YongNuo YN-560 III – Review – Changing the Game

The YN-560 III is the latest version of YongNuo’s flagship manual speeedlite, and its the first all manual speedlite with a radio trigger receiver built in for firing the flash reliably off camera. Compatible with both the existing and very popular RF-603 II, RF-603 and RF-602 radio triggers.

UPDATE – 26th June 2014 – YongNuo have now released the YN560-TX tranmitter unit, which provides remote manual power control, and remote flash zoom, with the YN-560 III flashes. All via the radio receiver already built directly into the YN-560 III flashes.

YongNuo YN560-TX

 

This is one flash I really don’t need to talk up, as YongNuo have had are hard time keeping up with demand as it is. And for good reason.

 

 

Canon where basically the first to recently introduce radio based remote triggering into their own speedlite system, which has been extremely successful. But that is a relatively high priced full TTL system, where the YN-560 III is just a simple manual flash with a basic receiver (just to fire the flash) built in, and selling from around just $85 (now $70) each.

The built in receiver of the YN-560 III has big practical advantages, because you simply don’t have a lot of extra pieces of gear and extra batteries to constantly transport, organise, set up and manage. That’s all built into the flash. So all you need is the one small transmitter unit to fire as many flashes as you like. Of course it saves money too without all those extra receivers and batteries.

Another big advantage is that you don’t have anything mounted to the foot of the flash making it higher in umbrellas and generally less stable. Or alternatively extra cords (to go wrong) and receivers dangling around.

I say this flash is changing the game, not only due to the practical conveniences mentioned above, but also because its already having an impact on the way people consider their gear and radio trigger selection as well.

And furthermore, built in triggering is one thing, but many people are also waiting for remote manual power control in a simple manual flash like this.

UPDATE – 26th June 2014 – YongNuo have now released the YN560-TX, which provides remote manual power control, and remote flash zoom, with the YN-560 III flashes. All through the radio receiver already built directly into the YN-560 III flashes.

 

 

Power and Recycle Time

The YN-560 range of speedlites are full power flashes generally around just 0.2 to 0.3 of a stop lower power than the top end Canon Nikon alternatives. With pretty fast recycle times around 2.8 seconds at full power, and 1.2 seconds with an external battery back (for which they have a High Voltage battery port). Power adjustment range from 1/128th to Full, with 1/3rd or 1/2 stop fine adjustments. Also full zoom head from 24mm to 105mm.

 

Overheat Protection

One important thing I did note straight away, (at least over the MK I YN-560, I’m not sure about the MK II), is that the overheat protection is much better on this model. The 560 III will fire 20 full power shots consecutively, and then slow down to a 15 second recycle before you can take 3 more shots consecutively, and then a 15 second break again. Where the original 560 goes straight into a long shut down if you hit 20 shots continuously, which can be a real problem. For me this update alone is enough practical reason to seriously consider the YN-560 III over the original 560 model.

 

Interface

 

Compared to the YongNuo’s current YN-568EX Flagship TTL speedlite, the YN-560 III doesn’t have quite as big a screen, and it is rather more busy. But its still quite nice, and reasonably easy to see the power levels, which are really the main thing you would be concerned about in general use.
YN-560 III vs YN-568EX

 

Looking a little closer at the display there a couple of new additions over the previous MK II model. In the top right hand corner is the new RF trigger symbol showing the built in radio RX receiver mode is enabled. And in the lower left corner is the radio channel selection number and corresponding dip switch graphic (also indicating the RX mode is enabled).

 

As usual I put the this unit to the idiot test (I’m the idiot), to see how far I could get navigating the interface and operating the flash without looking at the instruction manual first. The added trigger modes do start to make this a little tricky, considering this is really just a simple manual flash. But I did manage to muddle my way through everything, except for the custom functions which are a bit hard to guess. Even there I found the RF-602 / 3 selection which is the only thing that’s vital really to be able to use the flash.

 

Manual Power Adjustments

Manual power adjustment is made in full stops via the left and right curved buttons, and 1/2 and / or 1/3rd stop fine adjustments are independent using the up and down curved buttons. These are hard plastic buttons now which work well, the days of mushy rubber buttons are fortunately over. They are still a lot more fiddly than an off camera should be these days (where you simply want to bump the power levels up and down as easily as possible), but they do the job fine.

 

GRP Mode

In the image above you can see between the “MODE” button and “TRIGGER Mode” button (the 2nd & 3rd buttons in the row of 4), there is GRP printed (meaning group). This group function currently has no use, and is one of the reasons a new transmitter unit (also enabling groups) is very likely to come at some stage.

 

Triggering Mode Button

Pressing the TRIGGER Mode button (the 3rd button in the row of 4) scrolls through the method of triggering the flash, M (or manual) is triggering through the flash foot or PC sync port, S1 is basic optic slave, S2 is basic optic slave with TTL pre-flash ignore, and the last is the built in RX radio receiver mode.

YN-560 III Triggering Mode

 

MODE Button

Once you are in the Radio Trigger Mode (where the the channel dip switch graphic is always displayed) you can then press the mode button to scroll through M – manual, Multi – strobing mode, and the mystery “– –” mode.

The mystery “- -” mode currently has no function –

So this is the mode we suspect may well be enabled down the track via a new transmitter unit, very possibly allowing remote manual power adjustment. Again this is only speculation at this point, but there are strong signs there.

UPDATE – 26th June 2014 – This mode is related to the now released the YN560-TX transmitter unit, which provides remote manual power control for the YN-560 III.

 

Channel Dip Switches

The Channel dip switch graphic indicator is a clever idea, showing you clearly how to set the dip switch positions on the RF-602 or 603 transmitter unit to correspond with the channel number. As you adjust the channel up and down on the flash the dip switch positions change to correspond. Click on the animation below to see the full 16 channel position table.

 

RF-602 / 3 Selection

To select either RF-602 or RF-603 radio trigger compatibility, you will need to go into the custom functions and change the selection there. RF-603 is the default setting. The flash does remember your previous choice though, so you don’t have to keep setting this.

 

Range

 

I’m really quite surprised to say the range with the YN-560 III’s built in radio receiver, is at the least as good as the external receiver, and I’d have to say most of the time even better.

I set the YN-560 III up with an RF-602 receiver attached to the flash foot, and both the internal receiver and the RF-602 receiver easily reached 100 metres line of sight. But placing the transmitter behind my back (only about an inch away) sorts out the better performing triggers pretty quickly, and the built in receiver in the YN-560 III fairly consistently outperformed the external RF-602 receiver. Both were still getting at least 50 meters there, which is still very good range while obstructed.

So building the receiver into the flash body doesn’t appear to have had any negative effect on range at all that I can see at this stage. My other concern was that low battery power levels in the flash may cause lower reliability with the triggers, but I ran the flash until the batteries were empty and this didn’t cause any misfire issues. The built in receiver looks to be a very convenient advantage so far.

YN-560 III Range

 

Ports

 

The YN-560 III has the same High Voltage battery port, and PC sync port as the previous YN-560 models. The HV battery port is very welcome, as an inexpensive external pack can speed up recycle to just 1.2 seconds, and run for 400 to 500 shots. The Flagship YN-568EX TTL flash is unfortunately missing this important feature, so its really a big advantage to have this HV port in an inexpensive manual flash. This HV port uses the Canon compatible plug and cords.

The PC sync port is the standard screwlock PC sync. YongNuo have moved on to miniphone sockets in the YN-568EX, so this is a bit out of date, though with the inbuilt radio receiver it may not get used too often now anyway.

 

YN-560 III Ports

 

The battery compartment and door has been well sorted out since the first 560 model, its very fast and easy to operate having its own sliding track. Batteries are the standard 4 AA’s. NiMH or Eneeloops perform the best.

The flash foot is a single firing pin, and strong metal base with a nice large and simple locking ring and locking pin.

Another big advantage of the built in receiver is the lack of any extra receivers on the flash foot, which normally add height and leverage, creating a weak point and stress on the foot when mounting the flash. Mounting directly to the foot frees up the flash to be mounted in any position, on its side etc without any stress.

Phottix Multi Boom

The bracket shown above is the new Multi Boom 16″ now produced by Phottix.

 

PERMALINK

Radio Triggers

 

The YN-560 III are directly compatible with the YongNuo YN-560TX, and RF-603 II, RF-603, and RF-602 radio transmitters.

The YN-560TXRF-603 II, are generally the best transmitter options though, and will work on any cameras which have a standard hotshoe.

