YongNuo YN-500EX – Mini – TTL and HSS Flash – Review

The YN-500EX is that latest TTL and HSS enabled speedlite from YongNuo, and a smaller version of the current flagship YN-568EX, and currently the lowest priced HSS enabled flash available.

YongNuo have even called the YN-500EX the “Mini YN-568EX” as it has almost exactly the same features and function as the YN-568EX, except for the smaller size, slightly less power, lowest manual power level of 1/64th instead of 1/128th, 270 degree head swivel vs 360 degree, and a regular PC sync port instead of the sub-mini sync socket used in the YN-568EX.

The larger YN-568EX is almost a fully features flash like the top end Canon and Nikon versions, with the exception of an external battery port, and an optic master function (which the very soon to be available YN-568EX II will have), and there are no radio triggers built in like the Canon 600EX-RT .

So I won’t go over all the common features again here, as you can see those in detail in the YN-568EX review. YongNuo kindly sent the YN-500EX over so that we could see how it actually compares to its bigger YN-568EX brother.

 

YN-500EX

Features –

  • HSS (FP high speed sync) for shutter speeds to 1/8000th of a second
  • Good Power –  1/2 a stop less than the top end YN-568EX
  • Fast Recycle – from 1.6 – 3 seconds at full power
  • Both Canon & Nikon Optic Wireless slave functions built in.
  • S1 & S2 simple Manual optic slave – for regular or TTL pre-flash
  • Sound Beep – indicates recycle ready and low exposure
  • + or – 5 stops of Exposure Compensation in ETTL
  • 1/3rd and 1/2 stop Manual power adjustment, even both methods combined
  • Compatible with Canon’s built in Flash Control Menu
  • PC Sync Port
  • Head Swivel 270 degrees
  • AF assist light (though centre focus point only)
  • Regular simple shoe locking ring – no complex lever system to break
  • Settings saved automatically
  • Instant switch on/off option
  • Fully compatible with the YN-622 TTL and HSS radio triggers.

 

Design & Build Quality

I’d have to say this is likely the most nicely refined flash YongNuo have made so far. The raised buttons are the easiest to use of any of the YN flashes so far, and the head has a smoother tilt swivel action. The LCD is smaller than the YN-568EX, but still nice and clear.

Power & Recycle

Power is of course the main question, and comparing them side by side the YN-500EX is almost exactly half a stop less than the YN-568EX. Which also puts it around 2/3 of a stop more than the old YN-467 / 468 II, which are certainly looking quite weak in comparison now (and have no HSS capability either).

Full power recycle time can go as low as 1.6 seconds, though around 2.8 to 3 seconds is fair average.

Heat Protection

After 40 full power shots in succession, heat protection slowed recycle down to 10 seconds. Where the YN-568EX would do 60 shots before being shut down for a period of minutes to cool down. The slowed recycle being a much better option than being shut down completely.

Price

From around $140 the YN-500EX is a pretty incredible option for anyone starting out with a fully featured HSS enabled on camera flash. No doubt this will be a lot of peoples first flash, but its also just a nice compact flash option as well.

 

YN-500EX

Size and Weight

The YN-500EX is very similar in size and weight to the current Canon 430EX II, which its clearly modeled off. And as nice as the YN-500EX is, I would still much prefer it was styled off completely original designs like the YN-568EX.

The YN-500EX does have quite a significant advantage if a compact flash is what you’re after. I weighed both with batteries in and the YN-568EX was 497 grams v’s only 433 grams for the YN-500EX.

Functions

As mentioned the functions are almost exactly the same as the YN-568EX. The YN-500EX screen is smaller but still quite clear, and the layout again is the same, as are the button functions.

YN-500EX

On Camera

The smaller size of the YN-500EX is really suited nicely to smaller DSLR’s, or those without a battery grip. A full size flash is rather top heavy otherwise, where the 500EX is pretty much the ideal balance between size/weight and power.

