. This is often best with inexpensive monolights that have a long flash duration. The main advantage of Supersync is for freezing action with a high shutter speed in bright ambient light (daylight etc), which is quite difficult to achieve otherwise.


Low Battery Level Indicator


I don’t think it is mentioned in the manual, but if the battery level is low, when you enter the camera menu or half-press the shutter, the status LED will blink RED-GREEN quickly.


Factory Reset


Hold down the [CH SET] and [GP SET] buttons at the same time until state indicators blink 3 times in red – green alternately then change to keep lighting (red), release all buttons and the factory reset is complete.


No Shutter Release


This is not uncommon with TTL triggers just due to they way they operate. The Kings or Odins do not have a shutter release function either. You can always use another trigger or wireless shutter release at the same time as the though.



2 Shooters (or 2 Cameras) – Using the Same Remote Flashes


If 2 cameras with flashes mounted on top, are set up to fire the same set of remote off camera slave flashes, there can be a problem. As they will set off each others on camera flash each time either camera takes a shot.

A work around has been found for this by simply setting the on camera YN-622C to Group C, and the off camera YN-622C to Group B.

The cameras are then both set to fire Group A:B (in ETTL or Manual) via the cameras menu .

So when one camera takes a shot, the on top flash is treated as group A (as an on top flash always is), and the remote flash is Group B.

The other cameras on top flash retains its Group C setting though, and because Group C is not enabled in the A:B firing Group set on the camera, that will not fire the other cameras Group C flash.


Of course the best method is to have a separate slave flash for each shooter (mounted on a dual flash Mulit Boom etc), and set both cameras YN-622C’s to a different Channel.


Compared To


The 622C’s remote control ability is fantastic for the price, but they really don’t compare to the Phottix Odin, PocketWizard AC3 Zone Controller, (or even Canon ST-E3) when it comes to speed and ease of use through the user interface. I realise these are not in the same price range but people are often quick to look for the cheapest trigger and overlook just how much difference a good system can make. Messing with lighting can be one of the most disruptive things sometimes so it also where the biggest gains can be made as well. Once you’ve been spoiled with a good system it can be hard to go back.

The 622C are limited by Canons flash control menu, where as the Odins, PW AC3, and ST-E3 etc give you full access to the 3 groups all straight in front of you. Any one group can then be switched on or off, switched from manual to ETTL, or adjusted in FEC instead of restrictive ratios.

Phottix Odin TTL Trigger TCU

With the Canon flash menu you can’t even just simply turn a group off in manual, you can only select A:B or A:B:C etc. And you can’t mix ETTL and manual without loss of remote manual control.

So the Odins etc are more user friendly and fast and simple to use, the catch is they don’t allow a flash on camera like the 622C, and the Canon 600EX-RT is considerably more expensive again at this stage. That’s the tough decision people who need serious flash on camera use have been dealing with, and the 622C are going to make the decision even harder.


Any Reason to Still Get a Manual Trigger now?


I’ve been asked the question a number of times already, is there any reason not to get these instead of a good manual trigger like the (similarly priced) Strato II ? Again this can be another hard decision. The manual trigger is not really going anywhere soon, you only have to look at the latest PocketWizard Plus III to see that a good simple solid reliable manual trigger is still very desirable even if you do use them mainly with speedlights.

Manual triggers don’t send a lot of information back and forth like TTL triggers constantly do, just a quick simple fire signal. So they can be faster with sync speeds, over greater range, and using less battery power. Most can also be used as a shutter release.

But simple light meter use is often the area basic manual triggers have held the advantage, as they have no pre-flash comunications to confuse the light meter like TTL triggers often do, even in remote manual. Fortunately the 622C do not have this pre flash in remote manual either, so you can generally take a reading by firing the camera shutter, or using the test fire button on any 622C unit (even one held in hand).

The Strato II otherwise are a nicely refined design basically at the top of their class, where as the 622C are currently the cheapest in their class, a first new model, and so not as refined in physical design. The Strato have a much more solid fitting pass through hotshoe and easy to use locking rings, switches, group and channel selection. The grouping system is much more suitable for quickly taking light meter readings with different groups switched on or off quickly. And they come with all the quality cords you could need including shutter release, where the 622C don’t provide any cords.

Manual triggers like the Strato II are not going to go out of date with future compatibility issues, so they are more of an investment than the 622C which are more about maximum bang for your buck now. It really comes down to whether the remote capabilities, TTL, and possibly HSS of the 622C are what you are looking for or not, and if you have the compatible gear to make full use of them.


What’s Included


  •  YN-622C transceiver (or 2)
  • 28 page User Manual & Quick Start Guide sheet

No cords or anything else are included.

In comparison the Kings come with a number of cords, batteries, stands, and a very nice padded case (which I love and still use for everything else too). But I can’t fault YN for this as most people are after the lower price point and the extras are not so important.




  • System type: Digital FSK 2.4GHz wireless transceiver
  • Distance: 100M
  • Channel: 7
  • Flash mode: E-TTL(II), Manual flash, Multi flash
  • Sync mode: 1st curtain, 2nd curtain, Hi-speed sync
  • Groups: 3Groups (A/B/C)
  • Sync speed: 1/8000s*
  • Input: Hot-shoe(TTL,main contact)
  • Output: Hoe shoe, PC port
  • Applicable battery: AAX2 (support 1.2 V rechargeable battery)
  • Stand-by time: 60h
  • Dimensions: 89.5×53×39mm
  • Weight:78g




POTN Canon forum –

User Manual Online –

An altenative User Guide –




Pricing is from around $80 a pair –

YN622C II Canon – Ebay

YN-622C – Canon – Amazon, YongNuo AmazonUK, Ebay, YongNuo Ebay
YN-622N – Nikon – Amazon, YongNuo AmazonUK, Ebay, YongNuo Ebay


Compatible YongNuo flash units –


YN-600EX-RT – Amazon, UKEbay, YongNuo Ebay (Full Features, also has RT Radio Transceiver)
YN-568EX II - Amazon, UK, Ebay, YongNuo Ebay – (HSS, No External Battery Port)
YN-565EX II – Amazon, UK, Ebay, YongNuo Ebay – (External Battery Port – No HSS)
YN-500EX - AmazonUK, Ebay, YongNuo Ebay – (HSS, 1/2 stop less power – No External Battery Port)


YN-568EX - AmazonUK, Ebay, YongNuo Ebay – (HSS – No External Battery Port)
YN-565EX - AmazonUK, Ebay, YongNuo Ebay – (External Battery Port – No HSS)

PC sync cord to connect Studio Lights – Amazon, UK, Ebay


YongNuo – Website

YongNuo – YN-568EX Flash Review



  1. Andy 2 years ago


    As promised, I took delivery of my Yn-622C triggers today and can report that they work perfectly with my Canon 70d.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Fantastic, thanks Andy!