UPDATE – 26th June 2014 – YongNuo have now released the YN560-TX transmitter unit, which provides remote manual power control, and remote flash zoom, with the YN-560 III flashes. All through the radio receiver already built directly into the YN-560 III flashes.

YongNuo YN560-TX

 

PERMALINK

YN-622C / YN-622N

By far the biggest question I already get, is what does all this mean for the popular YongNuo YN-622 TTL triggers?. Are they compatible with the YN-560 III?, if not why not?. Should I buy the YN-622, or YN-560 III and RF-602.

UPDATE – 4th July 2014 – The YN-622C and YN-560 III are not directly compatible, though this is currently going through some changes as seen here.

 

Using Other Radio Triggers

If you already own another set of manual radio triggers, you may be able to combine those as well. Many of the good flash triggers have a pass through hotshoe on top of the transmitter. So if you already have Phottix Strato II, Commlite T320, Cactus V5 etc, you can simply add one of the directly compatible YN-560TX / RF-603 II / RF-602 transmitter units on top of your existing transmitters pass through hotshoe. So you can still fire your existing flashes and receivers, as well as the new YN-560 III flashes all together.

Strato II and RF-602

 

If you don’t have a pass through hotshoe on your existing radio triggers (like the PocketWizard Plus III / II / X) you can use the RF-603 II and mount your other radio transmitter on top of that. Again firing all your existing flashes and receivers, as well as the new YN-560 III flashes all together.

PERMALINK

TTL Flash On Camera

 

MORE DETAIL - Click to Expand

Many wedding and event photographers like to use a TTL flash on camera, and then fire some off camera manual flashes as well. Either to help light up a room, or to light, or rim light the subjects etc.

In this case the flash is taking up the camera hotshoe, so the RF-602 / 3 needs to be connected to the cameras PC sync port via a sync cord. Unfortunately the current RF-602, RF-603, or RF-603 II transmitters do not have an input sync port to plug into directly. So a hotshoe to sync cord is needed to attach to the transmitter foot. That sync cord is then plugged into the cameras PC sync port. (The very original RF-602 Tx did have an input PC sync port).

Bellow is just an example where I have used a straight bracket under the camera, allowing the RF-602 transmitter to mount down to the side near the cameras sync port. Ideally I would velcro the RF-602 transmitter to the side of the on-camera speedlite.

Pass Through Hotshoe Method

If your camera does not have a PC sync port, another option is to use the Meyin RF-604 transmitter which has a TTL pass through hotshoe the flash can be mounted straight on top of. Pass through hotshoes can cause problems after a while when using a heavy flash on top though, and the Myein RF-604 is not the most solid unit to start with. So connecting the transmitter to the cameras PC sync port if possible is the better long term option. The RF-603 II has a manual (not TTL) pass through hotshoe.

If combining YN-622 TTL triggers and receivers as well, you could use the PC sync cord method to connect the RF-603 II TX to the camera , as well as mount the YN-622C on the camera hotshoe, with flash mounted on top of that.

 

Camera Compatibility –

 

Being a single firing pin flash the YN-560 III is compatible with most cameras having a standard hotshoe when mounted directly on the camera .

Off camera, and using the YN-560 III’s built in radio receiver, compatibility will depend on the transmitter unit used. Most cameras with a standard hotshoe can be used with the YN560-TX and the RF-603 II transmitter units.

Virtually any camera with a sync connection or standard hotshoe could be used if using some other form of radio triggers to fire the flash off camera.

 

Specs –

 

  • Circuit design – Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor (IGBT)
  • Guide No. – 58 (ISO 100, 105mm)
  • Flash mode – M, Multi
  • Trigger Mode – On-camera, S1, S2 pre-flash-cancelled, RX 2.4GHz radio receiver
  • Wireless triggering distance – 100m(2.4G wireless), Optic 20~25m indoor, 10~15m outdoor
  • Channels – 16
  • Zoom range – auto, 24, 28, 35, 50, 70, 80, 105mm
  • Vertical rotation angle –  -7~90 degrees
  • Horizontal rotation angle –  0~270 degrees
  • Power supply – 4×AAsize batteries (Alkaline or Ni-MH are usable)
  • Lighting times – 100~1500 times (AA alkaline cell used)
  • Recycle time – approx 3s (AA alkaline cell used)
  • Color temperature – 5600k
  • Flash time – 1/200s~1/20000s
  • Flash control – 8 levels of output control (1/128~1/1), 29 levels of fine tuning
  • External interface – hot shoe, PC port port, HV battery port
  • Additional features – electronic flash head zooming, manual zoom, sound prompt, advanced setting, automatically saving setting, PC port, power saving mode and over heat protection.
  • Dimensions – 60×73×190mm (Extended state)
  • Net weight – 350g
  • Accessories Flash light (1), protecting bag (1), mini stand (1) and manual (1)

 

Included –

 

  • YN-560 III Flash Unit
  • Padded Case
  • Mini Base Stand
  • Instruction Manual

 

Summary

 

There’s no question the YN-560 III is a great manual flash which offers a lot of convenience and simplicity in an inexpensive package. And its already having an impact on the way many people consider their gear selection, and that’s not even with any remote power control on offer as yet. If YongNuo do introduce remote power control through a new transmitter this may become the most popular flash available.

PERMALINK

Price and Availability

 

The YN-560 III are available now from around  $75 –

Amazon – YN-560 III, RF-603 II  UK – YN-560 III, RF-603 II

Ebay – YN-560 III, RF-603 II

YongNuo Ebay Store – YN-560 III, RF-603 II

 

YN-560 II – (cheaper but without built in receiver) – AmazonUK, Ebay

YongNuo – Website

.

296 Comments
  1. tommy 5 years ago

    where is the power level indicator?
    is that the semi circle symbols ? looks more like signal strength than power level indicator.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Tommy,

      I’m not quite sure what you are meaning there. The Power level is shown in large numbers 1/2 + 0.3 etc. The small semi circles in the top right hand corner are just part of the icon showing your’re in RX radio receiver mode. Thanks.

      • James 5 years ago

        I think tommy meant the low power / battery low indicator.

  2. Darren 5 years ago

    It’s not noted here but maybe should be; yongnuo currently has a promotion for a yn-560iii + expedited shipping will include a 602 transmitter free and apparently a stofen type diffuser. $110 total.

    Waiting for my flash to show up in a couple of days to verify. Great way to join the ranks of flash users.

    Are they clearing out old 602/603 inventory to make room for something new? Likely!

    Great site by the way.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Darren,

      Thanks, I think you may be referring to the YongNuoStore. Just be aware they are not actually associated with YongNuo themselves.Thanks again.

      • Darren 5 years ago

        Thank you for the clarification there. That isn’t obvious on the site and I didn’t bother to do further investigation. Now I guess I’d better hope the goods show up and in good condition!

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 5 years ago

          Hi Darren,

          Actually most of the issues have been due to the Chinese postal system becoming very strict recently. YongNuo have resolved their differences with YongNuoStore, and I’ll post more on that later.

          But for now expedited shipping (as it sounds like you have done anyway so you should be fine) is the way to go to avoid any any hassles and long delays. Thanks again.

          • Darren 5 years ago

            My flash showed up today and is in great working order, and yongnuostore threw in a free diffuser (although it doesn’t quite fit… thats weird) and a 602 transmitter, and a 602 receiver. i asked for a pair as there was a delay in shipping (they sold stock they didn’t have), and they were good enough to do so. i’m excted to get shooting with it. it fired fine on top of my om-d, but i still have to figure out how to change the radio to 602.

            I read somewhere that the 602s don’t turn off, but on the front of the 600TX there was an on-off switch. maybe it was the receiver that doesn’t shut off?

            Flash Havoc says:

            Thanks Darren,

            That’s good news. It sounds like YongNuo have added an on/off switch to the RF-602TX where the PC sync port used to be (now called the RF-600TX).

            You will need to go into the custom functions to change to RF-602 receiver mode. Press the first and second top buttons together, then scroll through the functions using the up and down buttons. You should see the RF-603 pretty clearly. Press left or right and it changes to RF-602.

            Another custom function I really prefer is the quick start, which powers the flash on instantly. Thanks.

  3. chilipilot 5 years ago

    i own four yn-622c transceivers and love them. i really hope, the innovative guys at YongNuo incorporate this technology into their ettl-flashes. i would buy these.

    btw: a dedicated 622c-master-controller (similar to the canon ST-E3) would be a very big seller in my opinion.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi chilipilot,

      Thanks, yes I think built in TTL radio system is only a matter of time now. The only thing that concerns me a little is YongNuo have avoided the USB port and firmware updates so far. So your whole flash with trigger built in may have compatibility issues down the track. The convenience now would be well worth it though.