YN-500EX

LCD and Interface

The back lit LCD is clear and simple, though like most others its hard to see if your not looking straight on, particularly looking down on it. But for on camera use its very good.

The buttons are probably the best on a YongNuo flash so far. The semi circular buttons are raised out from the body of the flash, so they are the easiest to access. The top row of buttons have the Nikon style clear faces. They look quite nice and are easy to press, but they are not back lit or any special advantage there otherwise.

YN-500EX

 

YN-622C Radio Triggers

Off camera with the YN-622C (or YN-622N) radio triggers, the YN-500EX are full compatible just like the YN-568EX, having full TTL, HSS, and remote manual power control etc, all through the camera’s flash control menu as seen here.

This is one area its probably a touch choice though between the YN-500EX and the YN-565EX, which are around the same price as the YN-500EX, and with the extra 0.5 stop of power. The YN-565EX doesn’t have HSS, but for off camera use you really want as much power as you can get in HSS anyway. So for the same money its probably better to go with the extra 0.5 stop of power of the YN-565EX, and the possible advantage of an external battery pack port.

If HSS use off camera is important to you, its better to just pay the extra $40 or so and go with the YN-568EX, as that extra 0.5 stop of power is really worth paying that extra for when you need any extra you can get.

YN-500EX & YN-622C

On Top Flash

Again on camera use is likely where the YN-500EX has the advantage here, with the YN-622C as well.

I’m always carrying on about how pass through hotshoes are not really going to hold up to extended use with a flash on camera. But the smaller size and weight of the YN-500EX is certainly a decent advantage over the much more top heavy YN-568EX or similar full size flashes.

The YN-500EX’s head tilts and swivels with much less force than the YN-568EX as well, which means you don’t twist the hotshoe connections around as badly either, which is generally most of the problem with pass throughs. If swiveling the flash head with one hand you would still need to do it very gently though to avoid any problems.

YN-500EX - YN-622C

Sync Port

The YN-500EX has just the one simple screw lock PC sync port. I’m not sure why YongNuo didn’t go with the sub-mini port like the YN-568EX, but maybe this flash was designed earlier than the YN-568EX.

YN-500EX

Battery Compartment

Again YongNuo have the battery compartment and door well sorted out from a long time ago now. So its very fast and easy to change batteries. The door even has very large ridges on the outside so that your sure to get a good grip with your thumb.

The flash foot is metal, and the locking ring large and easy to secure, with locking pin as well.

YN-500EX

Pouch

All the later YN flashes come with a fairly nice velcro flap pouch now. One thing that has still been missing though is any form of belt attachment loop on the back. YongNuo have now added a small loop to the side, which seems a little like a half hearted attempt at providing some way to hang the pouch. Though I’m not sure it would be of much use to hang off a belt like that.

YN-500EX

Please also see the full YN-568EX review for more detail of the features and functions, as the YN-500EX shares most of those, and I didn’t want to repeat them all here.

 

Specs 

  • Circuit design – Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor (IGBT)
  • Guide No. – 53 (ISO 100, 105mm)
  • Flash mode – TTL, M, Multi
  • Wireless trigger – N’s & C’s wireless system, S1, S2 pre-flash-canceled mode
  • Wireless triggering distance – 20~25m indoor, 10~15m outdoor
  •  Slave groups – 3 (A, B, C,)  Channels – 4
  • Zoom range – auto, 24, 28, 35, 50, 70, 80, 105mm
  • Vertical rotation angle –  -7~90 degrees
  • Horizontal rotation angle –  0~270 degrees
  • Power supply – 4×AAsize batteries (Alkaline or Ni-MH are usable)
  • Lighting times – 100~1500 times (AA alkaline cell used)
  • Recycle time – approx 3s (AA alkaline cell used)
  • Color temperature – 5600k
  • Flash time – 1/200s~1/20000s
  • Flash control – 7 levels of output control (1/64~1/1), 26 levels of fine tuning
  • External interface – hot shoe, 2.5mm PC port
  • Additional features – High-Speed Sync, Rear-Curtain Sync, FEC, FEB, FEV, electronic flash head zooming, manual zoom, modeling flash, sound prompt, advanced setting, automatically saving setting, PC port, power saving mode and over heat protection.
  • Dimensions – 62 * 72 * 165mm (Extended state)
  • Net weight – 315g
  • Accessories Flash light (1), protecting bag (1), mini stand (1) and manual (1)