  2. Todd 2 years ago

    Flash Havoc,

    I have 4 of these YN-622C and some manual Yougnuo flashes. I’m looking into purchasing some new TTL flashes.

    Will the Phottix Mitros TTL flashes be compatible with YN-622C triggers? I like to have full functionality of the Mitros with these triggers. )

    Or…..should I stick with TTL Yougnuo Flashes??

    (Of course I’m also waiting for the new YN-622-TX to be released as well. I hate to get all new radio triggers for use with Phottix flashes.)

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Todd,

      A number of people have reported the Mitros working ok on the YN-622C. I haven’t tried it extensively but it does appear to work. (Phottix triggers don’t like the current Yongnuo flashes much at all though).

      I would personally be a little wary of buying them with the intention to mix though, the YN-622-TX for example has a USB port for firmware updates now, so there’s no guarantee future firmware will be full compatible with other third party gear. If you stick with the same brand you’re pretty safe.

      If you’re looking at the Mitros though, you might want to consider the Mitros+ instead? Having all the radio incorporated is a pretty sweet system. I know the price difference is an issue, but (just my speculation) Canon is already discounting pretty aggressively, I think they will go even lower once the YongNuo YN-600-EX arrives, and the effect of both of those may see some discounting in the Mitros+.

      • Todd 2 years ago

        Thanks FH,

        Since you mention it, one more question for you about the Mitros+ flash…….I’ll just post here as a reply.

        If I purchase one or even multiple Mitros+ flashes, Does one use a Odin on the camera hot shoe to fire them as off-camera flashes? Say if I have 2 Mitros+ off-camera, I would need a 3rd on camera for triggering them? Or can the Odin be used?

        I hate to purchase another Mitros+ just for a transceiver and of course the added weight to the camera.


        • Author
          Flash Havoc 2 years ago

          Hi Todd,

          Yes you can use either a Mitros+ or the Odin transmitter on the camera hotshoe as the transmitter for the remote Mitros+ flashes.

          Then you can also add Odin receivers for other Canon flashes for example, or manual receivers like the Strato II to fire studio light etc as well.

          So its a very neat system, only a Mitros+ or Odin TCU on the camera as needed, to fire everything.

  3. ZweiP 2 years ago

    My 622 doesn t work properly with my 5d ii and 550 ex. No ttl and no Hss. Does anyone know what im doing wrong. Any advice. Please help me

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi ZweiP,

      Are they working in remote manual then, or firing at all? Thanks.

      • ZweiP 2 years ago

        Yes in Manual Mode everything works fine. I dont know why it will Not accept any from Camera settings. Even the Flash exp comp has no influence. What s wrong. Thanks

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 2 years ago

          Hi ZweiP,

          Do you have the flash control menu on the 5D II set to TTL and HSS? They YN-622C and flashes will only follow what you have the cameras flash control menu set to.

          You can try and do a factory reset on all the triggers though as well. Hold the CH SET and GP SET buttons at the same time until the state indicators blink 3 times. Make sure to reset all the triggers though. Thanks.

          • ZweiP 2 years ago

            Found the reason. The flash was not properly mounted on the trigger. The trigger hotshoe was a little bit tight and brand new. Just got it yesterday. Im happy. Thanks for your help.

  4. max 2 years ago

    Hi there,

    Do you know if you can “mix” one or more 622C with one or more 622N ?
    Are they compatible? TX and RX between them?
    I wonder if I have to buy 2 sets or buy only one set (of 2pcs) and borrow a couple extra 622 units from friends.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Max,

      Sorry, no you can’t mix Canon and Nikon versions of the YN-622 unfortunately. They are completely separate systems. Thanks.

  5. Cory Goldberg 2 years ago

    Urgent help needed, please! Shooting a wedding tomorrow, and have just run into this problem:

    I’ve been using 4 yn622c’s for several months now and have not had a single problem — until the last shoot i was on, one of the triggers, when mounted on the camera would not let me access manual mode, only e-ttl was available — all other options were greyed out. I switched triggers and those seemed to work fine, just the one was acting up. NOW, I was just checking again, and it seems that a 2nd trigger is doing the same thing! So I have 2 that allow access to manula mode, and 2 that don’t. I have tried this on both of my 5d mark 2 bodies, too, and the problem is consistent. I am thoroughly confused, and if anyone has any suggestions or ideas as to what is going on, i would be most grateful if you could tell me before 12 hours. Is there some kind of reset option on the trigger by the way?


    • Cory Goldberg 2 years ago

      AH!! Sorry for the post, I fixed it by doing a little post-panic research. For anyone else that may experience this issue, apparently, the hard reset option fixes it (hold down ch set and gp set until the green light blinks 3x). At least, the 2 that were giving me problems have both stopped now…will update if the issue returns. By the way, WHATS GOING ON WITH THE 622 TX’s??! Thought that was supposed to be in Oct :)

      • Author
        Flash Havoc 2 years ago

        Hi Cory,

        Thanks, glad you got it sorted. Yes the factory reset solves all manner of mysteries :-)

        A lot of issues are simply not having the transmitter in the camera hotshoe, or flashes seated on receivers properly, followed by dirty contacts or low batteries. But a factory reset of all the units also resolves a lot of issues quickly. If anything is acting up, a quick reset is good place to start.

        No word on the YN-622C-TX yet. The Nikon version will likely come some time this month, and then the Canon will follow, but I’m not sure how far behind.

  6. Pablo SF 2 years ago

    Does anybody know if the Yongnuo triggers are fully compatible with the Meike MK-600…? I am about to buy this flash, instead of the Yongnuo 568EXII because of the power jack of the Meike that allows to connect a external battery.



    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Pablo,

      Sorry I have not heard any feedback on the MK-600 compatibility.

      If you don’t need HSS the YN-565EX would be the best option.

      Otherwise the safest option is to wait for the YN-600EX-RT. Thanks.

      • maate33 2 years ago

        Hey guys,

        Would the YN-565EX work in Supersync (not HSS) with this transmitter, if I set it to full power?

        I’m trying to look around the web to find out, but unfortunately, no luck yet for the info…

        Thank you for your help!

        Cheers, maate33

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 2 years ago

          Hi maate33,

          Yes that will generally work, as long as you use full power.