      Transmitter units with built in controller interface are only a matter of time as well. YongNuo have already done all the hard work now, transposing this into a more user friendly interface next is the easy part in comparison. Thanks.

  4. nigel 5 years ago

    Any ideas which transmitter compatible with a sony a99 will fire these flashes??? cant really find any answers.

    cheers.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Nigel,

      That may be a little trial and error, the least likely to work it the RF-603. The RF-602 (or RF-600 TX as it is now) for Canon or Nikon should work just to fire the flash. At worst you may have to tape over the TTL contacts on the transmitter or camera hotshoe. The RF-604 should work in the same fashion.

      If the a99 has a PC sync port you could also connect the transmitter to the camera as described in the article via a hotshoe to PC sync cord. Again the RF-603 may have issues there, but the RF-602 and RF-604 work as shown

      Otherwise if you want correct compatibility, with the wake up feature as well, the Meyin RF-604 have a Sony version as well. That has the Sony foot though so you would have to use the hotshoe adapter (which I’ve heard comes with the camera). The trouble may be tracking down a Sony RF-604 as I’ve not seen any listed yet.

      When YongNuo come out with a new transmitter they will more than likely do a Sony version as well, but we don’t know when that will be at this stage. Thanks.

  5. spokenworld 5 years ago

    this is a great post, as well as all of the articles on this website. bookmarked, for sure. 🙂

    I ordered a YN 560 III 4 days ago and im excited to be reading the unit’s tracking until it gets ringing at my door. 🙂 thing is im a bit confused now. not that it would matter in buying this piece of flash that seems to be the next big deal in flash revolution, coming soon. still, my confusin is: does it actually work on the Nikon’s D60 hotshoe, even if operated manually? as in, the flash triggers in sync with the shutter?

    Keep it up, you’re doing a great job!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi There,

      Sorry, yes the YN-560 III and other YN-560 models work fine on the camera hotshoe, but only as a manual only flash as you mentioned.

      Many people like to use a TTL flash on the camera though these days so they can move around quickly, and the distance to the subject may be constantly changing. That’s where it currently gets a little tricky adding an extra transmitter to fire the off camera YN-560 III in manual as well. Though you would have the same issue with a manual flash on the camera hotshoe too.

      Otherwise they are much more convenient than messing with a lot of external receivers as well, so you should enjoy them. As mentioned I think there is more to come eventually with a new transmitter. Thanks.

  6. strobist 5 years ago

    Hi flashhavoc,

    Just simple question, will YN-560 III fire with Phottix Ares on the camera hotshoe?? Thanks.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi There,

      Yes the YN-560 III should work fine with the Phottix Ares, as long as you have an Ares receiver connected to the YN-560 III, either via the hotshoe or PC sync port.

      The Ares transmitter is not directly compatible with the receiver inside the YN-560 III though. Thanks.

  7. Chaos 5 years ago

    I keep seeing the 560III advertised as having an “RX receiver”.
    But the 603 are both transmitters and receivers or “transceivers”
    So my question is can a 560III on camera trigger another 560III and other flashes connected with 603’s?
    Or can the 560III only receive and not transmit.

    If they can only receive then I could put a 603 between the 560III and the camera and then I am good to go?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi There,

      Yes the YN-560 III can only receive, not transmit. To fire it with an RF-603, that must be mounted on the camera hotshoe. Thanks.

  8. Loveboy 5 years ago

    Any word on the new triggers for these?

    I must admit, I’m getting nervous. I bought four when Yongnuo announced they would release triggers with group mode for them; but the longer it takes the more I am worried that they will go back on this, and release a YN-560iv along with the new triggers, and not support these ones after all (especially given the lack of USB update on these).

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi There,

      It could be while yet as YongNuo have a number of things they will be releasing first. I’m guessing towards the end of the year now. Thanks.

  9. ggephotography 5 years ago

    The rf-603s pc sync port is output only unless you modify it on the inside. So sadly can’t even connect that to a camera’s pc port (if it has one) or hot shoe adapter. Such a great little trigger but really limited when it comes to being useful for event photography.

  10. MIke 5 years ago

    I’m just a little confused because of the focus on the built in receiver on this flash. I am in need of a good cheep flash until I can invest in something else. This will be a background flash and emergency replacement for one of my primaries. I’m already getting committed to Phottex Transmitters and Receivers. Ignoring that this flash has a built in receiver, can I connect a Phottix Strato II Receiver and trigger it with my existing Phottix Strato II Transmitter and Receivers?

  11. robert 5 years ago

    Very nice review. very informative and im looking for a manual flash for off camera work. this suits my needs.

    I was thinking to get 2 of these to use for off camera wedding photography at the hall. I currently using old SB28. will get RF603 with these. my worry was about adjusting flash exposure for the off camera flash 560III from the camera/transceiver?

    I ask because my exposure will constantly change and if the output is the same (560III)as its set to manual, I have to constantly go to the flash, lower the stand, adjust, raise the stand and shoot. thats not too efficient. just want to know if I can adjust the flash output on the fly?

    this will work with the Battery Pack SF-18, correct?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Robert,

      Thanks, yes there’s currently no remote manual power adjustment with the YN-560 III, though its highly likely there will be when YongNuo bring out a new dedicated transmitter for this flash. I don’t know when that will be, Yongnuo have just said there are some other products to come first. My guess would be towards the end of the year at this point.

      I wouldn’t recommend the RF-603, the RF-602 and RF-604 are better transmitters.

      The other option for remote power control at this point would be the YN-622C (or YN-622N) and YN-568EX or YN-565EX. That way you have 2nd curtain sync and possibly the option of HSS as well.

      Yes the SF-18 will work with the YN-560 III, and the YN-565EX. Thanks

      • robert 5 years ago

        Thank for the quick reply. I thinks its a typo as you wrote “YN-565EX or YN-565EX” im guessing you meant the 568 (which I bought just now-for nikon btw)

        the 565/568 is out of the budget I want to spend for an off camera flash. twice what i’d like. add in the 622N and its much more. I dont think off camera flash with camera controlled power output should warrant such a high budget.

        I do have 2 SB800 that can do HSS /2nd curtain (for my portrait shoots in brighter lighting)

        buying 565 and 622n’s is doubling what I want to spend for simple off camera manual mode flashes where I can increase or decrease its output from the camera. I dont need all the features the high end models flashes have as well.

        I like the 560III, shame I cant do a simple function with it. not looking for TTL just dont want the annoying task of constantly running to the flash to change the output. I need to concentrate on photographing the event.

        you being the flash guru, can you recommend any other gear? btw, what flashes can the 622n work with?

        thanks so much for your insight and help

        • robert 5 years ago

          thinking about it but just dont know how to go about it now.

          basically, I want:
          -manual flash off camera flash fired by 2.4ghz slaves. built in or to buy some slaves (similar in price to the 603n is fine)

          – to be able to adjust the flash exposure on the fly through the camera.

          -something moderately powerful. sb600/28 or so with decent recycle times (although will use a battery pack) I own 1SB28 2SB800 and 1-YN568 (which I got yesterday)

          -must have a connection for battery pack. the yongnuo SF 18/17 is fine. dont want to deal with replacing batteries half way through. I can do it but a little inconvenient.

          I used to shlep big monolights but the strobes by the DJ was firing them off and burned those down.

          Im reading that the 622n have issues with exposure with SB800 so I cannot get those..maybe the next variation they put out. or if they put out a firmware update.

          maybe you can recommend other companies/gear please?

          • Author
            Flash Havoc 5 years ago

            Hi Robert,

            They have already updated the YN-622N to fix the issues with the SB-800 (still no master mode though). You may have to check with the seller, or buy direct from the YongNuo Ebay store to be sure its the latest version.

            We’re talking about seriously low dollars for this type of gear already, you’d be wasting your time with anything cheaper, but there is nothing cheaper anyway :-).

            Regarding simple inexpensive remote manual, yes I’ve been pushing for this for years, there is nothing official, but its highly likely the YN-560 III will have this ability once they bring out a new transmitter unit for that (likely closer to the end of the year now). Once it finally gets started, this will be like TV remotes and every flash will have one.

            Triopo have actually beaten YongNuo to it already with the Triopo TR-850EX. But there is no transmitter unit for that yet either, you need to use one flash to control the others. And at $69 they are made just a little too cheap for any serious work – http://flashhavoc.com/triopo-tr-850ex-first-remote-manual-speedlight/

            If you don’t want to pay for the YN-622, just wait for the YN-560 III transmitter, it will come eventually. Thanks.