 

Compatibility

On the Camera Hotshoe with TTL mode –

Canon 1Dx, 1Ds series, 1D series, 5DIII, 5DII, 5D, 7D, 60D, 50D, 40D, 30D, 20D, 650D/T4i, 600D/T3i, 550D/T2i, 500D/T1i, 450D/Xsi, 400D/Xti, 350D, 1100D, 1000D.

Compatible cameras but without Flash Control Menus – 1Ds II, 1Ds, 1D II, 1D, 5D, 30D, 20D, 10D, 400D, 350D, 300D.

Optic Wireless TTL Slave to –

Canon 5DIII, 7D, 60D, 600D, 650D, Yongnuo ST-E2, Canon 580EX II
Nikon SB-900, SB-800, SB-700, Commander SU-800,
Camera with CLS i-TTL system:D4, D3x, D3s, D3, D2x, D700, D300s, D300, D200, D7000, D90, D80

 

Summary

If you’re starting out looking for a budget priced and fully featured on camera flash, the YN-500EX is quite simply the most bang for buck you’re going to find. Its currently the lowest priced HSS flash available. But even without the HSS its a nice flash for the price, very much worth paying the extra price over the older and cheaper YN-468 II etc.

For many people the main question will be if its better to just pay the extra $40 for the full size YN-568EX. For off camera use I would say that’s pretty definitely the case, as you want as much power as possible with HSS, and $40 is just not that much more or an extra 0.5 stops.

But for on-camera use the compact flash can be an advantage, and if anything the YN-500EX is even a nicer flash to use than the YN-568EX. As a more compact option I like the the YN-500EX a lot. And if this flash may even be stretching the budget, its well worth doing that over the YN-468 II, and I wouldn’t feel like you’re missing much over the bigger flash.

For mainly off camera use (on the YN-622C radio trigger), at the same price, the YN-565EX may be a better option as that has the power of the YN-568EX and an external battery port which can be very handy.

 

PRICE AND AVAILABILITY

 

The YN-500EX is available in the Canon version, from around $85 –

Amazon, UKYongNuo EbayEbay

YongNuo – Website

.

52 Comments
  1. Paul 4 years ago

    Hello. I’ve been enjoying your great web witch has lot’s of useful information. I read your article on the YN-500EX, but although you post a link for YN 500EX Nikon, from what I understand there isn’t a iTTL version of this flash available at this moment. Am I wrong?
    Best Regards, Paul

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Paul,

      Sorry about that, your right there is no Nikon version currently available. I’ve removed the link there. The Nikon versions usually come a couple of months behind. Thanks.

  2. Marco A de Avila 4 years ago

    Hello!

    Forgive my indecision, but I’m really in doubt of my first to use a flash on a Canon 70D or T5i, I am beginner. I read all your articles and get more indecisive, taking into account cost, technology and product quality.
    We will then:
    Metz 52AF-1
    YongNuo 500EX
    YongNuo 568EX
    YongNuo 568EX II
    YONGNUO 622C to buy another time.
    I find it very interesting Metz is a German factory, plus the cost is much higher then watch YongNuo 500EX.
    I would like to start a product with good resources for learning and perfect timing with YongNuo 622C.
    Anyway, how would the timing between these flashes and my 70D or T5i.

    Thank you, Marco.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Marco,

      Metz are really nice quality flashes, but if your main interest is use with the YN-622C, you’re going to be safer with compatibility with YongNuo flashes.