          But keep in mind SuperSync results vary with different cameras and triggers. The YN-622-TX with timing adjustment should help to get the best results possible though.

          Also likely the reason you don’t hear much about this, is that its not particularly practical for a few reasons. Using the speedlite at full power all the time is pretty slow and taxing on the flash, when its not providing a lot of light this way anyway. And you have no option of adjusting power level either.

          So it can be useful, especially to know when you may possibly want to combine flashes and still use HSS, but in general its not practical like using a higher power monolight instead, or regular HSS which allows easy power level adjustment for fill flash. Thanks.

      • Pablo SF 2 years ago

        Finally, I took the risk and tried with the Meike Mk-600 and now I can say that it is fully compatible with the yongnuo’s yn-622c. TTL seems to work fine, as well as HSS, second curtain sync, flash power compensation, zoom, etc. in remote mode with the yongnuo triggers.



        • Author
          Flash Havoc 2 years ago

          Hi Pablo,

          Thanks for that, good to hear it worked out!

          Can I just confirm that you mean you can do remote manual power control of the MK-600 from the camera menu? Thanks.

  7. Tony 2 years ago

    I have two 622C triggers and a 568EX and I like the way it all works together. I’d like to buy a couple more flash units and I’m happy to go Yongnuo again. The problem I have is knowing which one to choose :) I’d like to retain the radio firing capability as this makes things easier when shooting outside in sunlight and I hardly ever shoot in ETTL so this isn’t necessary. So I think the best option for me is the YN 560III but I can’t find any info on whether it is compatible with the 622C’s. Any advice is appreciated.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Tony,

      The YN-622C will fire the YN-560 III with a YN-622C receiver attached, but that is all.

      If you would like remote control of the power levels you would be better off with the YN-565EX.

      If you’re really trying to save $$ going with the YN-560 III, you could stack an RF-603 II transmitter on top of the YN-622C on the camera hotshoe, to simply fire all the YN-560 III’s built in radio receivers. Thanks.

  8. Tony 2 years ago

    Thanks I appreciate the info. Great site!

  9. moonraker6x 2 years ago

    Hi There,
    I mainly run with a 7D sppedlite off camera system but am thinking about getting some wireless wizards. The YN 622C appear some much better value than the Pocket W.
    Are they better than the built in Canon Speedlite system
    What more will I get from using these?

    Thanks for your time

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi moonraker,

      Yes I would say the YN-622C are considerably better than the Canon Optic Wireless system.

      Though if you have gotten this far with the Canon Optic Wireless, that may work ok for what you’re doing.

      The main thing is the radio system has much larger range, and no issue with line of sight or using outside in bright light.

      You also have HSS and Second Curtain Sync available off camera.

      Using manual there is no delay or pre-flash, and you don’t get any unwanted light from the pop up flash in the image even in TTL.

      With the coming YN-622C-TX you will be able to use TTL or manual in any group and mix them at the same time. The built in interface is much quicker and easier than the camera menu.

      So they are all round a lot more practical than the Optic Wireless, though that can work alright in the right conditions. Radio is generally much less limited though. Thanks.

  10. Andy C 2 years ago

    I just got two 622c’s to use with my Canon 5d3. I had planned to use them to trigger my remote
    Cheetah 180 flash while retaining on camera an ettl control with my existing canon 600 rt’s. However the triggers will not play well with the canon flashes….somehow the ttl settings are negated…I don’t seem to have any control over their operation. I had wanted to use the Cheetah as an off camera key light with its great manual control and still have the HSS feature thru the 622’s…not going to happen.

    I have had to revert back to my photix stratos which works fine with the other flashes…but will not give me HSS…any input would be great.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Andy,

      No offence intended, but you really sound like you’re going like a bull out of gate (posting in a number of places etc).

      You’re going to have to slow down and work through one issue at a time.

      The YN-622C should definitely allow you ETTL and full control with the 600EX-RT off camera.

      So once you have them working properly it is going to happen :-)

      What you’re doing wrong I have no idea at this stage though. I would suggest you do a factory reset on all the YN-622C first. Have a slow read through the review above, and off course read through the user manual.

      To use ETTL the camera flash control menu needs to be set to ETTL as well. What exactly is the 600EX-RT flash doing, is it reverting back to a manual power setting on the flash LCD?

      EDIT – I just saw your latest comment on POTN forum. Your first problem at least is that you shouldn’t be setting any flash to master or slave. Just leave them set to the regular TTL mode and the transmitter and camera menu will take over the settings.

      You can’t mix the Canon optic wireless system and the YN-622C radio system. Every TTL flash off camera will need a YN-622C receiver attached to the foot.

      The AD 180 would then have a YN-622C attached via PC sync cable. You can then use your Canon flashes in TTL or remote manual, with HSS. And the AD180 can be used in HSS as well.

  11. Donald F. 2 years ago

    I been wanting YN622c since 2012 but I waited so long to get it.. and I finally pulled the trigger and bought YN622c and V850s since February 2014.. and I was like.. What took me so long? All these solved most of my problems that I had with Pocket Wizards. YN622c simply the best decision I ever made! :)

  12. Thang 2 years ago

    in the manual said:When using the hot shoe flash which doesn’t suppor t hi -speed sync, the max sync speed is 1/250s or lower. So what does it mean? in my understand that if I connect 1 flash on hot shoe of 662C on the camera, I can not have H-Speed? please correct me. many thanks

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Thang,

      This depends on whether the flash model you are using has a HSS (High Speed Sync) function enabled.

      All the larger Canon EX flashes have a HSS function (550EX, 580EX, 580EX II, 600EX-RT, etc).

      The YongNuo YN-568EX, YN-568EX II and YN-500EX have a HSS function. But the YN-565EX for example does not.

      So you will need a flash which has the HSS function available to start with. The YN-622C just allows you to use the function away from the camera hotshoe, and via radio. Thanks.

  13. Marianus Ekka 1 year ago

    I have YN 560iii N flashes using them as optical slaves on S1 . Recently I bought YN 622n TX and Rx hoping to get radio trigger my YN 560 flashes with my SB 800. SB 800 does fire but YN 560 does not.. I thought since YN 560 incorporates transceiver as well and built by YN. Is there any possibility that it will fire from 622?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 1 year ago

      Hi Marianus,

      The radio receiver built in to the YN-560 III flashes are not directly compatible with the YN-622 unfortunately.

      You would either need to attach YN-622N as receivers to each YN-560 III flash (no remote control available, just a basic fire signal), or you could stack an RF-603 II transmitter on top of the YN-622N transmitter on the camera hotshoe, to then fire the YN-560 III flashes as well through their built in receiver.