          • robert 5 years ago

            HI again FH
            been pondering this and I have some questions and your opinion will help me make the right choice.

            did 4 weddings as of now. did it for many years previously but gear was stolen. have joined a pro coming from the film world, and this digital one is a new game altogether. im still learning.

            1- I bought my 568n from this guy http://thephotogadget.com/
            the flash bounce card came out from the first wedding a few times already. I slip it back but sheesh how embarrassing. and crap it takes forever to turn the flash on!! wth. its longer than the recycle of a full flash shot.

            2-cant get the 604 u mentioned above so will have to go either 622n and/or 603. he sells 603 which are showing as “N1/N2/N3”. whats the difference? which should I get of those?

            3-was considering 2 setups and if you can tell me if they would work. after working with the pro. remotely adjusting flash from the camera is not a problem and he basically sets the flash once the whole evening and leaves it at that. thats for the dance floor though.

            a-setup 1. two 560 III off camera on stands. cameras are D3/D300 (will be replacing the D300 to either D700 or another D3) with 568/SB800. one 560III paired with 622n and one 622n on camera. the other 560III would be triggered by the camera mounted 603.

            my question for the above setup is can the 622 camera fire off both the off camera 560III flash having the 622 receiver AND the built in 603 in 560III off camera flash? otherwise will just go 603 on both cameras.

            btw how high a sync can I get with the 603’s ? must I mount the 603 to the hot shoe? or do I have the option to connect it to the body sync or the flash sync? also I was thinking to get some velcro and put some on the bottom of the camera and 603 and just stick it there and run the cord on the side of the body. not too keen on having the 603 not having a locking mount. potential problem waiting to happen.

            just dont want to upgrade over and over and thats why im hesitant to pull the trigger but for $80 a flash its not a big deal. I do want to get another hss flash that can TTL for outdoors. ill wait a little and see if they come out with the 568II for Nikon.

            thanks again for the help you give me guidance in my confusion.
            cheers buddy!

            sorry for the long post but this will help me finalize my purchase. I spent so much on equipment with all the nikkor 2.8 zooms so trying to save a few bucks where I can. im not even getting paid yet :/

            —————————————————————————————

            FlashHavoc Says –

            Hi Robert,

            There is no reply button so I will post this here. (I think you will need to start a new post to reply again).

            The YN-622N are not directly compatible with the YN-560 III inbuilt receivers. The way to generally combine them is to put an RF-602/604 Tx on top of the YN-622N TX.

            But if all you’re really after now is a TTL flash on camera, and manual flashes off camera, the best option is to place the TTL flash directly on the camera hotshoe (thats by far the most reliable), then connect some manual triggers via sync cord to the PC port in your cameras, or even better to the PC port in your SB-800 on camera.

            So all you need is an RF-602 transmitter Velcroed to the side of your on camera flash. The latest RF-602 transmitters don’t have a PC sync port though, so you need a hotshoe to sync cord to connect to the RF-602 foot. That gets a little clunky though, so if your handy I would solder the cord directly to the foot contacts. Even better I would cut the foot off the RF-602 TX case and solder the cord inside.

            I’m not sure if the RF-603 can connect via the PC sync cord port like this. But again I wouldn’t even bother with RF-603 personally. The Sync speeds are lousy.

            Many wedding photographers use the PCB Cybersyncs like this, as the transmitter is one of the smallest (to velcro to the side of an on camera flash), and they are very reliable. But you need Cybersync receivers on the flashes then too. An RF-602 Tx with the foot cut off would be even more compact than the Cybersync TX and you don’t need receivers then.
            .
            .

            Regarding point 1 – there is a custom menu option to instant turn on the YN-568EX.

            Point 2 – “N1/N2/N3” is the shutter release cord option. When flash triggers come with the shutter release cord you have to choose the type to suit your camera. I think only Phottix supply all the cord options to start with..
            .
            .

            You have decent reliable gear there in the SB-800 and SB-28’s. I personally wouldn’t be buying YN-568EX for long term wedding work. The Phottix Mitros would be a much safer option there.

            But for manual off camera flashes the YN-560 III are fine. Even then you still need to have back ups to be safe.

            If you want to start looking at HSS (or rear curtain or TTL) off camera, it start getting more complex to have a reliable solution. Even if money was no object its still hard to put a compatible kit together for many people. The YN-622N and compatible TTL flashes are the bottom of the barrel in terms of price there, and you didn’t really want to even spend that much. People do use them for weddings, but I wouldn’t consider it a long term reliable solution.

            Sticking with the manual option you can do it pretty reliably and cheaply. When you start looking at TTL gear its a bit hard to expect to buy once at minimum dollars. If it wasn’t for Amazon buying gear at these prices at all would difficult to risk.

            Thanks
            Regds
            Elv

  12. junior 5 years ago

    Im using pocket wizards tt1+ tt5 system wil thebyn-560iii be compatible with it? I want to use them as slave flashes but i dont know if they can be fired with my pocket wizards system

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi there,

      If you place a YN-560 III on a TT5 receiver (or connect via sync cord) that will fire the YN-560 III as a regular manual flash. No other control. In that case it would be cheaper to use Plus X receivers for the YN-560 III’s.

      But you should be able to place an RF-602 transmitter on top of the TT1 on the camera, and have that fire the YN-560 III’s built in receiver.

      The PocketWizard TT1 or TT5 on camera alone won’t directly fire the YN-560’s inbuilt receiver if that is what you were meaning. Thanks.

  13. Rangpuriya 5 years ago

    Thanks for the great review. I’ve one short question.

    I learn that YN-560 III & RF-603 should be synchronized for the trigger to work. I can set rf-603 in advanced options function by pressing 1st & 2nd buttons together, then up/dn button. RF-603 is set. OK. Now I’ve to set Channel. There are 16 channels in all. Say, I’ve set Ch-1 by pressing 3rd & 4th buttons together in YN-560 III.

    But how to set channel (same channel as that of the flash) in RF-603. OR RF-603’s channel is fixed. If that is correct, then I’d like to know that channel number.

    An early reply would be highly appreciated.

  14. Rangpuriya 5 years ago

    Got it. Thanx again!!!

  15. seoras 5 years ago

    There is no Olympus or Sony versions of the Rikon Meyin RF-604 trigger, as stated. Certainly none I could find. Though if I’m not going to be using oly flash units ??

    Excellent review though.

    s

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Seoras,

      Yes the Olympus and Sony versions still don’t appear to be available yet. But they are listed on the website, and the company that makes these do other Sony and Olympus compatible triggers, so its pretty likely they will come eventually. Thanks.

      • seoras 5 years ago

        Cool. thanks.

        s

  16. RICHARD PARIS PHOTOGRAPHY 5 years ago

    Great review thank you.

    I just bought two YN560-III’s and am probably going to get two more.

    QUESTION: There is a Battery Power Icon shown on the LCD Panel in the manual. Can you tell me how the Power Level Indicator works… does it just come on when the battery is drained and if so how much time do you have to replace them?

    Thx,
    Richard

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Richard,

      Thanks. The battery indicator basically comes on when the batteries are dead and the flash is about to shut off. You’ll here it beeping away madly, by then its about to shut off.

      So its not much help as an early warning, you’ll likely notice recycle time is slowing down though anyway. That’s using rechargeable NiHM batteries though by the way. NiHM have a a very flat discharge curve, so battery level indicators don’t really work that well with them. Indicators are better suited to Alkalines. Thanks.

  17. Richard 5 years ago

    Gracias…

  18. Greig 5 years ago

    The RF-602 Trigger does have a PC-Sync port that you can use to fire the trigger from your cameras PC-Sync port. It exists on the front of the 602 Trigger.
    I actually use this port to solve a solution that involves using YN-622 triggers on-camera and to trigger my YN-568EX flashes off-camera. I also use YN-560III flashes inside some strip lights. I use the 602 TX to trigger these 560III’s. However, the 602 is not on top of the 622 trigger as I have a SU-800 commander on top of the 622 so that I can control the YN-568EX’s from the camera.
    The 602 is connected to the PC-Sync of the YN-622 with the supplied cord that comes with the 602 and is plugged into the sync port on the front of the 602 TX trigger.
    I can control 5 or more flashes this way. All the 560EXIII’s are triggered by the 602 and I have full power etc control of the YN-568’s from the 622 controlled by the SU-800 commander.
    You can also replace the Su-800 with SB-900/10 or the new YN-568EXII using it as a commander for the off-camera 568’s as well as an on-camera fill flash if that is what you need.
    BTW, the power of the YN-560EXIII’s is controlled manually.

