YongNuo YN-560 III – Review – Changing the Game

The YN-560 III is the latest version of YongNuo’s flagship manual speeedlite, and its the first all manual speedlite with a radio trigger receiver built in for firing the flash reliably off camera. Compatible with both the existing and very popular RF-603 II, RF-603 and RF-602 radio triggers.

UPDATE – 26th June 2014 - YongNuo have now released the YN560-TX tranmitter unit, which provides remote manual power control, and remote flash zoom, with the YN-560 III flashes. All via the radio receiver already built directly into the YN-560 III flashes.

YongNuo YN560-TX

 

This is one flash I really don’t need to talk up, as YongNuo have had are hard time keeping up with demand as it is. And for good reason.

 

 

Canon where basically the first to recently introduce radio based remote triggering into their own speedlite system, which has been extremely successful. But that is a relatively high priced full TTL system, where the YN-560 III is just a simple manual flash with a basic receiver (just to fire the flash) built in, and selling from around just $85 (now $70) each.

The built in receiver of the YN-560 III has big practical advantages, because you simply don’t have a lot of extra pieces of gear and extra batteries to constantly transport, organise, set up and manage. That’s all built into the flash. So all you need is the one small transmitter unit to fire as many flashes as you like. Of course it saves money too without all those extra receivers and batteries.

Another big advantage is that you don’t have anything mounted to the foot of the flash making it higher in umbrellas and generally less stable. Or alternatively extra cords (to go wrong) and receivers dangling around.

I say this flash is changing the game, not only due to the practical conveniences mentioned above, but also because its already having an impact on the way people consider their gear and radio trigger selection as well.

And furthermore, built in triggering is one thing, but many people are also waiting for remote manual power control in a simple manual flash like this.

UPDATE – 26th June 2014 - YongNuo have now released the YN560-TX, which provides remote manual power control, and remote flash zoom, with the YN-560 III flashes. All through the radio receiver already built directly into the YN-560 III flashes.

 

 

Power and Recycle Time

The YN-560 range of speedlites are full power flashes generally around just 0.2 to 0.3 of a stop lower power than the top end Canon Nikon alternatives. With pretty fast recycle times around 2.8 seconds at full power, and 1.2 seconds with an external battery back (for which they have a High Voltage battery port). Power adjustment range from 1/128th to Full, with 1/3rd or 1/2 stop fine adjustments. Also full zoom head from 24mm to 105mm.

 

Overheat Protection

One important thing I did note straight away, (at least over the MK I YN-560, I’m not sure about the MK II), is that the overheat protection is much better on this model. The 560 III will fire 20 full power shots consecutively, and then slow down to a 15 second recycle before you can take 3 more shots consecutively, and then a 15 second break again. Where the original 560 goes straight into a long shut down if you hit 20 shots continuously, which can be a real problem. For me this update alone is enough practical reason to seriously consider the YN-560 III over the original 560 model.

 

Interface

 

Compared to the YongNuo’s current YN-568EX Flagship TTL speedlite, the YN-560 III doesn’t have quite as big a screen, and it is rather more busy. But its still quite nice, and reasonably easy to see the power levels, which are really the main thing you would be concerned about in general use.
YN-560 III vs YN-568EX

 

Looking a little closer at the display there a couple of new additions over the previous MK II model. In the top right hand corner is the new RF trigger symbol showing the built in radio RX receiver mode is enabled. And in the lower left corner is the radio channel selection number and corresponding dip switch graphic (also indicating the RX mode is enabled).

 

As usual I put the this unit to the idiot test (I’m the idiot), to see how far I could get navigating the interface and operating the flash without looking at the instruction manual first. The added trigger modes do start to make this a little tricky, considering this is really just a simple manual flash. But I did manage to muddle my way through everything, except for the custom functions which are a bit hard to guess. Even there I found the RF-602 / 3 selection which is the only thing that’s vital really to be able to use the flash.

 

Manual Power Adjustments

Manual power adjustment is made in full stops via the left and right curved buttons, and 1/2 and / or 1/3rd stop fine adjustments are independent using the up and down curved buttons. These are hard plastic buttons now which work well, the days of mushy rubber buttons are fortunately over. They are still a lot more fiddly than an off camera should be these days (where you simply want to bump the power levels up and down as easily as possible), but they do the job fine.