      If you want to use the YN-622-TX though, there is not pass through hotshoe to stack the RF-603 on top.

      So if you intend to get the YN-622N-TX you would likely be better off going with more YN-622N as receivers for the YN-560 III as well. I know it seems like a waste, but there’s not much you can do about that. Other than possibly trade up to YN-565EX flashes instead so that you have remote control. Thanks.

  14. Chris G 1 year ago

    I am planning to get a YN500ex and a set of these YN-622C triggers for my Canon 650D, as far as I can tell from what I have read they should all play nicely together.

    However I also have a Fuji X20. I know that the triggers or the speedlight will not work at all in any kind of TTL mode. But I was wondering if you knew whether the triggers would work in manual mode, just for simple of camera flash?

    Thanks for all your time spent on these fantastically in depth articles, really invaluable for some pre-purchasing info.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 1 year ago

      Hi Chris,

      Thanks for that, yes the YN-622C should simply fire the flashes from the Fuji, but no remote control of any kind at this stage. Thanks.

  15. Joe 1 year ago

    I hope someone can help me.
    I can not fire off camera Canon 580EX II in a slave mode using on camera YN-622 as transmitter.
    Nor I can fire remote flash on YN-622 receiver using Canon 580EX II as master.
    I tried all possible combination and had no luck. I set proper setting on Canon 580 EX II, I mean right channel and right group, slave/master mode on both devices (YN-622 and Canon 580EX II). I am sure that setting on Canon 580EX II are right, I could trigger remote Canon 580EX II in slave mode using Canon 70D with built in flash.
    I can fire remote flash on YN-622 receiver, using on camera YN-622 transmitter. I tested Canon 580EX II, YN-560 III, Sigma DG 500 Super flashes and all work fine.
    I could trigger remote Canon 580EX II in a slave mode, using Canon 70D with built in flash.
    But I can not trigger remote YN-622 using Canon 560EX II as master, nor trigger Canon 560EX II in a slave mode using YN-622 as transmitter. I tried factory reset, mixed mode, and nothing work.
    I hope someone may have trick for me.

    I have tried Canon 580EX II and YN-622C on original Canon 5D and Canon 70D. I can control remotes flashes using YN-622 on camera and different flashes on remote YN-622 receiver (YN 560 III, Sigma DG 500 Super).

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 1 year ago

      Hi Joe,

      I think you’ve got it a little confused as to how the YN-622C operate there.

      They are separate radio triggers, and you always need to have one on the camera hotshoe as the transmitter, and one on each flash foot as the receiver.

      The flashes themselves should NOT be set to Master or Slave mode at all.

      Then while using MKII flashes like your 580EX II, and cameras like your 70D which have a flash control menu, you can make all the changes to the remote flash through the cameras flash control menu.

      You can mount a TTL flash on top of the camera (on top of the YN-622C’s pass through hotshoe) and use the flash on camera as normal. But you can’t use the master interface to control the slave flashes, that is still done through the cameras flash control menu.

      For cameras like the 5D (without flash control menu) you can only control basic TTL with the off cameras flashes, as there is no interface to make manual power level changes etc (though you can set them on the flash directly).

      So in short, YN-622C attached to both camera and flash.

      Flash left in regular TTL mode, NO Master or Slave setting on.

      Remote flash settings are made through the cameras flash control menu.

      FEC can be adjusted on the camera dial as well. Thanks.

      • Joe 1 year ago

        Thank you very much for quick response and clearing things for me. You were right, I had misunderstood features of YN-622. Thank you so much. I guess I need order few more YN-622 to accomplish what I initially wanted.

  16. ivano 1 year ago

    I Used the YN-622c with my 580 exII and it works fine.

    I set it up in Manual and I tried to put it in master mode in order to trigger my 2nd flash (430 exII – in slave) but it simply doesn’t work. Every time I trigger the transceiver by testing or shooting it force the flash out of Master mode. Pretty annoying.

    I had an old version of yongnuo transceivers and I use to do that all the times.
    Any solution for this?

  17. cory 1 year ago

    Hi there,

    I’m hoping someone can answer this for me in a clear and easy way:

    I have 2 bodies, and I’d like to use a YN622 on both (different lens on each body) to fire 2 more flashes set up on stands (i own 4 622’s total)

    So, if my settings are the same in both camera menus, this shouldn’t be a problem i suppose, but what about if I have different settings in both bodies? Would the flash settings just change back and froth according to which body is firing? And are there any ideal configurations I’d want to use for this type of set up, in terms of channels and/or groups? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    • cory 1 year ago

      Oh, and thank you in advance :)

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 1 year ago

      Hi Cory,

      Yes the flashes will update to the camera settings when you half press or fire the shutter, so it shouldn’t matter if each camera has different flash settings.

      The only issue I am aware of is when you also have 2 flashes mounted on top of the cameras (on the YN-622C’s pass through hotshoe). One camera will fire the others on-camera flash. To avoid that there is a work around set up explained here. Thanks.

  18. Darek K. 1 year ago

    If I will mount RF-602 transmiter on top of YN622C, will RF-602 trigger flashes on second curtain?

  19. RDW 1 year ago

    So what is the difference between the YN-622C-TX and the YN-E3-RT? Don’t they both control the flash and offer ETTL and HSS?

  20. Shlomi Cohen 1 year ago

    A new video shows a guy pulling off using SuperSync with a YN-622C-TX and a YN-565 at only 1/4 power with what seems to be a 6D.

    Pretty interesting, isn’t it?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 1 year ago

      Hi Shlomi,

      Thanks, that is very strange. Firstly because you need to attach the flash to YN-622C receivers via sync cord to get SuperSync to start with. [ EDIT – Sorry you can now use the hotshoe for SuperSync when using the YN-622C-TX as the transmitter. ]

      But also because it would be next to impossible to get a full frame without any shutter showing with the fast flash duration at 1/4 power.

      The only think I can think is that the camera reverted back to 1/200th for the actual image?

  21. Mitya 1 year ago

    Dear Flash Havoc,

    i hope you can help me out: I’m on my second set of 622c working with a 6D and a 430EXII. The Problem I have (and have had with the first set) is that TTL almost never works and I have no control over the flash via the 6D menu. Do you know what the issue here might be?



    • Author
      Flash Havoc 1 year ago

      Hi Mitya,

      Sorry no I’m not sure what what the issue is there. If you can fire the flash (?) though have no control, you could possibly have they YN-622C in mixed mode.