  19. madeline 5 years ago

    FH,

    Can you tell me if its possible to use two YN-560 lll flashes off camera with a trigger on my 5d mk3? Im under the impression that this model cannot be used as a master, so do I need a 430ex ll as my
    master coupled with a YN-560 ll as the slave? Also do you know if the Cowboystudio wireless trigger would be compatible with the YNs?
    Thanks.

    m

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Madeline,

      Yes you can certainly use a couple of YN-560 III off camera with the 5D III. All you need is a simple RF-602 radio transmitter on the cameras hotshoe. Or the RF-604 is another good option, but that does only have one channel when used with the YN-560 III.

      Those triggers simply fire the YN-560 III flashes in manual, through their built in radio receiver. No remote control of the flash setting at this stage. But there will be more advanced transmitter units coming from YongNuo later.
      .
      .

      Regarding the 5D III master – That is a different system. Its difficult to explain all this in a short reply, but there are basically 4 systems –

      – Radio based basic Manual
      – Radio based full TTL / HSS / Remote Manual etc
      – Optic based basic Manual
      – Optic base full TTL / HSS / Remote Manual etc.

      Optic systems are less expensive, but they are limited by line of sight to some degree. In short they work best indoors, or in low light. Not so well out in the sunlight.

      The Master you’re referring to is the Canon (or Nikon) optic wireless system, and they offer full TTL / HSS / Remote manual etc. The 430EX II actually doesn’t have a Master either, but the inexpensive Canon 90EX was designed to add an optic master to the 5D III.

      So it just depends how and where you are working, and the features you need. If you were working inside all the time, and you really would prefer to have the option of TTL as well, then the YongNuo YN-560EX or YN-510EX optic wireless slave flashes would allow that at similar prices to the YN-560 III. But they have no radio based receiver built in for outdoor use then. And they will only work in manual with any other radio triggers (or on the camera hotshoe).
      .
      .

      If you want all the bells and whistles (TTL, HSS, Remote Manual etc) via radio, but still in a relatively inexpensive package, the YongNuo YN-622C and TTL flashes will allow that,
      .
      .

      The Cowboy studio triggers will not be directly compatible with the radio receiver built into the YN-560 III, but you can still use them if you connect the Cowboy Studio receivers to the flash as well. You’re much better of paying $20 – $30 for a RF-602 etc tranmitter though and using the YN-560 III’s built in receiver. As that is much better, but also a lot more convenient as you don’t have the extra receivers and batteries to mess around with.

      Hope that helps! Thanks

      • madeline 5 years ago

        Thank you so much for that detailed answer! I need this lighting set-up for a macro project Ill be shooting, individual moths that are mounted on a backdrop. Ive done some test shoots and also did macro shots of live bees. I would like to set up two flashes with soft boxes on stands and trying to keep the cost of the set-up down while having a smooth work flow as there are a lot of moths to document. I will also want to you use the lighting set up for portraits and would really like to be able to move around and shoot remotely. So it sounds like I could effectively use the RF 602 transmitter with two 560 or 510 flashes and be able to shoot remotely with multiple channels and TTL? Can you tell me why wither of those flashes would be better? Do you know what the delivery times are from Amazon these days?

        Thanks again,
        madeline

        • madeline 5 years ago

          FH,

          Im assuming I would need a triigger on the camera body and a receiver on each flash?

          Thank you.

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 5 years ago

          Hi Madeline,

          The YN-560EX and YN-510EX use the Canon optic wireless system, so you need the Canon 90EX flash unit mounted on the camera as the master unit on the 5D III to fire those (with TTL / HSS / & Remote manual). But they are limited to line of sight indoors etc. The actual light flash pulses from that flash on the camera are what trigger the slave flashes. You can’t use the RF-602 as a transmitter for those in anything but manual (and they require RF-602 receivers).
          .

          If you’re interested in ETTL and Remote Manual etc you’re really better off looking at the YN-622C TTL radio triggers and YN TTL flashes (like the YN-568EX, 565EX or YN-500EX).

          The YN-568EX/II has full power and all the features except an external battery port
          The YN-500EX is a mini version of the YN-568EX above – with 1/2 a stop less power.

          The YN-565EX does not have HSS, but it does have the external battery port.

          YongNuo don’t have a flash with HSS and external battery port yet. But they are very inexpensive for what they are. The Phottix Mitros has HSS and external battery port..
          .
          If you’re in the US shipping from Amazon is just a few days. .
          .
          Going back to the YN560EX and YN510EX, the YN-510EX is again a mini version of the 560, with 1/2 a stop less power.
          .
          If you’re trying to keep the price down and really want the TTL etc, the YN-622C and YN-500EX are likely the best solution. With those you do need a receiver on each flash, and one transmitter on the camera. So 3 YN-622C units altogether. Unfortunately there are no 3 unit kits or single YN-622C currently available on Amazon, so you have to buy 2 pairs, or one extra single from HK. Thanks.

          • madeline 5 years ago

            Thank you so much for the tips, I really appreciate your help!

            Madeline

  20. David 5 years ago

    Will the built in wireless RC on Olympus OMD and Pen series cameras trigger this flash?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi David,

      This would just be triggering the flash through its optic slave (not its built in radio receiver).

      So if possible it would be best to set the camera flash to manual, and the YN-560 III optic slave to S1 mode. If you need to use TTL or the wireless optic system of the camera, you would set the YN-560 III to S2 optic slave mode (which ignores pre-flashes).

      If you want to use radio, you would need an RF-602 etc radio transmitter on the camera. Thanks.

      • David 5 years ago

        Thanks for the response. I have searched for RF-602, but they all appear to be for canon or nikon. Would these work with my Olympus?

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 5 years ago

          Hi David,

          They should do, all you are after is the center firing pin on the transmitter, so at worst it should only mean taping over the extra TTL pins. But I don’t think you should even need to do that in most cases.

          That’s the RF-602 transmitter, avoid the RF-603 for non Canon Nikon cameras.

          The Meyin RF-604 transmitter should be available for Olympus eventually. But at most that would add a flash wake up feature (and the pass through hotshoe on the transmitter). Thanks.

  21. robert 5 years ago

    FH

    your insight really helps me. thanks again for all your expertise.

    not sure why you think the 568 isnt for long term use. I think its wonderful and I especially love the head that can be adjusted without pressing a button to release. I did the custom settings to get it to turn on quicker. THANK YOU FOR THAT! yes, didnt go through the manual in detail yet.

    anyways, looking at the Phottix Mitros, I think I will wait and get one and see how it goes. $300 for a $550 flash. not a bag deal. lets hope its not all hype and they deliver.

    I will get some 603n’s though and later when they come out with something better (622n II maybe) will upgrade, but for now, I just need manual flash. wont be buying any other flashes as of now. will use my SB28 for that and my friends SB900 and that will be fine. using SB800 on camera and 568 on the other. im set for now. but will try the mitros on camera and move the 568 for off camera fill.

    when I saw the Mitros, I said “eh, another 568 selling for $120 more” but read the strobist’s blog “be afraid nikon” and I realize this looks great.

    please dumb down your reply to the “N1/N2/N3″ I asked. im sorry im stupid sometimes..or all the time haha but basically the 603n take a 2.5mm connector, yes? I actually bought coiled sync cords from ebay.. one side 2.5mm and the other is a threaded regular pc connector so I can connect it to the SB800/28’s I have the 568 takes the same 2.5mm. so which do I really need?

    thanks again so much for the help. you saved me a lot of wasted time and money.
    cheers Robert

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Robert,

      The “N1/N2/N3″ are shutter release cables, to use the triggers as a remote shutter release (as in fire the camera remotely). So if you’re only using the triggers to fire flashes you don’t need a shutter release cord. Thanks.

  22. McPetruk 5 years ago

    I’d really like a tutorial on how to simply get started on one of these. I haven’t shot with a flash before, and have a canon 5dm2. What are the basic settings for on-camera, and for off camera?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Dan,

      You really want the camera set to manual. Shutter speed is the main limitation, and the 5DII you can only go to 1/160th (or 1/200th if lucky) maximum before you start seeing shutter in the frame.

      So outside in bright ambient light you would go straight to 1/160th, minimum ISO (50 etc), and then start adjusting the aperture until you have the amount of ambient light (or how light/dark you want the sky or background etc). Then turn on the flash, and start adjusting the power level of that until your subject is exposed correctly.