 

GRP Mode

In the image above you can see between the “MODE” button and “TRIGGER Mode” button (the 2nd & 3rd buttons in the row of 4), there is GRP printed (meaning group). This group function currently has no use, and is one of the reasons a new transmitter unit (also enabling groups) is very likely to come at some stage.

 

Triggering Mode Button

Pressing the TRIGGER Mode button (the 3rd button in the row of 4) scrolls through the method of triggering the flash, M (or manual) is triggering through the flash foot or PC sync port, S1 is basic optic slave, S2 is basic optic slave with TTL pre-flash ignore, and the last is the built in RX radio receiver mode.

YN-560 III Triggering Mode

 

MODE Button

Once you are in the Radio Trigger Mode (where the the channel dip switch graphic is always displayed) you can then press the mode button to scroll through M – manual, Multi – strobing mode, and the mystery “- -” mode.

The mystery “- -” mode currently has no function –

So this is the mode we suspect may well be enabled down the track via a new transmitter unit, very possibly allowing remote manual power adjustment. Again this is only speculation at this point, but there are strong signs there.

UPDATE – 26th June 2014 - This mode is related to the now released the YN560-TX transmitter unit, which provides remote manual power control for the YN-560 III.

 

Channel Dip Switches

The Channel dip switch graphic indicator is a clever idea, showing you clearly how to set the dip switch positions on the RF-602 or 603 transmitter unit to correspond with the channel number. As you adjust the channel up and down on the flash the dip switch positions change to correspond. Click on the animation below to see the full 16 channel position table.

 

RF-602 / 3 Selection

To select either RF-602 or RF-603 radio trigger compatibility, you will need to go into the custom functions and change the selection there. RF-603 is the default setting. The flash does remember your previous choice though, so you don’t have to keep setting this.

 

Range

 

I’m really quite surprised to say the range with the YN-560 III’s built in radio receiver, is at the least as good as the external receiver, and I’d have to say most of the time even better.

I set the YN-560 III up with an RF-602 receiver attached to the flash foot, and both the internal receiver and the RF-602 receiver easily reached 100 metres line of sight. But placing the transmitter behind my back (only about an inch away) sorts out the better performing triggers pretty quickly, and the built in receiver in the YN-560 III fairly consistently outperformed the external RF-602 receiver. Both were still getting at least 50 meters there, which is still very good range while obstructed.

So building the receiver into the flash body doesn’t appear to have had any negative effect on range at all that I can see at this stage. My other concern was that low battery power levels in the flash may cause lower reliability with the triggers, but I ran the flash until the batteries were empty and this didn’t cause any misfire issues. The built in receiver looks to be a very convenient advantage so far.

YN-560 III Range

 

Ports

 

The YN-560 III has the same High Voltage battery port, and PC sync port as the previous YN-560 models. The HV battery port is very welcome, as an inexpensive external pack can speed up recycle to just 1.2 seconds, and run for 400 to 500 shots. The Flagship YN-568EX TTL flash is unfortunately missing this important feature, so its really a big advantage to have this HV port in an inexpensive manual flash. This HV port uses the Canon compatible plug and cords.

The PC sync port is the standard screwlock PC sync. YongNuo have moved on to miniphone sockets in the YN-568EX, so this is a bit out of date, though with the inbuilt radio receiver it may not get used too often now anyway.

 

YN-560 III Ports

 

The battery compartment and door has been well sorted out since the first 560 model, its very fast and easy to operate having its own sliding track. Batteries are the standard 4 AA’s. NiMH or Eneeloops perform the best.

The flash foot is a single firing pin, and strong metal base with a nice large and simple locking ring and locking pin.

Another big advantage of the built in receiver is the lack of any extra receivers on the flash foot, which normally add height and leverage, creating a weak point and stress on the foot when mounting the flash. Mounting directly to the foot frees up the flash to be mounted in any position, on its side etc without any stress.

Phottix Multi Boom

The bracket shown above is the new Multi Boom 16″ now produced by Phottix.

 

PERMALINK

Radio Triggers

 

The YN-560 III are directly compatible with the YongNuo YN-560TX, and RF-603 II, RF-603, and RF-602 radio transmitters.

The YN-560TXRF-603 II, are generally the best transmitter options though, and will work on any cameras which have a standard hotshoe.

UPDATE – 26th June 2014 - YongNuo have now released the YN560-TX transmitter unit, which provides remote manual power control, and remote flash zoom, with the YN-560 III flashes. All through the radio receiver already built directly into the YN-560 III flashes.