      Did you try doing a factory reset on both transmitter and receiver? Thanks.

      • Mitya 1 year ago


        yeah, I’ve tried that. Didn’t help. I changed that pair of transmitters out and got a new pair and they seem to work fine now. Chineese quality has it’s price I guess…

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 1 year ago

          Ok thanks.

          There have been a few mentions of he 6D lately, so maybe there has been a bug with a batch which mainly affects the 6D.

  22. Author
    Flash Havoc 1 year ago

    YN622C-TX Firmware v1.04: Improved stability and transmission range.


  23. Rich 1 year ago


    I’m new to this and I’m writing this on behalf of someone who is interested in photography and is disabled, using a communication aid as a means to using the camera.

    He was bought a yongnuo rf-600tx transmitter and a yongnuo yn560-III FLASH GUN, however since he uses a canon 550d and live view to take shots the flash will not work.

    After reading many posts it seems to be a curtain flash issue on the camera. The only part solution I have read is that this yn622 will help, but I know vey little about all of this to help him. Obviously changing his camera is not a solution and I’m hoping someone on here can point me in the right direction, so that money is not thrown at something that will not work.

    Many thanks


    • Author
      Flash Havoc 1 year ago

      Hi Rich,

      I don’t have a lot of experience with this, though I’m pretty sure it is correct that the YN-622C will provide live view with flash triggering as well.

      Though this may possibly be further complicated if he is using some type of remote camera control application. There was a case of some conflict between these a little while back.

      In general though I think you will need the YN-622C, and possibly even a compatible TTL flash. I haven’t had a chance to test if a manual flash like the YN-560 III would fire in sync ok on a YN-622C receiver, though in theory it should still do.

      Just attaching the RF-600TX to a YN-622C transmitter on the camera hosthoe (via a hotshoe PC sync cord) could even work. Though I would need to test this as well to be sure.

      • Rich 10 months ago

        Hi, sorry for the long delay. Thanks for the feedback!

        I finally bit the bullet and went for a pair of Yn-622c’s and purchased a YN-568ex ii flash.

        I’m pleased to say this works in live view and also through the computer software he uses. I also followed your advice and connected our existing Yn rf600tx wireless controller and attached it on top of the yn622 and the original yn560 III flash also works in live view. So now we have two flashes working together.

        Thanks for your advice and I hope this may help others.


  24. Diego Luna 1 year ago

    Hello!! I want to know if this radios can sync up to 1/4000 with my elinchrom dlite4 and elinchrom ranger quadra, flash duratino it’s between 1/800 (dlite4) and 1/3000 (ranger quadras) Thanks !!!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 12 months ago

      Hi Diego,

      I’m not too sure about those as I haven’t heard too many reports with the Elinchrom lights.

      This depends on the camera you use as well, because full frame cameras generally have slower shutters.

      You may be able to get some idea from the results on the PocketWizard HyperSync Wiki here, where you can select your camera and light model.

      It would be best to use the YN-622C-TX as transmitter though now as well, as that has a timing adjustment for pre-sync signal.

  25. Mark Garcia 12 months ago

    Sir, is it ok if i put the YN-622C TX on my camera and the YN-622C on my 2 flashes? is it compatible? and is it ideal if I only have 3 triggers? thanks sir

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 12 months ago

      Hi Mark,

      You didn’t mention which camera and flashes you have, but otherwise yes one YN-622C-TX on the camera and a YN-622C attached to each flash foot is correct.

      So yes that’s 3 triggers altogether for 2 off camera flash units.

  26. Max Rockbin 12 months ago

    This is by far the best review of the YN-622C. Thank You!

    For macro work, I’m trying to find a decent & inexpensive manual flash for the 70D that will allow rear/2nd curtain sync. I know that’s an odd option, but it does exist with some camera/flash combos.

    Would it work to put the YN-622C on the 70D shoe and put (for example) a YN-560 II on that?
    Would I be able to trigger the flash on the 2nd curtain even though it’s not TTL?
    (If I mount the flash directly on the camera, 2nd curtain triggering is grayed out).

    I could be missing something obvious. Maybe it makes more sense to just use a Yn-565 EX in manual mode. But I’m afraid 2nd curtain sync would be grayed if the flash isn’t set to TTL.


    • Author
      Flash Havoc 12 months ago

      Hi Max,

      I just tried this with a YN-560 III and YN-622C, and second curtain sync does work provided you connect the flash to the YN-622C (transmitter or receiver) via a PC sync cord.

      If you put the flash directly on the YN-622C hotshoe (transmitter or receiver) it will fire on the first curtain (unless it is a dedicated TTL flash).


      You can use a TTL flash like the YN-565EX in manual and still have second curtain sync. The flash menu option will not be grayed out once you have the flash connected to the camera hotshoe (you could use a short ETTL cord to re-position the flash).

      You also need to disable “Wireless Set” in the camera flash control menu so that the second curtain sync option is not grayed out (with either the YN-622C or an ETTL flash on the camera).


      Regarding a good inexpensive manual flash, the Shanny SN600C are available now for around $85. They have full TTL and manual, so that would cost you less than a YN560 II and YN-622C. Though you may want a short ETTL cord as well.

      • Max Rockbin 11 months ago

        I missed your answer till now for some reason. Thank You!

        You noted that the yn-622c will trigger a flash with 2nd curtain sync if the flash is connected via PC cord to the 622c instead of put on top of its passthrough shoe.

        Do you know if 2nd curtain sync will work triggering an off camera manual flash connected to a second 622c transceiver unit (no flash on the camera – just the 622c transmitter)?
        Or does it need the physical cord in order to work?

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 11 months ago

          Hi Max,

          Yes if its a non dedicated manual flash, then it needs to be connected via a PC sync cord to the YN-622C receiver.

          If using an compatible TTL flash, then that will fire in 2nd curtain on the hotshoe as you would expect.

  27. Al 11 months ago

    I have canon 50d
    On have 430 ex ll. And have gotten yn 622c triggers. Works fine until I got the yn 568ex ll
    You can even turn flash on on triggers and hard to get it to trigger. They should be able to work with yn 622c
    I have fiddled for two days…
    I might send back and get another 430 ex ll
    Along with the new yongnuo transmitter
    IT Shouldn’t Be THAT Hard To Get 568ex Ll To Work right…?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 11 months ago

      Hi Al,

      They should work fine together, so you have an issue there somewhere.

      First thing, is did you do a factory reset on all the YN-622C?

      That clears up a lot of strange behavior so let us know if you tried that.