      In bright light you will likely find 1/160th is not enough to bring down the light levels without everything being too light already. Or you may not want to shoot at F16 or F22 etc, so that is where an ND filter on the camera is needed to reduce light levels (or use HSS, which the YN-560 III does not have).

      Inside or in a studio like environment you are generally lighting everything via the flash. Again around 1/125th or 1/160th is fine to start. Then adjust the aperture you would like for the depth of field needed. If there is not enough power in the flash, then you can increase the ISO. Its probably good to start around ISO 200. Its not uncommon to need to shoot at ISO 400 with speedlights to have enough power (best to keep them at 1/2 power of bellow where possible). Shutter speed has no effect on the flash light levels here, so adjusting that is through the aperture and ISO on the camera, and the power level on the flash.

      – So Shutter Speed, Aperture and ISO effect ambient light levels
      – Only Aperture and ISO effect the flash light levels

      You may want to start experimenting inside at home where there is no ambient light in the image, just lighting the subject with the flash only. Then move on to balancing ambient light level and flash. Thanks.

  23. Mike 5 years ago

    hey there . i just wanna ask is the YN 560 II is an auto TTL flash ?
    and compare this to Meike 950 which one would be better ?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Mike,

      Sorry no the YN-560 II and YN-560 III are all manual flashes. The MK-950 is a very inexpensive TTL and manual flash, so you can imagine you will likely get what you pay for there.

      The YongNuo YN-565EX is a good place to start with TTL flashes, from $140. For the same price you can get HSS in the YN-500EX but with 1/2 stop less power. The YN-568EX / II are ful power with HSS around $180. Thanks.

  24. Richard 5 years ago

    this is all so very confusing. I have a Panasonic Gh3 which i al told these work with. if i want to be able to trigger 3 flashes with my GH3 what would I need? three yn 560 III? anything else? a transmitter? or a pocket wizard thing? I’m sorry if my question sounds stupid. its just the flash setup part of this is very confusing. I understand the use of the light how to set up the light. its the Flash setup that is so very confusing

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Richard,

      To use the flashes built in radio receiver (to fire the flash) you will need a radio transmitter. At this stage your best option is likely the RF-602.

      In a couple of months there will be a new transmitter that will remotely change power levels on the YN-560 III flash units. We will have to wait and see what compatibility is like with the Panasonic there.

      You can also use the optic slave trigger built into the YN-560 III, to fire them from the pop-up flash on your camera. This is line of sight, and best used indoors where there is no bright light (indoors the signal will bounce around). If your camera does not have manual power levels with the pop-up flash, you set the YN-560 III to S2 slave mode so that it will ignore TTL pre-flashes. Thanks.

  25. aly 5 years ago

    Hi!

    I just wanna ask for a beginner, which one is better, YN-560 III or YN-560EX? 🙂

    Thanks!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Aly,

      That’s not really a simple question to answer. Assuming your camera has a built in flash controller in its pop-up flash, to trigger and control the YN-560EX, the advantage there would be having the option of manual and TTL (which is handy for moving subjects or run and gun).

      If you intend to work outside in bright light though you would be better off with radio triggering, in which case the YN-560 III would be a better option, (but manual only). It will be a few months until the transmitter with remote power control will be available though.

      So moving subjects / TTL – indoors or low light – YN560EX
      Outdoors bright light – YN-560 III.

      Thanks.

  26. Gurshaan 5 years ago

    Hi…i wanted to ask that
    what is the difference between the yn560 II AND yn560 III ?
    and is it good if i upgrade from yn560 I to Yn560 III ?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Gurshaan,

      The YN-560 II is quite similar to the YN-560 III, but the II does not have the built in radio receiver, and therefore will not have remote manual power control when the new YN-560 TX comes in a couple of months.

      The YN-560 III is quite a big upgrade from the original YN-560 if the radio receiver and remote power control are useful to you. Otherwise the III also does not shut down for overheat protection after 20 shots at full power, it just slows down recycle time. The LCD screen is also nice, but not really a necessity. Thanks

  27. Mark 5 years ago

    I upgraded to meyin 604 from RF603 and love them but unfortunately a flash fell off the meying trigger because the hot shoe is not that of good built quality – the flash didn’t break but now I am scared to put the flash on the meyin trigger 🙁

    I am a wedding photographer and I need a durable product… which meyin isn’t

    I need the following solution:

    1. a stand alone TTL flash with built in radio trigger from Yongnuo with a real locking lever – it’s a real pain in the neck to charge and carry extra AAA batteries.

    2. In the YN560 IV we need compatibility with the new stand alone TTL flash also nice to have a locking lever but not necessary. It would also be nice to have an optional wall plug cable so that we don’t need to run and change batteries or worry about not having enough battery juice in the middle of a wedding reception.

    3. The next flash needs to have an on/off switch just like in Canon flashes to turn on instantly instead of holding the button for a few seconds – really annoying Yongnuo!

    4. I hope Yongnuo is aware of the hard-to-get out bounce card problem and will remedy this problem in their future flash gun models.

    5. I would like to see flashes in different color options (pink, yellow, and sky blue) Don’t laugh… This will help recognize flashes on the fly when using group functions – the buttons of the group functions should have a corresponding color of the flash gun.

    Yongnuo, if you meet these requirements I am ready to buy yet another set of your product line.

  28. sohail 5 years ago

    its working with Canon ETTL mode

  29. john 5 years ago

    Hi can you help me?
    I own a canon 5d and 5dm2 i use two canon flash guns with the photix odin system , i want to add a third flash and was thinking of YN 560 m3 , i have seen on you tube that Yn are not compatible with photix odins is this the case?
    I dont need the third flash to be TTL necessarily as manual will do but iam a bit scared to buy if it wont work. I have heard the odin can trigger some older photix receivers like the atlas ?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi John,

      YongNuo TTL flashes won’t work with the Canon version Phottix Odin with any TTL or remote control, but most manual flashes including YongNuo will work fine. That’s just basic manual firing of the flash though, no remote manual control.

      Yes you can use Strato, Strato II, and Atlas II receivers with the Odin as a more economical way to fire manual flashes and studio lights.

      The coming YN-560TX may be another option though if that will connect to the camera PC sync port, as that would allow remote manual control of the YN-560 III. Thanks.

  30. Jacques 5 years ago

    Now if YN would just make a smaller flash like the YN-500 with a built-in trigger for the YN-560 III and an auto exposure mode for on-camera non-TTL use, they’d have a system I could use equally well at events with both my Canon DSLRs and my Panasonic m43 cameras. If they could make the AF aid light work on multiple camera brands, all the better.

    Anyone tried the Triopo TR-850EX for cross-platform use, especially at events?

  31. viisshnu 5 years ago

    I have a doubt. Yongnuo’s ebay store says the foot of the flash is “metal texture hot shoe interface”. Does it mean its coated like metal and is plastic???? I know it can only mean that, but wanted to confirm with you just to be sure.

    Here is a link to their ebay store : http://www.ebay.com/itm/Yongnuo-YN-560-III-Wireless-Flash-Speedlite-for-Canon-10D-20D-30D-40D-50D-60D-/181120695006?pt=Digital_Camera_Flashes&hash=item2a2ba27ade

    Thanks.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi there,

      The foot is definitely solid steel, I think that’s just the language translation. Thanks.

  32. Wilson 5 years ago

    Hi,
    Is there any chance to fire a 480EX II along with YN560 III ( Both todether with a 550D) by infrared, or fire the YN 560 III with the pop up flash using a Canon T2i ( 550D). tHANKS

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Wilson,

      I’m not sure what you mean by infrared there, unless you mean using a transmitter like the Canon ST-E2?

      You can certainly fire the YN-560 III with the 550D pop up flash, but that is using the 560 III’s built in optic slave in S2 slave mode (to miss the TTL pre-flash from the pop up flash).

      But one inexpensive set of RF-602 radio triggers would save you a whole load of hassle. Put the receiver on the 430EX II, and the the transmitter will fire that and the YN-560 III’s built in radio receiver. Thanks.