YongNuo YN560-TX

 

PERMALINK

YN-622C / YN-622N

By far the biggest question I already get, is what does all this mean for the popular YongNuo YN-622 TTL triggers?. Are they compatible with the YN-560 III?, if not why not?. Should I buy the YN-622, or YN-560 III and RF-602.

UPDATE – 4th July 2014 – The YN-622C and YN-560 III are not directly compatible, though this is currently going through some changes as seen here.

 

Using Other Radio Triggers

If you already own another set of manual radio triggers, you may be able to combine those as well. Many of the good flash triggers have a pass through hotshoe on top of the transmitter. So if you already have Phottix Strato II, Commlite T320, Cactus V5 etc, you can simply add one of the directly compatible YN-560TX / RF-603 II / RF-602 transmitter units on top of your existing transmitters pass through hotshoe. So you can still fire your existing flashes and receivers, as well as the new YN-560 III flashes all together.

Strato II and RF-602

 

If you don’t have a pass through hotshoe on your existing radio triggers (like the PocketWizard Plus III / II / X) you can use the RF-603 II and mount your other radio transmitter on top of that. Again firing all your existing flashes and receivers, as well as the new YN-560 III flashes all together.

PERMALINK

TTL Flash On Camera

 

MORE DETAIL - Click to Expand

Many wedding and event photographers like to use a TTL flash on camera, and then fire some off camera manual flashes as well. Either to help light up a room, or to light, or rim light the subjects etc.

In this case the flash is taking up the camera hotshoe, so the RF-602 / 3 needs to be connected to the cameras PC sync port via a sync cord. Unfortunately the current RF-602, RF-603, or RF-603 II transmitters do not have an input sync port to plug into directly. So a hotshoe to sync cord is needed to attach to the transmitter foot. That sync cord is then plugged into the cameras PC sync port. (The very original RF-602 Tx did have an input PC sync port).

Bellow is just an example where I have used a straight bracket under the camera, allowing the RF-602 transmitter to mount down to the side near the cameras sync port. Ideally I would velcro the RF-602 transmitter to the side of the on-camera speedlite.

Pass Through Hotshoe Method

If your camera does not have a PC sync port, another option is to use the Meyin RF-604 transmitter which has a TTL pass through hotshoe the flash can be mounted straight on top of. Pass through hotshoes can cause problems after a while when using a heavy flash on top though, and the Myein RF-604 is not the most solid unit to start with. So connecting the transmitter to the cameras PC sync port if possible is the better long term option. The RF-603 II has a manual (not TTL) pass through hotshoe.

If combining YN-622 TTL triggers and receivers as well, you could use the PC sync cord method to connect the RF-603 II TX to the camera , as well as mount the YN-622C on the camera hotshoe, with flash mounted on top of that.

 

Camera Compatibility -

 

Being a single firing pin flash the YN-560 III is compatible with most cameras having a standard hotshoe when mounted directly on the camera .

Off camera, and using the YN-560 III’s built in radio receiver, compatibility will depend on the transmitter unit used. Most cameras with a standard hotshoe can be used with the YN560-TX and the RF-603 II transmitter units.

Virtually any camera with a sync connection or standard hotshoe could be used if using some other form of radio triggers to fire the flash off camera.

 

Specs -

 

  • Circuit design – Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor (IGBT)
  • Guide No. – 58 (ISO 100, 105mm)
  • Flash mode – M, Multi
  • Trigger Mode – On-camera, S1, S2 pre-flash-cancelled, RX 2.4GHz radio receiver
  • Wireless triggering distance – 100m(2.4G wireless), Optic 20~25m indoor, 10~15m outdoor
  • Channels – 16
  • Zoom range – auto, 24, 28, 35, 50, 70, 80, 105mm
  • Vertical rotation angle –  -7~90 degrees
  • Horizontal rotation angle –  0~270 degrees
  • Power supply – 4×AAsize batteries (Alkaline or Ni-MH are usable)
  • Lighting times – 100~1500 times (AA alkaline cell used)
  • Recycle time – approx 3s (AA alkaline cell used)
  • Color temperature – 5600k
  • Flash time – 1/200s~1/20000s
  • Flash control – 8 levels of output control (1/128~1/1), 29 levels of fine tuning
  • External interface – hot shoe, PC port port, HV battery port
  • Additional features – electronic flash head zooming, manual zoom, sound prompt, advanced setting, automatically saving setting, PC port, power saving mode and over heat protection.
  • Dimensions – 60×73×190mm (Extended state)
  • Net weight – 350g
  • Accessories Flash light (1), protecting bag (1), mini stand (1) and manual (1)

 

Included -

 

  • YN-560 III Flash Unit
  • Padded Case
  • Mini Base Stand
  • Instruction Manual

 

Summary

 

There’s no question the YN-560 III is a great manual flash which offers a lot of convenience and simplicity in an inexpensive package. And its already having an impact on the way many people consider their gear selection, and that’s not even with any remote power control on offer as yet. If YongNuo do introduce remote power control through a new transmitter this may become the most popular flash available.