  28. Fredrik 11 months ago


    First I want to thank you for this amazingly in-depth review.

    Secondly, I’m interested in trying some HSS-work. For regular flash photography today I use a 5D3 with Nikon SB80DX-flashes connected with simple Cactus V5’s. Since this is a “dumb” setup, it doesn’t matter that the flashes and camera are different brands. Now what I’m hoping to find out is wether it would be possible with the YN622C to use the SB80DX’s with HSS. I know that the flashes have a HSS-system that works with cameras from that time period (wether that is the same system as their newer flashes, I don’t know).

    Though convenient, I don’t really care if the TTL works or if I can control power ratios from my camera, I’m only interested in the HSS-functionality. But these might all be linked? If the YN622C and SB80DX are not compatible as far as TTL goes, then maybe the HSS is off the table as well and they can only be used in “dumb” mode anyways?

    Would very much appreciate your expertise on this,
    Thank you!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 11 months ago

      Hi Fredrik,

      Sorry no I really don’t think the SB80DX will work with the YN-622N with TTL or HSS.

      I really don’t understand the Nikon system too well, and that flash was in some type of transition period in the Nikon system. But I don’t recall any TTL compatibility with YN-622N. And you won’t get HSS alone if the TTL side of things is not compatible.

      All you can do with manual flashes (like the SB80 basically are now) is use long duration sync. For that you need to set the flash to full power where the flash duration is longest. Then you can use similar triggering methods to the regular HSS to get the Pre-Sync signal to make this work.

      So you could grab a YN-622N-TX and YN-622N receiver and have a play with this. The YN-622N-TX even has a SuperSync (SS) timing adjustment to fine tune the best results.

      For general use, portraits etc, this is not practical to use often though, as you have no power level adjustment, and the flash takes a beating used at full power all the time. The Godox Witstro bare bulb flashes hold up to this much better (and they have a HSS mode allowing lower power levels as well).

      If the Shanny SN600N ($90) end up working ok with the YN-622N, you may be better off just grabbing an inexpensive flash and trigger like that for HSS.

      • Fredrik 11 months ago

        Thanks for your reply, I really appreciate it!

        I’ll probably get a couple of YN622C’s and maybe a TX plus a YN568EX II or Shanny flash (never heard of them, seems like they can give Yongnuo a run for their money).

        Pocket Wizard claim that their ControlTL-technology is optimizing the whole HSS-setup, allowing for less light loss and shorter recycle times. Do you have any experience with this system (Canon flashes and PW’s for HSS) in comparison to using HSS with say 622C’s and Yongnuo flashes?

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 11 months ago

          Hi Fredrik,

          Sorry I went a bit off track in the last reply, overlooking the fact that you are using a Canon Camera.

          The main problem with PocketWizard Control-TL is that they did not work well at all with the Canon 580EX II because of radio noise issues. And then the 600EX-RT have built in radio, so it doesn’t generally make much sense to add an extra set of external TTL triggers then.

          So no I never really studied the HSS with the TT5’s, as reliability issues were a bigger priority at the time (and people have always reported mixed experience with them).

          If you’re only dealing with speedlites, then you may want to consider the Canon RT system. And possibly the YongNuo and Shanny versions of the flashes and transmitter as supplement units.

  29. Yuppa 11 months ago


    “I have canon 50d….”

    If you’re not going to give us details as to what you are doing/expect, there’s NO way anybody can help you.

    Because you have a 50D, you can’t control the flashes with the camera menu so you have to be extra precise. I would buy a 622-TX myself as that simplifies the process GREATLY no matter what body you own!

  30. Andy 11 months ago

    I have a pair of YN-622C and I wish to use them with HSS and the Godox ad360

    I have removed the hotshoe feet off my Godox flashes.

    I wish to connect the YN-622C to the flash and have tried a female hotshoe with mono lead but this doesn’t work.

    The only other option is the pc sync socket on the YN-622C to mini jack female on the Godox.

    I hate the pc socket as it always fails at the most inconvenient moment

    Has anyone hacked the YN-622C and replaced the pc socket with a female mini jack socket?

    I would really love to be able to use a male to male mini jack cable.

  31. Ben 10 months ago

    A while ago I purchased a Yongnuo YN 560-II Speedlite flash and i have noticed that it does not have an on board auto focusing assist light.

    This effects me when i am shooting night photography at parties and such because i cannot focus on the subject properly with manual focus because there is hardly any light that i cannot see through the view finder properly.

    If i were to purchase a Yongnuo YN 622C Wireless Transceiver would it be compatible with my Canon 600D camera and my Yongnuo YN 560-II flash?

    By saying this, what i mean is that if i were to attach the 622C to my hotshoe on my camera and then my 560-II to the hotshoe on top of the 622C would the 622C act as an auto focusing agent for my flash and allow my camera to auto focus before taking the shot?

    The only reason i ask this is because i don’t want to have to go and buy a whole new flash just for the inbuilt auto focusing feature.

    If you need any more details let me know.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 10 months ago

      Hi Ben,

      Yes that will work fine.

      You just have to make sure the YN-622C is always switched on, otherwise the flash on top will not fire.

      A YN-622C will cost $40 – $50 though. For $90 you can get a Shanny SN-600C flash, which has full functions, ETTL, HSS, Second Curtain Sync, and it has a better fit in the hotshoe than either the YN-622C or YN-560 II. And you don’t need to be stacking the flash on the transmitter then.

      The YN-622C will work, but that’s something else to consider (I know which way I would go).

  32. Yuppa 10 months ago

    Looks like Yongnuo has updated the 622C (and the internals and range of the 622C-TX) so it’s now directly compatible with the 560-TX.

    To enable support for 560-TX, you need to turn the 622C’s power on while holding down the channel (CH) button–the status indicator will glow orange.

    No more need for a 622C-TX gobo in proxy mode!

    Who knows when these versions will hit the streets (or how we’ll know the difference). Not having a USB port for updates is a major shortcoming of the 622.

  33. Cheelek 10 months ago

    Hi, I’m planning to get one this unit for my 5d3 and 580ex2. Might as well getting a Yongnuo YN560 IV got slave.
    my queries as below :-
    – I’m planning to put my 580ex2 as primary attach with YN-622C and another trigger for second flash as slave. Is that workable when i attach a flash on top of the transmitter with my camera?
    – As you mentioned above, if using HSS of 1/8000, I’ll need to set my flash at full power 1/1? How if my camera are fullframe 5d3?

    hopefully you could advice me, thanks :D

  34. Kaushik 9 months ago


    I bought a couple of YN622c for use with my Canon 5D MarkII and Sunpak PZ42X’s. They work in the TTL mode as advertised but I also have a Panasonic Prosumer with a hot shoe and wish to use the triggers with my flashes in manual mode.