  33. Linda 5 years ago

    Hi! thanks for posting your reviewl
    I just purchased two Yongnuo 560-III speedlites and am very pleased with the quality and build.
    I have a Vello Freware Fusion wireless trigger and a Canon 7D. I set the flashes up to RF 603– to be compatible with the Vello transmitter– but cannot get the flash and the wireless trigger to connect. I can use the flashes as slaves, but was hoping to use the wireless feature as well. Do you have any advice?
    Linda

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Linda,

      Thanks for that. Sorry no the Vello are not directly compatible with the YN-560 III’s built in receiver. You might want to just use the Vello receivers on them for now, until YongNuo has some new model transmitter/triggers available. If you do need to buy more receivers, then it may be worth just picking up a set of YongNuo RF-602 for now instead. Its hard to get any good information from YongNuo at the moment, but the YN-560 III transmitter with remote power control may have been pushed back to next year. There is also RF-603 II expected which will be compatible, but may not offer much advantage over basic manual triggers. Thanks.

  34. Andy 5 years ago

    I have an older Canon EOS Rebel (300D). It’s been a great camera for shooting Raw format. I want to buy the Yongnuo YN-560III flash. Will this work on my camera?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Andy,

      The YN-560 III should work fine on the 300D, but keep in mind this is only a manual flash. Its most common use if for off camera flash, and that is why it has a built in radio transmitter. If you’re happy to work out the exposures manually though it should work fine on the camera as well. Most people tend to use an ETTL capable flash on the camera though. Thanks.

  35. toni 5 years ago

    Can you leave the flash on for, let’s say, 2 or 3 hours in case you want to set a trap? I ask this because some flashes will turn off after a while.

    Thanks.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Tony,

      You can turn the sleep mode to OFF in the custom functions, and as far as I can tell that stops the flash from auto powering off or going into any sleep mode.

      How long the batteries will last I’m not sure though. You would likely want an external battery pack so the batteries in the flash can keep the interface etc alive for as long as possible. Thanks.

  36. Gabriel 5 years ago

    Hello,

    I saw YonGnuo YN-560-III on dx dot com, and what looks very interesting was… “Power: 10W”.

    Since the link is saying “…speedlite-photoflood-lamp…”, I was believing it has a double function, as flash-lamp (energy per flash) and as flood-lamp (power) with a LED near xenon tube. Reading few reviews, none say anything about this second function as flood-lamp, which should be extremely interesting to make movies.

    Anyway, a power, watts, refer to continuous use and not as flash (energy, joules)…

    But I found that you can use it as stroboscope (?, power is a good specification as many flashes per second) and if real, like 100 flashes per second, you still be able to do movies… and 10W should be good for few meters range. Maybe 24 or 30 flashes could be perfect, but how to synchronize with the camera to get a picture when it is flashing and not between flashes (!).

    I wanted a powerful flash, with GN around 50 and this one is good (58) for “long” range indoor, and being manual is so easy to use with any camera, but if you can “stroboscope” to do movies, this should be great.

    Any idea you can setup this “function” and how it works.

    PS I just discovered this site and I like it!

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Gabriel,

      Sorry unfortunately I wouldn’t take to much from what it says in descriptions on websites like that.

      You can’t use this flash for movies. What they are reffing to is a feature found in most similar speedlites, called Multi or Stroboscopic mode. You can set the Hz and number of flashes, but that only lasts for a fraction of a second. So you would have an extremely short movie :-). There’s no way you could run this constantly for any period of time. There are no other LED lights built into the YN-560 III either.

      Power is about 2 to 3 tenths of a stop less than the top end Canon/Nikon flashes. If power is critical, the new Godox V850 has that extra 2-3 tenths. Thanks

      • Gabriel 5 years ago

        THANK YOU !

        That is indeed a very good one.
        I was working “manually” with cameras for about 50 years, and switching to digital I have other perspectives. One of them is the “video” available on almost any camera, and I wanted to shoot two hares with one bullet, that is why I was interested in the idea of a flash and flood light in same unit. If you find something like this, please share with us.

        And switching to digital, I do not understand some terms, please add a “glossary” and let the ones like me to update their knowledge of modern photography.

        Thank you again!

        • Author
          Flash Havoc 5 years ago

          Hi Gabriel,

          The Canon 320EX flash has a small LED video light built in. Its only for very basic use though, and Canon did not add one the the higher end flashes.

          The coming LED light cube is much more of a serious option. Or the Manfrotto Maxima Hybrid LED panel is a more basic option available now. Thanks.

  37. SC 5 years ago

    Hi, great blogpost. I was wondering if you could help me. I have a Panasonic camera and a Metz flash. I plan to buy the Yongnuo RF-603 transceivers which would fire off the flash wirelessly and I understand I need to ‘mod’ 1 of the transceivers to get it to work with my Panasonic.

    I also want to buy a second flash (the one you mentioned here) and was wondering if I bought the Canon version, could I fire off both of my flashes (Metz and Yongnuo Canon version) at the same time?

    I know there there is a Panasonic version of this Yongnuo flash too but as I have a Canon camera without a flash, it makes sense to buy the Canon model of this flash.

    Thanks a lot in advance! 🙂

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi SC,

      The YN-560 III flash is just a manual single firing pin flash. So they don’t actually have any Canon/Nikon or Panasonic specific versions, its just the one universal flash for all.

      If you didn’t want to modify an RF-603 you should be able to use an RF-602 transmitter standard. The RF-602 have better sync speeds as well.

      You should be able to fire the Metz with either an RF-602 or RF-603 receiver attached (using the corresponding transmitter). The YN-560 III has the RF-602/3 receiver built in, so they can be fired at the same time. Thanks.

  38. SC 5 years ago

    Thank you! I didn’t realize there was only 1 model of this flash because when I bought my Metz flash (which has 4 pins) they were brand specific.

  39. joaquin 5 years ago

    How do you calculate the correct power for a certain distance en MANUAL mode in this flash since there is no distance scale or indicator, like in CANON and NIKON flashes ? This issue is driving me crazy …. Any light in this regard will be appreciated.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Joaquin,

      I’m not sure if you mean on or off camera there? Off camera you basically just get used to it, and you will have a fairly good estimate before taking the first shot. Otherwise some people prefer using a light meter. I haven’t used manual flash on camera much, but again you would get fairly used to the manual camera settings you want for ambient light inside for example, then once you know the general working distance to the subjects you can work out the correct flash exposure, and then try and keep that same working distance.

      But anything like putting a gel on the flash or any modifier effects the light output, so the distance scale is out anyway. And off course bouncing the flash won’t work with the scale.

  40. Pals 5 years ago

    Hi,

    First off thanks for the wonderful and helpful blog.

    My question is: will the 560-III be “waken up” by the Rikon Meyin RF-604 in 602 sync mode?
    And if I have 3x 560-III with one Rikon Meyin RF-604 will it wake them all up and fire them all (provided they are all on channel 16 etc.) ?

    also any update on that new manual distant control for the 560-III … can’t wait!

    thank you again for you’re precious reviews and advices.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Pals,

      I just tested this, and if you have the sleep mode set to ON, and 3-30 (the minimum time setting), and after 30 minutes the flash turns off completely, then the Meyin RF-604 transmitter will not turn it back on.

      But if the flash is just going into sleep mode (minimum setting 3 minutes) then yes the Meyin RF-604 will wake the flash fine, just using the half shutter press, or half test fire button press.

      There are no groups available when using the Meyin RF-604 in the RF-602 mode, so yes all will be woken at the same time.

      .
      The YN-560 III transmitter has been classed as low priority, to come after the other transmitters etc unfortunately. So at the rate things are going at the moment they could be quite a way off yet.

      So if you don’t have the flashes yet, or need remote power control now, the Godox V850 are really worth looking at. Thanks.

      • Pals 5 years ago

        Thank you very much! Again very helpful and knowledgeable…
        Will take a serious look at the V850.

  41. Kurtz 5 years ago

    Hi thanks for the review, i have few question as ive been contemplating of buying two of this and use it on a reception, like the canon counterpart canon 600, will it work if i use one in my camera and use one in the background of the subject, i want to be able to fire them both at same time (sync) to do flair effect. Thanks

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Kurtz,

      The YN-560 III does not have a transmitter built in, only a receiver. So you would need to add another RF-603 II transmitter to the camera. Likely the neatest way to do that would be if you happen to use an on-camera flash bracket. In that case an RF-603 II transmitter can go in the camera hotshoe, and fire the flash on the bracket, and the other remote flash.

      The other option is to attach the transmitter to the cameras PC sync port. The RF-603 II transmitter has a PC sync socket you can connect that directly to the camera with a sync cord. Thanks.

  42. rachel 5 years ago

    Hi,

    I bought this flash after a flash course with my camera Canon G15 and worked perfectly,

    Bought one in US and now that I arrived home and tried, I am having problems: it works on auto mode but does not works on Manual!