PERMALINK

Price and Availability

 

The YN-560 III are available now from around  $75 –

Amazon – YN-560 III, RF-603 II  UK – YN-560 III, RF-603 II

Ebay – YN-560 III, RF-603 II

YongNuo Ebay Store – YN-560 III, RF-603 II

 

YN-560 II – (cheaper but without built in receiver) – AmazonUK, Ebay

YongNuo – Website

.

276 Comments
  1. mamakiller 5 months ago

    Hi Flash Havoc.Can you explain about YN560-tx control 16 channel?It mean fire 16flash at same time.How about group on flash YN560III.How to assign group,channel.I am confuse about them.Thanks :)

  2. Joe 5 months ago

    Thanks for the info. We currently have the YNB560-III and love it! I finally received the YN560-TX and it seems great, but still can’t figure this thing out. HAve you used it yet? It works as a dumb trigger, but cannot seem to get the groups/remote zoom functions working at all… Any advice from your experience?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 months ago

      Hi Guys,

      There is later discussion in this thread.

      My YN560-TX should finally arrive today. Thanks.

  3. Emmanuel 5 months ago

    Really interesting and clear article. Thans a lot. What kind of external power pack should be used with the YN 560 III flash ? I heard about TD-381 for Canon ? I own a Nikon camera I don’t think there’s any relationship but cold you confirm that ?

    thanks in advance

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 months ago

      Hi Emmanuel,

      Thanks, no the Nikon camera has no relevance, its just that the YN-560 III have a Canon style plug for the external battery port. So you either need a Canon compatible battery pack, or a battery pack with exchangeable cords.

      The Pixel TD-381 are definitely one of the better 3rd party AA packs. Though the YongNuo 8 cell AA packs appear to be ok as well.

      Lithium-Ion packs are very handy though if you use the flash regularly. A good inexpensive pack are the Sky Eagle PB3000 and PB3000 II (which will run 2 flashes). A good quality pack are the Godox PB960. Thanks.

  4. James Alexander 5 months ago

    Hi. I was wondering if I could use this with a Canon Powershot G9? Just asking. I’m new and don’t know anything about flashes. But interested on using this in a Photobooth.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 months ago

      Hi James,

      Yes you can use the YN-560 III with most camera, as its only a simple manual flash. There is no TTL or auto metering.

      If you want to use the flash off or away from the camera, then the you can use the RF-603 II radio transmitter to fire the flash. Or better still the new YN560-TX which will remotely control the flashes power levels. Thanks.

  5. Emanuele 4 months ago

    Hi, just a question:
    it’s not clear for me if is possible to use this flash through Nikon CLS because i didn’t see nothing about the Groups (ex: A, B, C) and its relative power management for each one and the Master / Remote mode as the Nikon and Nissin Speedlights have.
    Thank you very much

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 months ago

      Hi Emanuele,

      Sorry no this is a manual flash only. There is no support for Nikon CLS. Thanks.

  6. Ralph 4 months ago

    Hello,

    If one is doing a shoot over a one or two hour period, and wants a backup trigger of sorts (in case batteries died), I take it that you can stack two yongnuo transmitters on your hotshoe? This would be in a case where the camera could not be moved of course. Thanks for any info.

  7. steve 4 months ago

    Is there a ttl equivalent yet for the 5d m3?
    Cheers

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 months ago

      Hi Steve,

      If you mean a flash with radio receiver built in? Then that would be the soon to come YN600EX-RT.

  8. zield 4 months ago

    sync speed ?

  9. analoguey 4 months ago

    Hello!

    I bought a set of RF603s and the YN 560 III with the thinking or based on info that they are all compatible, or at least the 603 and 560-iii are compatible with the older model – but what my experience has shown is that it is not the case!

    Stuck with a few useless radio triggers now :(

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 4 months ago

      Hi analoguey,

      The RF-603 are compatible with the radio receiver built inside the YN-560 III flash.