    Is it possible to use the 622’s as a barebones manual trigger ?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 9 months ago

      Hi Kaushik,

      Yes, I haven’t tried this for a long time, but the YN-622C are meant to be able to fire as basic manual triggers on single firing pin cameras, and other non-Canon camera models like Nikon etc.

      The YN-622C-TX will also fire on any camera with a standard hotshoe, and provide remote manual power control with compatible flashes mounted on YN-622C used as receivers.

  35. Yuppa 9 months ago


    Yongnuo (YN) has **updated** the 622C (with new proxy mode) and the 622C-TX (new circuit board and improved range).

    How can we tell definitively that we’re getting the latest versions?

    I’ve got inquiries in the pipeline, and will pass what I get along, but YN can be slow to respond…so, if you know…

    • Yuppa 9 months ago

      As suspected, Yongnuo (YN) doesn’t have a clue. Their response:

      “YES, pls, just buy one and you will see.”

      Not very reassuring.


      Wait about another month, then, if you can, buy from the official YN store on Amazon and if the 622C doesn’t have the new 560 proxy mode, send it back. As for the new internals of the 622-TX (supposed to improve range, etc.), I guess you’d have to compare the range to the one you own now. If it’s the same, send it back.

      Do this over and over until you get the latest versions. Thanks Yongnuo!

      • Yuppa 9 months ago

        Dear User,

        Thanks for your email!
        We confirmed this issue from our Product Department, and they replied that YN622C and YN622C-TX haven’t been changed and there is no updated version for YN622C. However, you can update the firmware of YN622C-TX. If necessary, please download the latest firmware from our official website:http://www.hkyongnuo.com/

        Thank you very much for your great support for YONGNUO products! If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us again.

        Best regards,


        • Author
          Flash Havoc 9 months ago

          Hi Yuppa,

          It can take a while before the rest of YongNuo have any idea about some of the updates or products the engineer mentions.

          You would think he could simply post notes somewhere so all of the customer service where up to date every morning.

          UPDATE – The upgraded units started manufacture from December the 15th 2014.

  36. Paul Parkinson LRPS 9 months ago

    I have three YongNuo 460 mk1’s mounted on a stand with an umbrella for low light freestyle snowboard photography. The exposure was around 1.5 seconds, the flashes were triggered by YongNuo 602RX remotes.

    With my Canon 5D3 and 600EX-RT flash I can second curtain the flash exposure and get nice “speed trails” behind the subject but with this rig I can’t – it’s first curtain only so my question is:

    If I get a YN622C and mount that on the camera hotshoe and then mount a 602TX on the 622 hotshoe will that trigger the 602RX units?

    Alternatively can the YN622C trigger the 60RX units by itself?

    Thanks for the in depth answers you’re giving here. It’s a great site. Subscribing via RSS!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 9 months ago

      Hi Paul,

      I just checked this again with the RF-602, and no second curtain sync will not work with the RF-602 transmitter mounted straight on top of the YN-622C transmitter.

      What you need to do is attach the RF-602 transmitter to the YN-622C transmitter via a hothsoe to PC sync cord as seen here.

      You can then just mount them both on top of the YN-622C for convenience as seen here (of course the RF-602 transmitter is much smaller than the Godox transmitter pictured).

      There is some more on the FlashZebra cords here if that may be of interest.

      No the YN-622C can not directly trigger RF-602, RF-603, or RF-605 receivers unfortunately.

  37. Paul Parkinson LRPS 9 months ago

    Thanks for the info! I saw another review of the 622 which showed the 602 mounted on the 622, hence my question. I’ll give it a try and report back. Cheers.

  38. Paul Parkinson LRPS 8 months ago

    I’ve acquired a couple of 622C’s and tried what you (and others) have suggested but I keep getting error messages on my 7D and 5D3 to the effect that I haven’t got a flash on the hotshoe so I cannot access the menus to set up (for e.g.) second curtain.

    I’ve checked the manual (I’ve done my best with the Chinglish) and I don’t think it’s the 622C’s, the 602’s or 460 flashes so I can only assume it’s the camera’s which are blocking it. Any ideas?

    • Yuppa 8 months ago

      1. Make sure you have “C”s and not “N”s.

      2. Make sure the contacts are clean: I’ve never had an issue with the 622s, but I did once with another YN flash.

      3. Perform a factory “reset” on each unit (page 25):

      a) turn it on
      b) hold the [CH SET] and [GP SET] buttons in at the same time.
      c) the status indicator will blink–alternating red/green–three times.
      d) release the buttons.

      4. Make sure the 622s are FULLY seated in the hot shoe. The YN’s are a bit loose (undersized): I hold mine fully forward with one hand while twisting the lock ring with the other.

  39. Paul 8 months ago

    Had the Yongnuo YN-622C for a while now but just recently tried to use SC sync. When I disable wireless control on my Canon 6d they don’t trigger my flash. What am I missing? How do I use second curtain sync with my Canon 6d, Yongnuo YN-622C and 2 new Shanny SN600SC’s? Thanks.

  40. Paul 8 months ago

    Disregard my last post/question. It seems that either the Yongnuo’s or the Shanny’s were being a little temperamental or they weren’t seated properly. I took them off and got my old 580ex and tried it and it worked fine, then when I put the Shanny’s back they worked perfectly, go figure. Thanks anyways. By the way thanks for the reviews they have been very helpful in finding alternative gear. Peace!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 8 months ago

      Hi Paul,

      Thanks, no worries. I have the 6D here so was going to test this, but I was also thinking it sounds a lot like something you will likely resolve yourself before I get to. Good to hear it is working though thanks.

  41. andy 8 months ago

    I was wondering if the scenario below is working?

    2 yn-560 IV (turn off trigger) on yn-622C (manual mode)
    1 canon 580EX II on top of yn-622C, then on camera (for pass through TTL )

    I just want to fill in flash on camera TTL and at the same time trigger 2 other manual flash as background light.


    • Author
      Flash Havoc 8 months ago

      Hi Andy,

      Yes that should work fine.

      Though as you mention you need to turn the RX radio mode off on the YN-560 IV, so there is no remote power control available then.

      Its really a shame that YongNuo have disabled the flashes hotshoe and sync port when in RX radio mode.