      If money is tight, the YN-500EX is still a great flash, but the YN-568EX is generally a better option as it has more power if using HSS off camera. The YN-568EX II just adds an optic wireless master, which is not needed with the YN-622C.

      Another higher quality flash option is the Phottix Mitros. That is currently compatible with the YN-622C. But again there is no guarantee they will be compatible later as firmware changes. So the safest option there is Phottix’s own Odin TTL triggers.

      I’m not sure what you are meaning by timing, but the YonNuo and Phottix flashes mentioned are compatible with the 70D and T5i (and YN-622C).

      Thanks.

  3. Jacques 4 years ago

    Would really like to see this for Oly/Panny m43.

    And a TTL pass-through hotshoe on the new 560TX.

  4. Nick 4 years ago

    Hi,

    Thanks for the quality info on this.

    I currently have a 400D & I understand that it is not compatible with TTL as no flash control menu, but otherwise could you clarify that it should work ok?

    Also, is it the norm that cameras without flash control menus cannot use TTL or is this more specific to this particular model?

    I’ve looked at the YN565 & YN568I, but I think this is better for me, as it’s more compact.

    Thanks

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Nick,

      You have me a bit confused there. The flash control menu has no effect on whether you can use TTL or not. You can still use full TTL or manual, its just set on the flash itself. TTL Exposure Compensation is still possible through the camera or the flash.

      You’re not missing much without the flash control menu, as most people generally use the flash interface itself anyway. There’s not much to settings change in TTL anyway, early YN TTL flashes didn’t even have an LCD screen and you could still shoot in TTL perfectly fine.

      Its only if you want to use remote radio triggers like the YN-622C which rely on the the flash control menu for an interface. In that case you can only use TTL not remote manual settings. But there is a new transmitter coming which should allow full control anyway. Thanks.

  5. Jamie 4 years ago

    Hi there this might be a daft question but does the ttl function work when the flash head is tilted or turned as my Jessops 360afd doesnt. It only works in ttl when the head is level.
    Thanks

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Jamie,

      Yes TTL definitely still works with the YN-500EX (and any other YongNuo TTL flash) head tilted or turned. Thanks.

  6. Luís Garcia 4 years ago

    I’m a beginner in photography and i want to buy a flash, but i’m having a some difficulty to choose between the 565Ex and the 500Ex.

    What flash do you recommend?

    Best Regards,
    Luís Garcia

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Luis,

      If you mainly want to use this on the camera for TTL and fill flash, then the YN-500EX would be better as it has high speed sync.

      The YN-565EX has a bit more power, and a socket to attach an external battery pack. So its generally a better option if you’re interested in using the flash off the camera hotshoe, more like a studio light. Thanks.

  7. Luca 4 years ago

    Hello, great website, your reviews are really good!
    I have a question regarding YN-500EX: it would be the perfect flash for my Canon 20D but I read in many sites that it is not compatible with “old” Canon cameras like mine. I even contacted Yongnuo Canada and they immediately wrote me back that it is not compatible.
    I read in your YN-568EX review that its firmware contained a bug (eventually fixed) that prevented it to work on 20D. Could it be the same case with YN-500EX being them so similar?
    Thanks in advance, Luca

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 years ago

      Hi Luca,

      I just tried the YN-500EX with the 20D and it appears to work very well.

      Do you know what the issues have been?

      Unless you’re just meaning they don’t work through the cameras flash control menu?, if so that’s only because the older cameras do not have that menu. It works fine making adjustments directly on the flash, or FEC through the camera. Thanks.

      • Luca 4 years ago

        Hello,
        thank you very much for the confirm, I am glad to hear it works fine. And no… I do not know what the issue was supposed to be, but now I suppose I had something to do with camera flash control menu. In many eBay or Amazon auctions it is indicated with red big font that this unit is not compatible with old Canon cameras like 20D, 30D, 1D, 5D, 350D, 400D, 300D, etc. Maybe somebody mixed up some wrong info and it went spread out with copy&paste.