      You have to make sure the flash is set to RF-603 mode (not RF-602 mode).

      I’m not sure what you are referring to regarding the older model?

  10. Philipthefish 4 months ago

    Hi there, I have a eos 550d and wanted to know can I use this flash off camera without having to purchase a receiver? Thanks in advance.

  11. Sai 3 months ago

    Hi, i currently use a 560-III and i have an old 430EZ on loan for backlighting models. I also got two RF603Cs from YongNuo. I was thinking about getting the 560-TX so that i could control the settings on the 560-III from a distance but i’d also like to get an ETTL or TTL flash so was thinking about the 568-EX. I’d like to be able to trigger all three flashes with the 568-EX on the camera but I’m not sure if A) this will work or
    B) The best way to do this.

    If i put an RF603C on the camera hotshoe, it triggers the 560-III fine and if i attach another 603C to the 430EZ, it triggers both. This is all good. But if i want to put another flash (say the 568EX) on the camera, on top of the RF603C already on the camera hotshoe, and i tilt the camera back it will fall off, as there is no locking mech with the 603C. So i think my question is, will the 568EX work as a wireless trigger on the camera’s hotshoe for the 560-III and the 603C on the 430EZ?

    Next question, where the heck do i put the 560-TX in this mix!! Am i just over complicating things here! one example of the application ill be using them in is when a couple are dancing and i want to light the foreground but also apply a halo around them with a backlight, so ill be constantly moving trying to keep them between me and the backlight.

    Kind regards,

    Sai

  12. Ryan 3 months ago

    Hi Mr. Flash Havoc
    I have a problem to my nikon built in flash, after i used the YN 560 III, i couldnt used my built in flash anymore. How will i do this? or any suggestion? Thanks

  13. Charles 3 months ago

    Hello. Will this flash work directly, in manual, along with Phottix Stratto II triggers?

  14. Taro 3 months ago

    Is there no lock for the head tilt? How securely does the head stay at a high angle? I’m concerned about the head not holding its position when I mount FlashBender Rogue XL on the flash.

    Has anyone compared YN-560 III to Godox V850 or V860 in how secure the head is when you attach sizable modifiers?

    • Taro 1 month ago

      It’s a self-response. I decided to go ahead and get a YN-560 III. The head has no lock on its tilt mechanism at any angle, but it’s quite solid, and feels secure at any angle. In comparison, my Nikon SB-700 has a lock at its upright position, but not at any other angle. At other angles, YN-560 III holds its head more securely than SB-700. I did not get a Godox V850, so I cannot compare YN-560 III to Godox V850.

  15. paul 3 months ago

    is there a general manual .pdf that shows which components to use as I have a cannon 7d want to use twin flash one ttl and plus my 560iii

    with remote firing in a studio set up ?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 months ago

      Hi Paul,

      There is no real guide to the YongNuo system, and its constantly changing at the moment (when you include other compatible third party options).

      Mixing TTL with the YN-560 III is a bit tricky as these are 2 separate and incompatible systems.

      For Canon YongNuo basically have 3 separate and incompatible systems, the YN-560 remote manual system, the YN-622C ETTL system, and the Canon/YongNuo RT ETTL system.

      The most convenient option is to try and stick to all of one of these systems. You can combine them to some degree with workarounds, though that is not always ideal.

  16. Selena Hargrove 3 months ago

    I just got this flash in. And I’m needing help!
    I put it on my camera to test out and it flashed great! I was even able to adjust how strong of a flash I wanted. Then I got to this session I needed it for then it wouldn’t flash. When I pushed the button it beeped but wouldn’t flash. Super frustrating. Then I got home and tried to watch YouTube videos and read instructions and I don’t know what I’m doing wrong

    Help please!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 3 months ago

      Hi Selena,

      Do you mean you are pressing the test fire button directly on the flash and it still won’t fire (though the LCD screen etc is on)?

      If so your flash has likely failed unfortunately. Provided the batteries are fresh there’s not much you can do if the test fire button will not fire the flash, or fire via the foot mounted on a camera. The failure rate is not so high these days, though it does still happen.

      If you can get the test fire button to work (they are stiff) and the flash won’t fire on the camera hotshoe, that may just be because you have the flash in radio mode. It needs to be in regular M manual mode (with no group dip switches showing on the flashes LCD screen).