    Do you know what may be happening? It came with no manual.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Rachel,

      I don’t have the manual PDF, but if you contact service@hkyongnuo.com, they may be able to send you the PDF.

      Did you mean auto mode on the camera, or flash? Is the flash on the camera hotshoe, or are you using it off camera? Thanks.

  43. Mark 5 years ago

    Hi,

    Loved this article. Really informative and thanks for putting so much work in. You touched briefly on light meters and I have a follow-up query. I’m new to off-camera flash so apologies if the answer is obvious. I have a Yongnuo 560 III plus 603 triggers. Is there a light meter that can fire the flash? Or do you have to use the mode where the light meter waits for a bright pulse triggered from a test mode? I guess with my set up I could only test fire the flash from the camera mounted 603 or the flash Itself whilst subject model holds the light meter? Any tips welcome and especially is there a light meter you would recommend ? Same for alternative triggers. Any recommendation welcome. I can see the value of the remote power setting should it ever become available.

    Thanks again
    Mark

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Mark,

      Sorry for the slow reply, but in the mean time the RF-603 II triggers were also released, and they would likely be your best option for now. Because they can be test fired off the camera hotshoe, and a light meter can also be connected to the transmitter via a PC sync cord (neither of which the previous RF-603 will do).

      Yes you can connect the light meter to a trigger as mentioned above, but its often easier to avoid the cord and just use the optic mode on the meter as you mentioned. Its handy to have a second transmitter which you can keep in your pocket so that you don’t have to take the one of the camera.

      Sekonic light meters are likely the most prominent, which is always handy as you can find lots of help etc online. If you want to go for higher end models you can get a PocketWizard module built in, which is fired by most PocketWizard triggers. That’s not quite in the same price range as RF-603 II etc though.

      A basic L-308s would get you by quite easily, though the touch screen L-478D are pretty well priced now too. The L-478DR which has the PocketWizard module built in adds $120 or so more. Thanks.

  44. Sharon 5 years ago

    Hi, i have purchased a yn560 lll for my husband for christmas, bit cant get it to work, hellllppppp what do i do. His camera is a nikon d90.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Sharon,

      When you say you can’t get it to work, are you meaning to fire on the camera hotshoe? Does it fire if you simply press the test fire button on the flash? Thanks.

  45. Depee91 5 years ago

    Hi, nice topic !
    Just a question, what type of RF-603 should I use to trigger 2 YN560 III from a Nikon D800?
    Thanks in advance!
    Greetings from Paris !

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Depee91,

      You’re best off with the new RF-603 II. And the N1 version comes with the shutter release cord for the D800. Thanks.

  46. Ananth Prabakaran 5 years ago

    I have a canon 60D and 1 canon 600EX RT and 1 Yongnuo 560 -III am now planning to buy 2 more YN-560 III, My original idea for radio trigger is, I need 1 602 receiver and 1 trigger to trigger my 600 EXRT, YN-560 III concerend i don’t need any Receiver since they are built in. but am not sure will 602 fire my 600 EX RT, can you help me?.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Ananth,

      Yes the RF-602 should work with the 600EX-RT. But the new RF-603 II are now available and these are much better triggers that the RF-602 all round. So they would be a better option now. Thanks.

  47. Stuart 5 years ago

    Any news on when to expect the yongnuo transmitter that can alter the 560 III power remotely?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Stuart,

      Unfortunately the YN-560 transmitter is low priority at this stage. It will likely come after the YN-622-TX for Nikon and then Canon. And likely even after the YN-600EX-RT flash at this stage.

      If you don’t have the flashes yet, the Godox V850 may be worth looking at as they have the transmitter available already. Thanks.

  48. Arnie 5 years ago

    Good morning,
    I just purchased a YN -560iii. I am also currently reading Bryan Peterson’s book ” Understanding Flash Phtography”. In it he talks of “automated distance scale” that helps you determine the exact distance the flash needs to be from the subject for correct exposure. The book pictures a Nikon SB-900. Bryan also suggests that many, if not most, flashes have this feature. My question, then, is this. Does the YN-560iii have this feature? If not, how would make the correct distance determination? Thanks for your very helpful post. As this is my first visit to your site, I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Arnie,

      The YN-560 III does not have a distance scale, but this is not uncommon for manual flashes which are often used for off camera work. Studio mono lights etc don’t have any distance scale either.

      This is because the camera ISO and aperture are not sent to the flash so it can’t calculate the scale. But also as soon as you put any modifier, umbrella, softbox, etc, or even gels in front of the flash head, the distance scale is already going to be out anyway. You will probably get used to how many stops of light a certain softbox etc cuts down the flash power, but at the same time you will likely get used to the power needed for a certain distance and camera setting as well anyway.

      A light meter can be used though to quickly measure and set up a number of lights quickly.

      But also since digital cameras have been available its not that hard to simply meter with the camera, by taking a shot and looking at the LCD screen and histogram, and adjusting flash power from there. Pretty soon you will get to know a starting point already pretty close what is needed anyway.

      For direct on camera flash use the distance scale would help a lot, but its mainly the more advanced TTL flashes now that communicate the ISO and aperture etc to the flash to produce a scale like this.

  49. Caren 5 years ago

    Thank you for this great review. It encouraged me to purchase the 560III. I’ve just set it on my Canon 7D, and am not getting it to flash on camera. The test is working. I will continue trouble shooting – but I’m wondering what’s happening.

    Also, newbie question. Do I need a trigger if I also use a Canon 580EX, and what does this mean?
    YongNuo have now confirmed a remote manual power control function is already built into the current YN-560 III manual flash units ! This function will be enabled via a new transmitter unit with built in LCD interface, to be available (eventually). – See more at: http://flashhavoc.com/yongnuo-yn-560-iii-review/#sthash.Qksbfr9E.dpuf – Do I need the transmitter to fire the 560III off camera?

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Caren,

      A few people have commented they have not been able to get the flash to fire on camera, but I haven’t really heard what the problem of solution was. Except for a few cases where people were mounting the flash backwards on the camera hotshoe! (the flash LCD screen should be at the back where the cameras LCD screen is).

      Otherwise make sure the flash is in M mode, so the channel dip switches should not be showing on the flashes LCD screen (or S1 or S2 mode should not be showing).

      Yes you need a radio transmitter unit to use the YN-560 III’s built in radio function off camera.

      Currently the RF-603 II would be the best option. If you buy a set of those, you can use one as the transmitter on the camera hotshoe, and the other as a receiver on the foot of the 580EX to fire that off camera as well.

      The RF-603 II trigger simply fire the flashes, but a new transmitter available later this year will allow the power levels of the flash to be changed from the transmitter unit on the camera.

      There is also an optic slave built into the YN-560 III flash. So if you use the pop up flash on the camera, or the 580EX on the camera, you can use that to trigger the YN-560 III simply by the flash light going off. Set the YN-560 III to S1 mode if the flash on camera is in manual, or S2 mode if the flash in camera is in ETTL mode. Using a radio transmitter is generally more hassle free though as works in all conditions.

      • Caren 5 years ago

        Thank you! Just now seeing this reply, and sent another with regard to using the shutter release. I think you’ve answered everything. I think I’m understanding that 580EX can be in ETTL, and will still work with 560iii – even tho YN must be used manually. Lots to digest! Thanks again for being so willing to answer all of these questions!
        Caren

  50. Mustafa Abdullah 5 years ago

    Hi, I have two Canon 580 EX II’s a Yongnuo 565 EX and two 560 II’s I also have 4 YN-622-c’s will the any of the Yongnuo triggers work with the 560 II using the 622 pass through? If not do you have any suggestions on how I can accomplish this, I’ve been using the S1/S2 method but prefer radio transmission if I can do it.

    • Author
      Flash Havoc 5 years ago

      Hi Mustafa,

      The best option would be to use a couple more YN-622C as receivers for the YN-560 II’s.

      They won’t do anything more than fire the flash, but at least you have a couple of back up TTL triggers and receivers then, and you won’t need any extra transmitter units on the camera.

      Otherwise you could stack some RF-603 II on top of the YN-622C pass through hotshoe on camera. That will cause a slight loss in sync speed to the YN-560 II, so its best to use fast triggers like the RF-603 II (not the already very slow original RF-603).

      You would need 3 RF-603 II then, compared to 2 YN-622C. Still a bit cheaper, but the YN-622C would be a neater option. Thanks.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Anti-Spam Quiz:

©2018 FLASHHAVOC.com - PRIVACY POLICY

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?