        But I was reading your blog in the meantime so I decided to post here.

        I noticed that Yongnuo compatibility is not very clear, there are very misleading info around the web and Yongnuo itself it is not clarifying it on their website. That is a pity because in my country (Italy, but probably in may other ones) you can find 20Ds at a really bargain price and YN500EX could be a great unit for many amateurs like me that cannot afford even the used price of a Canon 580EX.

        So… big thanks for your answer, I just ordered the flash 🙂

        Best Regards,
        Luca Veronesi

  8. Jaroslaw 3 years ago

    Does YN500 work as master, like YN568? Did not found that info.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi Jaroslaw,

      No the YN-500EX only has the optic wireless slave function, not the master function.

      Only the YN-568EX II has the optic wireless master function. Thanks.

  9. utan 3 years ago

    I am using Canon 600D. I refer YN-500EX than YN-568EX II (considering for price), but i like using HSS. Which one will I choose?

    Thanks!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi utan,

      The YN-500EX is around 1/2 a stop less powerfull. So if you use HSS a lot, then the extra power of the YN-568EX II would certainly help, so that the flash does not need to work as hard in HSS mode.

      Otherwise the YN-500EX is a nice flash, and would suit the size of the 600D a little better, particularly if you don’t use a battery grip.

      For off camera use with HSS and any modifiers, then the YN-568EX II is really the preferred option, as you would generally want as much power as possible. Thanks.

      • utan 3 years ago

        Thanks for replying.

        I will choose YN-500EX for my 600D (without battery grip). Does YN-500EX fully compatible with 600D?

        Regards,

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 3 years ago

          Hi utan,

          Ok, yes I have a 600D and they work great with the YN-500EX. Its a great little flash (a bit bigger than the Canon 430EX II). Thanks.

  10. Scott 3 years ago

    Hi there – I have a Canon 70D and I understand this has an inbuilt wireless trigger.
    I have read that this is simply the pop up flash but surely you can trigger any remote flash using this method (with line of sight)?

    I’d like E-TTL on Camera, happy for off camera to be Manual but would ideally not like to use the pop up if I can avoid it – is there a flash I can do this with or do I need triggers?

    I may be doing some party photography and in low light the flash trigger is going to affect my pictures and probably produce red-eye.

    Thank you!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi Scott,

      If you don’t want to use the pop up flash, then yes you will need radio triggers. The only other option would be a PC sync or TTL cord.

      In low light you may want to look at triggers like the YN-622C which have at least a basic AF assist light. They are one of the few TTL triggers that do.

      Otherwise for manual flash off camera without any remote control there are many basic manual triggers as seen here.

      For remote manual power control, the Godox V850 flashes are popular at the moment (for good reason), though YongNuo have a YN560-TX coming soon too. The Cactus V6 and RF60 flash are another option.

      Regarding triggering any flash with the pop up flash. Yes you can trigger many flashes if they have a simple optic slave function, or if you connect an external optic slave to them. This will only simply fire a flash though, no remote functions.

      The Canon optic wireless system is different. Its not just firing the camera’s on board flash, but sending coded signal through the light pulses. This allows full TTL and remote control of the slave flashes. Though its still limited to line of sight or similar. Radio triggers allow a lot more freedom.

      The Canon optic wireless is not actually meant to put any light in your image with the on-board flash if you don’t want it to. Though it does always get some light in the frame. You can actually put an infra-red filter in front of the on-board flash to stop that. Nikon sell the filter for the same reason.

      Radio triggers are a lot more convenient though. Particularly with Canon, as Nikon optic wireless is a lot more sensitive (with greater range etc).

      Thanks.

  11. Yasas 3 years ago

    Hi there,

    I’m a beginner in photography and has a Nikon D5100.

    I was reading your review and could you please suggest a good YongNuo flasher for my Nikon????

    Thank you!!!!