  17. scotimage 3 months ago

    Hi Selena and Flash Havoc.
    I just bought a 560iii and have had the same problem of the bulb failing after using it for about 30mins. Just ordered another one so here’s hoping the same problem doesn’t occur.

    P.S. great informative website. Thanks!

  18. Ranjan 2 months ago

    Hi Flash Havoc,
    Can I use Nissin Di 866 Mark II Flash as the commander flash (set on myNikon D 7100 hot shoe) to trigger / fire Yongnuo 566 – III flashes on slave mode ,off the camera…..without using any radio triggers like YN-560TX, and RF-603 II, RF-603, and RF-602 radio transmitters. Please help !

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 months ago

      Hi Ranjan,

      All you can do there is set the YN560 III to the basic S1 or S2 optic slave modes, and then any flash will trigger them (other peoples flashes will trigger them as well).

      If you want to use the Nikon Optic Wireless (AWL/CLS) then you would need TTL slave flashes compatible with this.

      Probably the cheapest current option there would be the new Shanny SN600S (around $95). Though that is a manual flash only if used on camera. Shanny also have the SN600N for Nikon, but that is limited to remote manual only as an AWL/CLS slave flash. If remote manual is all you need though they are around $85. And they should work on the YN-622N as well if you decide you need that later.

      Otherwise you would be looking at flashes like the YN-568EX, or even your Nissin Di866 II.

      If going with radio instead, you would either need the YN-622N to mount your Di866 II on top of on camera, or connect an extra manual transmitter somewhere to fire the YN-560 III flashes built in radio receivers.

  19. Ria 2 months ago

    hello,

    i just bought yn560 iii a week ago and still learning of everything but when i used it to a certain session which is indoors the picture tends to make almost half of the image is black. i have the canon 7d and really love how much light this flash gives me but half of my images i took has black on half of them. Help please. i want to show a sample but don’t know where to put it here. thanks

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 2 months ago

      Hi Ria,

      Are you using the flash on the camera hotshoe, or off camera with a radio transmitter or other to fire it?

  20. Taro 1 month ago

    I had a severe overheating problem on a YN-560 III I purchased (via Amazon Japan) two days ago. On a freshly charged set of batteries, the flash discharged all of the batteries completely after I fired the unit at 1/32 or 1/16 power. The battery indicator was empty, and the flash was very hot. I was in the middle of the shoot so I took the batteries out, and left it alone. Once home, I put in a fresh set of batteries, and it drained everything in what seemed like about 10 pops. Again, the unit (and the batteries) were very hot. This is when I noticed that the cylindrical hinge part of the flash (which probably houses a capacitor) was not only hot, but the plastic casing had deformed due to heat to a slightly rippled shape.

    This is the second unit I return to Amazon Japan in two weeks. The last time this happened, I had only noticed the battery drainage, but did not pay attention to deformation. Has Elvis hear of anything like this happening elsewhere?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 1 month ago

      Hi Taro,

      No I haven’t heard of any issues like that yet.

      Its not uncommon for YongNuo to have a number of the same issues in a batch of units though, so if you purchased from the same place they could be more of the same faulty batch.

      You are using NiMH batteries like Eneloop etc? not Lithium-Ion batteries?

      • Taro 1 month ago

        I’m using Eneloop. Should I use Lithium-ion?

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 1 month ago

          Hi Taro,

          No, the Lithium-ion batteries can cause issues, that’s why I thought maybe you were using them.

          You shouldn’t have an issues like this with Eneloops. There must be some pretty serious faults with the flashes you have.

          • Taro 1 month ago

            For reference only, I’ve shared a few pictures of the overheating problem here:
            https://plus.google.com/photos/109664856995788791657/albums/6082553931897846721?authkey=CK2W4enczL7NPQ
            You can see some ripples on the cylindrical part of the flash. In total, I’ve bought 4 units of YN-560 III, and 2 of them are working fine. The serial number of this particular affected unit is 53254514.

            • Author
              Flash Havoc 1 month ago

              Hi Taro,

              Thanks for the pictures, but wow that is frightening!

              That is the capacitor inside the hinge there. I definitely wouldn’t put any batteries in those flashes again.

  21. Dev 1 week ago

    I have a quick noob question: will I be able to trigger wirelessly a 560 IV with a 568EX II mounted on a Canon 6D. I know the 560 IV is a manual flash.

    Or is it better to buy another 568EX II because I can have the benefits of TTL.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2014 FlashHavoc.com

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?