  42. Andy 8 months ago

    thanks Flash Havoc.
    I’ve decided to gradually transition to Canon RT system. But for now, i just want to integrate what i have to Yongnuo system. In being said, i’m ok with changing power of 560IV manually as i only use it in the background light and i’m pretty much set once and leave it for the rest of the photo shoot. And I can use canon 580EX II on camera to fill.
    Ideally, i’d like to have one Canon 600EX-RT and 2 to 3 YN600EX-RT.

    Thanks again.

  43. Michael McLaughlin 8 months ago

    recently purchased these wireless triggers and I can’t seem to get them to work. I installed fresh new batteries as recommended. My camera is a Canon 1D Mark II, which is a Type B camera. Flash is a Canon 550-EX, which is a type 2 flash. Triggers are set to Channel 1 and Group A. When mounted on camera and a unit attached to a flash, the camera does communicate with the flash, but it does not fire in E-TTL mode. F-Stop and Focal length is transmitted. After repeated shots, the flash might fire, but it is a full discharge.

    When I tried in manual mode, however, the flash would fire consistently. Unfortunately my subjects will be moving and this is not an option. When I set the flash to Master, the flash would also fire every time, but very low. Increasing the ratio or the FEC doesn’t make a difference.

    When I attach the flash to the top of of the trigger mounted on the camera, it doesn’t fire as well. The trigger is supposed to be a pass through.

    This is my second set of triggers. The first group had the same problem, so I returned them. Now it is either me, the camera or the flash.

    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

  44. Michael McLaughlin 8 months ago

    Update: I just tried a third set of triggers. With tHis set I can actually get one out of every dozen shots to fire in ETTL mode. Otherwise no flash at all. I will also get a full discharge one in the while as well. I am just getting to the realization that these triggers will not work with my equipment. I don’t know if it is the flash or the camera or a combination of the both. If it was the flash, I would simply just buy a new one. I have a shoot next Friday where I need a wireless setup. Any other recommendation might you have. I just want to have one speedlight in ETTL mode and I need to trigger two studio stobes in manual mode for background filler.

  45. Glenn 7 months ago

    Hi Flashavoc,

    I bought my Shanny SN600SC and a YN-622c tx and 622c set. Last month i bought a second flash the Shanny SN600C.

    Both flashes work great with the YN triggers; Manual, TTL, etc

    Last month I also ordered another YN-622c trigger. I have one problem;
    – the trigger combi with the SN600SC is not working correctly. When i test it sometimes fires and sometimes not. With the SN600C IT

    Works on both: YN 622c = september 2014
    Works on SN600C only: YN 622c = january 2015

    Questions; what could be the problem?

    PS. Tried the factory reset which doenst make changes.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 6 months ago

      Hi Glenn,

      I just tested both flashes with the January 2014 YN-622C receiver, and they both appear to be working fine.

      My SN600SC is an early version though, and there were changes made to the production SN600SC.

      So I’m not sure if this could be a common issue or if you have a faulty flash (or less likely, though possible faulty receiver).

      I’ll check with Shanny to see if they know anything about this.

      • Glenn 6 months ago

        Hi, thanks for the reply and you email.

        I am really curious about the answer of Shanny. I also have one of the first Shanny “SN” versions. Bought it just after your review in 2014.

        Would be nice if Shanny can answer these questions and if it is a bug replace my first bought “SN” flash.

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 6 months ago

          The flash I have was a pre-production so you would have the updated version still.

          You could ask Amanda if they will replace the flash. They may be happy to do that, I’m not sure.

          Though personally I don’t think its unreasonable if they say no, as its not Shanny’s fault if YongNuo change their products afterwards.

          This is what always worries me about relying in mixing third party gear. Though YongNuo have not changed the YN-622C for a number of years, and they have no USB port for firmware updates, so you would hope its reasonably safe. And using the previous YN-622C is that safety net here.

          Shanny may provide firmware updates to deal with these compatibility issues as they arise, but they are not really even obligated to do that. There may come times when that’s not even possible.

          Shanny may be happy to replace the flash though, I’m not sure. The other question would be what to replace it with at this stage, other than the SN600C model you know works.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 6 months ago

      UPDATE – Amanda from Shanny said she has heard of this before, though hasn’t tested this with a new YN-622C yet to confirm.

      So it sounds like there could well be a compatibility bug now.

      You can’t update the flashes firmware though anyway until the SN-E3-MD are available. So the solution for now is likely just going to be to use the older YN-622C with SN600SC.

  46. Glenn 6 months ago


    Oke, and what if i do not have the older YN-622c??

    I am not happy at all with this!

  47. Phil 6 months ago

    Hi Flash Havoc,
    Great web site and really enjoy reading the reviews and feedback.
    I have a Metz 50 AF-1 Digital flash and was looking at getting 2x YN622C’s and the YN622C-TX.
    Do you know if this flash will be fully compatible, as I want to be able to change the settings mainly in manual mode from the YN622C-TX?
    But I still want the E-TTL function just in case.
    I want to use it with my Canon 650D, 40D and 450D cameras.
    Is there going to be a USB on the later YN622C’s for firmware updates?
    I will also be looking for a master flash soon so either the Yongnuo or Shanny would be top of the list, with a easier menu than the Metz. Which would you recommend? Thanks

  48. Boggy 4 months ago

    Hello Flash Havoc,

    Thank you very much for the great info about lighting systems in photography.

    I’m planning to buy radio controlled TTL/HSS flash system for Canon EOS 700D, with three flashes, one on DSLR, two on stands. YN-568EX II (or even lighter YN-500EX on DSLR) + YN-622C transceiver will be the basic node. Over all of this, I need remote shutter release/flash firing function, better (much longer range) than small IR type Canon RC-6. You told above about possible functionality of old triggers, that may still work in this system, so, do you have any experience with YONGNUO MC-36R/C1 remote shutter release and timer? Will it work with YN-622C?

    Thanks in advance.

  49. Zdenek 4 months ago

    Hi, i found a little strange thing with HSS,
    when i tried HSS with 622C-Tx on 70D it did not work, totaly underexposed photo but when I switched to regular 622C it worked just fine
    I tried several configuration changes in camera/Tx module but none of it worked, is there any solution?

  50. nixland 3 months ago

    Hi Elv,
    Just wonder if we mount the 622tx on top of 622c put on camera.
    Will we have more groups?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 months ago

      Hi nixland,

      You can have more remote manual groups like that, not TTL though.

      I can’t remember now, though you may need to even cover the TTL contacts between the 2 transmitters. Or connect them together via PC sync cord instead.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2015 FlashHavoc.com - PRIVACY POLICY

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?