    Yasas.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi Yasas,

      From what I understand, the Nikon D5100 does not provide a HSS function. So the best value for money YongNuo flash would likely be the YN-565EX, as your not paying for the HSS function then. Thanks.

  12. barry 3 years ago

    Hi
    is it possible that the hss only works in ttl mode?
    i was trying it in M mode and it didnt work.
    and also – the second curtain only works when the flash is on camera , if i try it when the flash is on the 622 i dont have this option .
    thanks .

    • Karl 3 years ago

      That is interesting. I am looking to get the 500EX and those would be deal breakers. I wonder if it is just your individual flash unit.

  13. John 3 years ago

    I think this owners experience will help you to decide 🙂

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8BFIkjITh1c

  14. Bidhan 3 years ago

    Dear Reviewer,

    I have just purchased a YN500ex. Everything works fine but when I use the flash for around 20-30 shots successively (around 10 sec interval between shots) the PILOT button starts blinking in red, even after power recycle.
    I have read the manual but could not find what this “red blinking” indicates! Although I can take more shots with flash, I am confused if it is going to damage the flash or the rechargeable batteries (I m using eneloop xx 2500 mAh rechargeable). The LCD panel does not show the overheat symbol also.

    Please let me know if anybody has come across the same situation and what does the indication mean, or is it a defect in my unit, which I need to replace soon.

    Thanks in advance!
    Bidhan

  15. Massimo 3 years ago

    hi, can someone kindly confirm the total compatible with canon 6d?

    • Yup ps 3 years ago

      Yes, it is compat. with the 6d. Look the flash up on Amazon and you’ll find a video review re the 6d exactly.

  16. Adrian 3 years ago

    Hi, thanks for the excellent reviews!
    I’m thinking about getting a YN500EX to use with my Canon 6D, because I need a reasonably lightweight hotshoe flash that is compatible with Flash Exposure Bracketing. The YN500EX seems ideal. I have 2 questions:
    Is the YN500EX comatible with Lithium batteries?
    Are there any known reliability issues with the YN500EX?
    Thanks

  17. Yuppa 3 years ago

    Included in the flash compartment of Yonguo flashes is a little yellow tag, which reads:

    “LifePO4 and/or Li-ion type batteries ARE NOT COMPATIBLE. PLEASE USE alkaline or NiMH type batteries.”

    There are no reliability issues that I’ve PERSONALLY experienced. This is an awesome flash. Of course, there are bad examples of ANY flash.

    Issues that are more of an annoyance with Yongnuo flashes (both TTL and NON):

    1. The foot of the flash is not tight in the shoe: it wiggles every so slightly.
    2. The AF assist light is not as good as the Canon’s.

    If you are going the NY-622C route, I think these are a no-brainer. They’re not as powerful as the others, but the reduced size weight is great when a 622 + stand are attached.

    That’s it.

  18. Rhonda 3 years ago

    I have a T5i. Was considering the 568EX II, but now am leaning toward the 500EX because of this review. You mention the 500EX is preferable if you don’t have a battery grip. What if you do have a grip? Does that change your recommendation? I’d primarily be using it on-camera and want HSS.

  19. George 3 years ago

    hi, i need a flashgun for my Nikon D7000. I do not care for built in receiver (i plan to get a pair of YN-622N tranceivers.
    So i need:
    -HSS off camera
    -TTL off camera

    -HSS on camera will be a nice addition if possible
    Please advise

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 years ago

      Hi George,

      The main safe option there with the YN-622N, and providing HSS, are still basically only the YN-568EX for Nikon.

      Shanny have some flashes available and coming, but they still need some refinement with the YN-622N.

      • George 3 years ago

        ok noted and thanks for the reply.
        Just a technical question though:
        if i do not care for on camera TTL and/or HSS, is it safe to get any flashgun for Canon system that supports HSS and use it off camera with the YN-622N?

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 3 years ago

          Hi George,

          Not usually. HSS is part of the dedicated TTL system for each camera brand. So genuine Canon flashes would not work with HSS with Nikon using YN-622N.

          But there are some other flashes like the Godox Witstro, V850, and V860, as well as the Cactus RF60 which can actually work this way.

          HSS requires 2 things, a flash that fires or strobes many times to create a long flash duration like a constant light source, and an early fire signal that starts the flash firing before the first shutter curtain starts moving.

          So the YN-622N are dedicated to the Nikon camera, and provide the early fire signal, and the Witstro / V850 / V860 / RF60 have a HSS mode which simply strobes the flash.

          The down side to this is that you need to turn the HSS mode off and on manually and directly on the flash. And you’re limited to 10 full power shots in a row using this HSS mode.

          So the short answer is the Godox V860 are currently the only ETTL flash which would provide some HSS with the YN-622N as triggers.

          If you don’t need the ETTL then the Witstro, V850 or RF60 could be used as well. This is mainly practical with the Witstro though as that has the power to make more use of the HSS, or use lower power levels for more shots.

          With speedlights you’re generally better off with an ITTL flash though.

  20. Lee 2 years ago

    Hi,

    This is a newbie question. I just bought a Canon 70D. Is YN-500EX fully compatible with 70D?

    If I plug this flash to the hot shoes of 70D, will TTF and HSS features work okay?

    Thanks & regards,
    Lee

    • Yuppa 2 years ago

      I have a 60D and this flash–it’s great (a cheaper 430EX II, essentially). The basics features of Canon’s flash system haven’t changed on the 70D: they’ve just added features.

      Note: HSS on Chinese flashes are not as sophisticated as the OEM equipment, favoring the higher end of the output which is really what you want with HSS anyway.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 years ago

      Hi Lee,

      I haven’t heard of any specific issues with the 70D, though the YN-500EX is not the most common flash. It is a nice little flash though as Yuppa mentions.

      You may be best to contact service@hkyoungnuo.com to try and confirm 70D compatibility.

  21. Lee 2 years ago

    Thank you both for your information. It helps!

    Regards,
    Lee

  22. Bogdan 2 years ago

    Hello guys,

    I’ve purchased this flash for my 5Dc a couple of weeks ago but I can’t seem to get it to do 2-nd curtain flash. Has any of you had this problem? thank you!

  23. Camilla 1 year ago

    Hello! does this flash work in ETTL mode on a canon 6D?
    Thanks a lot

  24. Bala 1 year ago

    Can i mount Yongnuo YN500 EX SpeedLite with Sony a7rii?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 1 year ago

      Hi Bala,

      I gave the YN-500EX a try on my Sony A7 and it appears to work fine in manual mode.

      They are not designed for TTL or HSS with Sony though.

      • Balasundaram S 1 year ago

        Thankyou for your reply. Finally i got the native flash f43.

  25. Robert 1 year ago

    The statement “can be used whit the ST-E2″…are you sure this is correct? The ST-E2 came out with the EOS3…a film camera, and try as I might, I cannot get this thing to work right in P mode mounted in my EOS3 hot shoe. Perhaps YN did not hack Canon’s ETTL protocol quite correctly? I am getting tired of these copy cat “not close enough” vendors. BTW, and before you poo poo the age of film EOS bodies, one can STILL rent a EOS 1v.

  26. badock 8 months ago

    Hello,
    Is there AF Assist on the YN-500EX ?
    Sorry to ask but it is not so clear in the description if it’s a YN-568EX feature only.
    Regards,

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 8 months ago

      Hi Badock,

      Yes the YN-500EX has an AF assist light.

      • badock 8 months ago

        OK thanks for your reply.

        On another topic, I plan to use this flash with a 5D (mark 1), is it possible to use it off camera ?
        How could i trigger it, since the 5D1 has no built-in flash ? Is it possible to fire it manually ?
        If for instance, i do a long pause in the dark for 5 seconds, can i “Flash” with a chosen speed by pressing some button ?

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2016 FlashHavoc.com - PRIVACY POLICY

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?